??!
18 photos
Volkswagen Tiguan 5N

Volkswagen Tiguan 5N (2008-2020)

Also referred to as: Volkswagen Tiguan 5N 2019 and Volkswagen Tiguan 5N 2021. 103TDI, 147TSI, 118TSI, etc...
3.6 from 152 reviews

Reviews

3.6

152 reviews
5
(58)
4
(40)
3
(12)
2
(20)
1
(22)
  • Build Quality
    4.1 (22)
  • Value for Money
    3.4 (20)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.9 (20)
  • Noise Level
    3.9 (20)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.2 (20)
  • Handling
    4.2 (19)
  • Braking
    4.3 (19)
  • Suspension
    3.6 (18)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.0 (18)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.9 (19)
  • Interior Design
    4.2 (18)
  • Boot Size
    4.1 (18)
  • Features
    4.2 (18)
  • Comfort
    4.4 (18)
Previous
Next
E4841

E4841Perth, WA

  • 5 reviews

So many issues

published
Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2011
See all answers
Tin N.

Tin N.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Volkswagen Tiguan Year 2020 - a disappointment

published

Purchased in February 2020 at Volkswagen Dealers for A$34,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2020
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
DanDan F.

DanDan F.Perth, WA

NOT a reliable car at all

published

Bought this car brand new from VW Wangara WA in 2014 for 38000. sold in 2018 for 12000. Second-hand value took a dive after warranty expired. The maintenance is very high range from 500-900 every time and lack of feature. at 97000KM the engine start getting rough so I took the car for check and apparently the DSG gear is worn out!! to fix the problem will cost 2000!!!!!!!!!! so guys, do not buy this car regardless if this is a German engineering and 5 star safety rating. for the money I spend, you can easily get something much more from that. This is my lesson.

Purchased in April 2014 for A$38,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Volkswagen Tiguan 5N compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Patti

Patti

  • 6 reviews

Great suv

published

Liking out latest purchase, cheap to run, has a few luxury features. We are retired now so don’t use daily. Keyless start easy to get used to. Have added a tow bar ready for taking the boat out

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Danielle

Danielle

  • 18 reviews

Not quite a family car

published

Purchased in August 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
willd0g

willd0gGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Stick to Japanese reliability instead

published

Purchased in September 2018 at Volkswagen Dealers for A$53,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Fair Go

Fair GoFair Suck, Of The Saveloy

  • 17 reviews
  • 247 likes

OVER PRICED RUBBISH

published

We purchased a 2014 132 TSI Pacific, 7 speed DSG with only 58,000km's five months ago and have had nothing but problems with it.
Initially, our insurer advised us that Tiguans are really over priced in the used car sector so be careful what you buy.
In five months, the car has been back to the dealer for leaking oil at the bottom of the engine near the timing chain, timing chain tension replacement, transmission problems and sunroof jamming.
$20,000 down the drain if you ask me when you have this many problems. Should have bought a Hyundai or Kia I think.

Purchased in June 2019 for A$19,990.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtUsed
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
1 comment
Fair Go
Fair Go

Tiguan- major issues.

published
Year2018
Susan W.

Susan W.North Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

European quality and safety

published

If you are looking for a quality car, with European safety don’t go past the Tiguan Comfortline. Volkswagen’s focus on safety is paramount so if you value this, more that fancy trinkets, this is your car.

Purchased in June 2018 at Volkswagen Dealers for A$50,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Volkswagen Tiguan 5N compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
AndyM156

AndyM156Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 14 reviews

Great quality and practical 7 seater. Killer engine.

published

2 months and 2000km into ownership of our high line 162 tsi high line with sound and vision, panoramic sun roof and R line pack. All positive, interior quality is high, and the engine especially in sports mode goes like the clappers. The extra 2 seats in the rear don’t offer enough room for adults for long trips but have come in handy for the kids and their friends. Shopped around for a while before buying and for the features at the price nothing compared. Love it!

Purchased in July 2019 for A$59,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Pat

PatMurrumbidgee Region, NSW

Noise

published

Bought car in 2019 top of line great around town but very noisy on open road not impressed for a $60000 plus car thought in would. Preform better for a car of that value

Purchased in December 2018.

BoughtNew
Jandev

JandevGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 3 reviews

ok for now

published

Bought it last year 2018 end.
Excellent Handling. Excellent ride quality with comfort setting(Adaptive or Dynamic Chassis control Hmmm!!!).Excellent luxurious features, Excellent overall Value.Loving it for now. I like the slick design of the car.

Purchased in November 2018 at Berwick Motor Group for A$61,000.00.

Build Quality
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
GHI

GHISouth East Queensland, QLD

Tiguan 162 TSI RLINE 2019

published

Bought this to replace a Passat as easier to get in and out of at my age. Is very easy to drive and very comfortable to travel in.
Has adjustable suspension settings for Sport or Comfort etc
Is very well appointed and has a myriad of electronic functions.
We just use it for occasional running around and the odd trip of 100km or more.
Is reasonably economical but uses 95 octane so a little more expensive to run
Only had it for 5 months and no problems so far

Purchased in March 2019 for A$57,300.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Sarah

SarahSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Economical and a joy to drive

published

Purchased in March 2017.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Xin Hui

Xin HuiGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 5 reviews

FEEL LIKE I HAVE DONE THE BEST PURCHASE EVER

published

I just purchased this car about a month ago. It is mainly used for daily commute - for work.

My family and I just love how spacious this Allspace edition Tiguan is. It is a 7-seater but when you do not need that extra two seats (mostly meant for children), you get a bigger boot space!

We are happy with the luxury, driving assistance and sound and vision packs too. These packs make driving a more pleasant thing to do and it helps heaps with the parking too! The panoramic sunroof is another bonus to the car!

I would definitely recommend people to get this car if they want something that is not too expensive yet feels expensive!

Purchased in April 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Volkswagen Tiguan 5N compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Aaron A.

Aaron A.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 5 reviews

Best Car I've Owned

published

This is our weekend car. Its used mostly by my partner. We have already had the screen replaced under warranty and had the Panoramic Sunroof harness changed under a service campaign. But the car is great. Made in Germany.

Purchased in May 2018 at Kevin Denis VW for A$54,750.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Peter

PeterSydney

  • 4 reviews

Best bang for your buck.

published

Best bang for your car vehicle. I purchased the r-line option and it looks great. It is great external and internal and has a punchy engine. No better car for the price tag.

Purchased in January 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
See all answers
kristian.karov

kristian.karovPerth, WA

  • 11 reviews

Good, quick and and mostly reliable car

published

Got the 2010 125kW TSI Tiguan some 9 years ago. Good acceleration (best among SUV), car like dynamics (compared to other SUV). Average city mileage. Not without flaws. Battery changed when 5 yo. Tyres changed at only 40K. A major issue was the water pump when 8 year old (an expensive $1400 service). Quite thirsty in town(11/100), economy increases greatly (8/100) on the freeway. Supercharger getting noisy lately. Would i buy another? If handling and road manners are important, then yes, if luxury and cabin comfort are more important, than my wife's CRV feels/ looks better.

Purchased in June 2010.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2010
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Kane

KaneGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 19 reviews

Volkswagen Tiguan 5N Highline Worst car Ive owned very disappointing.

published

Purchased in June 2018 for A$66,500.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Bijay

BijaySouth East Queensland, QLD

Intake manifold problem

published

Purchased in December 2018 at Dealer for A$10,125.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2011
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Page 1 of 8

Questions & Answers

Frank h

Frank hasked

Tiguan 5N (2008-2020)

km per lt on infotainment system is this after
air con and other usage 2016tiguan

3 answers
Tin N.
Tin N.

Sorry Frank, I don't understand the question.

Frank h
Frank h

Frank h again
The question is (when kms per lt is shown on screen is this the kms you are getting while eccesories in use.
Because eccesories also show usage it looks like ther is no change in kms per lt

Fired Up
Fired Up

Sorry Frank, I don't understand the question.

Poss210

Poss210asked

Tiguan 5N (2008-2020)

Tiguan 2016 110TDI MY2017 comfortline with almost 100000km what problems can I expect?

No answers
Alby

Albyasked

Tiguan 5N Comfortline (2016-2020)

Fuel consumption has risen from 7L/100kms to 11L/100kms with no change in driving habits or trip length. Car is 3 years old and has 26,000 kms. Increase became apparent in last six months. Has anyone experienced similar?

1 answer
Fired Up
Fired Up

No

Get an answer from our members

Other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.