??!

How to compare car insurance to find the best policy for you

If you're a regular driver, a good car insurance policy can grant you peace of mind. With so many providers and policies on the market, dipping into the policy pool can be confusing. Use this guide for tips on how to find the best, cheapest car insurance for you, whether comprehensive or third party.

Read now

Reviews

1.7

73 reviews
5
(11)
4
(1)
3
(1)
2
(3)
1
(57)
  • Value for Money
    1.9 (21)
  • Customer Service
    1.9 (21)
  • Timeliness
    1.6 (17)
  • Job Satisfaction
    1.5 (10)
  • Transparency
    1.7 (19)
Previous
Next

Deceptive

published
Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Car ModelToyota
See all answers
Shane

ShaneSydney, NSW

Virgin Insurance (Legal & General) has refused to repair minor accident damage to a safe standard.

published

Ive been with Virgin for over 4 years without a claim. Virgin Insurance (Legal & General) has now refused to repair minor accident damage to a safe standard. So however cheap it is, its not worth a cent. On top of this, we have an insurer refusing to safely repair vehicles to their previous standard. This looks to be an issue with their assessor's lack of understanding of the vehicle, but has implications not only for it customers, but for the general public, with customers now being shoehorned into driving on public roads, vehicles that have not been repaired to a safe standard. Unbelievable, but true.

Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim ApprovedNo
Car ModelAudi RS3
See all answers
Nireka

NirekaGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Worst insurance provider! 6 months down yet to have the claim resolved for very minor accident!

published
Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateMarch 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
Car Insurance

Find out how Virgin Car Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jill S.

Jill S.Central Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

Worst customer service ever

published

We had a small accident in January 2020, Virgin Insurance admitted that we were not at fault
Tried to get information in regard to what was happening with our claim phone calls, emails they did not provide any information in regard to following up the other party ,we paid our excess to get our car fixed there has been no contact from them., meant they did not have to pay out much for the repairs. We also had to hire a car. This is the worst car insurance company ever just a rip off

Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claim DateJanuary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Sam

Sam

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Do Not Go With Virgin - They Will Rip You Off Too!!

published

Car came back from a service center damaged in multiple locations (almost every panel). Damage could not be determined if it happened on the tow truck or service center as no condition report was done. Tried to claim comprehensive insurance and was told "existing damage" for things like tiny stone chips that had nothing to do with the major damage to paint and panel that had occurred. Do not go with these people - they will rip you off too!!

Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers

Insane Premium Price Hike After 1 Claim I Made In 8 Years With Them With Paid Rating 1 Protection!

published
Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateNovember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Car ModelMazda 3 BL
See all answers
Annoyed customer

Annoyed customerSouth East Queensland, QLD

Canceled my home and contents insurance, only to find out they do not provide credit back. I‘m owed $160 - disappointing

published

Canceled a monthly instalment payment; virgin money insurance does not offer credit back. So disappointed, this company deserves to go bust.
Unethical business that does not deserve to operate in Australia.

Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
Bill

BillSouth East Queensland, QLD

Slow and dodgy

published

My car was hit by another car changing lanes. It was undoubtedly the other driver’s fault, his tyre left a black mark down the length of my vehicle so he was obviously turning his wheel. Even the panel beaters said without a doubt it was the other driver’s fault. The driver was 85 years old, had medical conditions listed on his driver’s licence, and wore coke bottle glasses. After 7 months, Virgin said they couldn’t tell who was to blame and decided “Each bear own”. I lost my $800 excess and my no claims discount. If I didn’t think the other driver was at fault I would have fixed the damage myself and saved my no claims discount. I’ve been insured with them for several years and have never made a claim.

Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateOctober 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
Cisco

CiscoSydney, NSW

  • 60 reviews
  • 25 likes

Prices are reasonable. Claims process is smooth

published

Made a first claim after getting into a no-fault accident in December. Process was pretty smooth over the phone, but fixing the minor damage a little slow because of a busy period for claims resulting from recent floods. I would recommend

Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateDecember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Car ModelSubaru Liberty
See all answers
Car Insurance

Find out how Virgin Car Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Kayles

KaylesGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Can’t rely on the roadside assistance

published

I have been insured with Virgin for about 5 years & this is the first time l had to use their roadside assist. It’s a clear beautiful day so there should be no reason why there is a long wait but l called them 2 & a half hours ago & am still waiting. They obviously don’t have enough mechanics servicing Melbourne. I will seriously be looking at changing after this. It’s unacceptable.

Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
Car ModelHonda HR-V
See all answers
Michael

MichaelGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Quite poor and refused to renew policy

published

I live in Victoria Australia, in two years I had to claim twice for a windscreen due to separate unfortunate circumstances (rock chips)
My premiums cost $2500 yearly and I always pay extra for windscreen cover
Recently, days before my renewal date I received a letter claiming virgin money wold not re-insure me

Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateDecember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Car ModelVolvo XC60
See all answers
John

John

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Disgusting Servce

published
Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateDecember 2019
Car ModelHolden Commodore VY
See all answers
Etienne

Etienne

  • 6 reviews
  • 9 likes

Great until you have an issue..

published

Cheaper price than the other big names, decent online management portal but all goes to downhill if you have a query that takes someone more than 10 seconds to answer. Offshore call centre and all the problems that come with it..

Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
Richard

RichardSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

ABSOLUTELY DISGUSTING SERVICE

published

My pensioner mother in law was the not at fault third party driver involved in an accident with a Virgin Insurance customer. Virgin refused to pay a fair and reasonable total loss market value settlement figure for the vehicle. Virgin have offered a settlement figure $3,000.00 below the market value and I am still disputing the claim 5 months after the incident. Richard Branson you should be ashamed of yourself.

Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Insurance TypeThird Party Property Damage
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder No
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateAugust 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Car ModelMitsubishi Pajero
See all answers

Cost effective but not great when you make a claim

published

The cost was reasonable, but when it came to making a claim, there were very limited options for repairers - had to travel around 25 minutes to the nearest repair centre with all of the associated Uber costs etc. The repair was fine, but long wait times for their call center so not a great overall experience.

Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateOctober 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Car Insurance

Find out how Virgin Car Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

One Star cause I had to

published

So... I got rear ended by an UBER driver, got all his required details and had to make a claim.

I had to pay $77 for forgetting to disclose a not at fault claim 3.5 years ago (fair enough I guess) and also $24.73 for a traffic history report. I did all the running around for them and still no repair in sight.

They are based in South Africa and their service is absolutely horrible.

I have immediately changed back to my previous insurer at a higher rate. The only reason I change to Virgin was for the Velocity points bonus and cheaper insurance.

But please, do not go with these people!

They will do EVERYTHING possible to get out a claim.

Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateNovember 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
Ikj

IkjGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

The worst experience

published

I paid 306 dollars for insurence but after 10 months i wanted to cancel it, and imagine they refund me of fantastic 1 dollar. Their Costumer service did not told me this information

Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Insurance TypeThird Party Property Damage
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
Car ModelVolkswagen Golf
See all answers
Melissa

MelissaGoulburn Valley, VIC

Don’t go with what so ever

published

My partner had car insurance with them. And come time to pay out the claim it got rejected and policy was canceled because he has a dvo. Now we are without a car and $18000 in the red.

Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateAugust 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
Helen

HelenSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Do not se Virgin Money Insurance

published
Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
See all answers
Ahmet S

Ahmet SSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 14 reviews
  • 9 likes

Consider seriously before you get.

published

All good untill you make a claim under writers go for petty scenes and make it hard and depressing ask for service log books every possible question I went through hell. And the accident I was not at fault god help if I was at fault. Under writers Auto and General gave me hell.

Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Page 1 of 4

Questions & Answers

Joyce

Joyceasked

Virgin Car Insurance

Could I choose my own repaired if I get a comprehensive policy with this provider?

1 answer
Al G
Al G

Good luck getting anything from them... dodgy brothers central they are

Get an answer from our members and Virgin Money representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.