6 photos
Volkswagen Tiguan 5N

Volkswagen Tiguan 5N (2008-2021)

Also referred to as: Volkswagen Tiguan 5N 2020 and Volkswagen Tiguan 5N 2022. 103TDI, 132TSI, 147TSI, etc...
3.6 from 164 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Midsize / Medium SUVs in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Volkswagen? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.2 (33)
  • Value for Money
    3.6 (31)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.9 (30)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (31)
  • Braking
    4.3 (29)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.2 (30)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.1 (29)
  • Suspension
    3.8 (29)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.7 (30)
  • Handling
    4.4 (29)
  • Interior Design
    4.2 (29)
  • Boot Size
    4.0 (29)
  • Comfort
    4.6 (29)
  • Features
    4.3 (29)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
graham
graham
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Nice car is it reliable

published

I got 2017 vw tiguan highline all the goodies got off my wife farther done 86000 k so far had replaced water washer motor push button start went now it say on dash gear box in emergency mode can drive on gear box is fine . all so come up crash asst not working front parking cencer not working come on dash but after restart car goes away don't no what's wrong happen in morning then nothing all day

Build Quality
Value for Money
Marianna
Marianna
  • 2 reviews

One of the best cars I have ever had

published

I've bought this car at a second hand dealer so it wasn't new to begin with.
My Tiguan is serviced at the specified, required times. I am driving it for my second year now. Apart from general maintenance, the Tiguan has performed excellent with no mechanical failures yet. Compared to the other cars in our household, the Tiguan has outperformed them by far in terms of mexhanical issues. As a women driving almost always alone, it is a great comfort and peace of mind that the car I'm driving is reliable.

Build Quality
Value for Money
marto
martoAU
  • 2 reviews
  • 5 likes

Should be better

published

Purchased in July 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Volkswagen Tiguan 5N compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Armchair Reviewer No. 1
Armchair Reviewer No. 1South East Queensland, QLD
  • 7 reviews
  • 18 likes

An excellent, driven SUV. See mods below. Make it even more reliable and fun to drive.

published
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in August 2019 for $14,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Fingers
FingersAU
  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

For a mid size SUV it is surprisingly roomy

published

Purchased in September 2020 at Rex Gorell Volkswagen for $38,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Related Articles

Previous

Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next
Nathan Goodall
Nathan GoodallSouth East Queensland, QLD

Great SUV

published

Car is a daily drive, gets serviced every 15,000....car has not missed a beat after 60,000. The 155 is powerful, put it in sport mode and sport suspension and take to a spirited mountain run. This car surprises everyone.

Purchased in June 2015 for $40,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
pcaman2003
pcaman2003Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 20 reviews
  • 13 likes

ANDROID AUTO TOTALLY USELESS

published

We purchased our 2017 VW Tiguan 132TSI 2 years ago. It only had a 3 year warranty and as soon as the warranty ran out recently, we lost Android Auto functionality and a car seat that has jammed up and we can't elevate or lower the seat. Unfortunately the VW dealer couldn't do anything for us without charging for it.
For a relative young car, it's pretty poor that things like this are happening.
On reading reviews online about the Android Auto problems on VW vehicles, I can understand why they don't want to pay for it as there are so many problems and complaints about it.
Apart from that ,the car performs very well and we're happy with it overall, but just disappointed with the lack of support from VW

Purchased in September 2017 at VW Ringwood.

Build Quality
Value for Money
nessjez
nessjez
  • 44 reviews
  • 33 likes

Almost 100% happy

published

Purchased in June 2020 for $56,300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Excellent purchase

published

Bought the VW Tiguan last year as a demo with <100km on the clock. Fully kitted it. No faults as yet, not enjoying reading some of the reviews - with an eye to future possible faults. Great car, little smaller internally that wanted and a little heavier on fuel (premium at that) than warranted for such a new car. Would recommend.

Purchased in April 2019 for $55,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Volkswagen Tiguan 5N compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
dzeno
dzenoSouth East Queensland, QLD

Shame on VW

published

Since I purchased this car I have replaced the following parts which are common issues for lots of people.Cluch kit which cost me more than $3000
The roof was leaking as is sunroof so i`ve put silicon on the plastic tubes,because of the leak roof liner was gone had to replace that, the roof curtain stopped working new one cost more then $1000.00
After that intake manifold replaced it twice as it fails all the time,next fuel injectors replaced then fuel pump failed, after that started leaking so main seal was replaced
I can only say one thing would not recommend this car to worse of enemy
and again shame on vw for cheating on people

Purchased for $13,000.00.

Incentivised Review No
TransmissionManual
Larry
LarrySouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

A Great Car

published

The car is very nice. Brought brand new after comparing with BMW X3, Mercedes GLC, Volvo XC60 and Audi Q5. Price wise is not much cheaper than all above but it is with all options ticked. Only thing I wish it had is the heads up display. The servicing is pretty expensive and heavy on fuel consumption. Car has plenty of power and huge in internal space. There is a bit of wind noise from the side mirror at high speed.

Purchased in June 2019 at Volkswagen Dealers for $62,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Best SUV I've owned

published

Absolutely love it!
Very well built, comfortable and economical SUV that has the edge on many other similar priced vehicles. Handling is excellent and ride is very good and quiet.
Ive driven a lot of SUV's of this size and price and I reckon the Tiguan 2 ltr turbo petrol is as good or better than most. Had no issues whatsoever. Love this piece of German engineering!

Build Quality
Value for Money
E4841
E4841Perth, WA
  • 5 reviews
  • 7 likes

So many issues

published
Build Quality
Value for Money
Tin N.
Tin N.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Volkswagen Tiguan Year 2020 - a disappointment

published

Purchased in February 2020 at Volkswagen Dealers for $34,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
DanDan F.
DanDan F.Perth, WA

NOT a reliable car at all

published

Bought this car brand new from VW Wangara WA in 2014 for 38000. sold in 2018 for 12000. Second-hand value took a dive after warranty expired. The maintenance is very high range from 500-900 every time and lack of feature. at 97000KM the engine start getting rough so I took the car for check and apparently the DSG gear is worn out!! to fix the problem will cost 2000!!!!!!!!!! so guys, do not buy this car regardless if this is a German engineering and 5 star safety rating. for the money I spend, you can easily get something much more from that. This is my lesson.

Purchased in April 2014 for $38,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Volkswagen Tiguan 5N compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Questions & Answers

Sam
Samasked
Tiguan 5N (2008-2021)

Hi all.. planning to buy Tiguan 132 TSI All space ..need your advice and suggestions to consider any common issues in new models ..TIA

2 answers
Sammy
Sammy

The allspace is far roomier than I expected I had one as a loan car after my '18 Tiguan 2.0 highline got a coolant leak. The technology in these cars is nothing short of fantastic. Do some research, get the longest warranty you can get 5 year+, as there is issues with plastic parts such as water pumps, thermostats.
Check into timing belt/chain issues. Even after revised components, and covers, there is reports of some engines being completely wrecked as timing has jumped with less than 100k.
My tig has done 50,000 and no major issues just the minor coolant leak which was covered by warranty.

Sam
Sam

Thanks for your time and feedback. I also heard similar issues with Tig especially oil leakage and engine breakdown

Mark W.
Mark W.asked
Tiguan 5N (2008-2021)

2009 147 Petrol TSI Tiguan losing a lot of coolant each day. How much for new radiator and approx service cost please?

4 answers
Nathan Goodall
Nathan Goodall

bummer Mark, I can't help as never had an issue with car yet, if you are in Brisbane..ALBA mechanic is the best around

Mark W.
Mark W.

Ok thx anyway. I’m in Victoria

Repco radiator with 2 year warranty or 50,000 warranty is about $260. You could grab one at your local Repco mechanic, and take it to a German auto service specialist. Always ring your local Volkswagen guy to compare, but I find servicing by non-VW professionals just as good if not better, and a lot cheaper. eBay and Amazon.com.au are also a good source for spare parts. I recently got myself replacement headlights for the other car - a BF Falcon. $190 delivered free for a pair on eBay or $450 from Ford for OEM. The mechanic couldn't tell the difference in terms of quality.

Robyn
Robynasked
Tiguan 5N (2008-2021)

We have a 2017 VW Tiguan 132 Comfortline with 32,000klms recently the water pump has failed & is currently @ VW Dealership awaiting to see if Volkswagen is going to do the repairs under an extended warranty as it is only 2 months out of warranty. Has anyone else had the same problem & what was the outcome. We have been told it will cost $400 for the pump & $600 labour.

2 answers
dzeno
dzeno

Fix it and sell the car if is 2017 model and water pump failed the what to expect whats next

Sammy
Sammy

I have read a lot about these water pumps failing as they are made of plastic housing and don't respond to heat well. How was your response from VW and as good will they should have covered it.

See all Volkswagen Tiguan 5N (2008-2021) questions

Get an answer from our members

Volkswagen Tiguan 5N (2008-2021)

Details

Compare all 18 Volkswagen Tiguan 5N (2008-2021)
CategoryMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVs
Starting Price $50,150$51,650$43,150$44,650
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)Dual-Clutch (DCT)Dual-Clutch (DCT)Dual-Clutch (DCT)
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels19" Alloy19" Alloy18" Alloy18" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption8.1 L/100km8.3 L/100km7.5 L/100km7.9 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 60 L60 L60 L60 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L
Max Power162kW @ 6200rpm162kW @ 6200rpm132kW @ 6000rpm132kW @ 6000rpm
Max Torque350Nm @ 1600-4200rpm350Nm @ 1600-4200rpm320Nm @ 1500-3940rpm320Nm @ 1500-4387rpm
Country of ManufactureGermanyMexicoGermanyMexico
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)2,500 kg2,400 kg2,500 kg2,400 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Release dateJan 2016Jan 2018Jan 2016Jan 2018
Compare all 18 Volkswagen Tiguan 5N (2008-2021)
Visit official website

Other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Previous
Next
See all Midsize / Medium SUVs

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.