??!
18 photos
Volkswagen Tiguan 5N

Volkswagen Tiguan 5N (2008-2020)

Also referred to as: Volkswagen Tiguan 5N 2019 and Volkswagen Tiguan 5N 2021. 103TDI, 132TSI, 147TSI, etc...
3.6 from 158 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

3.6

158 reviews
5
(60)
4
(42)
3
(13)
2
(20)
1
(23)
  • Build Quality
    4.2 (27)
  • Value for Money
    3.6 (25)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.9 (25)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (25)
  • Braking
    4.3 (25)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.2 (26)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.1 (24)
  • Suspension
    3.7 (24)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.7 (25)
  • Handling
    4.4 (24)
  • Interior Design
    4.2 (24)
  • Boot Size
    4.0 (24)
  • Comfort
    4.5 (24)
  • Features
    4.2 (24)
Previous
Next
pcaman2003

pcaman2003Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 20 reviews
  • 13 likes

ANDROID AUTO TOTALLY USELESS

published

We purchased our 2017 VW Tiguan 132TSI 2 years ago. It only had a 3 year warranty and as soon as the warranty ran out recently, we lost Android Auto functionality and a car seat that has jammed up and we can't elevate or lower the seat. Unfortunately the VW dealer couldn't do anything for us without charging for it.
For a relative young car, it's pretty poor that things like this are happening.
On reading reviews online about the Android Auto problems on VW vehicles, I can understand why they don't want to pay for it as there are so many problems and complaints about it.
Apart from that ,the car performs very well and we're happy with it overall, but just disappointed with the lack of support from VW

Purchased in September 2017 at VW Ringwood.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
Year2017
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
nessjez

nessjez

  • 41 reviews
  • 29 likes

Almost 100% happy

published

Purchased in June 2020 for A$56,300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtNew
Year2020
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers

Excellent purchase

published

Bought the VW Tiguan last year as a demo with <100km on the clock. Fully kitted it. No faults as yet, not enjoying reading some of the reviews - with an eye to future possible faults. Great car, little smaller internally that wanted and a little heavier on fuel (premium at that) than warranted for such a new car. Would recommend.

Purchased in April 2019 for A$55,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
Year2019
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Volkswagen Tiguan 5N compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
dzeno

dzenoSouth East Queensland, QLD

Shame on VW

published

Since I purchased this car I have replaced the following parts which are common issues for lots of people.Cluch kit which cost me more than $3000
The roof was leaking as is sunroof so i`ve put silicon on the plastic tubes,because of the leak roof liner was gone had to replace that, the roof curtain stopped working new one cost more then $1000.00
After that intake manifold replaced it twice as it fails all the time,next fuel injectors replaced then fuel pump failed, after that started leaking so main seal was replaced
I can only say one thing would not recommend this car to worse of enemy
and again shame on vw for cheating on people

Purchased for A$13,000.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2009
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Larry

LarrySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

A Great Car

published

The car is very nice. Brought brand new after comparing with BMW X3, Mercedes GLC, Volvo XC60 and Audi Q5. Price wise is not much cheaper than all above but it is with all options ticked. Only thing I wish it had is the heads up display. The servicing is pretty expensive and heavy on fuel consumption. Car has plenty of power and huge in internal space. There is a bit of wind noise from the side mirror at high speed.

Purchased in June 2019 at Volkswagen Dealers for A$62,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers

Best SUV I've owned

published

Absolutely love it!
Very well built, comfortable and economical SUV that has the edge on many other similar priced vehicles. Handling is excellent and ride is very good and quiet.
Ive driven a lot of SUV's of this size and price and I reckon the Tiguan 2 ltr turbo petrol is as good or better than most. Had no issues whatsoever. Love this piece of German engineering!

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2013
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
E4841

E4841Perth, WA

  • 5 reviews
  • 6 likes

So many issues

published
Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2011
See all answers
Tin N.

Tin N.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Volkswagen Tiguan Year 2020 - a disappointment

published

Purchased in February 2020 at Volkswagen Dealers for A$34,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2020
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
DanDan F.

DanDan F.Perth, WA

NOT a reliable car at all

published

Bought this car brand new from VW Wangara WA in 2014 for 38000. sold in 2018 for 12000. Second-hand value took a dive after warranty expired. The maintenance is very high range from 500-900 every time and lack of feature. at 97000KM the engine start getting rough so I took the car for check and apparently the DSG gear is worn out!! to fix the problem will cost 2000!!!!!!!!!! so guys, do not buy this car regardless if this is a German engineering and 5 star safety rating. for the money I spend, you can easily get something much more from that. This is my lesson.

Purchased in April 2014 for A$38,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2014
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Volkswagen Tiguan 5N compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Patti

Patti

  • 6 reviews

Great suv

published

Liking out latest purchase, cheap to run, has a few luxury features. We are retired now so don’t use daily. Keyless start easy to get used to. Have added a tow bar ready for taking the boat out

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Danielle

Danielle

  • 20 reviews
  • 10 likes

Not quite a family car

published

Purchased in August 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
willd0g

willd0gGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Stick to Japanese reliability instead

published

Purchased in September 2018 at Volkswagen Dealers for A$53,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Fair Go

Fair GoFair Suck, Of The Saveloy

  • 17 reviews
  • 339 likes

OVER PRICED RUBBISH

published

We purchased a 2014 132 TSI Pacific, 7 speed DSG with only 58,000km's five months ago and have had nothing but problems with it.
Initially, our insurer advised us that Tiguans are really over priced in the used car sector so be careful what you buy.
In five months, the car has been back to the dealer for leaking oil at the bottom of the engine near the timing chain, timing chain tension replacement, transmission problems and sunroof jamming.
$20,000 down the drain if you ask me when you have this many problems. Should have bought a Hyundai or Kia I think.

Purchased in June 2019 for A$19,990.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtUsed
Year2014
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
1 comment
Fair Go
Fair Go
Ironman87

Ironman87

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Tiguan- major issues.

published
Incentivised ReviewNo
Year2018
Susan W.

Susan W.North Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

European quality and safety

published

If you are looking for a quality car, with European safety don’t go past the Tiguan Comfortline. Volkswagen’s focus on safety is paramount so if you value this, more that fancy trinkets, this is your car.

Purchased in June 2018 at Volkswagen Dealers for A$50,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Volkswagen Tiguan 5N compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
AndyM156

AndyM156Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 14 reviews
  • 21 likes

Great quality and practical 7 seater. Killer engine.

published

2 months and 2000km into ownership of our high line 162 tsi high line with sound and vision, panoramic sun roof and R line pack. All positive, interior quality is high, and the engine especially in sports mode goes like the clappers. The extra 2 seats in the rear don’t offer enough room for adults for long trips but have come in handy for the kids and their friends. Shopped around for a while before buying and for the features at the price nothing compared. Love it!

Purchased in July 2019 for A$59,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Pat

PatMurrumbidgee Region, NSW

Noise

published

Bought car in 2019 top of line great around town but very noisy on open road not impressed for a $60000 plus car thought in would. Preform better for a car of that value

Purchased in December 2018.

Incentivised ReviewNo
BoughtNew
Jandev

JandevGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

ok for now

published

Bought it last year 2018 end.
Excellent Handling. Excellent ride quality with comfort setting(Adaptive or Dynamic Chassis control Hmmm!!!).Excellent luxurious features, Excellent overall Value.Loving it for now. I like the slick design of the car.

Purchased in November 2018 at Berwick Motor Group for A$61,000.00.

Build Quality
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
GHI

GHISouth East Queensland, QLD

Tiguan 162 TSI RLINE 2019

published

Bought this to replace a Passat as easier to get in and out of at my age. Is very easy to drive and very comfortable to travel in.
Has adjustable suspension settings for Sport or Comfort etc
Is very well appointed and has a myriad of electronic functions.
We just use it for occasional running around and the odd trip of 100km or more.
Is reasonably economical but uses 95 octane so a little more expensive to run
Only had it for 5 months and no problems so far

Purchased in March 2019 for A$57,300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Sarah

SarahSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Economical and a joy to drive

published

Purchased in March 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Page 1 of 8

Questions & Answers

Robyn

Robynasked

Tiguan 5N (2008-2020)

We have a 2017 VW Tiguan 132 Comfortline with 32,000klms recently the water pump has failed & is currently @ VW Dealership awaiting to see if Volkswagen is going to do the repairs under an extended warranty as it is only 2 months out of warranty. Has anyone else had the same problem & what was the outcome. We have been told it will cost $400 for the pump & $600 labour.

1 answer
dzeno
dzeno

Fix it and sell the car if is 2017 model and water pump failed the what to expect whats next

Tony A.

Tony A.asked

Tiguan 5N (2008-2020)

What are the bad faults?

1 answer
dzeno
dzeno

Since I purchased my car I have replaced the following parts which are common issues for lots of people. Cluch kit which cost me more than $3000
The roof was leaking as is sunroof so i`ve put silicon on the plastic tubes,because of the leak roof liner was gone had to replace that, the roof curtain stopped working new one cost more then $1000.00
After that intake manifold replaced it twice as it fails all the time,next fuel injectors replaced then fuel pump failed, after that started leaking so main seal was replaced
I can only say one thing would not recommend this car to worse of enemy

Kyle R.

Kyle R.asked

Tiguan 5N (2008-2020)

Hi, I am interested in purchasing a used tiguan 2012 Pacific 132tsi 6spd auto. It's in immaculate condition, no leaks no issues. Regularly serviced and only ever had ulp petrol. Kept in car garage overnight well looked after. 2 owners

It has 205,000 km on the clock. Am I buying into a money trap if I go ahead with this purchase? ($12000)

2 answers
Lorraine
Lorraine

I hope you didn't buy it. My 2012 Tiguan has 138000 on the clock and has cost $3500 in turbo, ECP and water pump replacement. Issues with front passenger door hinge and fuel actuator problem so I can't get fuel in the car without whacking the fuel door. Now it is going to cost an extra
5000 because with all of the work done the piston issue wasn't diagnosed

Kyle R.
Kyle R.

Ended up with a nissan dualis 2013 with 130,000 on the odo. Only had one owner. Tiguan didnt sound like a good idea

Get an answer from our members

Details

Compare all 18 Volkswagen Tiguan 5N (2008-2020)
CategoryMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVs
Starting Price A$50,150A$51,650A$43,150A$44,650
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)Dual-Clutch (DCT)Dual-Clutch (DCT)Dual-Clutch (DCT)
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels19" Alloy19" Alloy18" Alloy18" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Doors5555
Seats5755
Fuel Consumption8.1 L/100km8.3 L/100km7.5 L/100km7.9 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 60 L60 L60 L60 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L
Max Power162kW @ 6200rpm162kW @ 6200rpm132kW @ 6000rpm132kW @ 6000rpm
Max Torque350Nm @ 1600-4200rpm350Nm @ 1600-4200rpm320Nm @ 1500-3940rpm320Nm @ 1500-4387rpm
Country of ManufactureGermanyMexicoGermanyMexico
Safety Features
  • Active Cruise Control
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Driver Attention Detection
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISA (Intelligent Speed Assist)
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor
Extra Features
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Heated Seats
  • Immobilizer
  • Power Steering
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Boot
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Heated Seats
  • Immobilizer
  • Power Steering
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Immobilizer
  • Power Steering
  • USB Port
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Boot
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • USB Port
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)2,500 kg2,400 kg2,500 kg2,400 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Release dateJan 2016Jan 2018Jan 2016Jan 2018
Compare all 18 Volkswagen Tiguan 5N (2008-2020)

Visit official website

Other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.