??!
4 photos
Zodiac Baracuda T5 Duo

Zodiac Baracuda T5 Duo

1.6 from 52 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

1.6

52 reviews
5
(2)
4
(3)
3
(3)
2
(7)
1
(37)
  • Build Quality
    1.0 (3)
  • Value for Money
    1.7 (3)
  • Ease of Use
    3.0 (3)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.3 (3)
  • Pool Size
  • Noise Level
    3.3 (3)
Previous
Next

Zodiac T5 Pool Cleaner

published

My 20x40 inground pool was built in 1995. We had Kreepy Krawly for the first 24 years . Very little trouble, replaced pad once and pivot bolt once, and some hose sections. Pretty reliable over 24 years. Last year our local pool supplier talked us into a Zodiac T5 with one of the selling features being no moving parts to wear out like a Kreepy. Big mistake, it's broken down more in 14 months than the old one did in 24 years. The diaphram is gone again . What a poor design to think that a plastic piece could flex that often and not split. At the cost of the diaphrams I'm sure that when we open the pool next spring I'll go back to a Kreepy.

Purchased in June 2019 at Pioneer Pools for A$399.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Pool Size Large
Functionality
Small Debris Cleaning
Large Debris Cleaning
Wall and Step Cleaning
See all answers
gri2a

gri2aSydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 6 likes

Nothing but problems

published

I bought my t5 about 2 years ago after my previous baracuda gave up after about10 year (I used to get 1 to 2 years out of a diaphragm)
In the last 2 years Ive replaced the diaphragm 5.. yes 5 time. Each time the diaphragm has torn. Ive complained to my local pool guy whose comment was "if youre getting 6 months then youre doing better than most other t5 owners... t5 diaphragm are amongsy my biggest selling items"!!??
Now I notice that the skirts are beginning to tear...
Baracuda has gone downhill very quickly. Can anyone recommend another brand??

Purchased in March 2018 for A$399.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Pool Size Average
Functionality
Small Debris Cleaning
Large Debris Cleaning
Wall and Step Cleaning
See all answers
dee008

dee008South East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Rubbish

published

Purchased in July 2018 at Poolspot Camp Hill for A$399.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Pool Size Average
Functionality
Small Debris Cleaning
Large Debris Cleaning
Wall and Step Cleaning
See all answers
7 comments
Zodiac
Fluidra AustraliaZodiac

Hi there, sorry to hear about your T5 troubles! Please paste this review into an email and send it to productsupport.au@fluidra.com. I'll be in touch to allocate your case and we'll see how we can help!

dee008
dee008

is it really worth it ? I need a suction cleaner now, really cannot wait . Happy for you to swap the Zodiac T5 Duo with the G3 Barracuda

dee008
dee008

Will it last ?

Suction Pool Cleaners

Find out how Zodiac Baracuda T5 Duo compares to other Suction Pool Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Waste of Time and Money

published

The instruction manual is a joke both supplied and online. I had to watch YouTube video and the thing still isn't working properly after hours of tinkering. My relatively new Zodiac pump has to be on maximum all the time to get it to move and then it gets stuck in every corner. The amount of time I've spent on it is more than manually cleaning the pool. It does one sweep then slows down considerable, it has stopped climbing walls and I'm sure its not good for my pump.

Date PurchasedNov 2018
1 comment
Zodiac
Customer C.Zodiac

Hi Paul. May I ask if you have called our Customer Care team? We would be able to help you if you need assistance. Our number is 1300 763 021, Thanks.

Bakka

BakkaFar North Queensland, QLD

  • 6 reviews
  • 14 likes

Below Standard Product backed up by Poor Customer Service

published
Date PurchasedAug 2016
7 comments
Zodiac
Customer C.Zodiac

Hi Brian, Sorry to hear that you have had these issues. I can understand how frustrating this would have been. May I ask that you DM your email address or Inbox our Facebook page. I would like to look into this further for you, Thanks.

Bakka
Bakka

supply specific email and happy to ....

Zodiac
Customer C.Zodiac

Please email = apac.aftersales@zodiac.com - please make mention of Product review when you email so it will be forwarded to me, Thanks.

Mike

Mike

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

Communications Don't match action

published

Bought a new cleaning system (Zodiac T5 Duo - Baracuda / Barracuda Pool Cleaner) through a Zodiac supplier in Feb 2018. After a few months a part failed. I bought the replacement part at a dealership so the system would work expecting the replacement on warranty to act as a spare. Multiple attempts at communication (with a promise that the replacement part is on the way - but NOTHING!. Verrrrrrry pooooor service. Can't recommend them to anyone.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
2 comments
Zodiac
Customer C.Zodiac
Mike
Mike

Thank you for the follow up service. Diaphragms and more received. Appreciate this is now resolved.

Knolp

KnolpGlen Alpine

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Great response from Zodiac. I hope an early broken part is not a sign of things to come.

published

Purchased 6 months ago. Has been working well, cleaning a 60,000L pebblecrete pool with nearby gum trees dropping leaves. when checking the diaphragm we found the screw area on the casing had cracked and broken. Whilst this shouldn't happen just from normal use, Zodiacs response was great. We emailed photo's and asked for warranty action direct to Zodiac. We received a replacement part within a week, no fuss no questions.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
1 comment
Zodiac
Customer C.Zodiac

Thank you for your review, Happy Swimming!

hails

hailsOurimbah

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Does not live up to how its advertised at all

published
Date PurchasedMay 2018
3 comments
Zodiac
Customer C.Zodiac
hails
hails
Zodiac
Customer C.Zodiac

Hi Hails. Can you please send your details through a DM on Product Review or Inbox through our facebook page, Thanks.

  • Verified purchase

Disappointed - to many part replacements

published

I had a few different models and never had as many parts break as this one has. I basically have replaced almost everything on the body, and now I have to pay another $100+ for the body assembly & bumper! Being in Florida this is used all year round and it just doesn't live up to the standards needed.

Date PurchasedMay 2014
1 comment
Zodiac
Customer C.Zodiac

Hi LoriV, Unfortunately, you have reached the Australian Version of Product Review. If you are able to place on the correct region, The team from the US can help you, thanks.

Suction Pool Cleaners

Find out how Zodiac Baracuda T5 Duo compares to other Suction Pool Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
  • Verified purchase

Disappointed with T5

published

I agree, I've had G2 with the occasional part replacements, lasted for years, but the T5 is the worst designed pool cleaner it deteriorates fast, cheap and nasty design, parts are are made of really cheap plastic and rubber and are designed to break easily in order to force premature replacement. I say to every one out there DONT BUY ONE! There are better quality ones out there and at a better price. If Zodiac really cared they would offer some sort of compensation in the way of being able to take the T5 back to retailer and paying a half the changeover price for a better designed model of the barracuda. How can Zodiac withstand such negativity and not doing anything about it to please consumers is beyond belief.

Date PurchasedNov 2015
flipper

flipperSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Piece of dung.

published

Worked well until warranty period nearly up. Went to the supplier & he replaced several parts but said the diaphragm (which was torn) was due to wear & tear. This was the 3rd diaphragm I have replaced. Saw cleaner not working again today & sure enough diaphragm
Torn again. Had the model before this one for about six years & only replaced one diaphragm. Other parts of this terrible piece of equipment nearly worn out again.
Would advise everyone to steer well clear of this bloody terrible piece of equipment as it will cost you dearly in the long haul (or not so long haul) will never purchase another piece of zodiac equipment everrrrrr.

Date PurchasedFeb 2016
1 comment
Zodiac
Customer C.Zodiac

Hi Flipper, Sorry to hear about your issues. May I ask if we can contact you to discuss? Thanks.

ChristopherJ

ChristopherJCronulla

  • Verified purchase

Poor design, low quality materials and poor support

published

Whilst the T5 is very good with leaves and does a reasonable job of covering the pool, it took a very long time of tweaking it to run properly and not continually get stuck on the steps.
The skirt fell apart whilst under warranty but Zodiac claimed it was pool chemistry causing it. Yeah right! Had to pull strings to get a replacement.
The cleaner has broken AGAIN and when I tried to get parts where I bought it, they said they stopped selling them years ago due poor quality. After several diaphragms and 2 skirts it's now held together with superglue and hot glue. Mind you, I have managed to keep it going for 5 years.
NOT recommended

Date PurchasedOct 2012
1 comment
Zodiac
Customer C.Zodiac

Hi, Thank you for your review. Sorry to hear that your experience with the T5 Duo has not been a good one. If you would like to discuss this further, please let us know. Thanks!

Nige

NigeBrisbane

  • Verified purchase

So so disappointed.

published

The pool cleaner sticks in the corners and on the steps and have moved the weight and the deflector wheel so many times its a joke. Now after 3 months to the day, the diaphragm has spit. Given that the zodiac is fairly basic (no moving parts and made of plastic) and you pay for the design/patent, it is so poor that the materials fail when you have spent over $400. What does it cost to produce? $20?

Date PurchasedSep 2017
1 comment
Zodiac
Customer C.Zodiac
Magnus

MagnusAdelaide

  • 14 reviews
  • 25 likes

Crap don't buy !

published

What ever you do don't buy a Zodiac barracuda T5 Duo as they are crap. Worst pool cleaner I have ever had.
All mine does is going into the corner and stay there. Called Zodiac numerous times to no avail - consumer service is very poor. The instructions that comes in the box is also very poor with hardly no instruction.

Date PurchasedSep 2017
3 comments
Zodiac
Customer C.Zodiac

Hi Magnus. Sorry to hear that you haven't been able to get help with your Cleaner. We would certainly like the opportunity to get this up and running. Could you please contact us, either via DM or 1300 763 021 and mention we asked to call. Thanks!

Magnus
Magnus

Technician coming this week after spending too much time on the phone. You still haven't answered my email........

Zodiac
Customer C.Zodiac

Hi Magnus. Can you please confirm if you are referring to a Zodiac Tech going to your property? Without your full name and location, I cant search our system to check so thank you in advance.

Russell

RussellMelbourne

A good brand ruined by one lousy model!

published
Date PurchasedOct 2015
1 comment
Zodiac
Customer C.Zodiac

Hi Russell, Sorry to hear that you are unhappy with your T5. Your Unit is still within the Warranty Period. Please confirm if you would like to discuss this further and we will try and help you get this Cleaner up and running, Thanks.

Suction Pool Cleaners

Find out how Zodiac Baracuda T5 Duo compares to other Suction Pool Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

poor construction

published

Always had Barracuda cleaners the last G2 was a great cleaner when it finally failed in March 2015 I replaced with T5 Duo within 6 months main body broke apart had to cable tie together now has failed completely and will not run. Pretty average construction, when it does work travels pretty well pity about the construction.

Date PurchasedMar 2015
1 comment
Zodiac
Customer C.Zodiac
bel

bel

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

cheaply made and fell apart within a few months

published

I have had trouble with this cleaner almost immediately after a few weeks. Its always getting stuck and stopping on our lights and even gets stuck on main drain. I've never experienced this with any other pool cleaner.Things started falling off and breaking. Had to replace numerous parts in a short few months. Would never use one again and cant afford to replace it at moment so its very frustrating.

Date PurchasedOct 2015
1 comment
Zodiac
Customer C.Zodiac

Hi Bel. Sorry to hear you are having some problems with your T5. The Unit has a 2 year warranty. If you would like to discuss warranty and do some possible troubleshooting, please call us on 1300 763 021 and we will be happy to help. Thanks!

Jack

JackBrisbane

  • Verified purchase

3 years and still going strong

published
Date PurchasedAug 2013
1 comment
Zodiac
Customer C.Zodiac

Hi Jack! Thank you for your review. Its great o hear that your T5 Duo is still going strong. Happy Swimming!!

Inferior build quality to previous Baracuda

published

My previous Zunit lasted a long time with a few replacement parts.
The head of the unit has completely fallen apart after only two years.
Promoted as never getting stuck in corners. But is always getting stuck on the steps of my pool.
I will look to other brands rather that buy another zodiac.

Date PurchasedSep 2014
1 comment
Zodiac
Customer C.Zodiac

Hi Ian, sorry to hear of your problems with the T5 Duo. If you would like to give our Customer Service a call, we may be able to help you out. If you would like to, our number is 1300 763 021, Thanks.

Zodiac wins again with T5 Duo!

published
1 comment
Zodiac
Customer C.Zodiac
Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Marc

Marcasked

Can i use the t5 without cleaning Walls? I just want to clean the floor.

1 answer
Bakka
Bakka

Yes you can but it will require some fine tuning . You may have to fiddle with the Position of the weight ring first then try adjusting the Zodiac 3 position pressure flow lever where your system attaches to the skimmer . If you have a skimmer plate with a adjustable flow rate valve you can try to alter the flow pressure that way as well. End of day it is not an exact one solution fits all so best of luck .

Jack

Jackasked

Just bought my t5 working well on the walls, floor but not picking up leaves.. Got it on the lowest suction. 1. Any ideas?

3 answers
Bakka
Bakka

They are only designed to suck up smallish leaves. The rubber diaphragm is not very large or robust so you may try a more efficient plastic diaphragm ( talk to your local pool shop who should have one) Only proplem is this May void your warranty if still under 2 yrs old.
Also just make sure that the cleaner head sits flush to the pool surface all the time ( you can easily check this by observing it in the pool when not operating ( may also have to adjust the position of the “weight ring” or even fit a second one.
That’s about all I can offer. Good luck.

Jack
Jack

Thanks for that, it's cleaning beautifully ,just not the gum leaves, guess I'll just have to hook them out myself. I can switch over to the manual vac every one in awhile..

Mike
Mike

This autumn has been an incredible pain. My T5 duo would only work for sometimes as little as 10 minutes before stopping. Even the small leaves would get stuck. Thank goodness autumn is over. Already dreading next year. Ill check out the plastic diaphragm mentioned above.

brisdude

brisdudeasked

I have been looking at many Zodiac pool cleaners to purchase but can't believe all the bad reviews I am so glad I looked on this site first before I made a purchase they all seem to be rubbish. Or does anyone recommend one?

1 answer
Zodiac
Customer C.Zodiac

HI Brisdude, Thank you for reaching out. There are alot of different Cleaners available at Zodiac and it depends on which pool you have. We have local Dealers that can help or a dedicated Team that can help you over the phone. Zodiac is a global company and sells quality products. The reviews on here reflect a very small percentage of the cleaners that we sell worldwide. Many of the posts on here have had the issues resolved once we have spoken to them. Our number is 1300 763 021 if you would like to speak to one of our team. Thanks.

Get an answer from our members and Zodiac representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.