??!
11 photos
Volkswagen Polo

Volkswagen Polo

MK5.II 6R, MK5.I 6R, MK4 9N, AW
3.6 from 91 reviews

Reviews

3.6

91 reviews
5
(37)
4
(17)
3
(13)
2
(8)
1
(16)
  • Build Quality
    3.3 (6)
  • Value for Money
    3.7 (6)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.4 (5)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (6)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.8 (5)
  • Handling
    4.2 (5)
  • Braking
    4.6 (5)
  • Suspension
    3.8 (5)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.2 (5)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.6 (5)
  • Interior Design
    4.0 (5)
  • Boot Size
    4.2 (5)
  • Features
    3.6 (5)
  • Comfort
    4.2 (5)
Previous
Next
and13

and13

  • 4 reviews

Expensive servicing

published

Servicing is extremely expensive and I’d consider another brand of car based on this alone. Although the stereo and especially CarPlay isn’t reliable it’s about the only issue I’ve had At 15,000 km. Very good on fuel even if you have to buy premium. Car looks great and drives well.

BoughtNew
Year2019
Ben

BenGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 9 likes

Great buzz box

published

After adding roof racks it's a beast. Seriously, it's a tardis!
We use our polo for work and play. Seats 5 rugby players, acts as a station wagon for storage, burns through the Twisties even as a diesel. But.....
Issues with the coffee cup holder, it is broke plain and simple. Servicing is expensive, vw well duh. Headlight replacement is a mechanics job and requires battery box or air box removal.
Airbag and dodgy vs shenanigans aside......
Want to love it, don't, but I really really really like it.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
swampgal

swampgal

  • 8 reviews

Couldn't be happier or safer

published

Purchased in November 2018.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Hatchbacks

Find out how Volkswagen Polo compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Nugget

NuggetSydney, NSW

  • 22 reviews
  • 1 like

A Very Good Small Car

published

Purchased in February 2018.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Snowy

SnowySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Bought a lemon

published

Purchased in September 2012 for A$26,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2012
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
cliff

cliffSouth East Queensland, QLD

great car

published

great handling, fuel economy and overall quality. Highly recommend to everyone. Drive the car everyday to work and weekends. Great sound system. I am a older driver and have had many cars in my life. Best car i have owned. Not the fastest car around but I gets you there in style. You want a race car go to the race track.

Purchased in November 2016 at Southport vw for A$19,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Kerrie Mee

Kerrie Mee

  • 2 reviews

Love my Polo

published

This is a power, fast, compact car. So easy to park, but heaps of space inside. It is quiet to run, very economical on fuel and only serviced once a year. I have had no trouble with my Polo and any queries / problems have been addressed immediately by the service centre. Highly recommend the VW Polo and the VW brand

Badge66TSI Trendline
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2015
Brad

BradSale

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Powerful Little Hatch

published

I bought this Polo at the start of 2017. Auto, comfortline Polo, and I was very surprised about the power and noise that comes out of this car. Quick off the line and low on fuel consumption. It has adaptive cruise control so the car basically drives itself on the highways. Would highly recommend

Badge81TSI Comfortline
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2017
Annie

AnnieMelbourne

  • 6 reviews

Great car

published

Purchased a new Comfortline Polo in October 2018 this year. Traded our 2014 Golf R wanting something more economical and less of a headache cost wise to service. I was a bit dubious at first but for a little car it has a bit of punch and we got it in the manual which makes it fun to drive. Easy to park, responsive, nice interior, doesn't seem as cramped as the older Polo generation/shapes and easy on the pocket. Overall happy with our purchase.

Badge81TSI Comfortline
TransmissionManual
Engine Size1L
Doors5
Date PurchasedOct 2018
Hatchbacks

Find out how Volkswagen Polo compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
RMF

RMFSouth East Queensland, QLD

VW Polo cosmetically great, mechanically poor.

published
Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtNew
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
ConsumerOz

ConsumerOz

  • 7 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great car

published

Brilliant little go-cart.
Perfect for running around town but also super comfortable for long trips. Easiest thing to park. Great "go". Lots of fun. Responsive steering. Nothing went wrong mechanically in 6 years after which we updated to new model.
Loads of space. Huge boot - couldn't believe how much we could get in the boot. Deceptive in size. Lots of leg-room for a little car. Quality finish inside and out. I have no idea why people buy toyotas or mazdas at the same price when they now have such cheap finishes and are less practical.
Reliability +++++

Badge81TSI Comfortline
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedDec 2012
ethan

ethan

  • 4 reviews

Great fun but sensible car!

published
BadgeGTI
TransmissionDSG
Engine Size1.4 Turbocharged & Supercharged
Doors5
Date PurchasedAug 2018
AKW

AKWPerth

  • 5 reviews

Great first car

published

Great first car for a student! Love the fact that it came with a touch screen, reverse parking assistance, blueetooth and Apple Carplay-which is sucha hassle-free thing (you can access spotify, directions, Siri to make calls, send messages). Economical fuel consumption too and smooth steering! No problems so far, easy parking!

Badge81TSI Comfortline
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2018
Elly Tran

Elly TranPoint Cook VIC 3030

  • 4 reviews

Best small car

published

I've been looking for a small car with 5 seaters, modern look, less petrol consumption, solid, easy to drive, cheap service. And yes it is, VW Polo which ticks all my checklists. I've been driving everyday without any problem. The car is very easy to handle but still solid and safe on any type of road. I drove much on freeway and city. It never disappointed me a second. Just only use $60 per fortnight for the petrol. Still have my baby comfortably at the back and enjoy my driving at the front !!!

Badge66TSI Trendline
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size1.2L Turbo Petrol
Doors5
Date PurchasedMar 2014
workingmum

workingmum

  • 6 reviews

No digital speed display and rattles

published
Badge66TSI Trendline
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size1.2L Turbo Petrol
Doors5
Date PurchasedMar 2017
Hatchbacks

Find out how Volkswagen Polo compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Fab

Fab

  • 5 reviews

My Polo <3

published

I bought my first Polo 2 years ago and seriously to this day (touch wood), I had no issue with the car and it's extremely economical. I drive more than 400kms in a week and only use $35-$40 worth of fuel. I really recommend a vVolkswagen, whether it's a Polo or something else.

Badge66TSI Trendline
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedAug 2016
Jess

JessMelbourne

  • 5 reviews
  • 8 likes

Great little fast car

published

Great to drive and very low cost to run. This fantastic car is the best I’ve bought so far. The service VW offer is very good too. Although they are expensive you get warranty on al their work. I bought the car second hand but it’s in great condition and drives well

BadgeGTI
TransmissionDSG
Engine Size1.4L Turbo Petrol
Date PurchasedNov 2017
Federico

FedericoSutherland

  • 9 reviews

Very nice car

published

I am very happy with this car, it is small does not consume much fuel and it is easy to drive. The interiors are nice, despite the fact that is the entry level of VW. With one liter of 94 petrol I can drive for approximately 18km which overall is not too bad

BadgeClassic
TransmissionManual
Engine Size1.4L Petrol
Doors3
Date PurchasedJun 2014

Terrible, very disappointed

published

When I stop car it jerks, when I take off from standing position car jerks. Feels like seats coming forwards. When I'm coming out of a parking space, car will go very slow, then suddenly shoots forwards. Dangerous. Is this normal for this model. My mechanic says it is. Very unsatisfactory.

Badge66TSI Trendline
TransmissionDSG
Engine Size1.4L Petrol
Doors5
Date PurchasedNov 2017
dinesh

dineshmelbourne

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Good car !

published

Easy driving. Good for short haul drive. Fuel consumption is good too. Small and easy for 2 people commute. The car has many perks like bluetooth for mobile use, controls on the driving wheel which make it easy. Easy parking with reverse cameras. best price vehicle for the price. VW has a good name so I went with it.

Badge81TSI Comfortline
TransmissionDSG
Date PurchasedNov 2017
Page 1 of 5

Questions & Answers

Judi W.

Judi W.asked

Polo

Hi I have a 2010 TDI and recently when I start the car the clock has been going back to zero, so has the KM readings and also today the cruise control ha stopped working. Any ideas on what the problem could be? Your suggestions greatly appreciated.

1 answer
Nugget
Nugget

No idea on what would cause that. But if it was my car I would take it to a VW service centre.

Janet W.

Janet W.asked

Polo

My niece bought a VW Polo in 2015 and had issues with the AC during the warranty period. Its now out of warranty and the service centre is now admitting to the problem (after having it back to them several times this year to fix AC) being a major one. We would be very interested to hear if anyone else has had similar issues as we think VW should be responsible for this repair.
Thanks
Janet

1 answer
Nugget
Nugget

It sounds as if it's a Warranty matter. If the AC problem occurred during the Warranty period, was brought to the dealers attention at the time, and was not then fixed I think it remains a Warranty issue. That arguement is strengthened if the dealer now concedes that the problem is the one they were told about under Warranty.

David

Davidasked

Polo

Are the polo diesel 2012 dpf?

1 answer
Fired Up
Fired Up

Ask VW

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.