??!
3 photos
Ziegler & Brown Portable Grill

Ziegler & Brown Portable Grill

3.7 from 37 reviews

See the Best Gas BBQs in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
17
4 star
7
3 star
2
2 star
7
1 star
4

Mark Benjamin K.

Mark Benjamin K.Far North Queensland, QLD

Below Average

published

Purchased from BBQ Galore; unpacked and noticed manufacturing defect on Base. Didn't have much time due leaving on extended trip in Caravan. Returned it - got another (difficult process). Opened in shop- top was faulty. They got us a third and hit the road. Tried a roast chicken first up - temp gauge didn't work. so cooked on smell and skewers. Got sent a replacement gauge- will try today. This was only unit to fit in van boot so not too many options. The ring clips that hold cooker unit to base also failed 1st go - that is 4 of them. I think even the manufacturers would be ashamed. Cooking requires heat- not too difficult. I'd look for better options than this.

Purchased in September 2019 at Barbeques Galore for $320.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Preheating Speed
Safety
Even Heat DistributionNo
See all answers

T dani

T dani

  • 11 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Best BBQ Ever

published

Have owned other BBQS but none of them can compete with the Ziggy. Easy to clean and cooks perfectly every time. There is even a Facebook page to share recipes and hints.

Purchased in November 2018 at Barbeques Galore for $439.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Preheating Speed
Even Heat DistributionYes
See all answers
Damian

DamianHobart, TAS

I purchased one after discovering how good my friends one was

published

My girlfriends parents have a ziggy portable and I wouldn't purchase anything else in that segment. I was so impressed how well it cooked both roasting and grilling.
I purchased one and it did have an issue with it however it was fixed under warranty no questions asked which was a real credit to them.
I highly recommend ziggy barbeques particularly for use in a vehicle as the plate is one piece and doesn't fall out like the two piece ones competitors offer..

Purchased at Barbeques Galore for $350.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Preheating Speed
Safety
Even Heat DistributionYes
See all answers
James

JamesSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Fantastic Gift, Terrible BBQ! *Glad I didn’t pay for it*

published
  • +4

Purchased in November 2018 at Barbeques Galore.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Even Heat DistributionNo
See all answers

koos

koosSydney Surrounds, NSW

Gone back to Weber. The Zig just can't compete.

published

With the Ziggy:
The temperature knob on its own can't regulate to a perfect 180 - you need to fiddle with drip tray setting to get it right.
Cold spot near the front of the grill.
Cleaning under the hood is impossible. I decided to take out the screws holding the lid on. Snapped the first stud as it was too tight. Asked BBQ's Galore for advice, offered to send a tech out for a fee. Ended up removing and replacing the stud myself and put the thing on Gumtree. Condition almost like new and not a scratch, accessories include new cart, carry bag, full hotplate never used and pizza stone. No one wants it at $320. Half of what I paid for it. Might have to give it away, but maybe I'd prefer to trash it rather than give someone else the problem.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Preheating Speed
Safety
Even Heat DistributionNo
See all answers

Can't clean it properly

published

the cleaning is the problem How do you clean the underside of the lid it is impossibleif you have the lid open you can only clean about 20% of it and of course if it is closed you can't clean it at all it is easy to clean under the burners etc but not under the lid

Purchased at Barbeques Galore for $588.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Preheating Speed
Safety
Even Heat DistributionYes
See all answers

Spurwing

SpurwingNortheast, VIC

  • 7 reviews

The perfect Barby

published

Great for cooking roasts, baking, grilling,.
The BBQ is easy to clean, plates are easy to remove, has a great drip tray system.
We use it while caravaning travels well, can use it in any weather, great wind resistance.
Cooks evenly, with lid open or closed, great rig.

Purchased in March 2018 at Barbeques Galore for $450.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Preheating Speed
Safety
Even Heat DistributionYes
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Tim

TimMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Best portable BBQ I have owned!

published

The heat on the full cast iron plate is perfect no hot spots or cold spots!
Windproof too which is great when camping and hot enough to cook with the lid up like a hotplate or when on low shut the lid for the most tender succulent meats.
The perfect BBQ for cooking with such versatility either fast for a quick bite or nice and slow for a treat.
Had a webber before, The Ziggy is so much better quality and more versatile!
10 stars.
Now I will be buying the 3 burner for home!!!!

Purchased in March 2019 at Barbeques Galore for $399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Preheating Speed
Safety
Even Heat DistributionYes
See all answers
pebble

pebbleWA, 6530

  • 41 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Great for camping

published

Purchased in October 2017 at Barbeques Galore for $322.95.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Preheating Speed
Safety
Even Heat DistributionYes
See all answers
Wary

Wary

  • 2 reviews

Disappointing

published

Not hot enough, steaks cook too slowly, the wok doesn't get hot enough and is only good for stewing. We spent $430 on the trivet, half hot plate etc....wasted our dough. DON'T buy one.

Purchased in January 2019 at Barbeques Galore for $430.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Preheating Speed
Safety
Even Heat DistributionNo
See all answers

Can live with out it

published

Bought a baby ziggy four months ago and not impressed poorly made and a problem to clean never been so disappointed with a BBQ before can not get the grease trap off and a screw which keeps the thermostat in place fell out while cleaning not a happy customer stay clear.

Date PurchasedJul 2018

Bakpakka

BakpakkaGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 11 reviews

Build quality, range of accessories and purchase price were the standout features.

published

I love how portable this BBQ is for the limited space of our camper trailer. I bought the kit version with the carry bag, trivets and half grill plate. This version is great value for money. Set up is quick and easy and it's even heat and ability to cook with the hood down or up has produced great results with the meat we've cooked on it.

Date PurchasedAug 2018

Marty Cummins

Marty CumminsNSW, 2330

  • 8 reviews

Brother has Webber. Heaps better than Ziegler

published

Very slow , poor heat distribution. Included flat flat sits on top of the grill. Anything on the flat plate takes forever to cook. Side wings are not on hinges and need to be removed with a screwdriver to fit the cover. I bought this on BBQ galores recommendation only to find out they don’t stock the Webber. Salesman said these were better. Why wouldn’t he? Get a Webber.

Date PurchasedJan 2017

Julie

JuliePARKDALE

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great Home Cooking the easy less mess way.

published

I bought my portable grill because after moving from a house to a unit I found my big barbeque to big.
So this little one is perfect I had it put on wheels and the webber type top I can do great roasts for the family.
Then I can push it into the garage because it is on wheels and preserve it from the weather.

Date PurchasedSep 2017

Thermometer does not work

published

Have had the thermometer replaced 5 times. Just received another thermometer & is the same. After 15 mins will only reach 140 degrees C Should be up to 220 C One replacement was on a new BBQ but still no good. One was sent from Head Office. Told that all had been tested. Wish I had gone for Webber. So frustrating. BBQ works well
Very disappointed.

Date PurchasedOct 2017
akg

akg

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Zeigler & Brown the portable BBQ Advantage

published

I bought this bbq few weeks and have used this multiple times over this summer. This is a really portable bbq which is easy to carry anywhere (especially in its specially designed bag), it is easy to set-up, gets cool quickly and easy to clean. One can set it up on any small fixed and sturdy table.

Date PurchasedDec 2017

Jason N

Jason NSt clair

  • 5 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Great BBQ does the job

published

Have had this BBQ over the christmas, New year and Aus day celebrations. Performed as expected. The design could have been optimised a little as the oil drip tray can hit the lid (on full open) if not screwed on all the way which reduces the amount of air intake. Steam can also find its way into the thermometer housing if you are not careful.

Worth it for the month but you get what you pay for.

Date PurchasedDec 2017

John

John

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Not a bad little BBQ

published

I was tossing up between the Weber Baby Q and this Ziegler. I went for the Ziegler in the end and have been happy with it. The heat distribution is not as even as the salesman pitched it, but I guess that may be the same with other BBQ's as well.

Date PurchasedMay 2017

Jacob

JacobAdelaide

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Excellent value BBQ for small family or couple

published

Bought this BBQ a couple of months ago during a Barbeques Galore 25% off sale. It has been used extensively over the summer and the cooking performance has been excellent. Fairly economical on gas too. Steak, chicken, burgers, sausages etc all cook very well. The build quality of the frame seems to be good too. Would recommend.

Date PurchasedOct 2017

Pcam

Pcam

  • 4 reviews

Great for camping.

published

Great portable bbq . Brought with stand, carry bag and flat plate all very handy. Easy to use, set up transport and store. Cooked pizza with pizza stone while camping got really hot and base turned out great, nice and brown and crispy. Very happy with our purchase would recommend.

Date PurchasedDec 2017

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Rexhed

Rexhedasked

I have one of these in the box and want to know whether i should open it or take it back to the store

No answers

Joe R

Joe Rasked

We've just bought a Ziggy portable BBQ & am having a problem in that the bottom of what we're cooking is cooking too fast (turning to charcoal) but the rest of the meal is almost rare. Any suggestions?

1 answer
James
James

This happens when cooking butterfly chickens, etc. It's practically impossible because the heat adjustment on the Ziggy hardly works, it's either hot or hot. I used to turn the gas bottle down a bit which is very difficult and I don't think you're technically supposed to do that. A great product concept but lacks enough testing to make it a great product.


Khim Tan

Khim Tanasked

Experiencing difficulty in cleaning, and keeping clean, the internal surfaces of the Ziegler and Brown portable grill. Grease accumulation on the walls of the fire box, control panel shield, and the grease cup shield is difficult to remove. Seeking recommendations

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Ziegler & Brown representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.