??!
1 photo
Wendy Wu Tours
4.5 from 270 reviews

Wonders of China

Just completed a 16 day tour of China. Had a fabulous time. Visited Beijing, the great wall, Xian the terracotta warriors, a cruise along the Yangtze River, 3 gorges dam and much more. Tour well organised, tour guide and local guides friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. Hotel of a high quality, help at Shanghai airport with booking in and organising boarding passes etc. Well done Wendy Wu!!!

Transparency
Customer Service
Ease of Booking
Trip Completed Yes
Booking Type Tour

28 Day "The Big One", It certainly was.

A "Must do" experience for anyone with an interest in seeing the REAL China. It was extremely well organised, Covered a large area and very diverse Ethnic minority regions, as well as the usual: Great Wall, Terracotta Warriors, Pandas etc. Alex our National guide was an absolute treasure, everything went along so smoothly that we never saw the work behind the scenes to make this happen.

Transparency
Customer Service
Ease of Booking
Trip Completed Yes
Booking Type Accomodation, Flights and Tour
1 comment
Hi Ganga, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent tour with us. This tour is one of our longest itineraries but certainly offers passengers a look at the many faces of China and an opportunity to experience the variety that makes it such an interesting travel destination. We love reading that you National Escort Alex went out of her way to ensure all aspects of the tour was properly organised and running smoothly. We trust you have returned home with many wonderful memories and beautiful photos of your time away. Best Wishes, Wendy Wu Tours

28 Day Big Tour of China

This was a very comprehensive tour of a large country. The advantage of this tour was a week spent in the west and south-west of China among (some of) the 55 minority groups of the Chinese culture...certainly somethingnyou dont get in the shorter tours. Our guise, Alex, was outstanding, with excellent English and a clear understanding of Western/ Australian humor. I highly recommend this tour.

Transparency
Customer Service
Ease of Booking
Trip Completed Yes
Booking Type Accomodation, Cruise, Flights, Tour and Visa
1 comment
Hi Stayzon, Thank you for taking the time to share your review of your recent travels with us. We are delighted to learn this was a thoroughly enjoyable experience for you and you appreciated visiting the main sights along with learning about the culture of a few minority groups. Thank you for your nice comments regarding your National Escort, Alex. It is wonderful to read that you all bonded over a similar sense of humour. We trust we will meet again for your next adventure. Best Wishes. Wendy Wu Tours.

China Majestic Yangtze Tour

We have recently returned from a trip to China. The Wendy Wu tours have a very good reputation, and they certainly lived up to it on this tour, and very good value for the price. Our tour was The Majestic Yangtze Tour from Shanghai to Beijing. Every aspect was of excellent standard, from flights to accommodation, and the Yangtze cruise was amazing. There are some optional activities, which can only be offered on the day due to availability, weather conditions, etc. I recommend the MagLev train in Shanghai, and The "Face Changing Show".
My only criticism is there was not enough time at the Great Wall, only 2 hours. I think the itinerary needs to be altered to allow at least 4 hours.
Our National guide Alice was super amazing, the best guide I have ever had in my travels. She was efficient, very knowledgeable, happy, funny and very caring. She was available at any time for any problems or concerns. She is a huge asset to her company. Thanks Alice for a great time.

Customer Service
Trip Completed Yes
Booking Type Accomodation, Cruise, Flights, Tour and Visa
1 comment
Hi Philomena, We really appreciate the time you have taken to post this review of your recent tour to China. It is fantastic to read that this tour exceeded your expectations, we are sure it will come as no surprise to you that the Majestic Yangtze is our most popular itinerary. Thank you for your kind comments of your National Escort Alice, we are delighted to read that her care and attention complimented the many highlights on this tour. We are sorry that you felt there was not enough time spent at the Great Wall, however we have shared your suggestions with our Product team for future departures. We trust we will meet again for your next adventure. Best Wishes, Wendy Wu Tours

Majestic Yangtze 14 day tour May 8th to 21st 2019

My husband and I have recently returned from our Wendy Wu tour in China. May is a great month to travel there as the weather was very pleasant, not cold at all. Our guides were really knowledgeable and spoke English well. The tour was very well organised from start to finish and every Hotel was very clean and modern. All meals were included and we had buffet western-style breakfasts in each Hotel, lunch and dinner were banquets in authentic Chinese restaurants. The food was wonderful and very plentiful. Drinks had to be purchased, sometimes green tea was served with the meal.
You do need a reasonable level of fitness for this particular tour as a lot of walking is involved and many stairs as well. We did struggle a bit and were usually at the rear of the tour group.
Our National Guide, Chuck, was terrific and kept a good eye on us and when we had a local guide for a day or two , he would stay back with my husband and self to make sure we were okay. Quite a few people in our group of 26 persons did find this tour challenging. Long days as well, sometimes we would leave our Hotel at 8.00 am and not check-in to the next Hotel until 9.00 pm that night.
All in all, this really is a great tour, but do bear in mind that you will be on your feet and walking a great deal.
The three hour bullet train ride to Xian was fine and we did not have to hop off very quickly as ours was the last stop on that line. The men in our tour group unloaded the suitcases.
All of our guides were very good, but they did move very fast and we struggled to keep up with them.
Perhaps Wendy Wu could take this fact on board and make sure that guides do keep to a reasonable pace.
A very comprehensive and enjoyable tour.

Transparency
Customer Service
Ease of Booking
Trip Completed Yes
Booking Type Tour
1 comment
Hi Wendy, Thank you so much for sharing these lovely comments about your recent tour with us. We are simply delighted to learn that you and your husband had such an wonderful time on this tour, and have returned home with many highlights of the experience. It is disappointing to read that you felt rushed sometimes. As there is so much to see and do in China our tours often operate on a tight schedule, though we have passed your comments on to our China Office for future consideration. It is nice to hear that Chuck often stayed back with you to ensure you did not get left behind. Thank you again for your feedback, Wendy. We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you on another tour in the near future. Best Wishes, Wendy Wu Tours

China Port Adelaide Trip 2019

China Port Adelaide Football trip 2019 our first trip overseas tour from Beijing to Shanghai,not knowing what the next 8 days would bring!!
The first 3 days of the tour was with Wendy Wu team and our National Tour director, Tony Li with help of the local Beijing guide Jack.
Tony adopted the people in our group as part of ‘Tony’s Family’ and was always available to answer questions, provide advice, and was on call 24/7. Tony And Jack were exceptional.
These guys would have to be up there with the very best & is certainly an asset to Wendy Wu tours
Tony travelled with us from Beijing to Shanghai on the bullet train and making sure everyone was handed over to the Phil Hoffman team for the second stage of our tours also great.
We owe a big thank you to Tony Li and Jack for setting up an exceptional China experience.

Transparency
Customer Service
Ease of Booking
Trip Completed Yes
Booking Type Tour
1 comment
Hi Tania, Thank you for taking a minute to post this review of your recent trip with us. We are delighted to learn that you had a wonderful time experiencing the sights and sounds of Beijing and Shanghai before attending the Port Adelaide match. We love reading your kind comments of Tony and Jack and learning that you and your fellow travelers were treated as family during your time with them. We will certainly pass on these lovely comments to our China Office. We trust you have returned home from this trip with many wonderful memories of your time away. Best Wishes, Wendy Wu Tours

Incredible Silk Road Explorer Trip May -May

The flights to and from China were great. We had a stop over in Hong Kong both times which was nice to break up the long flight. On the return our plane was a little late and the catching the connection to Melbourne was tight, but we still made it 10 minutes before boarding. Cathay Pacific was a great airline to fly with. Both of the Internal flights were easy, and our wonderful national guide made sure that we were all seated and stayed together, and that we all made it safely on and off with all of our belongings. When we arrived in Xian, we were met straight out of customs by our local guide, and taken straight to where our national guide had gathered together a group of us. After that we were packed into our bus and driven straight to our hotel. We were given a few hours to rest and tidy up before we were taken out to a wonderful restaurant for our first Chinese meal.
The food was wonderful the entire way around. At several places we had almost 20 different dishes to choose from. All the restaurants we went to were serving high quality fresh food, and at most of them we were even able to watch them making it. This particular tour lasted for 28 days, and in that time I did not tire of all the amazing different Chinese dishes. Since we were traveling to many very different areas, each had their own particular local specialties which gave us a wonderful variety. On the few days where we were traveling through remote areas and there were no suitable restaurants to eat at, our guide packed us all a lunch as well as some snacks. All the Hotels provided breakfast. Most of them were massive buffets where we had Asian or Western choices. Eating Chinese for lunch and Dinner was amazing, but I did couldn't quite face it at breakfast. Toast with eggs, jam, muffins and yogurts were more down my alley!
I am not a coffee drinker, but our national guide went to great lengths to make sure that the coffee drinkers had hot black coffee made available for their breakfast wherever we went. And when that was impossible, he bought them some coffee so that they could easily make their own. The Tea was amazing - especially in the more highly Muslim populated areas.
They could have provided more information about the optional tours they offered us. A list of the tours and the prices before we left would have amazing.
The Buses were good, and all the drivers were friendly and helpful. I admired their driving skills as well - there is no way I would want to drive through some of the cities we went through!
Our tour guide gave us all tags to hang around our necks with his name and contact details if we ever got lost during our free time, and space to write our names on the other side. They were very handy for the first few days while we were trying to learn everyone's names!
All of our Hotels ranged from great to WOW! I had my own room the whole way around, and they were always spacious and clean. The beds are hard in China, but that is because they believe it is better for their backs. Our wonderful national guide, Charles, always had the hotel staff provide extra blankets to pile on the mattresses for those who couldn't manage. The central cooling had not yet been turned on in China when we visited, but our guide was amazing and offered to switch rooms to a different area of the building if any of us had problems with our rooms being too warm.
Our National guide, Charles, was incredible! We were all made to feel part of his family, and he bent over backwards to achieve whatever we needed. He was very knowledgeable on the areas where we were traveling as well as general history on China, and told us many other fun and interesting facts about all manner of subjects from Tea etiquette and Traditional Chinese Weddings to China's Family Planning Program and price per meter of apartments in the cities we visited. He had a wonderful sense of humor and really made the holiday very special for each one of us. He spoke very good and clear English - I was impressed.
Our local Guides were amazing too! Each of them gave us detailed information about all the places we visited, and answered all of our questions. They were also very helpful, and made sure that we were well looked after. Each of them had wonderful personalities and very different background stories to tell us. They really made the places we visited come alive. All of them spoke good English and were easy to understand - even through their accents.
The Silk road is an incredible tour! It is packed with history and beauty. We visited many places that have paintings and sculptures dating back to 2000 and even 3000 years.
Personal highlights for me were: The Terracotta Warriors, Xian's Old Town Wall and Muslim Quarter (the markets there were amazing!!!)
The Beautiful scenic walk in Lanzhou down from the Baita Temple and across the yellow river before watching them hand stretch the noodles for our lunch!
Liujiaxia Lake - The speed boat ride on the Yellow river was so much fun and the scenery you pass on the way to Bingling Temple is breathtaking!!!! We had some Lightning and Thunder while we were there, and it made for some incredible lighting for photos! The majestic cliffs and surrounding mountains left me gaping! This is one place I want to come back to!
Danxia National Park - we did the colours tour and they were incredible. One day I would like to go back and do the shapes!
Jiayu Fortress and the Overhanging Great Wall at Jiayu Pass. The history of the fortress was so interesting and the wall was AMAZING!!!
Riding the double humped camels in the Taklamakan Desert by Crescent Moon Spring. The camel riding was an optional extra but definitely well worth it!!! I also thoroughly recommend climbing to the top of the desert hill. The view and the satisfaction (not to mention the incredible fun of slide walking back down) is well worth it!!! The Spring and the incredible shifting sand deserts surrounding it are a natural phenomena.
Jiaohe Ruins. The history here is fascinating! Our local guide Aysha was extremely knowledgeable on it, and has studied it quite extensively.
Karez Irrigation System. This truly is remarkable. A must see!!!
At Kuqa we were offered the option to visit the incredible Grand Canyon. This is a MUST SEE! The photos on google really don't do it justice at all! It is INCREDIBLE!!! This is another place I definitely want to go back to!!!!
Tian Chi Heavenly Lake! I was not so impressed by the actual lake itself as it was swamped by tourists. But when you go off the main path and into the woods the mountains are truly breathtaking! This is another place I want to go back to and spend a lot more time at. AMAZING!!!
Xinjiang Museum - If you are at all interested in Mummies or in the actual lives of the people who lived and traveled on the Silk Road, this Museum is a must see. Allow at least a few hours to wonder through. There is so much to see here!!!!
Great Wall of China by Beijing. The scenery around it is so beautiful and dramatic! It truly is incredible!!!!
Chinese Acrobatic Show - while perhaps they could have been a little more professional with their lights and backdrop, nothing could take away the brilliance of their performance! They truly are amazing!!!!
Farewell dinner - The food was wonderful. The Peking duck was incomparable, and there were complimentary drinks for all. It was a wonderful evening to wind up our unforgettable trip!!!

Transparency
Customer Service
Ease of Booking
Trip Completed Yes
Booking Type Accomodation, Flights, Tour and Visa
1 comment
Hi Esther, Thank you so much for this comprehensive review! We love reading about the wonderful things you saw and the many personal highlights you encountered on the silk road. It certainly sounds as if you got the most out of your time in China and have returned home rich with experiences and beautiful memories. We thank you for your lovely comments about your National Escort; Charles. We know that the guides can sometimes make or break a tour and it is wonderful to read that you were in excellent hands on this trip. We hope to meet again for your next adventure! Best Wishes, Wendy Wu Tours

Vietnam and Cambodia tour

This trip was for solo travellers and was great value for money. The hotels were of a high standard and the 2 national guides were exceptional. I booked this tour through a travel agent and paid the advertised price with no hidden extras. Highly recommend Wendy Wu tours.

Transparency
Customer Service
Trip Completed Yes
Booking Type Accomodation, Flights and Tour
1 comment
Hi Linda, Welcome home! We are so pleased to hear that you had such a fantastic adventure through Vietnam and Cambodia. It is wonderful to read that you had an unforgettable trip, made all the more amazing by your 2 National Guides! We trust that you got the most out of this trip and that we will meet again for your next adventure. Best Wishes, Wendy Wu Tours

Japan Uncovered.

Prior to booking this tour we previous booked a tour in 2016 to China which was very enjoyable. Alas this latest tour to Japan was quite disappointing in a number of ways.
Our flight was suppose to have left Perth 11.55pm but the flight was delayed and we never left until 1.35am. On arrival in Hong Kong we had to rush to connect with our flight to Osaka. We were met at the airport and had to wait for others to clear customs. Taking public transport to a hotel, thinking that it was ours, was told we had to walk to our hotel. Pulling two 30k suitcases plus two hand luggage had to walk 35-40 minute walk, crossing three major roads plus work our way through crowded pavements.
On day 3 we visit Nara where we took a short cruise. Sounded good in the brochure when in fact the river ran between high banks with no scenic value. Consensus was it was a time filler only.
Then we were suppose to visit the Isui-en gardens. Told by the guide to wait while he bought the tickets. On his return was told the garden was closed on Mondays. Nobody thought to check opening hours?
The visit to the 21st Century Museum of Contemporary Art was again voted a waste of time. As was the walk through the Miyagawa morning market. As there was very little interest to the group.
The visit to the Itchiku Kubota Art Museum was given a low score in regards to enjoyment.
Yes we were aware that the tour would include quite a lot of walking to see places of interest. But after a hectic day on your feet the last thing you want after an hour or hour and half rest, was a route march to the restaurant to eat the evening meal and then the long walk back in changeable weather. {Rain and the cold}
Where Western food was being served in these restaurants the food was stone cold. Yes the dishes were placed on dish warmers but someone forgot to provide heat to keep the food warm. Attempting to eat cold chips or the baked potatoes is not very enjoyable and cold veggies. This complaint was in regards to all the restaurants that served Western food.
Out of five I would give this tour a 3.

Transparency
Customer Service
Ease of Booking
Trip Completed Yes
Booking Type Accomodation, Flights and Tour
3 comments
Hi Len, Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent Japan Uncovered tour. We are sincerely disappointed to read that some parts of this trip fell below expectations, particularly surrounding some the logistics involved and a few of the sites visited. We appreciate the time you have taken to include your comments regarding the touring schedule and pace. When organizing a group tour it can be a challenge to hit all the major points of interest for everyone as there is so much to see and do in Japan. We aim to incorporate a range of experiences so all our customers have the opportunity to experience the attractions that most interest them. We are sorry to learn that you felt some of these were not as enjoyable and have raised this with our Product team for their consideration. A unique aspect of our Classic tours is the inclusion of all meals throughout. We do this so our customers do not waste time finding suitable restaurants or negotiating a foreign menu. This itinerary includes a few western meals along with majority local Japanese cuisine to give our passengers more variety during the 18 day trip. It is disappointing to read that some of the western meals served were not up to expectation, though it is important to remember that these are not part of a usual Japanese diet and any western dishes are Japanese versions of these meals and will differ slightly from what we are used to in Australia. We are currently working with our ground partners in Japan to improve the standard of meals and to find the right balance for all passengers. Your comments will be shared an utilized in a positive way to help us with this endeavour. Thank you again, Len for your feedback and suggestions. We hope that despite these few points that you had a lovely time in Japan overall and have returned with many fond memories of your time away. Best Wishes, Wendy Wu ToursHi, It was not just my negative opinion in regards to three of the places we visited, it was the consensus of half the group when we discussed it afterwards. In your reply you wrote the tour offered a variety of Japanese cuisine for the group members to enjoy but these too were somewhat repetitive. The point I made at the start of my review was that out of a group of 28 only 3 couples on arrival had the long walk to our hotel. The other 26 were dropped off at the hotel. You gave no explanation as to why this happened. LKHi Len, Thank you for your further comments. We certainly appreciate all passenger feedback as we believe it allows us to monitor and assess our products and services across the business. Please be assured that we have shared them with our ground partners and Global Product team for their consideration. In this respect, your feedback will be assessed along with that received from other travelers on this itinerary to determine any commonalities. These will be utilised in a positive way to bring about necessary changes to the touring schedule and meals provided on this tour. Len, while we cannot change your experience, we have launched an investigation with our ground partners about the events surrounding your arrival transfer to gain a well-rounded understanding of what occurred and how this can be avoided moving forward. We hope you will take some comfort in knowing your comments have been taken seriously to identify opportunities for improvement. Best Wishes, Wendy Wu Tours

Majestic Yangtze River

Really enjoyed the Majestic Yangtze tour just recently.
Grace our guide was excellent and local guides did well too.
A little more information on optional tours and the cost would be helpful before leaving home.
We were quite happy both with the food and the accommodation.
Many unforgettable memories.

Transparency
Customer Service
Ease of Booking
Trip Completed Yes
Booking Type Accomodation, Cruise, Flights and Tour
1 comment
Hi Val, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your lovely feedback It is wonderful to hear that you had a wonderful time on this Majestic Yangtze tour and found your guide Grace to be excellent. We are glad to read you enjoyed the food and accommodation. With regards to the optional touring; we do not usually advise these prior to travel as we do not wish for any of our passengers to be disappointed. The guides will discuss these optionals with the group on the day if time allows to participate in them. Local conditions such as traffic and weather can often determine if there is free time in the schedule to facilitate these options. Thank you again for your feedback and suggestions, we do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you on another Wendy Wu tour in the near future. Best Wishes, Wendy Wu Tours

Japan Uncovered April 10 - 24, 2019

No unexpected costs or fees and the Flights to and from Japan out of Brisbane were good (QANTAS) even the Jetstar Japan flight was good. We were the last to arrive in Osaka and missed the first dinner....Immediately given a credit for that..so well done WW.
* Buses were good but perhaps porter service and seat rotation policy would help there.
* I would also suggest issuing name tags as it took awhile to discover the names of fellow travellers.
* Food was good although at times it would be good to offer a western choice as well as local.
* Hotels were excellent and well situated. Rooms were a decent size considering the nature of Japanese
hotels so they had done that well.
* Our tour guide was a great person but lacked good conversational English. Perhaps daily bulletins in the hotel reception or as handouts would improve that. I would suggest Orientation drives in the major cities would also help.

On the whole it was a good tour and I enjoyed it. I would suggest that the 18 days (16 for Brisbane) is a bit long. I think 14 days would be a better duration with less shrines and Temples.
Standouts were…..
Kemiji Castle and the Cherry blossom…..stunning.
Hiroshima…Sobering but tastefully presented.
All the Gardens…Japan obviously has a plethora of Gardens and everyone we visited was special.
The Kimono museum and Garden….great location in the shadow of Mt Fuji.
Snow Monkeys…cute little rascals and the drive through the Alps was breath taking.
Mt Fuji……. just a photographers dream and eager to please.
Tokyo Skytree …. Really nails home the size of a Mega city.
Farewell Dinner. Good food and wine.. on a boat down the Sudima river and Karaoke into the bargain

Transparency
Customer Service
Ease of Booking
Trip Completed Yes
Booking Type Accomodation, Flights and Tour
1 comment
Hi Gavin, Thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely review. We are delighted to read that you had a fantastic time in Japan and got the most out of the sights and experiences with this tour. Thank you for the suggestions above on how to improve some aspects of the trip, we have passed this along to our Product team for their consideration. We hope to see you on another Wendy Wu Tour in the future. Best Wishes, Wendy Wu Tours

Magnificent China

Good tour but we encountered some shortcomings. We had to pay 930 yuan each ($AUD195) compulsory tipping upfront, no choice. This was advised to us a week before leaving Australia. The optional tours were over-priced and had to be paid in cash. These options were not notified to us until we started the tour so we had no prior warning to have extra money. We had to ask several times for the paper work on the options. The details of the options, together with costs, should have been available before leaving Australia. The cost of drinks at meal times was five times what you could get at supermarkets. For the cruise section, we were strongly encouraged to pay for upgrades of rooms and meals, eg $USD300 to upgrade meals for three days. We found the basic cabin and meals quite satisfactory.
The thermostats in most hotel rooms, including the cruise, did not work. It was either too hot or too cold. We were told that air conditioners were not allowed to be used before 1st June! Sound insulation was also non-existent even in some of the better hotels.
We had two evening flights after wasted days where nothing was organised, arriving at our accommodation close to midnight both times. It would have been better to have early afternoon flights.
Being a coeliac is not easy in China. My diet was not communicated to the guide beforehand. The Chinese idea of gluten-free is plain rice and steamed cauliflower or broccoli! Any coeliacs should take their own soy sauce.
Our guide, Ian, was wonderful and could not do enough for us. He was very friendly, considerate and tried to help everybody. His organisation was spot on.
Highlights included the Great Wall, Terracotta Warriors, pandas, Three Gorges (we did not see the dam as it was very foggy that day).

Transparency
Customer Service
Ease of Booking
Trip Completed Yes
Booking Type Accomodation, Cruise, Flights and Tour
1 comment
Good afternoon Allan B, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us from your recent Wendy Wu Tour of China. We are pleased to read that despite some short comings, you enjoyed the many sights and sounds that China has to offer. The country is well known for its beautiful landscape as well as its deep and ancient history. Tipping in China is customary and given for a job well done, it is true that we do provide a suggested amount for passengers to pay into a kitty that the national Guide then distributes throughout the tour to local guides, drivers and at restaurants. The reason for the communal kitty is to provide ease for passengers so they do not constantly need to be thinking about tipping and how much they should tip. We are sorry to hear that you felt that you didn’t have a choice. Optional tours are offered by the guides only when there is sufficient time available in any given city and never should the standard sightseeing be compromised to allow for additional activities. For that reason, it would be very difficult to pre plan the optional extra’s offered because they can only be offered when time allows. As they are generally conducted by local vendors, we cannot preset the cost as vendors can change from week to week. We do however ensure that we notify passengers in the pre departure information that we send out, as seen on page 8 of the ‘Travel Guide’ sent with the final documents. From the information obtained from China, we have been advised of recent regulations put into place with the Government in an effort to better manage, reduce and control the level of electricity consumed within each region. We have been advised that; ‘According to government low carbon policy all hotels have to shut cool air down after summer for environmental protection: Cool air is between mid-May to end of August or early September and Heating is between mid-October to March next year. Allan, we are sorry to hear that you found it difficult at mealtimes to have variety provided, it is true that travelling through Asia can be difficult for coeliac’s as soy sauce is so widely used. As coeliac is quite uncommon in China it can be difficult to communicate this to restaurants. While we do our best to accommodate any dietary requirements doing so within China can be limiting on choice. We are working with our China office to educate them to ensure that variety can be provided for customers with food allergies and intolerance's. Thank you again for taking the time to share your feedback, we trust you have returned from China with many fond memories. We hope to welcome you on a Wendy Wu Tour in the near future. Warm regards Wendy Wu Tours Customer Relations Team

7 Day Private Tour of China (Beijing Section)

Really enjoyed our stay in Beijing with the highlights being visiting Tiananmen Square, The Forbidden City, The Summer Palace and The Great Wall. While these were all amazing places to visit, our guide Bruce, certainly helped to make our experience particularly memorable. He was thoughtful, considerate, polite and a fountain of knowledge. Bruce always put our needs first and nothing was too much trouble for him. He gave us the opportunity to do some extras like seeing the Legend of Kung Fu which we really appreciated and enjoyed. Bruce made us feel special and took a genuine interest in our family in our way of life in our homeland. Our whole experience exceeded our expectations.

Transparency
Customer Service
Ease of Booking
Trip Completed Yes
Booking Type Tour
2 comments
Dear Raewyn, Welcome home! Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely feedback with us from your recent private tour of China. We are so happy to hear that your tour exceeded you and your family’s expectations. China is a charming part of the world with many interesting historical places to visit and remarkable sites to see. It is with great delight to learn that your highlight of China was your Guide Bruce. We know that a guide can make or break the touring experience we are so happy to hear that Bruce went above and beyond to make your trip to China so memorable. It certainly seems that Bruce went above and beyond to ensure that your group had the most amazing time in China by sharing his knowledge and getting to know your family. Raewyn, thank you again for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent tour. We are happy to learn that you have since returned from China with many fond memories. We hope you have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a Wendy Wu Tour in the near future. Warm regards Wendy Wu Tours Customer Relation TeamThank you for your comment. I am wondering whether or not it is possible to send a gift to our tour guides in Chine in appreciation of the great job they did. I would like to send a gift to Bruce in Beijing and Della in Chengdu. If it is possible to send a gift can you please provide an appropriate address for each of the tour guides. Thanks. Kind regards Raewyn

An Amazing Experience

I have just returned from the April 16 Yangtze River tour of China and had a wonderful time. Our tour guide was absolutely amazing with her knowledge of China and her personal care of our group. She had a few difficult people to deal with but didn't let that distract from making the tour so memorable for everyone else including those who didn't seem to want to have the full China experience. China is such an interesting place and the perfect way to see it was with Wendy Wu tours. Judy.

Transparency
Customer Service
Ease of Booking
Trip Completed Yes
Booking Type Tour
1 comment
Hi Judy, Thank you for posting such a lovely review of your tour with us. China is truly a fascinating country with a myriad of cultural experiences and ancient sites, it is wonderful to read you had such an enjoyable time. It certainly sounds as if your guide went out of her way to ensure you and your fellow tour members were all having a memorable trip for the right reasons. We hope to have you back on another of our tours soon. Best Wishes, Wendy Wu Tours.

Exceptional Tour Guide

My husband and I have just returned from a 21 day Magnificent China tour. In every way, this Wendy Wu tour was enjoyable. There was a full and interesting itinerary, fantastic, local and knowledgeable guides, and our young tour guide, Maya, was exceptional in her care and organization of our group of twenty. We cannot commend her enough. At all times, she was organised and clear and concise in her instructions, so we knew exactly what was happening. Throughout the tour, she showed unfailing care and concern to passengers who had extra needs. Nothing was ever too much trouble, and she often went way beyond her role description. She shared many stories about living in China which contributed to our new-found understanding of this culture. We have been greatly enriched by her sharing, and we know that our tour was all the more enjoyable because of her. We would strongly recommend travelling to China with Wendy Wu tours. Anne (Brisbane)

Trip Completed Yes
Booking Type Tour
1 comment
Hi Anne, Thank you for sharing this lovely review of your recent trip to China with us. It is feedback like this that makes us proud of the work we do everyday. It is our desire that all our customers return home with enriching experiences and we are simply thrilled to read that is exactly what you got. It is also pleasing to read that your National Escort, Maya left a lasting impression and went above and beyond to ensure you and your fellow group members where taken care of and having an enjoyable time. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you on another tour in the near future. Best Wishes, Wendy Wu Tours

Magestic Yangtze River Tour of China 2nd April

P Hamilton 2/5/19
Spent 14 days in China 2nd April till 15th April, amazing trip would recommend this trip to anybody, in fact have not stopped talking about it.Started in Shanghai,Wuhan,Yangtze Yichang, Yangtze River Cruise (on the Victoria Jenna), Chongqing, Chengdu, Xian and Beijing. Saw lots of wonderful amazing sights . Our tour guide Amanda was with us all the way , a lovely lady I cant begin to say how helpful she was , arranging all our needs nothing was too much trouble, she went above and beyond her duty. She deserves 500 out of 100 , many thanks to this amazing friendly lovely lady .

Transparency
Customer Service
Ease of Booking
Trip Completed Yes
Booking Type Accomodation, Cruise, Flights, Tour and Visa
1 comment
Dear Patty, Welcome Home! Thank you for taking the time to share your delightful feedback with us from your recent Majestic Yangtze Tour, we are pleased to know that you have returned home from China with some fond memories. China is certainly a special part of the world with some beautiful sites and scenery to see and many amazing places to visit, a highlight being the Yangtze River cruise. We are so pleased to learn that you had the most enjoyable time on your recent tour. Patty we are so happy to learn that Amanda was such a Rockstar guide and that she was helpful and friendly. A guide can make or break the touring experience, so it is with great joy to read what a tremendous job Amanda did to ensure that the group were well looked after whilst on tour in China, we will be sure to share your lovely feedback with Amanda. Thank you again for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent Majestic Yangtze tour, we look forward to welcoming you back on a Wendy Wu tour in the near future. Warmest regards The Wendy Wu Customer Relations Team

outstanding guide

To Whom It May Concern,

We have just returned from our Magestic Yangtze tour of China, departing Australia April 16. We are writing to commend our tour leader, Betty. It was Betty's expertise, good humour, generosity, genuine concern for our safety and comfort, as well as her willingness to share with us her knowledge of China that truly enhanced our trip. She shared with us aspects of her own life, providing us with further insights into her country. We cannot speak highly enough of her as a tour leader. Betty also has an excellent understanding of western needs and expectations and we feel she went beyond what is to be expected of a tour leader. We now have a new perspective of China and very much enjoyed our trip.

Sally and Neil Pratt

Transparency
Customer Service
Ease of Booking
Trip Completed Yes
1 comment
Dear Sally and Neil, Welcome home! Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent China tour. We are so pleased to hear that you both enjoyed your Majestic Yangtze Tour of China with Wendy Wu Tours. It certainly seems that Betty went above and beyond to ensure that the group had the best experience possible. We are so delighted to hear that Betty shared her knowledge and sense of humour with the group, it is great to know that she took such great care of the everyone. We will be sure to share your lovely comments with Betty, she is a Superstar guide and an asset to the Wendy Wu Team. Neil and Sally, thank you again for taking the time to share your experience from your recent tour. We hope to welcome you both back on a Wendy Wu Tour in the near future. Warm regards The Wendy Wu Tours Customer Relations Team

China Experience - Wonderful Amy our Tour Guide

We have just returned from a Wendy Wu China Experience, the sights, sounds, places, were all spectacular, we visited Shanghai, Xi’an, Beijing. Our Tour Guide Amy was absolutely fantastic, she went above and beyond and well exceeded our expectations. A truly memorable tour well organised, very professional, will share our experiences with everyone.
Regards Terry & Sandra

Transparency
Customer Service
Ease of Booking
Trip Completed Yes
Booking Type Accomodation, Cruise and Tour
1 comment
Hi Terry and Sandra, Welcome home! It is fabulous to read reviews such as this one as we want all of our customers to have memorable, enriching experiences. China certainly is a fascinating country with a mix of ancient traditions and modern culture and we are glad we could share it with you both. Best Wishes, Wendy Wu Tours

Wendy Wu Tour of Yunnan & Sichuan April 2019

We would thoroughly recommend this tour to anybody who wishes to see this part of China, which is amazing, very diverse with stunning scenery.
We paid the suggested Tipping at the beginning of the Tour which the National Tour Guide distributed to the local Guides, Coach drivers etc. an excellent way of ensuring appropriate tips are made when you don't have knowledge of local customs.
There were no other additional fees to be paid all was included. Booking was easy and the tour exceeded our expectations.
Our National Tour Guide, Ken, was very supportive and helpful, nothing was too much trouble, his knowledge of his beautiful Country was very helpful to us to understand Chinese culture and enjoy our experience of China. Our questions were answered and explained and we were also able to talk frankly about Australia and compare cultures.
The Local Guides were also very good, the coach drivers very professional, we felt exceedingly safe and at ease at all times.
The standard of the accommodation exceeded our expectations. The meals were designed to give us an insight into the local specialities, totally different at each venue and so delicious, plenty to eat.
A thoroughly enjoyable tour.

Transparency
Customer Service
Ease of Booking
Trip Completed Yes
Booking Type Accomodation, Flights, Tour and Visa
1 comment
Hi Lynda G, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your lovely feedback. We are delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable time and it certainly seems you have since returned with many wonderful memories. It is so nice to read that your National Escort, Ken went out of his way to ensure all special requests were met and all passengers were having a wonderful time throughout. We will certainly pass these comments along to him and our team at the China Office. Best wishes, Wendy Wu Tours

Wendy Wu Wonders of China

My husband and I enjoyed the 16 day Wendy Wu Wonders of China tour in March. Our National tour guide Nick was superb. His knowledge and pride in his country was tremendous and for us made this tour 5 stars. The local guides; Macy, Lily, Effie and Melody were all wonderful - Ding Ding Hao:) Nick and the local guides taught us about life in China and gave us an understanding and appreciation of this amazing country.

Our tour covered Beijing, Xian, Yangtze, Chongqing, Guilin, Yangshuo and Shanghai and
our tour group of 16 consisted of amazing travellers from Aus, UK, US and NZ. We were very fortunate that everyone got on well and we enjoyed each others company.

We found the hotels first class and better than we were expecting. The tour transport includes buses, flights and trains and all were punctual, efficient and very comfortable. We loved dining with our tour mates and enjoyed the local food but at day 15 we needed a burger!

We found China to be very scenic, clean and safe. The Chinese were very friendly and seemed proud to welcome us to their country.

The tour was fast paced and I still can not believe how much we were able to experience and see in these two weeks.There were so many amazing moments and memories that will be treasured for ever. My highlight was the visit to the Great Wall where we arrived very early (before any crowds) and when we had climbed to the highest point, we were all alone and able to enjoy this amazing view and moment. Other highlights include the Yangshuo village walk, Xian night tour and the amazing scenery of the Li River.

Thanks again to Nick and Wendy Wu for a well organised and amazing holiday.

Transparency
Customer Service
Ease of Booking
Trip Completed Yes
Booking Type Accomodation, Cruise, Flights, Tour and Visa

Page 1 of 14

Questions & Answers

Is it likely to see cherry blossoms during Japan uncovered tour 16/3 - 1/4/2020 ?
1 answer
Hi Judy, Yes, I think so. Our tour was in May 2019 and the cherry blossoms had finished. It is only a very short flowering time for them apparently. Our Daughter and family were in Japan during April 2019 and saw plenty of cherry blossoms.

I have requested a brochure for Sth. America 5 times over the past 6 months and it still hasn't arrived. I would like to speak to a supervisir in order to make an official complaint. Alan Beach 0421020941
10 answers
have not received an answer. what a surprisehow hard is it? you have one jobwaiting

After leaving the USA market last year Wendy Wu Tours Inc. announced they would be returning to the USA market with a new digitized online web site for bookings. What is the status?
No answers