??!
18 photos
Volkswagen Tiguan 5N

Volkswagen Tiguan 5N (2008-2019)

Also referred to as: Volkswagen Tiguan 5N 2018 and Volkswagen Tiguan 5N 2020. 103TDI, 118TSI, 132TSI, etc...
3.7 from 146 reviews

See the Best Midsize / Medium SUVs in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
58
4 star
39
3 star
11
2 star
17
1 star
21

Fair Go

Fair GoFair Suck, Of The Saveloy

  • 16 reviews
  • 205 likes

OVER PRICED RUBBISH

published

We purchased a 2014 132 TSI Pacific, 7 speed DSG with only 58,000km's five months ago and have had nothing but problems with it.
Initially, our insurer advised us that Tiguans are really over priced in the used car sector so be careful what you buy.
In five months, the car has been back to the dealer for leaking oil at the bottom of the engine near the timing chain, timing chain tension replacement, transmission problems and sunroof jamming.
$20,000 down the drain if you ask me when you have this many problems. Should have bought a Hyundai or Kia I think.

Purchased in June 2019 for $19,990.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtUsed
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Tiguan- major issues.

published
Year2018
Susan W.

Susan W.North Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

European quality and safety

published

If you are looking for a quality car, with European safety don’t go past the Tiguan Comfortline. Volkswagen’s focus on safety is paramount so if you value this, more that fancy trinkets, this is your car.

Purchased in June 2018 at Volkswagen Dealers for $50,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
AndyM156

AndyM156Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 14 reviews
  • 20 likes

Great quality and practical 7 seater. Killer engine.

published

2 months and 2000km into ownership of our high line 162 tsi high line with sound and vision, panoramic sun roof and R line pack. All positive, interior quality is high, and the engine especially in sports mode goes like the clappers. The extra 2 seats in the rear don’t offer enough room for adults for long trips but have come in handy for the kids and their friends. Shopped around for a while before buying and for the features at the price nothing compared. Love it!

Purchased in July 2019 for $59,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Pat

PatMurrumbidgee Region, NSW

Noise

published

Bought car in 2019 top of line great around town but very noisy on open road not impressed for a $60000 plus car thought in would. Preform better for a car of that value

Purchased in December 2018.

BoughtNew

Jandev

JandevGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 4 reviews

Too good!

published

Bought it last year 2018 end.
Excellent Handling. Excellent ride quality with comfort setting(Adaptive or Dynamic Chassis control Hmmm!!!).Excellent luxurious features, Excellent overall Value.Loving it for now. I like the slick design of the car.

Purchased in November 2018 at Berwick Motor Group for $61,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

GHI

GHISouth East Queensland, QLD

Tiguan 162 TSI RLINE 2019

published

Bought this to replace a Passat as easier to get in and out of at my age. Is very easy to drive and very comfortable to travel in.
Has adjustable suspension settings for Sport or Comfort etc
Is very well appointed and has a myriad of electronic functions.
We just use it for occasional running around and the odd trip of 100km or more.
Is reasonably economical but uses 95 octane so a little more expensive to run
Only had it for 5 months and no problems so far

Purchased in March 2019 for $57,300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Sarah

SarahSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Economical and a joy to drive

published

Purchased in March 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Xin Hui

Xin HuiGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

FEEL LIKE I HAVE DONE THE BEST PURCHASE EVER

published

I just purchased this car about a month ago. It is mainly used for daily commute - for work.

My family and I just love how spacious this Allspace edition Tiguan is. It is a 7-seater but when you do not need that extra two seats (mostly meant for children), you get a bigger boot space!

We are happy with the luxury, driving assistance and sound and vision packs too. These packs make driving a more pleasant thing to do and it helps heaps with the parking too! The panoramic sunroof is another bonus to the car!

I would definitely recommend people to get this car if they want something that is not too expensive yet feels expensive!

Purchased in April 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Aaron A.

Aaron A.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 5 reviews

Best Car I've Owned

published

This is our weekend car. Its used mostly by my partner. We have already had the screen replaced under warranty and had the Panoramic Sunroof harness changed under a service campaign. But the car is great. Made in Germany.

Purchased in May 2018 at Kevin Denis VW for $54,750.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Peter

PeterSydney

  • 4 reviews

Best bang for your buck.

published

Best bang for your car vehicle. I purchased the r-line option and it looks great. It is great external and internal and has a punchy engine. No better car for the price tag.

Purchased in January 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
See all answers

kristian.karov

kristian.karovPerth, WA

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Good, quick and and mostly reliable car

published

Got the 2010 125kW TSI Tiguan some 9 years ago. Good acceleration (best among SUV), car like dynamics (compared to other SUV). Average city mileage. Not without flaws. Battery changed when 5 yo. Tyres changed at only 40K. A major issue was the water pump when 8 year old (an expensive $1400 service). Quite thirsty in town(11/100), economy increases greatly (8/100) on the freeway. Supercharger getting noisy lately. Would i buy another? If handling and road manners are important, then yes, if luxury and cabin comfort are more important, than my wife's CRV feels/ looks better.

Purchased in June 2010.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2010
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Kane

KaneGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 18 reviews

Volkswagen Tiguan 5N Highline Worst car Ive owned very disappointing.

published

Purchased in June 2018 for $66,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Bijay

BijaySouth East Queensland, QLD

Intake manifold problem

published

Purchased in December 2018 at Dealer for $10,125.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2011
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Anni

AnniAU

  • 7 reviews

Love It

published

I bought my 2017 Tiguan froma gentleman who had owned it for about 12 months. It is lovely to drive, very comfortable and has all the features you would expect.
I like the way it handles and the reversing camera. perhaps I was easy to please I had previously owned a Polo which was a wondeful car too. The Tiguan has great seating positions so is very comfortable for a long drive.

Purchased in January 2018 at Private Seller.

Build Quality
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
See all answers
Paul

PaulThe Mallee, VIC

  • 38 reviews
  • 2 likes

I just LOVE my New VW Tiguan Special Edition Wolfsburg 4WD SUV!!!!

published

Purchased in January 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

pcaman2003

pcaman2003Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 16 reviews
  • 14 likes
  • Verified purchase

GREAT VALUE SUV

published
Badge132 TSI Comfortline
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2018
DriveAWD

mayon

mayonGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Perfect for small family

published

After doing lot of research bought tiguan 118 tsi..it s perfect suv for small family with young kids,for every day use ..i m getting 8 l /100..
Good mileage in summer than winter . haven't had any problem yet .

Purchased in November 2014 for $31,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Yoyo

YoyoBrisbane

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Excellent car

published

Love this car, come with any additional, safety we want, luxury comfort vehicle. Love the driving assistance, panorama sunroof, leather seats, keyless entry and engine start. The most important thing is auto drive, especially on the motorway, the car is driving itself, which is realisable. Love the shape and sporty look with 4 motion drive.

Badge132 TSI Comfortline
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2018

Steensmatt214

Steensmatt214Sydney

  • 3 reviews

Perfect economical family car!!

published

We purchased the VW Tiguan Allspace 6 weeks ago brand new and couldn’t be happier!! It is the perfect size for our family and the extra seats have come in handy on numerous occasions. We purchased the 2.0L Turbo Diesel and it fuel efficiency is outstanding!! We use this car for our everyday driving to and from school drop off, work and kids after school activities. So plenty of short local trips done. Have also done a couple of long distance trips to test fuel consumption and couldn’t be happier!! Well done VW you have produced a reliable and economical family car.

Badge140 TDI Highline
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2018
DriveAWD

Page 1 of 8

Questions & Answers

Ted Jarvis

Ted Jarvisasked

What is VW's position on a 2010 Tiguan "clunk" at low speed, moving off and slow corners. I believe that there was a recall but the car is 9 years old.
Ted.

No answers

frank Nguyen

frank Nguyenasked

I owned a Tiguan 5N 118TSI MY12.5 model with climate control air-con, which exhibits intermittent issue. increase the temperature dial to 25 deg (ambient temp. about 16-20 deg) and still get cool air instead of warm. Does anyone have this issue?

No answers

Steve W.

Steve W.asked

Can you leave the bonnet/hood open for long periods of time? Will it affect the computer or battery on a 2018 tiguan ?

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Volkswagen representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.