??!

See the Best Hatchbacks in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
37
4 star
17
3 star
12
2 star
8
1 star
16

Ben

BenGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 9 likes

Great buzz box

published

After adding roof racks it's a beast. Seriously, it's a tardis!
We use our polo for work and play. Seats 5 rugby players, acts as a station wagon for storage, burns through the Twisties even as a diesel. But.....
Issues with the coffee cup holder, it is broke plain and simple. Servicing is expensive, vw well duh. Headlight replacement is a mechanics job and requires battery box or air box removal.
Airbag and dodgy vs shenanigans aside......
Want to love it, don't, but I really really really like it.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
See all answers

swampgal

swampgal

  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes

Couldn't be happier or safer

published

Purchased in November 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Nugget

NuggetSydney, NSW

  • 21 reviews
  • 12 likes

A Very Good Small Car

published

Purchased in February 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Snowy

SnowySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Bought a lemon

published

Purchased in September 2012 for $26,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2012
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

cliff

cliffSouth East Queensland, QLD

great car

published

great handling, fuel economy and overall quality. Highly recommend to everyone. Drive the car everyday to work and weekends. Great sound system. I am a older driver and have had many cars in my life. Best car i have owned. Not the fastest car around but I gets you there in style. You want a race car go to the race track.

Purchased in November 2016 at Southport vw for $19,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Kerrie Mee

Kerrie Mee

  • 2 reviews

Love my Polo

published

This is a power, fast, compact car. So easy to park, but heaps of space inside. It is quiet to run, very economical on fuel and only serviced once a year. I have had no trouble with my Polo and any queries / problems have been addressed immediately by the service centre. Highly recommend the VW Polo and the VW brand

Badge66TSI Trendline
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2015

Brad

BradSale

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Powerful Little Hatch

published

I bought this Polo at the start of 2017. Auto, comfortline Polo, and I was very surprised about the power and noise that comes out of this car. Quick off the line and low on fuel consumption. It has adaptive cruise control so the car basically drives itself on the highways. Would highly recommend

Badge81TSI Comfortline
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2017

Annie

AnnieMelbourne

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Great car

published

Purchased a new Comfortline Polo in October 2018 this year. Traded our 2014 Golf R wanting something more economical and less of a headache cost wise to service. I was a bit dubious at first but for a little car it has a bit of punch and we got it in the manual which makes it fun to drive. Easy to park, responsive, nice interior, doesn't seem as cramped as the older Polo generation/shapes and easy on the pocket. Overall happy with our purchase.

Badge81TSI Comfortline
TransmissionManual
Engine Size1L
Doors5
Date PurchasedOct 2018
RMF

RMFSouth East Queensland, QLD

VW Polo cosmetically great, mechanically poor.

published
Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtNew
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
ConsumerOz

ConsumerOz

  • 7 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great car

published

Brilliant little go-cart.
Perfect for running around town but also super comfortable for long trips. Easiest thing to park. Great "go". Lots of fun. Responsive steering. Nothing went wrong mechanically in 6 years after which we updated to new model.
Loads of space. Huge boot - couldn't believe how much we could get in the boot. Deceptive in size. Lots of leg-room for a little car. Quality finish inside and out. I have no idea why people buy toyotas or mazdas at the same price when they now have such cheap finishes and are less practical.
Reliability +++++

Badge81TSI Comfortline
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedDec 2012

ethan

ethan

  • 4 reviews

Great fun but sensible car!

published
BadgeGTI
TransmissionDSG
Engine Size1.4 Turbocharged & Supercharged
Doors5
Date PurchasedAug 2018

AKW

AKWPerth

  • 5 reviews

Great first car

published

Great first car for a student! Love the fact that it came with a touch screen, reverse parking assistance, blueetooth and Apple Carplay-which is sucha hassle-free thing (you can access spotify, directions, Siri to make calls, send messages). Economical fuel consumption too and smooth steering! No problems so far, easy parking!

Badge81TSI Comfortline
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2018

Elly Tran

Elly TranPoint Cook VIC 3030

  • 4 reviews

Best small car

published

I've been looking for a small car with 5 seaters, modern look, less petrol consumption, solid, easy to drive, cheap service. And yes it is, VW Polo which ticks all my checklists. I've been driving everyday without any problem. The car is very easy to handle but still solid and safe on any type of road. I drove much on freeway and city. It never disappointed me a second. Just only use $60 per fortnight for the petrol. Still have my baby comfortably at the back and enjoy my driving at the front !!!

Badge66TSI Trendline
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size1.2L Turbo Petrol
Doors5
Date PurchasedMar 2014

workingmum

workingmum

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

No digital speed display and rattles

published
Badge66TSI Trendline
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size1.2L Turbo Petrol
Doors5
Date PurchasedMar 2017
Fab

Fab

  • 5 reviews

My Polo <3

published

I bought my first Polo 2 years ago and seriously to this day (touch wood), I had no issue with the car and it's extremely economical. I drive more than 400kms in a week and only use $35-$40 worth of fuel. I really recommend a vVolkswagen, whether it's a Polo or something else.

Badge66TSI Trendline
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedAug 2016
Jess

JessMelbourne

  • 5 reviews
  • 8 likes

Great little fast car

published

Great to drive and very low cost to run. This fantastic car is the best I’ve bought so far. The service VW offer is very good too. Although they are expensive you get warranty on al their work. I bought the car second hand but it’s in great condition and drives well

BadgeGTI
TransmissionDSG
Engine Size1.4L Turbo Petrol
Date PurchasedNov 2017

Federico

FedericoSutherland

  • 9 reviews

Very nice car

published

I am very happy with this car, it is small does not consume much fuel and it is easy to drive. The interiors are nice, despite the fact that is the entry level of VW. With one liter of 94 petrol I can drive for approximately 18km which overall is not too bad

BadgeClassic
TransmissionManual
Engine Size1.4L Petrol
Doors3
Date PurchasedJun 2014

Terrible, very disappointed

published

When I stop car it jerks, when I take off from standing position car jerks. Feels like seats coming forwards. When I'm coming out of a parking space, car will go very slow, then suddenly shoots forwards. Dangerous. Is this normal for this model. My mechanic says it is. Very unsatisfactory.

Badge66TSI Trendline
TransmissionDSG
Engine Size1.4L Petrol
Doors5
Date PurchasedNov 2017

dinesh

dineshmelbourne

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Good car !

published

Easy driving. Good for short haul drive. Fuel consumption is good too. Small and easy for 2 people commute. The car has many perks like bluetooth for mobile use, controls on the driving wheel which make it easy. Easy parking with reverse cameras. best price vehicle for the price. VW has a good name so I went with it.

Badge81TSI Comfortline
TransmissionDSG
Date PurchasedNov 2017

jme

jme

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

little car that is a pleasure to drive

published

although it may look small on the outside, the inside is quite spacious for a person that is 6ft. it is really good on petrol, only 6L/100km which saves me alot of money in the long run. it handles really well in all conditions, even off road. the inside is very luxurious and feels alot more expensiv than it really is. the speaker system works better than most other cars i have been in.

Badge81TSI Comfortline
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size1.4L Turbo Petrol
Doors5
Date PurchasedMay 2010

Page 1 of 5

Questions & Answers

David

Davidasked

Are the polo diesel 2012 dpf?

No answers

Christine F.

Christine F.asked

Where on my2015 polo trendline 1.2 turbo is the oil filter cannot see because of air filter and other fittings

1 answer
cliff
cliff

Under the engine . Access to it from underneath the car . Pull Off the plastic Cover you will see it.


Sally Catriona F.

Sally Catriona F.asked

Hiya, this seems like such a silly question but I can't find how to check my odometer!! I have a 2017 polo launch edition. I can find "since start" and "long term" km's but I can't find my total km's anywhere!

3 answers
cliff
cliff

Hi Catriona. the stop start KMs are in the screen in the centre of the Dash. You need the ignition on and scroll through the menu for the cars techno information. The KMs are counted on a small screen in the centre of the tacho and the speedometer

Sally Catriona F.
Sally Catriona F.

That's where I was looking, I've been through every menu so many times and I can only find "short term" and "long term" km's, I can't find the total km's anywhere.

Sally Catriona F.
Sally Catriona F.

Omg I finally found it. For some reason it's hidden behind the cruise control. When I turn off cruise control it's there. I just never usually have cruise control off - even when it's not actually engaged I still leave it on. I was looking under "driving data" which, if you ask me, would be a much more sensible place for it to be located!!


Get an answer from our members and Volkswagen representatives

Details

Volkswagen Polo AW 70TSI Trendline Manual

Volkswagen Polo AW 70TSI Trendline Manual (2017-2019)

No reviews
Volkswagen Polo AW 70TSI Trendline Automatic

Volkswagen Polo AW 70TSI Trendline Automatic (2017-2019)

No reviews
Volkswagen Polo AW 85TSI Comfortline Manual

Volkswagen Polo AW 85TSI Comfortline Manual (2017-2019)

No reviews
Volkswagen Polo AW 85TSI Comfortline Automatic

Volkswagen Polo AW 85TSI Comfortline Automatic (2017-2019)

No reviews
Volkswagen Polo AW GTI

Volkswagen Polo AW GTI (2017-2019)

No reviews
Volkswagen Polo MK4 9N
  • Discontinued

Volkswagen Polo MK4 9N (2002-2010)

10 reviews
Volkswagen Polo MK5.I 6R
  • Discontinued

Volkswagen Polo MK5.I 6R (2010-2014)

31 reviews
Volkswagen Polo MK5.II 6R
  • Discontinued

Volkswagen Polo MK5.II 6R (2014-2017)

47 reviews
Volkswagen Polo AW beats Manual
  • Discontinued

Volkswagen Polo AW beats Manual (2016)

No reviews
Volkswagen Polo AW beats Automatic
  • Discontinued

Volkswagen Polo AW beats Automatic (2016)

No reviews
CategoryHatchbacksHatchbacksHatchbacksHatchbacksHatchbacksHatchbacksHatchbacksHatchbacksHatchbacksHatchbacks
Starting Price $18,790$21,290$20,290$22,790$31,990
TransmissionManualDual-Clutch (DCT)ManualDual-Clutch (DCT)Dual-Clutch (DCT)
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels15" Steel15" Steel15" Alloy15" Alloy17" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Doors5555555
Seats5555555
Fuel Consumption4.8 L/100km5 L/100km5.1 L/100km5 L/100km6.1 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 40 L40 L40 L40 L40 L40 L40 L
Engine3 Cylinder 1.0L3 Cylinder 1.0L3 Cylinder 1.0L3 Cylinder 1.0L3 Cylinder 1.0L3 Cylinder 1.0L3 Cylinder 1.0L
Max Power70kW @ 5500rpm70kW @ 5500rpm85kW @ 5500rpm85kW @ 5500rpm147kW @ 6000rpm
Max Torque175Nm @ 2000-3500rpm175Nm @ 2000-3500rpm200Nm @ 2000-3500rpm200Nm @ 2000-3500rpm320Nm @ 1450-4390rpm
Country of ManufactureSouth AfricaSouth AfricaSouth AfricaSouth AfricaSouth AfricaSouth AfricaSouth Africa
Safety Features
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Driver Attention Detection
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Reversing Camera
  • Seat Belt Reminders
  • Traction Control
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Driver Attention Detection
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Reversing Camera
  • Seat Belt Reminders
  • Traction Control
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Driver Attention Detection
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Reversing Camera
  • Seat Belt Reminders
  • Traction Control
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Driver Attention Detection
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Reversing Camera
  • Seat Belt Reminders
  • Traction Control
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Driver Attention Detection
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Reversing Camera
  • Seat Belt Reminders
  • Traction Control
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Driver Attention Detection
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Reversing Camera
  • Seat Belt Reminders
  • Traction Control
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Driver Attention Detection
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Reversing Camera
  • Seat Belt Reminders
  • Traction Control
Extra Features
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Immobilizer
  • Power Steering
  • USB Port
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Immobilizer
  • Power Steering
  • USB Port
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Immobilizer
  • Power Steering
  • USB Port
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Immobilizer
  • Power Steering
  • USB Port
  • Adjustable Pedals
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • USB Port
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Immobilizer
  • Power Steering
  • USB Port
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Immobilizer
  • Power Steering
  • USB Port
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Release dateJan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2002Jan 2010Jan 2014Jan 2016Jan 2016
Discontinuation dateDec 2010Dec 2014Dec 2017Dec 2016Dec 2016
Replaced byVolkswagen Polo MK5.I 6RVolkswagen Polo MK5.II 6R

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.