??!
1 photo
World Nomads Travel Insurance

World Nomads Travel Insurance

Explorer Plan, Standard Plan
2.7 from 274 reviews

Reviews

(97)
(21)
(4)
(16)
(136)
  • Value for Money
    1.2 (22)
  • Transparency
    1.2 (17)
  • Customer Service
    1.3 (23)

No point to the insurance, they won't help when needed. Better keep the money.

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationAustralia
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers

World Nohelp

published

Great company, as long as you don't have to face a pandemic after having bought a policy.
When you need the travel insurance, they're completely absent. When they want you to pay for your plan, they are always there for you.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimOther
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers

Orrible Experience

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEast Asia (e.g. China, Japan, South Korea)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateFebruary 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
Travel Insurance

Find out how World Nomads Travel Insurance compares to other Travel Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

dont expect them to disclose any information just trying to get your money

published

we organised for a policy for my son to Peru from Australia in February. We spoke to them and then bought it on line. At no time were we informed that he would not be covered for the coronavirus. There were no alerts concerning travel in Australia or Peru, no alerts at all for anywhere except China at the time so no you cant say everyone was aware of the situation and it was a known issue from 31/1/2020. If you couldn't cover him then fine but you were either accepting new insurance polices and not informing people of the coverage for coronavirus or you have retrospectively changed your coverage to avoid liability. You should be ashamed of yourselves.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationSouth America
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers

Scam travel insurance. Avoid at all costs.

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimLost/Stolen Property
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers

My brother in law died thinking he had cover from these cold hearted scammers!!

published

Accurate facts are. ..after paying a whopping three hundred pounds , my brother in law thought he was covered for a lifetime trip with World Nomads. He was on a motorbike travelling through all these countries in South America...yet nobody here thought to ask what his mode of transport was . He could have been on a camel or a skateboard when the drunk driver hit him and we would have him home with us today. But no, they used their get out clause in the 140 pages listed of what your not really covered for to allow him to die. I will always keep posting this. His story won't be forgotten! And how you sleep at night is beyond me! Mrs Ali Peck

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationSouth America
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers

Scam, do not use this company

published

Can't access to their claiming portal, they have not given me access despite reiterated intends.
I have six pendant claims which resolution I have waited more than 4 months, they have not refunded anything.
Do not use this company or you will be in medical debt.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEast Asia (e.g. China, Japan, South Korea) and South-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimLost/Stolen Property and Medical
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateSeptember 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
Jade Facey

Jade FaceySydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Scam insurer

published

Scam company. The policy wording and agreement documents are misleading and should be illegal. I am making a formal complaint. This is the second time i have booked the first time i had no issue and i'm lucky because I was doing Everest. Had anything happened to me i'd probably be dead they wouldn't pay out and i now know that. The second time they refused to pay me for items lost in checked luggage despite it being locked. Travel insurance is supposed to protect you!! DO NOT BOOK WITH THIS SCAM COMPANY. They will find any way not to pay you. My items were taken from my locked bag on a Qantas flight and somehow thats not covered??

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationNew Zealand
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimLost/Stolen Property
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim ApprovedNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers

One star just because zero is not an option

published
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeYes
Claim ApprovedNo
Travel Insurance

Find out how World Nomads Travel Insurance compares to other Travel Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Michael

MichaelGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Stay Away From World Nomads!

published

Stay Away From World Nomads!

As I can see from previous reviews I'm not alone. DON'T buy insurance with World Nomads, they don't answer the phone, I left my number for a call back but they haven't, I've filled out online enquiries but they don't respond. Loads of bad reviews in the last few weeks for this insurer. STAY AWAY from world nomads. 15 years I have been paying for insurance with them, thankfully my first need to claim is not leaving me $1000s out of pocket . Stay Away From World Nomads!

Transparency
Customer Service
DestinationNorth America (inc. Hawaii)
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers

Bad choice

published

As they are a recommendation of Lonely Planet I purchased travel insurance for years with them, did not need it until my last trip. I had problems with my visa in Africa when crossing the border from South Africa to Namibia, so I needed to organize another mean of transportation, but they refused to pay for it.
On the same trip my brand new bag got damaged, I filled out the claim, it took a while untill they reacted, finally I got a compensation of 5 USD for it, sent them a message if it was a joke but they did not bother to reply.
Big disappointment, so I will check other insurance companies in the future.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationAfrica
Claim MadeYes
Claim ApprovedNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers

Never allowed to file a claim - unfair!

published

I have used World Nomads in the past and never had a problem with them. Now that they use TripMate it appears that they are trying to get out of paying for anything. I had two cancelled flights during a seven week trip and racked up $1200 in new flights and new accomodation. When I went to begin my claim, they said I had chosen the wrong plan. According to them, I do not qualify for my own country's policy even though I followed all the information on the website. This means that nonexpat or nomad traveler could ever use World NOMAD insurance. How ironic. I would give them 0 stars if I could. I recommend this company to NO ONE!

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEast Asia (e.g. China, Japan, South Korea) and Europe
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers

Slow and unreliable service. Do not recommend it.

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimMedical, Personal Liability and Travel Delays/Cancellations
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateSeptember 2018
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
Yoav B.

Yoav B.Sydney, NSW

Complete scam

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationAustralia and South-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
Steveh

StevehSouth East Queensland, QLD

Already recommend to anyone travellIng, so glad I had it

published

The staff at the emergency response are amazing, after doing ligament damage to my knee in Bali they organised everything to fly home and sort out medical stuff from home, they helped immediately and answered all of my questions and checked to see how I was. No complications yet just waiting for medical reimbursement now.

DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimMedical
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateSeptember 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
Travel Insurance

Find out how World Nomads Travel Insurance compares to other Travel Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

No value for money

published

I purchased traveller's insurance from World Nomads and was hospitalised during my vacation. When I returned home, I obtained the extensive documentation required. I submitted my claim for reimbursement of medical expenses four months ago. Every time I contact them, I get another email saying, "We'll get back to you in ten days."

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationNorth America (inc. Hawaii)
Claim MadeYes
Claim DateMay 2019
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
ASJ

ASJNew South Wales

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Excellent experience with World Nomads

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimMedical
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateJune 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers

Avoid using this travel insurance...complete scam.

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationAustralia and South-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateMay 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
Jana Urban

Jana UrbanCasey 2913, ACT

Don’t buy this insurance.

published

I’ve got the highest travel insurance so I’d be covered if I miss one of my trips. Because of a flooding the buses couldn’t drive and that’s why I couldn’t take part on a whitsundays trip (sailing trip on Australias east coast) I booked. I didn’t get any money back, because “this is not a case for the insurance”.
Seriously don’t go for this insurance

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationAustralia
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateFebruary 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers

Terrible service.

published

Slow at responding. Will try anything to do you out of a claim. Would avoid at all costs. I purchased extra "gadget insurance" from these guys but I might aswel not have as when i lost my drone. I know now why this company has so many good reviews from travel bloggers, because these bloggers are paid to write the reviews. Just avoid them.

Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimLost/Stolen Property
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateFebruary 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
Page 1 of 14

Questions & Answers

Lisa N

Lisa Nasked

World Nomads Travel Insurance

I notice that all the 4 and 5 star reviews are from 2+ years ago, but recently, all the reviews are 1 star. What's happened to the claims process in that time for this to be so consistent?

No answers
Hanum

Hanumasked

World Nomads Travel Insurance

Hi I'm Hanum, a Malaysian. I'm going to Australia for holiday while pregnant. My question is am I eligible to buy World Nomads travel insurance? Does the World Nomads cover pregnancy complication? Thank you.

No answers
Barbara Moore

Barbara Mooreasked

World Nomads Travel Insurance

I need to file a claim, and I need a password tom proceed. Will you please notify me with a password?
Barbara Moore ID 622070

1 answer
World Nomads
Sarah T.World Nomads

Hi Barbara,

Just to make sure I'm resetting the correct password on the correct account, could you please send me a quick email on help@worldnomads.com?

Looking forward to hearing from you,

Sarah
World Nomads

Get an answer from our members and World Nomads representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.