??!
1 photo
Volkswagen Golf Mk.7 Hatchback GTI

Volkswagen Golf Mk.7 Hatchback GTI (2013-2017)

4.0 from 14 reviews · View Details

Reviews

4.0

14 reviews
5
(7)
4
(2)
3
(3)
2
(2)
1
(0)
  • Build Quality
    4.3 (3)
  • Value for Money
    3.7 (3)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (3)
  • Noise Level
    4.3 (3)
  • Acceleration / Power
    5.0 (3)
  • Handling
    5.0 (3)
  • Braking
    4.7 (3)
  • Suspension
    4.7 (3)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.7 (3)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.7 (3)
  • Interior Design
    4.3 (3)
  • Boot Size
    4.7 (3)
  • Features
    4.3 (3)
  • Comfort
    4.3 (3)
Previous
Next
Kayla H.

Kayla H.Sydney, NSW

Cheap Budget Parts - Warning!

published

Purchased in February 2016 for A$50,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Harley

HarleyGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Performance and comfort. So fun!

published

Purchased in June 2018 at Volkswagen Dealers for A$26,850.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Pablo

PabloMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 12 reviews
  • 14 likes

Fantastic

published

My wife and I bought a used mk7 Golf GTI with 134,000 km on it! (manual). It still looks, feels and drives like a new car. Our family with 2 kids are very tall and we find this a fantastic, and fun, primary car. It tows well too.
With the addition of a roof pod there is lots of luggage space for holidays.
The only problem we've had is a flat battery.

Purchased in August 2018 for A$18,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Hatchbacks

Find out how Volkswagen Golf Mk.7 Hatchback GTI compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Steffannie V

Steffannie VAU

  • 3 reviews

Sporty quick and fun

published

Bought brand new, I have modified it freely and I truly love the performance of this car, added features leather seats sun roof premium sounds system all worth the extra I paid.
Bought in black is my only downfall it is hard to keep clean but otherwise this car has been a great investment tbh

BodyHatch
BadgeGTI
TransmissionDSG
Engine Size2.0
Date PurchasedMay 2017
Miggy.o

Miggy.o

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Wish i bought a Toyota

published

I use my gti mk7 as a everyday car with modifications and iv been having issues not with my sport modifications but with simple yet expensive standard features such as corner light sensors and cruise control systems. The car just doesn't feel like a high end car after 1 yr. Feels like a old abused car although i take care of it and get it serviced. Wish i had bought a Toyota.

BodyHatch
BadgeGTI
TransmissionDSG
Engine Size2.0
Date PurchasedMay 2017
C.lee

C.leePerth

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great car but needs better QC

published

MK7 GTI owner, best hatchrocket ever driven, slick design and beautiful interior. However, continuously rattling keep bothers me so now I'm switch to a higher level brand than VW, the engine mount needed strengthen, it vibrates in an abnormal way under hard acceleration which is what this car designed for.

BodyHatch
BadgeGTI
TransmissionDSG
Engine Size2.0
Date PurchasedApr 2016
Swanny

SwannyBrisbane

  • 5 reviews

Great car to drive

published

It's fast, looks very stylish, sounds great especially when driving through a tunnel. The fuel usage is definitely not bad at all. Very comfortable to sit in for long periods, having Android Auto/CarPlay is a god send in this day and age. It handles very well, takes corners without any issues. Only issues I have is the USB port in the dash is a bit awkward to plug things into and feels a tad loose. Also not a huge fan of the seat cover pattern.

BodyHatch
BadgeGTI
TransmissionManual
Engine Size2.8
Date PurchasedJan 2018
Richard

RichardSydney

  • 8 reviews
  • 6 likes

GTI rocket!

published
BodyHatch
BadgeGTI
TransmissionManual
Engine Size2.0
Date PurchasedMay 2017
Lynne w

Lynne w

  • 7 reviews
  • 7 likes

Golf Gti

published

I love my Golf GTi. It's my pocket rocket and hard to keep the men folk of the family out of it. Zippy fast smooth efficient comfortable and looks hot. servicing is reasonable and is on a par with most car brands. I am so in love with this car and I know I'll have it for quite some time.

BodyHatch
BadgeGTI
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size2.0
Date PurchasedOct 2015
Hatchbacks

Find out how Volkswagen Golf Mk.7 Hatchback GTI compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Emilio

EmilioAdelaide

  • 6 reviews

Great Car.

published

I have had this car for 2 years now and have not had any major issues with it. Runs smooth and handles what you would expect in a golf. Fuel economy is also great & for a small car has reasonable leg space in the back. Only downfall is maybe too small a boot but that is expected. 9.10.

BodyHatch
BadgeGTI
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size2.0
Date PurchasedFeb 2015
XV Owner

XV OwnerCanberra 2600, ACT

Good fun car, if you can handle the bugs...

published

The mechanics are reliable, however the electrics are another thing... Radar needs re-calibration, safety settings turn off by themselves, entertainment system locks and the 'Modes' also freezes. The radar will sometimes detect something that isn't there and locks up the brakes, not great at higher speed and with vehicles close behind. When it works it works well. Great on fuel, quiet, comfortable. When it comes to the electrics, don't expect anything from the dealers, they just point you to VW service line...

BodyHatch
BadgeGTI
TransmissionManual
Engine Size2.0
Date PurchasedOct 2015
Johna52

Johna52Farrer 2607, ACT

  • 14 reviews
  • 8 likes

Beware the fake fixed price service

published
BodyHatch
BadgeGTI
TransmissionManual
Engine Size2.0
KellieL

KellieLSydney

  • 26 reviews
  • 8 likes

Hate this car so much .....

published

Words cannot express how much I hate this car - bought it new late last year and it is worst decision I ever made.

The camera does not work properly, Bluetooth cannot connect all the time and that is just two issues.

I was never a fan of the interior of this car but thought the standard equipment and drive would be worth it but the driving experience does not come close to making up for the sub-standard feel.

We are going on holiday at the end of next month for five weeks and the first thing we are doing upon our return is putting the car up for sale.

BodyHatch
BadgeGTI
TransmissionAutomatic
Dyma

Dyma

  • 6 reviews
  • 8 likes

Mk7 Golf GTI

published

Had this car for approx 9 months now and driven just over 20,000Kms, Also took a road trip from Victoria to Queensland and back which was 5,000kms round trip in 2 weeks. I can say the Golf was a pleasure to drive on the open road (handles well without being bone jarring - no aching back) with 3 adults and full loaded with luggage including the back seat. Averaged 6.7k/l00L. Around town its just as good. Seen a few complaints about the start/stop system but you can easy control this once you figure it out and the 15,000km service cost me $250.00 at VW dealer. All I can say its worth every penny I paid for it. Love it..
Excellent finish, power, ride and fuel economy.
Still waiting for tow bar.

Engine Size2.0T
BadgeGTI
BodyHatch
1 comment
Dyma
Dyma
See all Volkswagen Golf reviews

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions about Volkswagen Golf Mk.7 Hatchback GTI (2013-2017) but you can read 36 questions about Volkswagen Golf.

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.