??!
2 photos
Toyota Prius C NHP10R

Toyota Prius C NHP10R (2012-2019)

Also referred to as: Toyota Prius C NHP10R 2018 and Toyota Prius C NHP10R 2020. i-Tech (2012-2019) and (No Badge) (2012-2019)
4.6 from 17 reviews

See the Best Hatchbacks in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
11
4 star
6
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

lamster

lamsterSydney, NSW

  • 12 reviews
  • 8 likes

Relaxing and economical

published

If you want a relaxing, easy to park, ecomomical and no fuss car this is it. The outstanding feature is how quiet it is in stop start traffic which is where this car is most at home. Mechanically excellent and reliable. Real word ecoonomy can reach 3.9lites per 100km and averages around 4.9litrs per 100km. The digital display is fun. Highly recommended for city dwellers.

BadgeNo Badge
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2012

kiwi_sam

kiwi_samGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 8 reviews
  • 11 likes

Amazing to drive, silent and reliable. GPS is the only poor feature

published
Badgei-Tech
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2018
Joy

Joy

  • 4 reviews

Silent, reliable and safe

published

I really love my car! I amazed time and time again how fuel efficient it is. I also like the look of it the Prius-C has a similar look to the Corolla. I am short, so I don't need much leg room but if you are 6 ft and above the leg room may be an issue for you. I have given some tall friends a lift (although they did not make a complaint) look a little bit uncomfortable.
If you want a small car with low cost on fuel and is reliable, this is a great car!

Badgei-Tech
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2017

Serves its purpose

published
Badgei-Tech
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2012

Mama D

Mama DThirroul

  • 2 reviews

She does it for me

published
Badgei-Tech
TransmissionCentrifugal
Date PurchasedSep 2016

g young

g youngmelbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Good car around town

published

Physically a compact car. Back seat can just about accommodate our two six footer sons. Driver seat is ok could have better lumbar support. ENgine is very quiet silent when you start up - a bit of getting use to. You would notice the petrol engine kicking in as it can be a bit noisy. Sufficient power to cruise around town with a full load. Don't expect good pickup. Excellent consumption as low as 3.8l/100km. Interior and dashboard very basic. Do have good display of fuel economy. Small booth space as expected, but sufficient for our shopping. We have enjoyed driving this car and would recommend it especially if it's a second car or just driving around town.

Badgei-Tech
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2016

Max L

Max LSydney

  • 17 reviews
  • 19 likes

Just st love my Prius

published

Fun car to drive, never misses a beat, almost forget to fill up though....becase it takes so long for the tank to empty and it cost less than $50.00 to fill. Yes, it is tinny and rattles a bit. But this is a car designed to save $$$$s. You want the trimmings with quietness, get a Camary but you wont say so many $$$s. Don't think about it...buy one !!!! One thing I notice when I get into the "other" hybrids, I feel the changes from Perol to electric and back... not with Prius. And when I sell it, I won't lose so much because they are always in demand. Only down side, picked it up...Brand new, a dozen stone chips over the car. They did not repair before I went to pick it up...hoping I would not notice?.

BadgeNot I-tec
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2014

A charismatic little car

published
BadgeNo Badge
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2014
EagleEyes

EagleEyesAU

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Buying a Prius C i-tech 2014. Best decision I ever made :-)

published
TransmissionAutomatic
Dimmers

DimmersSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 19 likes

It literally cut my weekly fuel bill from $65 to $25 per week

published
TransmissionAutomatic

Hybridfreak

HybridfreakSydney

  • 5 reviews
  • 11 likes

Our new baby

published

Lovable little city run-about

published
TransmissionAuto
BadgePrius c

m0iph0enix

m0iph0enixPerth

  • 3 reviews
  • 10 likes

Prius C is Awesome!

published
TransmissionCVT

chaminda

chamindaRedbank Plains

Love Prius C

published

I had my car for 8months now. Fuel economy is excellent. I love the car. I would like to add following which are not bad but would help someone reading about the product.
1. Acceleration is poor. This is expected the nature of the car. Further you should focus on gradual acceleration and deceleration for best fuel economy.
2. I had Nissan Tida before. Compare to that width of the Prius c is less. Prius C is More compact.

Overall I love the car and recommended someone who more concern about fuel economy than going fast.
Fuel Economy

TransmissionAuto
PvpBel

PvpBelMelbourne, Victoria

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

I love my Prius C

published
TransmissionCVT
Matthew

Matthew

  • 5 reviews
  • 10 likes

Pretty amazing

published
TransmissionCVT
Badgei-Tech
1 comment
kalloggs40
kalloggs40

another Toyota no thanks


steviee_

steviee_AU

  • 5 reviews
  • 7 likes

great car highly recomended

published
TransmissionCVT Automatic
BadgeToyota
1 comment
kalloggs40
kalloggs40

another Toyota no thanks

Questions & Answers

Magi

Magiasked

What is the best fitting australian standards baby car seat for Toyota Prius C i-tech?

1 answer
Mama D
Mama D

Sorry I can't help here. My youngest is 21 and no grandbabies yet


Tanya

Tanyaasked

I am thinking about buying a Prius C but I am a little concerned whether this car is sluggish going up hills, especially if there is 4 people in the car. This is the only thing holding me back from saying yes could anybody help me with making my final decision :)

3 answers
m0iph0enix
m0iph0enix

Hi Tanya,

I think this car will be a bit slow to take off going up the hill (not as sluggish as a snail though). I often have 5 people in my car and the car still operates fine going up the hill.

chaminda
chaminda

I would say you feel bit slow but for me it is not an issue. You can always accelerate max and it will pump the torque from both petrol engine and electric motor.

Another point would be, if drive a Prius the way you drive normal car it would not be enough fuel efficient. To get best fuel efficiency you need to master the slow acceleration and slow breaking.

Dimmers
Dimmers

I now live in the Hills area of Sydney which if you know the area is hilly.With regards to Hills and the Prius-C its not a powerhouse. From my experience it uses very little petrol and is configured to be very economical but if going up a hill you just accelerate more. I just believe that because by default it is in eco mode your used to no or little engine noise. I have gotten it up to 140kph racing a mate up a hill. He was also surprised it had guts because the car try (as mentioned above) is wired for economy.


Get an answer from our members and Toyota representatives

Details

Toyota Prius C NHP10R i-Tech

Toyota Prius C NHP10R i-Tech (2012-2019)

6 reviews
Toyota Prius C NHP10R (No Badge)

Toyota Prius C NHP10R (No Badge) (2012-2019)

2 reviews
CategoryHatchbacksHatchbacks
Starting Price $26,540$24,040
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)Continuously Variable (CVT)
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypeHybridHybrid
Wheels15" Alloy15" Steel
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars
Doors55
Seats55
Fuel Consumption3.9 L/100km3.9 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 36 L36 L
Engine4 Cylinder 1.5L4 Cylinder 1.5L
Max Power54kW @ 4800rpm54kW @ 4800rpm
Max Torque111Nm @ 4000rpm111Nm @ 4000rpm
Country of ManufactureJapanJapan
Safety Features
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • Reversing Camera
  • Seat Belt Reminders
  • Traction Control
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • Reversing Camera
  • Seat Belt Reminders
  • Traction Control
Extra Features
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Immobilizer
  • Power Steering
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Power Steering
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateJan 2012Jan 2012

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.