??!

See the Best Car Insurance in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

(11)
(0)
(1)
(3)
(48)
  • Claim Resolution Time1-2 months (3) · 3+ months (2) · 1-2 weeks (2) · <1 week (2)
  • Claim ApprovedYes (5) · No (3)
  • Incentivised Review Yes (0%) · No (100%)
  • Customer Service
    1.4 (11)
  • Timeliness
    1.6 (7)
  • Job Satisfaction
    1.0 (3)
  • Transparency
    1.4 (9)
  • Value for Money
    1.5 (11)

Michael

MichaelGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 4 reviews

Quite poor and refused to renew policy

published

I live in Victoria Australia, in two years I had to claim twice for a windscreen due to separate unfortunate circumstances (rock chips)
My premiums cost $2500 yearly and I always pay extra for windscreen cover
Recently, days before my renewal date I received a letter claiming virgin money wold not re-insure me

Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Car ModelVolvo XC60
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateDecember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

Disgusting Servce

published
Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Transparency
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Car ModelHolden Commodore VY
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateDecember 2019
See all answers

Great until you have an issue..

published

Cheaper price than the other big names, decent online management portal but all goes to downhill if you have a query that takes someone more than 10 seconds to answer. Offshore call centre and all the problems that come with it..

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Transparency
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
Richard

RichardSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

ABSOLUTELY DISGUSTING SERVICE

published

My pensioner mother in law was the not at fault third party driver involved in an accident with a Virgin Insurance customer. Virgin refused to pay a fair and reasonable total loss market value settlement figure for the vehicle. Virgin have offered a settlement figure $3,000.00 below the market value and I am still disputing the claim 5 months after the incident. Richard Branson you should be ashamed of yourself.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Insurance TypeThird Party Property Damage
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Car ModelMitsubishi Pajero
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder No
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateAugust 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

Cost effective but not great when you make a claim

published

The cost was reasonable, but when it came to making a claim, there were very limited options for repairers - had to travel around 25 minutes to the nearest repair centre with all of the associated Uber costs etc. The repair was fine, but long wait times for their call center so not a great overall experience.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Transparency
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateOctober 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

One Star cause I had to

published

So... I got rear ended by an UBER driver, got all his required details and had to make a claim.

I had to pay $77 for forgetting to disclose a not at fault claim 3.5 years ago (fair enough I guess) and also $24.73 for a traffic history report. I did all the running around for them and still no repair in sight.

They are based in South Africa and their service is absolutely horrible.

I have immediately changed back to my previous insurer at a higher rate. The only reason I change to Virgin was for the Velocity points bonus and cheaper insurance.

But please, do not go with these people!

They will do EVERYTHING possible to get out a claim.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateNovember 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers

Ikj

IkjGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

The worst experience

published

I paid 306 dollars for insurence but after 10 months i wanted to cancel it, and imagine they refund me of fantastic 1 dollar. Their Costumer service did not told me this information

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Transparency
Insurance TypeThird Party Property Damage
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Car ModelVolkswagen Golf
Claim MadeNo
See all answers

Melissa

MelissaGoulburn Valley, VIC

Don’t go with what so ever

published

My partner had car insurance with them. And come time to pay out the claim it got rejected and policy was canceled because he has a dvo. Now we are without a car and $18000 in the red.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateAugust 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
Helen

HelenSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Do not se Virgin Money Insurance

published
Value for Money
Customer Service
Transparency
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
See all answers
Ahmet S

Ahmet SSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 13 reviews
  • 8 likes

Consider seriously before you get.

published

All good untill you make a claim under writers go for petty scenes and make it hard and depressing ask for service log books every possible question I went through hell. And the accident I was not at fault god help if I was at fault. Under writers Auto and General gave me hell.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Transparency
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

Emma G

Emma GSouth East Queensland, QLD

Never Again!

published
Value for Money
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Car ModelAudi A3
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateFebruary 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

matthew

matthewMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 8 reviews

Soooooo dodgy don't get scammed

published
Value for Money
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Car ModelSubaru Liberty 5GEN
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateJanuary 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers

Isho

IshoToowoomba

Avoid this company at all cost !!!!

published
Insurance claim madeYes

Keith

KeithGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • Verified customer

Great Price! No problems at all

published

I have been with Virgin Car Insurance for 8 months. I chose them on price alone as I have not made a claim for 10 years. The transition was easy and the staff I spoke with were friendly and helpful. Many reviewers have spoken of the 'hidden' cancellation cost of $40, this is only applicable if you terminate the policy before the completion of the 12 month contract. There also is a 21 day cooling of period where the policy may be cancelled with no fee incurred.
I would recommend Virgin Car Insurance to any budget conscious driver.

Insurance claim madeNo

Hidden costs be careful

published

I have been with this insurance company a year or so. Glad i never had to make a claim as i dont think they would be helpful. Alot of hidden costs, just went to cancel a policy and they charged a cancelled fee. Just ridiculous! Wont use them again

Insurance claim madeNo
Overit

Overit

  • 2 reviews

Smooth transition

published

I moved to Virgin Money 10 months ago for car insurance. I recently traded my car in for a new one and the process to transfer my policy was easier than i could have imagined. Virgin Money were so easy to deal with and gave me all the information I needed.

Insurance claim madeNo

Braddy

BraddyGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Smooth Process

published

Had to lodge a claim with Virgin when someone reversed into my new car and drove off. From the initial phone calls, visiting the assessment centre, through to booking in with the panel beater, the whole process was very well handled and the job completed within a few weeks. The preferred third party panel beater (Gladstone Motor and Panel) fitted the new car door and did an amazing job with the paint work, like new again.

Insurance claim madeYes

Phil E.

Phil E.

  • 5 reviews

Lied to by Customer Service Rep

published

AVOID This company at all costs, I was lied to when trying to cancel my car insurance, I have now done so and been slugged with a $40 cancellation fee. WHAT a load of crap, when I originally wanted to cancel I was out of contract. This company has no morals and I know they might get my $40 but I WILL NEVER deal with them again so they've just lost whatever I've been paying and I will now go elsewhere. They have no idea how to treat customers or how to hold onto them. Not the reps fault today whom I've spoken with but they need to also monitor their reps and sack them and re think their policy agreements.

PS: I've scored them a 1 but would be a negative 2 if I could.

Insurance claim madeNo

Mitch

MitchMelbourne

Absolute pus

published

Terrible experience when it came time to make a claim. Made to jump through hoops providing a driving record, answering a million questions all because somebody smashed my window and forced entry into my 12 month old car. The claim was cancelled after 1 day after I was asked to pay up front an excess, before even receiving a quote to repair. This company is a joke, don’t be fooled into budget insurance folks.

Insurance claim madeYes

Worst service

published

Worst customer service!Bought a Comprehensive car insurance and they increased it after a month coz I didn’t comply with the requirements, I’ve provided them with NCD1 even charge $40 for insurance cancellation. Don’t buy any Insurance Products from Virgin Insurance.

Insurance claim madeNo

Page 1 of 4

Questions & Answers

Joyce

Joyceasked

Could I choose my own repaired if I get a comprehensive policy with this provider?

1 answer
Al G
Al G

Good luck getting anything from them... dodgy brothers central they are


Get an answer from our members and Virgin Money representatives


Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.