?
? !
9 photos
Weber Family Q Series
4.5 from 359 reviews · View Statistics

Gas BBQs Buying Guide

A gas bbq can help you get sizzling. But would you prefer a portable bbq or a freestanding one? What about LPG or natural gas? This buying guide will help answer your burning questions.

Read now
Buying Guide Banner

Pros

  • Choice of LPG or natural gas

  • Easy to use

  • Stainless steel burners

  • Extensive 5-year warranty

Cons

  • Sourcing a Weber Family Q stockist can be difficult

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.6 (66)
  • Value for Money
    4.2 (66)
  • Ease of Use
    4.7 (67)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.4 (65)
  • Preheating Speed
    4.5 (59)
  • Even Heat DistributionYes (59) · No (4)
  • Safety
    4.6 (62)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
Andrew N.

Andrew N.Sydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

The Perfect BBQ

published

We are using it all the time and loving it... roast, pizza, fish and general BBQ. Heats up quickly, cooks evenly and to perfection. last in all weather, easy to clean after use, it’s great that we can use it as oven as well as bbq.
the best outdoor BBQ I ever had.

Purchased in December 2019 at Mitre 10 for $819.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Anna

Anna

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Poor quality

published

This review is for the bbq (3200q) itself, which is very poor quality. I would never buy another Weber product again and would not recommend it. The hotplate cracked, and several steinless parts rusted through, as well as the burner tube. Apparently from heath! They wouldn’t replace the cracked hotplate because we were unable to provide an invoice for it. The other parts were covered under the warranty, but the burner is out of stock in Nz. In all aspects, despite all research - this unfortunately has been a very disappointing purchase.

Purchased in April 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Brian

BrianGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

No Gauge

published

I bought the family Q online from the Good Guys, it was the most expensive they sold, almost $800 for the unit and by the time I bought all the accessories I required I wouldn’t have got much change from $1000.
When it arrived I discovered that it doesn’t come with a gauge. I think this is an absolute disgrace, almost $1000 spent and no temp gauge.
Contacted a Weber franchise and was told there is in fact a premium model that comes with a gauge but this model can only be purchased through a franchise shop.
I cannot be the only customer who feels really upset by this, now I’m being told that a new lid has to be purchased if I want a gauge.
To say this has left a bad taste but would an understatement.

Purchased in April 2019 for $1,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Gas BBQs

Find out how Weber Family Q Series compares to other Gas BBQs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ahmed

AhmedGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Disappointed and a cleaning nightmare.

published

Not straight forward to set up from instructions. Looks attractive. So far have cooked steaks, prawns, salmon, chicken and whilst the results are ok, the taste doesn't justify the cost of the BBQ. The real problem is cleaning after use. This is a total nightmare which involves a lot of recommended cleaning product, scrubbing and exorbitant amount of time. Regretful buy.

Purchased in November 2020 for $800.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
2 comments
Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber
Ahmed
Ahmed
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
triks_melb

triks_melbGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 18 reviews
  • 9 likes

Good but should be better at this price

published

- Made in China
- No Window to see inside
- Gril Plate not included (another AUD $70.00)
- Drip Pan not included
- Assembly instructions are not straight forward (2 friends also didn't understand tray must be inserted before adding legs).
- Assembly will require 2 hours.
- Some writing on knobs has rubbed off after wiping the knob with tea towel.

Purchased in December 2020 for $799.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
J Harper

J Harper

  • 4 reviews

Excellent looks stylish under the alfresco

published

Cooked Christmas turkey, roasted pork and so good for a breakfast fry up.
Easy to clean using all accessories that are available to purchase.
No problem as it has an excellent lid.

Purchased in August 2019 for $750.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
2 comments
Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber

Hi J Harper, thanks for your review! So glad to hear that you're enjoying your Family Q. Happy barbecuing!

J Harper
J Harper

Thank you Weber for the thought.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ross

RossPerth, WA

  • 11 reviews
  • 11 likes

Not bad after a week of owning it but some issues

published
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • +1Thumbnail

Purchased at The Good Guys for $789.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Becksy

BecksyGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Not happy jan

published

Buying a webber q bbq was a big purchase for me.
Cooking joints of lamb at Christmas for a large family, it’s important to get the timing just right.
The 3100, I believed to have a thermostat on the advertisement ,is a complete let down.
Ok, no thermostat supplied with the 3100,
Then, how long do you place a 4 kg lamb in a webber q for and what temp is MAX temp, for how long.
1mm of thickness for 1 minute
Webber, you suck.
I was really excited to get rid of my old bbq.
False advertising, i need a thermostat.

Purchased in December 2020 for $780.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Bloody love it

published

Lamb chops are great, cooked really well without being dry. Don’t get me started on baked spuds and pumpkin and onions ect. Easiest bbq I have ever kept clean. Mine lives out of the covered area with only a Weber cover( which was in pretty crappy condition) when I got it and is still going after2.5 years.

Purchased for $200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Gas BBQs

Find out how Weber Family Q Series compares to other Gas BBQs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Barry C.

Barry C.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

Good but limited use

published

The family q is great for steaks and cooks great veggies! I find it too limited in its height (can't do beer can chicken) and doesnt have a wok burner which i use a lot.
Roasts aren't as good as the old school kettle weber using coals!
I wouldn't replace my 4 burner or kettle with it but it's a good addition to my BBQ collection!

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Paul

PaulGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Operating the Family Q

published

Not totally excited about my new Weber Family Premium Q especially when cooking pizza. I have purchased all the Weber “stuff” ( trivet, tray & stone) and tried homemade dough ( mother in-law is Italian) and pre- purchased pizza bases from a local guy but no real success. Aske Weber Aus/NZ fir advise but nobody responded!
Q: it appears you have to light both burners to start with then you can turn the center one off?

Purchased in September 2020 at Weber for $799.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Wilson

WilsonACT

  • 11 reviews
  • 4 likes

Weber family q (perfect steak)

published

Porterhouse, sirloin all cooked with beautiful bbq flavour on the Weber family Q. Roasting is made easy, perfect for lamb or pork roasts. The nonstick on the grill plates are super easy to clean, especially if done straight after cooking when plates are still hot. With the optional extra cover, that has Velcro fasteners the Weber family q is safely kept out of the weather. Since having the bbq we wouldn’t be without it.

Purchased in June 2020 at Appliances Online for $655.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber

Glad to hear you're loving your Family Q Wilson! Thanks for the review. Happy Barbecuing!

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Clay

Clay

  • 3 reviews

Excellent

published

Love this !
1st Webber I've owned and have found d it so much more efficient than my previous 4 and 6 burner standard barbies. Great even cook and easy as to clean plus looks aesthetic on the balcony
Tops

  • Thumbnail

Purchased in January 2019 at The Good Guys for $700.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber

Hi Clay, thanks for the review! Your Family Q looks great on the balcony and we're glad to hear you're loving your barbecue!

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Flik P.

Flik P.Central Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews

Fabulous product

published

Got it for our son for his birthday he loves it. He has been cooking up a storm. Now he wants all of the bits and bobs to go with it

Purchased in March 2020 at BCF Physical Store for $469.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber

Hi Flik, thanks for your review we're so glad to hear your son is loving his Family Q! There are some great accessories to go with the Family Q which you can find here https://www.weber.com/AU/en/accessories/. Happy Barbecuing!

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
David R.

David R.

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Easy cooking

published

Easy to turn on
Easy to move around
Easy to cook with
Easy to clean
This is a great and simple product which makes it easy to cook on every night and unlike other products which begin to fall apart or wear and tear after regular bbq, this one is out performing all its competitors

Purchased in October 2019 at Barbeques Galore for $400.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Gas BBQs

Find out how Weber Family Q Series compares to other Gas BBQs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Kylie

KylieSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 17 reviews
  • 2 likes

Can't beat it!

published

Simplicity at its best.
Easy to put together and fool proof for anyone straight from the box. Quickly heats. Cooks food to perfection and so evenly. Bbq is easy to clean and is hassle free. Awkward to move around unless your great with a shuffle to avoid stabbing your toes. Looks the part too, very sleak.
Worth every cent to save that stove top from all the fat and oil splatter.

  • Thumbnail

Purchased at Appliances online for $649.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber

Hi Kylie, thanks for your review! Great to see you are loving your Family Q! Happy Barbecuing!

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Sah

Sah

  • 3 reviews

Best Barbecue

published

This is such a good size barbecue for our family of 4 giving us the option to cook for large and smaller sized family parties. We have always bought webers - they are definitely the best barbecue

Purchased in April 2020 at Weber.

Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
1 comment
Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber

Hi Sah, thanks for your fantastic review. We're glad to hear you are loving your Family Q and being apart of the Weber family.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
John L.

John L.

  • 2 reviews

So Easy to Use

published

We purchased our first Weber Q about 8 years ago and now all our children own one. Read the simple instructions, follow them and you will have no issues with your Webber.

If the starter rusts out, contact Weber and they send you a new one - free of charge.

Honestly, this is the best BBQ you could ever want.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber

Hi John, thanks for your review! Awesome to hear you are loving your Family Q. Happy Barbecuing!

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ted

TedGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great BBQ does the job - every time

published

I cook chicken, burgers roasts, sausages, onions on my Weber Q. It's always up to the job, and I get perfectly cooked meat. Best BBQ I've owned. It's fast to cook - and I've never burnt anything. Was on sale - including the cart - I couldn't resist. I love it.

Purchased in January 2017 at Myer for $599.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber

Hi Ted, thanks for the review! Fantastic to hear you're enjoying your Family Q. Happy barbecuing!

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Josh

JoshPerth, WA

  • 9 reviews
  • 13 likes

Best bbq I've owned

published

Best bbq i have ever brought.
Can cook everything on this bbq. Comes with a cook book using the bbq. Great for cooking roasts with the temperature gauge. And can cook the best steaks.
Easy to clean just have to change the drip tray regularly or it starts to smell other then that best thing ever this bbq

Purchased in November 2019 for $700.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber

Hi Josh, thanks for your review. Fantastic to hear you are loving your family Q! Happy barbecuing!

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 18

Questions & Answers

Tony

Tonyasked

Family Q Standard (Q3100)

I have just assembled my new Weber 3100 Q BBQ. I am unable to install a battery. Instructions state a AAA battery. Clearly this will not fit. Tried the smaller battery but couldn't get it in as springload would not allow it to close. Am I missing something??

No answers
Michelle

Michelle asked

Family Q Standard (Q3100)

Hi we have just bought this bbq and we noticed that the screws inside the bbq from the lid have started to melt. I questioned hubby maybe he didn’t set it up right but there would be no other way I could see for lid to be positioned without the screws in the inside of the bbq. Please let me know what we should do
Thanks Michelle

No answers
Frank

Frankasked

Family Q Series

Can I convert to lpg

1 answer
Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber

Hi Frank, yes you can convert your Family Q from Natural Gas to LPG - you will just need to purchase a conversion kit from our customer service team. You can either contact us on 1300 301 290, via our website contact form or on our social accounts to organise the conversion kit, just be sure to have your barbecue serial number handy.

See all Weber Family Q Series questions

Get an answer from our members and Weber representatives

Weber Family Q Series

Details

Features:

  • There are two types of BBQs to choose from. One type is fuelled by LPG bottles (liquid petroleum gas), with one bottle lasting over 20 hours. The other is powered by natural gas, which is incompatible with any gas bottles
  • There’s a standard range and premium range but the price difference isn’t significant. For example, the Weber Family Q Standard LPG BBQ costs $789, while the Premium version of the LPG BBQ is $799, making it only $10 more expensive. Unlike the standard range, the premium range features an electronic ignition and built-in thermometer.
  • The BBQs have a large surface area for cooking on, with two removable folding side tables, which make it easier to prepare food
  • Stainless steel burners prevent rusting and ensure longevity

Points of praise for the Weber Family Q:

  • Reviewers found this range of BBQs to be versatile. They’re optimum for cooking a variety of foods, such as meats or vegetables
  • They’re decent size BBQs that are large enough for cooking for family and friends, yet portable as well, allowing them to be taken on holidays or camping trips
  • The BBQs are easy to dismantle, making cleaning a simple process
  • A reliable warranty means that many reviewers reporting getting their BBQ fixed or replaced without a fuss.

2021 ProductReview Awards logo

With a solid 4.6-star rating and consistent winning streak, it’s not surprising that the Weber Family Q has won the award for Best Gas BBQ in 2021, taking out the top position two years in a row. Reviewers lauded the range of BBQ’s ease of use and outstanding build quality.

Compare all 7 Weber Family Q Series
Weber Family Q Standard (Q3100) LPG
  • Award Winner 2021
  • 2020
  • 2018
  • 2017

Weber Family Q Standard (Q3100) LPG

3.0
(2)
Weber Family Q Standard (Q3100) Natural Gas
  • Award Winner 2021
  • 2020
  • 2018
  • 2017

Weber Family Q Standard (Q3100) Natural Gas

3.0
(2)
Weber Family Q Premium (Q3200) LPG
  • Award Winner 2021
  • 2020
  • 2018
  • 2017

Weber Family Q Premium (Q3200) LPG

2.7
(3)
Weber Family Q Premium (Q3200) Natural Gas
  • Award Winner 2021
  • 2020
  • 2018
  • 2017

Weber Family Q Premium (Q3200) Natural Gas

5.0
(1)
CategoryGas BBQsGas BBQsGas BBQsGas BBQs
Price (RRP) $789.00$819.00$799.00$829.00
TypeFreestandingFreestandingFreestandingFreestanding
Cooking Plate / Grill MaterialCast IronCast IronCast IronCast Iron
FeaturesGrill, Hooded and On WheelsGrill, Hooded and On WheelsGrill, Hooded, On Wheels and Temperature GaugeGrill, Hooded, On Wheels and Temperature Gauge
Colour / FinishBlack, TitaniumBlack, TitaniumBlack, Red, TitaniumBlack, Titanium
Dimensions 1090 x 1400 x 740 mm1090 x 1400 x 740 mm1105 x 1276 x 534 mm1105 x 1276 x 534 mm
Weight34 kg34 kg35 kg35 kg
Gas TypeLPGNatural GasLPGNatural Gas
Number of Burners/Zones 2222
Gas Rate 22.9 mJ/hr22.9 mJ/hr22.9 mJ/hr22.9 mJ/hr
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Compare all 7 Weber Family Q Series

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.