??!
1 photo
TPG Broadband
1.7 from 4,618 reviews

Reviews

(436)
(298)
(243)
(260)
(3,381)
  • Value for Money
    1.9 (601)
  • Transparency
    1.6 (584)
  • Customer Service
    1.6 (616)
  • Adequate Speeds Yes (30%) · No (70%)

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More

Both customer service and internet is crap

published

Been a tpg customer for so many years but their lack of customer service and internet quality is so bad . Hard to get disconnected as well . They are just after your money

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeHFC (Cable)
Start DateAugust 2018
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers

Terrible

published

Extremely slow.

It keep dropping out.
Very slow that even take 3 sec to open google.
I can't even open an image.

No sure how are other providers.
This service is not reliable at all.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTN (Fibre to the Node)
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract Type18-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers

Extremely dodgy when you cancel

published

I decided to swap over to MATE after great reviews and competitive price, and thought that the cancellation would be handled automatically like a mobile service. MATE sent through a churn request, so I believe there's no way TPG couldn't have known I had swapped, but they charged me for another month. I then tried to cancel the service through their website, and could not find a single bit of info or any links about cancelling, which doesn't seem right. I emailed them and said they require 30 days to cancel for 'security reasons' from when I let them know, which means I fall into another month of billing. So, a possible $120 for no service. This is what I get for being a loyal customer for 10 years. Avoid at all costs...

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTN (Fibre to the Node)
Start DateAugust 2019
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
Vic

VicMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews

Excellent Service

published

As a TPG customers who have been with them for many years I have always received excellent service. Recently moved from the 12 Mbps to the 50 Mbps. Was not happy with the speeds so contacted TPG. Within one week a technician has been to my house and provided me now with speeds from 35 to 43 Mbps up from the original speeds averaging 25 Mbps. This recent service has been like all the other times I have had to request help from them quick and efficient.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTN (Fibre to the Node)
Start DateNovember 2011
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers

JoJo

JoJoVictoria

  • 3 reviews

If you could give no stars, TPG would be a prime candidate! AVOID TPG

published

What a failure in all areas! From their overseas call centre where it takes half an hour or more to get through, to their slow non speeds which regularly drop out and to add insult to injury, they charge for services not supplied and refuse refunds when requested. This awful carrier should be avoided at all costs. We just changed to Aussie Broadband and they've been awesome compared to TPG. TPG are misleading, dishonest and have never ending problems, we wished we'd changed form TPG sooner. Not worth the savings, what a headache!

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTC (Fibre to the Curb)
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract Type24-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers

Not recommended! Customer for 3 years and felt let down.

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Start DateJuly 2017
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers

Rannee Katsonis

Rannee KatsonisSydney Surrounds, NSW

Poor Service

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTN (Fibre to the Node)
Start DateSeptember 2012
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers

John C.

John C.Sydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

FTTB (TPG's fibre - not NBN)

published

The switch from iiNet to TPG was very easy and amazing!
TPG's own fibre product is reliable and usually fast. better value than iiNet.
Whenever I have had issues, the support team have been very professional

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Start DateSeptember 2018
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract Type24-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
Aninka

AninkaMelbourne

  • 7 reviews
  • NBN
  • Verified customer

Good service but changing address is expensive

published

I've been a TPG's customer for the last couple of years. The process of moving from ADSL to NBN was easy. I'm an international student here; so, I've changed my address for 3 times. I had to pay $90 (I can't exactly remember the amount. I had to pay 90 something dollars for the change of address) every time I moved and I think that the price was expensive for me. Otherwise, TPG service is good and the team is supportive.

Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTB (Fibre to the Building)
Start DateFebruary 2017
Adequate Speeds Yes
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
Robs Real Reviews

Robs Real ReviewsSydney

  • 4 reviews

Drop outs from dropkicks

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers

shugal01

shugal01GREEN POINT

  • 20 reviews

AVOID

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeI don't know
Start DateFebruary 2020
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract Type18-month contract
Data TypeCapped Data
See all answers

ElC

ElC

  • 2 reviews

Great if you want to use your phone as a hotspot!

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTN (Fibre to the Node)
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers

Ash S.

Ash S.Perth, WA

Customer service was good, until I had to move

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTN (Fibre to the Node)
Start DateJanuary 2017
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers

Sabin

Sabin

  • 2 reviews

Useless service paying the same charge

published

Poor connectivity and if it connects, the speed is too low for what I pay. Before I used to get 12-14 mbps@59.99$, now. 1-2.5mbps@59.99$ so frustrating TPG sucks! Since, it is in contract, I cannot get out of this and have to live with this useless internet. Buffering all the time, cannot use anything. But they deduct the payment on time without promising the service.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Start DateDecember 2020
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract Type12-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
Pipesy

PipesySouth East Queensland, QLD

Cannot recommend TPG

published

Have been forced to switch to NBN and on face value TPG seemed reasonable.
Fact is the service supply of internet connection from them is worse than it was with the ADSL broadband I had. It has gone out approximately 5 times in the last couple of months.
The technical support and customer service is appalling!
Basically you can't reach them and impossible to get a resolution. This company make it extremely difficult to lodge a service interruption, I was on hold for almost 50 min and still no answer. Advice from the 'on hold" music is to go online and do a speed test. Impossible to do if you don't have any internet access!!
My advice - try another service provider!

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeI don't know
Start DateNovember 2019
See all answers
Manuel.P

Manuel.PSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Stable ISP but absolutely woeful customer service!

published

In terms of connection, we found TPG Internet to relatively stable and reliable. There were times when they dropped out, but it appears that our neighbours on different ISP were affected too - likely infrastructure issues.

When it came time for us to cancel our account due to moving overseas, we quickly discovered TPG were awful. It took three phone calls and four separate emails to cancel the service. In-between email 2 and 3 their customer service team shifted the goalposts twice on us changing the information we were required to provide. All the while TPG were happy to continue charging us for a service we could no longer use.

Whole experience has completely put us off TPG.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTC (Fibre to the Curb)
Start DateJanuary 2017
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract Type12-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers

Dharm

DharmNew South Wales

  • 3 reviews

Issue with NBN technician

published

NBN technicians are worst, I have to install the cable myself jumping on the roof. Recently NBN is down for couple of days, No help from NBN company. One technician visited to fix the issue and spend couple of hours and wasn't able to fix the issue. These guys are not reliable. Nobody has yet visited again to fix the issue. Pathetic support from NBN. Unfortunately, you can't complain NBN company as customer are not allowed to directly call them. Service provider gives excuse of NBN and NBN contractors are not taking any responsibility. A waste of money and time.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeHFC (Cable)
Start DateAugust 2019
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledBundled
See all answers

Chris

ChrisPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Absolute Rubbish

published

Connection speeds always dropping out paying $69 for slow speed internet. My mobile gets faster internet than tpg provides. Then forced me to give a 30 day notice period when moving homes as I was opting out because they were unable to provide me with the speeds I required at the new address offered me rubbish adsl 2+. This telco is useless don’t use them they are a rip off forcing me to pay 2 weeks of bills for services after I have moved from an address. I will no longer be residing at the address as of the end date of the current billing cycle and being forced to pay for two more weeks don’t waste your money on this garbage use Telstra or any other telco.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTN (Fibre to the Node)
Start DateMay 2018
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers

HonestRater

HonestRaterGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 10 reviews

A month without service but charge to cancel contract

published
  • +8
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTC (Fibre to the Curb)
Start DateDecember 2019
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract Type18-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers

Hate it

published

I can’t even write a review using my own phone or laptop because my service provider is tpg for both and I have NO internet.
Terribly unreliable, have had to contact them on multiple occasions for seperate incidents.
The service drops out frequently and the website is terrible to navigate.

Customer Service
Value for Money
Start DateJuly 2017
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers

Page 1 of 231

Questions & Answers

Boniface K.

Boniface K.asked

I made an application for a new nbn service early this year on a 18 month contract.so far i have only received the modem.is it possible to cancel the contract since it is taking forever to be connected and bad reviews on your products?i think i made a terrible mistake by applying for your nbn.complains from phone calls and emails have provided no solution.

1 answer
David
David

I have no contract and can not rid myself of TPG. So, best of luck ...


Houssam A.

Houssam A.asked

what is (FTTB - RES) in telecommunications TERMS? yes i know what FTTB & FTTH but I don't know what is RES

No answers

mallymuff

mallymuffasked

Do you have to TPG notice if terminating their services?

No answers

Get an answer from our members and TPG representatives

Other Internet Service Providers

Previous
Mint Telecom

Mint Telecom

4.9
(316)
Launtel

Launtel

4.9
(158)
MATE

MATE

4.4
(1,918)
Harbour ISP

Harbour ISP

4.2
(873)
Bordernet

Bordernet

4.7
(64)
OntheNet

OntheNet

4.7
(52)
OptiComm

OptiComm

4.1
(335)
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.