??!
1 photo
World Nomads Travel Insurance
2.8 from 263 reviews

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
97
4 star
21
3 star
4
2 star
16
1 star
125

Never allowed to file a claim - unfair!

published

I have used World Nomads in the past and never had a problem with them. Now that they use TripMate it appears that they are trying to get out of paying for anything. I had two cancelled flights during a seven week trip and racked up $1200 in new flights and new accomodation. When I went to begin my claim, they said I had chosen the wrong plan. According to them, I do not qualify for my own country's policy even though I followed all the information on the website. This means that nonexpat or nomad traveler could ever use World NOMAD insurance. How ironic. I would give them 0 stars if I could. I recommend this company to NO ONE!

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance Cover For:Adult
DestinationEast Asia (e.g. China, Japan, South Korea) and Europe
Insurance TypeSingle Trip
Claim MadeNo
See all answers

Slow and unreliable service. Do not recommend it.

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance Cover For:Adult
DestinationEurope
Insurance TypeSingle Trip
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimMedical, Personal Liability and Travel Delays/Cancellations
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateSeptember 2018
See all answers
Yoav B.

Yoav B.Sydney, NSW

Complete scam

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance Cover For:Adult
DestinationAustralia and South-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Insurance TypeMulti-Trip
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Steveh

StevehSouth East Queensland, QLD

Already recommend to anyone travellIng, so glad I had it

published

The staff at the emergency response are amazing, after doing ligament damage to my knee in Bali they organised everything to fly home and sort out medical stuff from home, they helped immediately and answered all of my questions and checked to see how I was. No complications yet just waiting for medical reimbursement now.

DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimMedical
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateSeptember 2019
Claim ApprovedNo

No value for money

published

I purchased traveller's insurance from World Nomads and was hospitalised during my vacation. When I returned home, I obtained the extensive documentation required. I submitted my claim for reimbursement of medical expenses four months ago. Every time I contact them, I get another email saying, "We'll get back to you in ten days."

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance Cover For:Adult
DestinationNorth America (inc. Hawaii)
Insurance TypeSingle Trip
Claim MadeYes
Claim DateMay 2019
See all answers

ASJ

ASJNew South Wales

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Excellent experience with World Nomads

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance Cover For:Adult
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Insurance TypeSingle Trip
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimMedical
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateJune 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

Avoid using this travel insurance...complete scam.

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance Cover For:Adult
DestinationAustralia and South-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Insurance TypeSingle Trip
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateMay 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers

Jana Urban

Jana UrbanCasey 2913, ACT

Don’t buy this insurance.

published

I’ve got the highest travel insurance so I’d be covered if I miss one of my trips. Because of a flooding the buses couldn’t drive and that’s why I couldn’t take part on a whitsundays trip (sailing trip on Australias east coast) I booked. I didn’t get any money back, because “this is not a case for the insurance”.
Seriously don’t go for this insurance

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance Cover For:Adult
DestinationAustralia
Insurance TypeSingle Trip
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateFebruary 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers

Terrible service.

published

Slow at responding. Will try anything to do you out of a claim. Would avoid at all costs. I purchased extra "gadget insurance" from these guys but I might aswel not have as when i lost my drone. I know now why this company has so many good reviews from travel bloggers, because these bloggers are paid to write the reviews. Just avoid them.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Insurance Cover For:Adult
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimLost/Stolen Property
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateFebruary 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
chinfia

chinfiaSydney

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Constantly avoiding to pay out on claim

published
Value for Money
Customer Service
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedYes

Never heard from claims adjuster after almost 2 months

published

I filed a claim with this company after being mugged and sent to the hospital, and after sending them multiple emails I still have yet to receive any response for my claim. No calls, emails, nothing. I will not be using them again when I travel.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Claim MadeYes
Claim DateDecember 2018

Not satisfied AT ALL

published
Value for Money
Customer Service
Insurance Cover For:Adult and Child
DestinationSouth America
Insurance TypeSingle Trip
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateJanuary 2019
See all answers

Josh

JoshSouth East Queensland, QLD

Never again will I use this company - waste of time and $$

published

Our Qanatas flight was delayed and we missed our transfers - World nomads wouldn’t accept our claim despite advertising being covered for out of pocket expenses due to delays. Never again will I use this company - waste of time and $$

Value for Money
Customer Service
Insurance Cover For:Adult
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Insurance TypeSingle Trip
Claim MadeNo
See all answers

Jde

JdeGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Insurance claim-not

published

Lost a whole lot of stuff overseas trusting that I had insurance. Took them 2 weeks to respond saying I hadn’t notified the right authorities in time to attempt a claim. They weren’t very helpful at all. Can see where they get a bad rep from. Would not recommend.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Insurance Cover For:Adult
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimLost/Stolen Property
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers

Avoid it at all cost

published
Insurance claim madeYes
Joe

JoeSydney

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Phony travel insurers. Stay away for your own safety.

published
Insurance claim madeYes

cha

chahobart

  • 3 reviews
  • Verified customer

Appalling and unprofessional

published

Only once and this will be the last time. Almost 6 weeks and still no resolution to a simple claim. If I could click no stars I would. Next time I shall go with icover who were excellent for travel insurance on a previous trip

Insurance claim madeYes

Jane

JaneDenver, CO

If anyone needs me, I’ll be emailing World Nomads. Again.

published
Insurance claim madeYes

Good company, a bit overpriced if you don't do adventure sports

published

Good company, a bit overpriced if you don't do adventure sports. If do you adventure sports while traveling, they are pretty much the best. Not sure sure why so many people complaint below, I have 2 friends I was traveling with who had to claim with World nomads and they got paid no problems. I used to use World nomads but never had to claim anything. Now I don't do adventure sports anymore so I prefer to buy my travel insurance with Safety wing, relatively new service but cheaper than World nomads. It depends what style of traveler you are.

Insurance claim madeNo
1 comment
World Nomads
Sarah T.World Nomads

Anna

AnnaBrisbane

Dismal Service - DO NOT TRAVEL WITH WORLD NOMADS

published
Insurance claim madeYes
1 comment
World Nomads
Sarah T.World Nomads

Page 1 of 14

Questions & Answers

Lisa N

Lisa Nasked

I notice that all the 4 and 5 star reviews are from 2+ years ago, but recently, all the reviews are 1 star. What's happened to the claims process in that time for this to be so consistent?

No answers

Hanum

Hanumasked

Hi I'm Hanum, a Malaysian. I'm going to Australia for holiday while pregnant. My question is am I eligible to buy World Nomads travel insurance? Does the World Nomads cover pregnancy complication? Thank you.

No answers

Barbara Moore

Barbara Mooreasked

I need to file a claim, and I need a password tom proceed. Will you please notify me with a password?
Barbara Moore ID 622070

1 answer
World Nomads
Sarah T.World Nomads

Hi Barbara,

Just to make sure I'm resetting the correct password on the correct account, could you please send me a quick email on help@worldnomads.com?

Looking forward to hearing from you,

Sarah
World Nomads


Get an answer from our members and World Nomads representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.