??!
1 photo
TPG Broadband
1.7 from 4,498 reviews

See the Best Internet Service Providers in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
432
4 star
289
3 star
237
2 star
258
1 star
3,282

Raj

RajMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Unnecessary charges.

published

Very poor speed and unreliable connection. I decided to terminate after the contract ended. Yet, they charged me for a full additional month. Totally unethical. When questioned about the charges they never replied.

Start DateJanuary 2018
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers

Natalia

NataliaSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Dropouts don't seem to have a solution

published

NBN drops out every day, you call to have it fixed, then it work for another week and the problems start all over again. no internet for 12 hours now.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Start DateDecember 2017
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
Connection TypeI don't know
See all answers

I don't wanna give them even 1 star

published

Pool technical support team and any service. DO NOT use tpg internet. And your life will be easier. I still can not believe they are even proper company. We were using tpg nbn. And having lots of issue every days. It effected our business.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Start DateFebruary 2018
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract Type12-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
Connection TypeI don't know
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Sanjula

SanjulaSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Not the most reliable

published

The internet speeds are alright but not reliable. Lot of upgrade work happening which does not ensure connectivity all the time. Takes a while till normal service resumes. Customer service needs to improve imo.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
Connection TypeFTTN (Fibre to the Node)
See all answers

David C.

David C.Sydney, NSW

Rubbish Overpriced Service

published

After constant dropouts and total disinterest from TPG (it's the NBN, it's the copper, it's ...) gave up and joined another provider. Speeds jumped to double+ and stayed there.
But... there's a good reason the CEO is rich beyond imagination. Ported out 3 months ago. But no, that's not good enough. Still being charged. Any other supplier if your new supplier arranges the transfer the company closes the account. TPG just keeps charging.
Remember - sign up for the cheap deals - they will get it back in the end. Even now I'm guessing they will charge me another month for no service. That's ok because it matches what I was paying for before - nothing.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Start DateMay 2016
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
Connection TypeFTTN (Fibre to the Node)
See all answers

Sam

SamSydney, NSW

Crap to nastiest.

published

Have a nbn at home. Every hour or so the connection drops and takes a while to come. Any more then 3 devices at home internet will just say its too much to cop so it stops throwing a signal from its modem. Waste of $$$$ and time. They are good in scamming and ripping customers. Go away tpg.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Start DateJune 2016
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract Type12-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
Connection TypeWireless
See all answers

Muhammad U.

Muhammad U.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 5 reviews

Horrible Service

published

The internet hangs every now and then. Useless and pathetic service (Laverton, VIC). No resolution even after complains. Now I am locked-in in a contract with them. Please do not get this service just because it is cheap. Pay a dollar or two extra for Aussie Broadband, it is probably the best ISP so far I've experienced.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Start DateSeptember 2019
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers

You Fen X.

You Fen X.South East Queensland, QLD

Good service

published

The service is excellent, Frank had a lot patience with our internet password to figure out what was wrong and we fixed the problem eventually. We highly recommend tpg to any one.

Start DateDecember 2019
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract Type24-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
arman a.

arman a.

  • 2 reviews

There is no customer service

published

They have very poor service . too much waiting time for contacting and hidden costs as well. Me and wife had a big drama for just making an account .I think this company is not a good answer to your need.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Connection TypeI don't know
the merrieminer

the merrieminerPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Service standards better than most.

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Start DateNovember 2019
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract Type18-month contract
Data TypeCapped Data
Connection TypeFTTN (Fibre to the Node)
See all answers

Leroi

LeroiAU

  • 8 reviews

Slowing speed

published

The NBN service works just OK for the time being. It was installed 4 years ago when NBN was the new thing to have. Price has been steady and could be cheaper as the speed seems to be falling. Why TPG does not reward loyal customers? Service includes a limited land line phone which allows to call 1800, 1300 and 13 numbers. I get the occasional call from its competitors that promise better speed at the same price but using that new technology which is solely mobile. At peak hours the service is noticeably slow. As a quick fix turning off the modem and back on only works occasionally.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Start DateDecember 2015
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
Connection TypeFTTB (Fibre to the Building)
See all answers

Biggest headache of my life

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Start DateOctober 2019
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers

Disappointed, hard sell constantly

published

Constantly dropping out have to turn off modem they have even told me to unplug landline sometimes have to do more than once.Speed can become to slow to use times out constantly. Plan gets upgraded to a more expensive plan without being asked. There is no way to top up data you have to pay for bring hole plan forward or update plan to a more expensive plan
HARD SELL
All in all a very disappointing experience and cant wait for plan to end. May just pay it out and go back to Telstra want to help

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract Type18-month contract
Data TypeCapped Data
See all answers

Smee

SmeeSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 7 reviews

Terrible customer service.

published

I was with them 2 months when my Credit card was replaced and when the payment was refused as they used the old card they disconnected me. No email to say update the card just cut off. Fair enough my mistake however to sort it out it took 2 weeks and 19 phone calls to get reconnected, accounts blaming tech support and vice versa. Just incompetence at every level.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract Type6-month contract
Connection TypeFTTP (Fibre to the Premises)
See all answers
Karan

KaranGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 6 reviews

Crap. Dont even bother

published

I bought tpg nbn service last year in 2018. In the beginning it was working fine but after few months the internet would drop all of a sudden. Called tpg customer service n they didnt do anthing abt it. They kept avoiding it n didnt want to help me out. Apparently its my fault but they wouldnt accept their fault. Sometimes the speed of the internet was pretty slow compared to 4g on my phone.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Start DateJanuary 2018
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract Type18-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
Connection TypeFTTP (Fibre to the Premises)
See all answers
linajane

linajaneSouth-Eastern Region, NSW

  • 4 reviews

So far so good.

published

I received my modem today, 2 days after purchase (which is great as in the country postage is usually slower), connected my modem and it wasn't working. So I phoned them up and they were quick to answer my call (unlike Telstra!). The lady quickly explained I had one of the cables in the wrong port, she reset my connection and it has been working fine since. After a year of battles with Telstra, this quick and easy setup, easy to use registration, and efficient customer support is a breath of fresh air.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Start DateNovember 2019
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
Connection TypeWireless
See all answers

Worst service ever

published

How hard is it to get internet connected? bloody hard with TPG! Everyone stay away and never look at this company. It has taken me over 2 weeks and I still haven't gotten service from them and after many phone calls and being passed from department to department the problem still isn't resolved but they are still willing to charge for it.

They are the worst Company ever and don't waste your time.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract Type6-month contract
Data TypeCapped Data
Connection TypeI don't know
See all answers

Mattjames

MattjamesSydney, NSW

Great Service

published

I'm unfortunately are no longer with TPG as they couldn't get signal in my new apartment, but exiting them was great, they waived my cancellation fee and were really easy to deal with. When I can, I will go back to TPG.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Start DateAugust 2019
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract Type12-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers

kmoussa63

kmoussa63Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Very disappointing

published

NBN Bundle Home phone is not working after NBN was installed 3 weeks ago. They want me to pay for a technician to fix the problem TPG Created. Very Disappointed

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
Connection TypeFTTP (Fibre to the Premises)
See all answers

Adam

AdamSydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews

Fine for the price but could be much better

published

Have been with TPG for some years now. Set up was simple enough and I am happy with the price. However, the connection can be intermittent and often will force me to switch to phone data when using my phone. Seems like most ISPs they want to bump people up a plan when switching over to NBN.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Start DateNovember 2015
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers

Page 1 of 225

Questions & Answers

Graeme w.

Graeme w.asked

Can you transfer from your home to another one when you sell the first one

1 answer
Val
Val

Hi Graeme,
.It all depends on the T&C of your contract.You need to talk to TPG. I'm not working for them. I just used to be a customer.


noochdog

noochdogasked

When will tpg enable our reconnection on the sunshine coast.......4 hours shut down easter monday...had troubles with telstra over the years..never bad as this...we will go back to telstra as soon as the contract has finished.

2 answers
ridhuankim
ridhuankim

Did you make the move to Telstra? Because I am trying to escape from Telstra and checking if TPG would be the place to go... seems like the NBN itself is the disaster.

David G.
David G.

stay right away from TPG


bobbysdad

bobbysdadasked

Why don't TPG respond to any questions or comments made here? From all of the reviews posted here at productreview.com.au, they are about the worst ISP of all. Why do people still sign up with them? They should be ashamed of themselves. Are there any TPG reps out there reading this? Please tell us, why should we sign up with you? Will your service EVER get better?

3 answers
Mac
Mac

That's because majority of us only care about cheap price nbn but not much about the after sale service. That is why tpg is soon to be number 2 largest internet provider!

Freddy
Freddy

exetel is 15% cheaper a month and has a 40% cheaper setup fee

tpg is a bit of a nightmare, just wait for the endless calls, emails and sms' when it comes time to disconnect, enjoy

PtDaFool
PtDaFool

If you want decent customer service and are actually prepared to pay for it, then go with aussie broadband. If you want cheap plan prices, stop expecting good customer service, as you can't have both these days. Sad, but true. TPG only cares about their bottom line, and their plans and customer service reflect this.


Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.