??!
7 photos
The Man Shake

The Man Shake

Chocolate, Banana, Vanilla, etc...
4.0 from 277 reviews

Reviews

(161)
(47)
(12)
(19)
(38)
  • Additional Physical Activities
    • None (34)
    • Cardio (33)
    • Sport (16)
    • Weightlifting (12)
  • Taste
    4.2 (85)
  • Side Effects
    • None (15)
    • Mild side effects (4)
    • Poor mental health (1)
    • Short-term physical illness (1)
    • Long term physical illness (1)
  • Weight Lost
    • Yes (73)
    • No change (13)
    • No, gained weight (1)


Ben M.

Ben M.Central West, NSW

It's Working Great for Me!

published

Started on the Man Shakes with the goal of losing about 30kg. I'm a bachelor who does not enjoy cooking so this is great. Working from home I was always heading for the easiest food options (ie Pie & a Coke for lunch). Man shakes have made it easy for me, 2 shakes a day plus nuts/fruit for snacks and whatever for dinner. Two weeks in and I'm down 4.5kg
They taste great for me. I just have mine with water, no problems with texture etc. Also no problems with gut changes (constipation etc). I'm adding in 30 mins walking a day so I look forward to the results.
Great stuff :)

Purchased in January 2020 for $144.00.

Taste
Side Effects
  • None
Weight LostYes
1 comment
The Man Shake
Jesse R.The Man Shake

Great start Ben! Hope you have continued success. If you need any help from us along the way please let us know! TMS


Peter

PeterSydney, NSW

Worst Shakes Ever - All Flavours

published

I tried the The Man Shake Variety 10 Pack from Coles. Not cheap for a variety 10 pack at $36. All of the flavors taste dreadful even with fruit added too them. The worst part there is an unpleasant chemically after taste. There are lots of more palatable shakes out there. Give these ones a miss. I would recommend Optifast shakes, they are still low in sugar, recommended by some doctors, and taste excellent. The other alternative shakes I have tried are the ones offered by the Healthy Weight for Live Program they also taste very good and they have a range of delicious soups as well. Product works, I have lost weight but there are better tasting low sugar options.

Purchased in January 2020 at Coles for $36.00.

Taste
Additional Physical Activities Cardio
Side Effects
  • None
Weight LostYes
See all answers
Cisco

CiscoSydney, NSW

  • 50 reviews
  • 1 like

Great flavours and health benefits

published

Have tried all the flavours and I enjoy all of them (coffee being my least fave). As a person trying to lose weight, I appreciate the low carb, sugar and fat levels as well as the high protein (30g per sachet). A box of 10 sachets is also resonably priced at $36.50 from Coles. Would definitely recommend as a suitable breakfast substitute, along with a good exercise regime.

Purchased in January 2020 at Coles Online for $36.50.

Taste
Additional Physical Activities Weightlifting
Jai

JaiGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Works Great

published

Have been able to lose over 10kg in about 4 months without being to picky with what I eat for dinner or on weekends (I use the shakes Mon - Friday for breakfast and lunch). Can be a bit of a shock at the start but with some dedication was able to make it a routine. Only flavor I haven't enjoyed is Coffee everything else has been great. I plan to keep on using it after reaching my weight goal as it will help me not go back to bad habits. Great product and couldn't be happier I stuck with it.

Purchased in September 2019 for $134.00.

Taste
Additional Physical Activities None
Side Effects
  • None
Weight LostYes
See all answers

Fair Dincom

Fair DincomSydney, NSW

Severe Constipation!

published

I bought the variety pack. I took only one sachet per day for 3 days, so half the recommended amount.
Like another reviewer, suffered severe constipation so I stopped.
Why are there no warnings about this anywhere? There is nothing on the pack itself, nor on the website.
I respect Adam MacDougall but there should be warnings.

Purchased in January 2020 at Coles for $36.00.

Taste
Additional Physical Activities Sport
Side Effects
  • Long term physical illness
  • Mild side effects
  • Poor mental health
Weight LostNo change
See all answers
1 comment
The Man Shake
Jesse R.The Man Shake

glenn

glennSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 7 reviews

Manshake

published

Been on manshaker for about 4 months now the strawberry flavour is fantastic.they state no exercise needed if you stick to this you will not lose any weight at all plus warning if you buy. It direct the delivery is very slow

Purchased in December 2019 at Blooms chemist for $45.00.

Taste
Side Effects
  • None
Weight LostNo change

ben l.

ben l.Hunter Region, NSW

Really works!

published
Taste
Additional Physical Activities None
Side Effects
  • None
Weight LostYes
See all answers

Paul and Janine

Paul and JanineGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Not bad. But poor marketing from chemist.

published

Bought this from the local chemist. I spoke to the female attendant and asked her if it come in small trial packs and her response was no. only if you buy a shaker you will get two small packs. One choc mint one coffee. None of which I like...So I fork out $44. for one large bag of chocolate flavored shake. Which is not bad tasting. no weight loss yet ,but it's only a week, so time will tell. Now I get on The Man Shake web site and guess what! They sell a Man Shake Variety Pack. 5 Flavors in a 10 pack. And supermarkets sell the Variety Pack. . my fault for not shopping around.

Purchased in December 2019 for $44.00.

Taste
Additional Physical Activities Cardio
Side Effects
  • Mild side effects
Weight LostNo change
See all answers
John

JohnLaunceston

  • 10 reviews

Tastes Great and Really Healthy

published

I originally started on the Vegan Man Shake to lose some weight, like everyone else I guess. I have lost the weight that I set out to lose and now I continue to purchase it (and the Chocolate Greens because they are brilliant) because it has got so much good stuff in it and helps me better regulate my weight. I use it a lot for work lunches because of the convenience, with some store bought vegan muesli bars (no vegan Man Bars yet) and bananas.
It is great that they took the initiative by selling a Vegan option and I hope that it goes well for them.

Taste
Side Effects
  • None
fossicker

fossickerMid West, WA

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Plenty of water

published

I have been on the shake for 4 months, I add 800ml to my shake not the 400 you state, it still has a very strong and yummy taste, ( especially the birthday cake) I have shake for breakfast, chicken and salad wrap for lunch and shake for tea or dinner. I also have your man bar mid morning and mid afternoon. I have lost 6kg but it seams to come off one week then nothing the next week. I did hope for a more rapid loss. It certainly fills me up and I have bags of energy but just wish results were a bit better. Sticking to it for now as it is very satisfying .

Purchased for $220.00.

Taste
Additional Physical Activities None
Side Effects
  • None
Weight LostYes
See all answers

Leo

LeoGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Side effects

published

Purchased about a months worth of product however was not able to stay on it for more than one or two days at a time as it caused severe constipation. Increased my water intake and tried Metamucil but this stuff set like concrete hence no weight loss success for me.

Purchased in October 2019 at 12 Volt Direct Online store for $200.00.

Additional Physical Activities Cardio and Weightlifting
Side Effects
  • Mild side effects
Weight LostNo change
1 comment
The Man Shake
Jesse R.The Man Shake

Sorry to hear this. It can take up to a week for your body to process the change to a high protein diet, dependent on your diet before.
Did you try fish oil tablets? TMS


I love iced coffee .the man shake coffee flavor,at first tasted bland to me but now not so bad .

published

I been on the man shake now for two weeks, and salads and fish for main meal,I am a type 2 diabetic ,weigh 177 kilos ,and I'm only 5'3. And I feel great I have lost 11 kilos,and counting,it's working for me,nothing else has worked, If you want to loss weight, give it a go, stick with it you will loss weight.

Purchased in December 2019.

Taste
Additional Physical Activities Cardio
Side Effects
  • None
Weight LostYes
See all answers
1 comment
The Man Shake
Jesse R.The Man Shake

Awesome work!!! Keep up the great work!


Les G

Les GWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

Not loosing weight

published

I have brought 2 months so far and man bars Strawberry, Vanilla, Bannana, Chocolate and enjoyed them all and walk at least 3.5 klms per day with no weight loss

Purchased in November 2019.

Taste
Side Effects
  • None
Weight LostNo change
2 comments
The Man Shake
Jesse R.The Man Shake

Hi Lee. Sorry to hear you are not losing weight. Please send us a three day food diary to customerservice@themanshake.com.au an we will have our dietitians look at this for you

Les G
Les G

Mathew Johnathon Hanraha

Mathew Johnathon HanrahaSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

Weight loss eat ya heart out

published

The man shake is the best for people who are serious about loosing weighti down load the photos later combined my brother and I lost 100kgs very happy with the results.

Purchased in January 2019 at Online for $125.00.

Taste
Additional Physical Activities Sport
Side Effects
  • None
Weight LostYes
See all answers
1 comment
The Man Shake
Jesse R.The Man Shake

Wow thats amazing! Great work

ROBERT ROSS

ROBERT ROSSNorthern Region, NSW

get your kidneys checked

published

I tried this stuff for 2 months ended up blood in my urine from having to much protein in my diet, so if anyone reading this, and is taking protein shakes, please get your kidneys checked

Purchased in October 2019.

Additional Physical Activities None
Side Effects
  • Short-term physical illness
Weight LostYes
2 comments
The Man Shake
Jesse R.The Man Shake

Sorry to hear of your troubles. Yes we always advise that you consult with your Local Medical practitioner if you have any side effects from the change in your diet

ROBERT ROSS
ROBERT ROSS

https://www.foodnavigator.com/Article/2019/11/19/High-protein-diets-risk-irreversible-kidney-failure-study-warns?fbclid=IwAR1THz4dbr8mNslSV0uOXdL1QfXg1rmBdP-JZ-a2pU97vfsuIJi1M4aLYM0#.Xfgrtnjqi-g.facebook

MartyC

MartyCAU

  • 33 reviews

Worst shake I've ever tried.

published

Bought a 10 shake, mixed flavour pack from Coles. Each flavour tasted worse than the last.
They probably work as they taste so horrible it makes you lose your appetite.
I've tried lots of shakes and protein powders of the years and this is the worst by far. Some even have a sour taste to them, almost like vomit.

Purchased in December 2019 at Coles for $39.00.

Taste
Additional Physical Activities Cardio
Side Effects
  • None
Weight LostNo change
See all answers
1 comment
The Man Shake
Jesse R.The Man Shake

Greg

GregNorthern Region, NSW

Not sure yet!

published

I have been using The Man Shake for only one week replacing breakfast and lunch each day. Unfortunately I also am suffering with severe constipation which is surprising as normally I have a regular constitution. I have now read more reviews which seem to support my experience with the Man Shake. I did weigh myself before I started the program but don't believe I have been on the program long enough to say whether I have lost weight. I will post another review once I am back to normal and will try a different approach to using this product. I am not prepared to stop using Man Shakes just yet. I also purchased a variety of the Man Bars to supplement snacks etc between shakes which seem to complement the shakes and satisfy my appetite.

Purchased in November 2019 for $106.00.

Taste
Additional Physical Activities Cardio
Side Effects
  • Mild side effects
Weight LostNo change
See all answers

Paul Hannam

Paul HannamSouth East Queensland, QLD

Great

published

I use the man shake for breakfast as a type 2 diabetic works well at keeping my sugar levels down salad for lunch then a normal dinner keeps the weight down and energy levels up

Purchased at Terry White Chemists for $44.00.

Taste
Additional Physical Activities Cardio and Weightlifting
Side Effects
  • None
Weight LostYes
See all answers
1 comment
The Man Shake
Jesse R.The Man Shake

Thanks Paul! We are so happy to hear our products are helping with your sugar levels!


glenn

glennSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 7 reviews

This company are unbelievable rude

published

I placed a order on 28th November on the 9th of December it's still in NSW the staff here couldn't give a shot it's amazing they take your money straight away but 12 day's on my order is still in NSW I live Goldcoast 7

Purchased in November 2019 at Manshake online for $90.00.

Additional Physical Activities None

Draganotz

DraganotzSydney, NSW

  • 15 reviews

There must be a better way....

published

Purchased in November 2019 at Terry White Chemmart for $40.00.

Taste
Additional Physical Activities None
Side Effects
  • None
Weight LostYes
See all answers
1 comment
The Man Shake
Jesse R.The Man Shake

Page 1 of 14

Questions & Answers

Gmoney

Gmoneyasked

How long is the shake good for after mixing? Can I mix in the morning, keep in the fridge and have for lunch?

1 answer
Peter
Peter

Have not consumed drink later, so not sure if mixture separates over time. I have a small drink bottle blender. I blitz the shakes in it with ice cold water, then drink them.


SP-A

SP-Aasked

I’m lactose/ fructose intolerance and have IBS ... is this shake ok for me?

1 answer
The Man Shake
Jesse R.The Man Shake

Best to check with your local GP before commencing


James1963

James1963asked

I've been on it for three weeks and put 1.5kg on. Why is this I'm going to stop using it

1 answer
The Man Shake
Jesse R.The Man Shake

Firstly try not to pay too much attention to the scales. Are you making any changes to your exercise? You may be putting on muscle mass which weighs a lot more than fat.

If you like you can send us a food diary of everything you have eaten and drank in the past three days and we can pass it on to Adam and our team of dietitians to review and give any advice.

Check out Adams Bloghttp://www.themanshake.com.au/blog/adams-blog/5-reasons-why-youre-not-losing-weight/

Cheers,
The Man Shake team


Get an answer from our members and The Man Shake representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.