??!

See the Best Travel Insurance in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
6
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
4
1 star
14

Meg

Meg

  • 2 reviews

Easy and streamlined

published

I organised travel insurance within minutes on their website and when I needed to claim a phone lost overseas the claims process was also relatively easy.

Only reason the review is 4 instead of 5 is that when had my phone stolen/lost while travelling I contacted them immediately to find out what I would need to do to file successfully when I returned but didn’t get clear advice at all.

I’d suggest that if anything is lost or stolen, file a police report in the country you’re visiting as this made it so much easier when I submitted my claim. The claims person I dealt with when I returned was also very prompt and helpful.

I’d use them again without hesitation.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance Cover For:Adult
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Insurance TypeSingle Trip
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimLost/Stolen Property
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateSeptember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

Doug

DougGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

DON"T USE World2Cover. Worst insurance company

published

World2Cover asked twice for more information/quotes. Then took 10 business days to get back to me each time. They then denied my damaged luggage claim because the policy apparently didn't cover it. I asked for an internal review before taking it to FOS. They eventually paid the claim but continued to delay as much as posible hoping that I would give up. I will never use this company again because they were finding anything and everything to deny my claim so I would go away.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance Cover For:Adult
DestinationAustralia
Insurance TypeSingle Trip
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimOther
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateApril 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

Watch out for * against luggage limit

published

We lost prescription glasses and only got $400 back - ($500 less excess). The luggage limit says $7,500 but in reality they determine the limit on items which will never cover replacement of the lost item.

Insurance Cover For:Adult
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimLost/Stolen Property
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Mina and Reneh

Mina and RenehGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified customer

Terrible is an understatement

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Insurance TypeSingle Trip
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimLost/Stolen Property
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateJune 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers

Ben C.

Ben C.South East Queensland, QLD

Prompt claim payment with minimal fuss

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance Cover For:Adult and Child
DestinationNorth America (inc. Hawaii)
Insurance TypeSingle Trip
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimMedical
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

James

James

  • 2 reviews

Argumentive

published

Simple claim for lost item. Never had any intention of meeting claim. Claims officer was condescending in his manner. Based claim denial on an assumption made on his behalf. Refused to listen to reason or further clarifying explanation. Highly recommend avoidance of this company.

April 9th 2019 Update: Condescending

Legitimate claim denied. Claims officer was condescending. I was made to feel like a liar and a fraud. In essence did not believe a word of my claim. Save yourself the hassle, insure with someone else.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Claim MadeYes
Claim DateJanuary 2019
Claim ApprovedNo

Janx

JanxMelbourne

  • Verified customer

Terrible assistance

published
Value for Money
Customer Service
Insurance Cover For:Adult
DestinationEurope
Insurance TypeSingle Trip
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimMedical
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateAugust 2018
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

  • Verified customer

Great cover, and fats payment.

published

I paid for travel insurance for 6 weeks in Europe, with ski cover. When skiiing in Austria, I had a fall and ended up being air lifted to hospital, then stayed in hospital overnight. World2cover and Tokio Marine ended up paying for the helicopter flight, the stay in the hospital, and the medications I needed, totalling about AU$7200. They paid the companies direct, and were responsive with everything I asked of them. Great cover and no isses at all!

Value for Money
Customer Service
Insurance Cover For:Adult
DestinationEurope
Insurance TypeSingle Trip
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimMedical
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateFebruary 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

Slow and unprofessional

published
Value for Money
Customer Service
Insurance Cover For:Adult and Child
DestinationEurope
Insurance TypeSingle Trip
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
See all answers
JayJ

JayJAdelaide

  • 7 reviews
  • 5 likes

Disappointing

published
Value for Money
Customer Service
Insurance Cover For:Adult
DestinationAustralia
Insurance TypeSingle Trip
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimCar/Rental Hire Excess
Claim DateJanuary 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

bronwyn

bronwynAU

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified customer

Be careful of the rental vehicle cover and where you park the car as you may have no cover

published

In relation to their international travel cover please be aware that if you park your car off a public roadway, for example a driveway, motel car park and a shopping centre car park you will have no cover if the car is stolen or damaged. I noticed their policy has an exclusion saying that they do not cover "loss or damage that occurs beyond a public roadway", I emailed them for clarification & two separate emails from their staff have confirmed that cover is ONLY while the car is on a roadway, not in a driveway, or any off street car park.
So their cover for car theft is very limited, after all, the only time your vehicle CAN be stolen is when it's parked.

Insurance claim madeNo

  • Verified customer

Happy with result

published

I lost my iPhone travelling overseas in Malaysia. They processed my claim and the funds were in my account within the 10 day time period promised. Happy with the result.

Insurance claim madeYes

Steve M

Steve MAU

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Can't contact them on Reverse Charges Call

published

Had our credit cards stolen while in the USA, tried to call reverse charges , but that is no longer available, had no credit card to pay for a standard call, so we were stranded. Luck for us VISA came to the rescue and had new cards issued in 24 hours. A 24 hr help line is useless unless it is contactable.

Insurance claim madeYes

Still waiting on a claim and it’s been months

published

Do not use!
Worth going with a reputable company because World2Cover is so slow at getting back to you on a genuine claim... still waiting and it’s been months.

Insurance claim madeYes
  • Verified customer

Affordable and easy travel insurance

published

Have used this company twice and was referred to them by the Entertainment Book. Really affordable and easy to make a claim. Everything was sorted within 1 week of claiming. I’ve travelled a lot and never had to claim in the past. Will be using them again!

Insurance claim madeYes
Sevo

Sevo

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Still waiting on genuine claim

published

Still waiting 1 month after genuine claim for Qantas flight cancellations and the costs involved. This is the first time we have used World2Cover and only the second claim we have ever had in 20 years of travel. Will wait to see if our claim is successful.

Insurance claim madeYes

Slowest claim review process ever, do not waste your time!

published

This insurance company is terrible. Do not waste your time.
They say they respond within 10 working days and every time they take the full 10 days minimum to respond to your claim.
Then surprise, surprise, they have more questions and yet another 10 days.. then again, now up to 2 months and I have thrown the towel in and given up. Just not worth the effort as they obviously do not like to pay out claims. Not. Large claim either.
Warning-stay away very unprofessional.
My friend used Australia Post for a similar claim and had no problems, claim solved within a week.
Shop elsewhere- you will be wasting your time with these people.

Insurance claim madeYes

Lydia P.

Lydia P.Adelaide

  • 10 reviews
  • 11 likes

Lying Claims personnel who never rung back.

published
Insurance claim madeYes

BVC

BVCPerth

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes
  • Verified customer

Trust issues

published
Insurance claim madeNo

Jacob

JacobCanberra

  • 3 reviews
  • 6 likes

A cheap, affordable option until you actually need to make a claim

published
Insurance claim madeYes

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions yet.


Get an answer from our members and World2Cover representatives

Details

World2Cover Domestic Cover

World2Cover Domestic Cover

No reviews
World2Cover Basics Cover

World2Cover Basics Cover

No reviews
World2Cover Essentials Cover

World2Cover Essentials Cover

1 review
World2Cover Top Cover

World2Cover Top Cover

No reviews
CategoryTravel InsuranceTravel InsuranceTravel InsuranceTravel Insurance
Contact Number 02 9225 759902 9225 759902 9225 759902 9225 7599
24-Hour Phone Contact NoNoNoNo
Online Live Chat NoNoNoNo
UnderwriterTokio Marine & Nichido Fire InsuranceTokio Marine & Nichido Fire InsuranceTokio Marine & Nichido Fire InsuranceTokio Marine & Nichido Fire Insurance
Maximum Age Covered 74 years old74 years old74 years old74 years old
Medical Coverage
Overseas Emergency Assistance Not Covered$5,000$25,000Unlimited
Accidental Death$25,000Not Included$15,000$25,000
Emergency DentalNot Included$500$2,000$2,000
Pregnancy (max weeks) 26 weeks26 weeks26 weeks26 weeks
Resumption of Journey Not IncludedNot Included$1,500$3,000
Hospital Cash AllowanceNot Included$1,500$3,500$6,000
Overseas Emergency Medical & Hospital ExpensesNot CoveredUnlimitedUnlimitedUnlimited
Loss of Income$5,200Not Included$5,200$10,400
Permanent Disability$25,000Not Included$15,000$25,000
Luggage & Personal Effects
Theft of Cash $250Not Included$1,500$3,000
Delayed Luggage $500 after 10 hoursNot Included$500$750
Credit Card Fraud$1,500 as part of Travel Documents coverNot Included$1,500$3,000
Travel Documents / Passport $1,500Not Included$1,500$3,000
Maximum Single Item Limit $1,500 (Cameras, Laptops or Set of Golf Clubs)$750 (Camera, Video Camera, Laptop Computer Equipment and Set of Golf Clubs)$1,500 (Camera, Video Camera, Laptop Computer Equipment and Set of Golf Clubs)$3,000 (Camera, Video Camera, Laptop Computer Equipment and Set of Golf Clubs)
Luggage & Personal Effects Included $7,500$2,000$7,500$15,000
Ancillary
Personal Liability $10,000,000.00$10,000,000.00$10,000,000.00$10,000,000.00
Rental Vehicle Excess $5,000Not Included$4,000$5,000
Motorbike / Moped Coverage Included for any sizeIncluded up to 50ccIncluded up to 50ccIncluded up to 50cc
Domestic Pet Care Not IncludedNot IncludedNot Included$650
Special Activities Packages
GolfIncludedIncludedIncludedIncluded
CruiseNot IncludedNot IncludedNot IncludedNot Included
Adventure IncludedNot IncludedNot IncludedIncluded
Snow / SkiOptional ExtraNot IncludedNot IncludedIncluded

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.