??!
1 photo
The PoolCleaner 2 Wheel

The PoolCleaner 2 Wheel

3.3 from 45 reviews

See the Best Suction Pool Cleaners in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

(19)
(4)
(4)
(6)
(12)
  • Pool Size
    • Large (2)
    • Average (2)
  • Build Quality
    4.0 (4)
  • Value for Money
    3.0 (4)
  • Ease of Use
    3.5 (4)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    2.8 (4)
  • Noise Level
    4.8 (4)


Jo Cooper

Jo CooperHunter Region, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Not worth the money

published

Continually gets stuck on the walls and doesn't move unless I physically move it. Hardly ever cleans the bottom of the pool where it should be. I would never recommend this pool cleaner.

Purchased in March 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Pool Size Large
Functionality
Small Debris Cleaning
Large Debris Cleaning
See all answers

Only one for gum trees

published

Have had the pool cleaner for about 10 years .It has been the only one to cope with the leaf fall from gums. Easy to clean. Quiet.Pair with a surface skimmer on return and a zodiac leaf catcher and the jobs done. I am surrounded by gums and other massive leaf droppers.

Purchased at Swimmart for $650.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Pool Size Large
Functionality
Small Debris Cleaning
Large Debris Cleaning
Wall and Step Cleaning
See all answers
jweaver

jweaverGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

The Worst Pool Cleaning Device I've ever had

published

First - the one positive - when it is actually up and running, it cleans debris quite quickly. The problem with it is, it only runs for about an hour before it malfunctions and stops circulating. This is because due to a basic design flaw, twigs and leaves repeatedly get sucked into the gears, and so you have to dismantle the head with a screwdriver to clear out the debris before it will start running again. Who has the time or the inclination to do that? Anyway, last time I buy the cheapest cleaner at the shop, it's clear with this product you get what you pay for.

Purchased in March 2019 at Swimart for $1,299.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Pool Size Average
Functionality
Small Debris Cleaning
Large Debris Cleaning
Wall and Step Cleaning
See all answers
Nikki

NikkiSydney, NSW

This cleaner is fantastic are requires barely any maintenance

published

Purchased in February 2014 at Pool and Spa Warehouse for $950.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Pool Size Average
Functionality
Small Debris Cleaning
Large Debris Cleaning
Wall and Step Cleaning
See all answers

shoeshopper

shoeshopper

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

A very good cleaner

published

It worked very well for 6 years. It was very easy to use and it cleaned very well. then it broke some plastic bits inside. I had to throw it out. I would recommend it. It was expensive but worth it. The part that broke was in the main body so it could not be repaired.

Date PurchasedMay 2012

Robk

RobkSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 8 reviews
  • 6 likes

Nearly 2 years old, reliable and going strong

published

Had a Barracuda for eight years. Constant issues. Can't put chlorine in with the Barracuda as the rubber diaphragm gets eaten by chlorine. Leaves and other rubbish would constantly jam it. This was recommended by my pool shop. Thought it was alot of money for a relatively simple cleaner, but I've loved it. Just set and forget. Resistant to chlorine damage. Had a stick stuck in it once which stopped it, but was easily resolved. Doesn't clean our steps well (three steps stuck in a corner), but neither did the Barracuda. I'd certainly buy another.

Date PurchasedOct 2016

Meggsy

MeggsySydney

  • 4 reviews

7 years old and still going.

published
Date PurchasedJan 2011

very poor

published

wheels have seized and now it has broken and they only want to fix it i do not want this fixed again i would prefere a new one or my money back and the staff are disgusting rude and horrible they degrade you as if you know nothing horrible firm

Date PurchasedMay 2018

Gets stuck easily

published

This pool cleaner is very poor. It continually gets stuck in corners and rarely does the entire pool. I find in most cases I need to manually position it. It seems to favour the slope of the pool and spends 90% of its time in the deeper end. The wheels jam up easily and I have needed to fix them a number of times. Do not buy this pool cleaner if you want hassle free maintenance.

Date PurchasedJul 2015
Sweaty

SweatyNewcastle

Wheels are stuck.

published

Wheels siezed up won't move. 3 months old. Its a PIECE OF CRUD! Don't worry about it, just vacuum yourself. Pool guy said it happens all the time. Come with the pool, frustration personified. Buy one for the mother in-law if you don't like her. Again piece of CRUD! Poorer for the experience.

Date PurchasedDec 2017

Not worth the money paid

published

We have a 3spd pump and this cleaner only works on high speed only but not well. It is 1 year old and dealer told me the wheels are wearing down so won’t grip. It jambs all the time and was a waste of $900. We were told that the kreepy type cleaners are not good for our pump as they thump so we opted for this one. The handle broke off and the manufacturer said it was wear and tear and wouldn’t cover it. Luckily the retailer fixed it at their expense.

Date PurchasedDec 2016

Bloody thing

published

Mine is the same
It spends more time up the walls and trying to get out of the pool than it does on the bottom where the dirt is.
When it’s on the bottom it does a good job. Can’t leave it un supervised because it needs to be pushed back down from the edges

Date PurchasedJan 2013

ped47

ped47Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Wholesaler Doesn't Honour Warranty

published
Date PurchasedJun 2014

Dave N

Dave NSouth East Queensland, QLD

A great pool cleaner!

published

I can't fault the pool cleaner after a few years of ownership. We like it so much, we actually now have two, one in a rental property. It runs on very low suction, perfect for a three speed pump on low power. We have lots of leaves and it does a great job picking them up, only very occasionally getting stuck with too many at once, but easy to clear usually by simply switching the filter off and on again, or worst case pulling the cleaner out to remove the leaves. I would suggest anybody who says it's going out of the pool and sucking air has too much suction, ie: setup wrong. Don't blame the cleaner. The slower it runs, the longer it will last. Too much suction = too fast, bad wear and tear and will almost certainly climb out and suck air.

Date PurchasedOct 2015

Bev M

published

Bev M
Ask your pool shop for a SKIMTROL vac plate.
A must for ANY auto pool cleaner.
This will control speed and not make it climb out of pool.
It will work a treat on your cleaner.
Remember to check wheel revs per minute,
Slower is better as a general rule.

Date PurchasedAug 2017
Dot

DotSydney

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes
  • Verified purchase

The Pool Cleaner loves gum leaves and nuts!

published
Date PurchasedJan 2016

Expensive and ineffective

published

Does not lift dirt, does not climb walls, does not clean steps, chokes on leaves, nuts and twigs. Stops every minute. Waste of $750.00. The retailer I purchased from no longer stocks it...too many complaints. There is no problem with my pump, filters or skimmer box. I am very disappointed

Date PurchasedJul 2016

Mark

MarkPort Macquarie

Not too bad at all.

published
Date PurchasedNov 2016

Ale

AleSydney Surrounds, NSW

Money Saver

published

So i have had Zodiac Barracuda for years and replaced part after part, and went through three seperate units...
Decided to buy The Pool Cleaner and what an investment, its great over two years and not touched it, no parts worn out ot ripped, it does a great job at cleaning and saves me money compared to others, highly reccomend it.

Date PurchasedApr 2015

Steve

SteveSydney, NSW

  • 9 reviews

It. Just. Works.

published
Date PurchasedJul 2013

Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Rob

Robasked

I have had the pool cleaner for almost 3 weeks now , it cleans the bottom of the pool beautifully but will not go up the walls. I have an inground fibreglass pool. Why wont it climb the sides

No answers

Harry

Harryasked

Wheels turning, but no forward motion:
My 2 wheel cleaner is almost three years old and has worked very well up until now. Just recently I noticed that it was regularly getting stuck in the corner near the steps of my fibreglass pool. I checked the two floats and made sure that they were 60cm from the body of the unit. The wheels are both turning and I confirmed RPM to be 13 which is within the recommended guidelines. After returning the unit to the water it began to move, but soon after stopped completely while spinning its wheels. After the removing the cleaner from the water a second time I noticed that the blue tyres were extremely worn hence the lack of apparent traction and any forward motion. It seems due to the plastic housing touching the floor of the pool with no to little tyre contact to the ground. Have ordered a Pool Cleaner Tune up Kit which comes with spare tyres, vanes and skirts. I am hoping that this will fix the problem.

1 answer
shoeshopper
shoeshopper

What you did seems like all you can do. I had mine for 7 years and the tyres had not worn. (I only operate it for 4 or 5 hours a day in summer and I remove it and cover the pool for the rest of the year.) However the tyres were starting to perish and leaving blue shavings in the pool. A part inside broke and I just threw it out. I have a similar type now that was cheaper. It is working fine.


Carol

Carolasked

Where can I get replacement hose for the two wheel
The Poolcleaner

1 answer
shoeshopper
shoeshopper

I don't know where you are. Which country?
They are a standard hose and easily available. Pool shops will have them. Take one of the sections with as there are different hose sizes,


Get an answer from our members


Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.