??!
2 photos
Zodiac G2

Zodiac G2

3.1 from 84 reviews · View Details

Reviews

3.1

84 reviews
5
(24)
4
(14)
3
(9)
2
(17)
1
(20)
  • Build Quality
    2.9 (14)
  • Value for Money
    2.6 (15)
  • Ease of Use
    3.3 (14)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.4 (13)
  • Pool Size
  • Noise Level
    3.7 (15)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More

Does a great job, can’t live without our Bazza

published

Purchased in September 2015 at Best Pool Supplies for A$384.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Pool Size Large
Functionality
Small Debris Cleaning
See all answers
Keith

Keith

  • 2 reviews

Buyer beware

published

Dont waste your money. Piece of junk. Had someone come out because all it does is do edges. Took off some off the parts. Replaced woth old parts. Still no better

Purchased in April 2020 for A$450.00.

Pool Size Large

Avoid, expensive to own

published

Had this cleaner for 4 years to replace another barracuda cleaner. The suction bladder lasts about 2 weeks before it needs replacement. They all split in exactly the same place which makes it a design/manufacturing issue. Zodiac have stopped providing free replacement bladders so buyer beware. This is getting into consumer affairs territory. Had barracuda units for 26 years. Never again.

Purchased in September 2015.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Pool Size Average
Functionality
Wall and Step Cleaning
See all answers
Suction Pool Cleaners

Find out how Zodiac G2 compares to other Suction Pool Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Damian

DamianGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Dodgy diaphragms

published

I also have an issue with the diaphragm. It somehow gets a tiny split in the same spot rendering it useless.
I've been through around 6 in a couple of years. At around $20 at least each this adds quite a bit to the maintenance. Apart from this small but important issue I have been happy with the cleaner having had 2 models over more than 10 years.

Purchased in July 2015 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$400.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Pool Size Average
Functionality
Small Debris Cleaning
Large Debris Cleaning
Wall and Step Cleaning
See all answers
Phill C.

Phill C.Richmond-Tweed, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Not the best Cleaner

published

We had an older model Zodiac of this type and it worked perfectly for over ten years, when time came to replace it we bought the new model. What a waste of time, we have the same issue as others, it gets stuck by the pool steps, it continually wraps itself into a knot and the suction bladder gets splits in it continually. Don't they know, when you're on a good thing stick to it.

Purchased for A$350.00.

Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Pool Size Average
Functionality
Small Debris Cleaning
Large Debris Cleaning
Wall and Step Cleaning
See all answers
1 comment
Zodiac
Fluidra AustraliaZodiac
Shane

ShaneSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Wont pickup leaves, cleans the floor well.

published

We live in the leafy suburb with big gums and other leaf material. We were sold this one due to it being able to pick up leaves. GREAT no more leaf pickup........However untrue. It picks up zero leaves but does a great job cleaning floors. Will need to take back and get a suitable cleaner to pickup leaf material.

Purchased in September 2019 for A$399.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Pool Size Average
Functionality
Small Debris Cleaning
Large Debris Cleaning
Wall and Step Cleaning
See all answers
1 comment
Zodiac
Customer C.Zodiac

Hi Shane, Sorry to hear of these issues. The G2 picks up most leaves and small debris. Ideal for sand and silt. Not suitable for large debris like twigs, gum nuts, eucalyptus leaves.

Adds L.

Adds L.South East Queensland, QLD

great product

published

Where can i buy a New G2 barracuda on goldcoast best ever pool cleaner lasted 8 years with a few parts added over that time. would like to get another

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Pool Size Large
Functionality
Small Debris Cleaning
Large Debris Cleaning
Wall and Step Cleaning
See all answers
Lawrie

LawrieSouth East Queensland, QLD

The product has some serious problems

published

This product does a reasonable job cleaning the floor of the pool but no matter what adjustments are made to the pressure it keeps in seeking a corner and getting stick. I have rung the pool shop where I have purchased this thing twice and visited there twice and it is all to no avail. The problems continue
I would add a receipt but I am not that smart with computers. I only purchased this thing yesterday (18 July 2019)

Purchased in July 2019 at Pool Xpress Caloundra for A$490.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Noise Level
Value for Money
Pool Size Average
Functionality
Small Debris Cleaning
Wall and Step Cleaning
See all answers
4 comments
Lawrie
Lawrie

I have used Zodiac pool cleaning products for many years without too many problems. I am afraid that this G2 is something very different. Very disappointed indeed

Lawrie
Lawrie
Zodiac
Customer C.Zodiac
Dissapointed

DissapointedSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

works ok but not happy with the diaphragm

published

Hi, i am happy with the general workings of this unit, it is my second but will not be buying again. The diaphragm keeps splitting, are so expensive to replace. Pool shop understand as they see it all the time, but don't seem to get much support from customer care. I will be searching reviews before i buy my next one. Splits in the same spot every time, and i have had the 5th one just do it again. There is a design fault here i suspect.

Purchased in March 2019 for A$399.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Pool Size Average
Functionality
Small Debris Cleaning
Large Debris Cleaning
Wall and Step Cleaning
See all answers
4 comments
Zodiac
Customer C.Zodiac
Dissapointed
Dissapointed

Ok sounds good.

Zodiac
Customer C.Zodiac

Hi, Are you able to send your details to our Facebook inbox or let me know via DM what the best email is for you, Thanks.

Suction Pool Cleaners

Find out how Zodiac G2 compares to other Suction Pool Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Gwendoline Johnson

Gwendoline JohnsonSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

It's great.

published

This is the third one in ten years, works well, this time we have a leaf catcher, so we'll see how that works, this winter with all the leaves from the neighbours trees.

Purchased in April 2019.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Pool Size Average
See all answers
Doris

DorisSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Worst pool cleaner ever!

published

I would give it a zero rating but the site doesn't accept anything less than one star! I spend more time repositioning the cleaner away from the steps and shallow end of the pool than the cleaner spends performing its cleaning function! If I don't reposition it, the head will stay in the same place on the steps for the whole cycle. I also have to clean out the suction end at least twice every time it is operating (which is 3-4 times a day) as all the leaves get caught in the back of the collar and block off the suction mouth. A huge waste of money. I would recommend that you only purchase this if leaf litter is not a problem ie you have NO leaf litter getting into your pool.

Purchased in December 2018.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Noise Level
Value for Money
Pool Size Average
Functionality
Small Debris Cleaning
Large Debris Cleaning
Wall and Step Cleaning
See all answers

G2 Works well for us

published

G2 vacuums all leaves, sand and similar debris. It provides good coverage of all pool surfaces except steps. Occasionally it gets stuck in a corner so it would be helpful to have online advice on how to sort this.
If it gets in the way when we have a swim we just detach it at the vacuum port and put it to one side.
This is our second G2 in 10 years. So we feel we have got value for money. Overall G2 provides a thorough clean of our pool and the unit is easy to maintain.

Purchased in April 2019 for A$1,085.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Functionality
Large Debris Cleaning
Wall and Step Cleaning
See all answers
Kerry

KerryPerth, WA

Worst pool cleaner ever

published

I have had one for 2 years this is the 3rd
It constantly unscrews itself
I have replaced every part except the skirt
I will never buy another Barracuda product to clean my pool

Purchased in October 2017 for A$425.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Pool Size Average
Functionality
Small Debris Cleaning
Wall and Step Cleaning
See all answers
1 comment
Zodiac
Customer C.Zodiac

Hi Kerry, Sorry to hear of these issues. May I ask if you have spoken to our Customer Care team or you would like us to contact you. Thanks.

Dee4802

Dee4802Qld, 4802

  • 7 reviews
  • 8 likes
  • Verified purchase

Constantly getting stuck! Easier to vacuum the pool myself

published

I've had the Zodiac G2 for about a month and from day one it's been getting getting stuck in the corners of my (fibreglass) pool. It only cleans the deep end of the pool - even when I reposition to the shallow end, it moves away and doesn't move to that end by itself. It also doesn't clean the pool walls, only the floor, so I need to clean the sides with a brush.
For me, it's been a complete waste of money as I spend as much time repositioning it as I would manually vacuuming the pool myself.

Purchased in February 2019 for A$350.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Pool Size Average
Functionality
Small Debris Cleaning
Large Debris Cleaning
Wall and Step Cleaning
See all answers
3 comments
Zodiac
Customer C.Zodiac

Hi Dee,

We are sorry you are having this issue. Can you please message us your details or via a message here or on our Facebook page and we will assist you with this.

Dee4802
Dee4802
Zodiac
Customer C.Zodiac

Hi Dee. Your product is under warranty, we can help you if you are able to provide contact details?

Steve

SteveFar North Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Zodiac rubber diaphragm keeps braking

published

2 years old and replaced at least 10 diaphragms in that period , local dealer told us it always happens , design fault and they are not doing anything to rectify it ...great way to ruin your name Zodiac...never will recommend them nor buy one again. Poorly designed , where is your quality control? I'm reading so many complaints about the rubber diaphragm but nothing from you to rectify it?

Purchased in April 2017 for A$400.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Pool Size Large
Functionality
Small Debris Cleaning
Large Debris Cleaning
Wall and Step Cleaning
See all answers
Suction Pool Cleaners

Find out how Zodiac G2 compares to other Suction Pool Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Peter Lyons

Peter LyonsNoosaville QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

Happy Chappy

published

This is the second G2 I have purchased and I am very happy with it. I must admit I needed technical advice as to why I was going through so many diaphragms. Problem was solved as I just needed to replace the suction plate in the skimmer box. No problems since. The new one works well although it word not put up leaves. Ran for a week of so and it improved.

I would buy another again.

Date PurchasedNov 2018
1 comment
Zodiac
Customer C.Zodiac

Thank you so much for your review! Happy Swimming.

Zaz

ZazSydney

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Very disappointing!

published
Date PurchasedJan 2015
1 comment
Zodiac
Customer C.Zodiac

Review collected in partnership with Zodiac

Ash

AshBrisbane

Parts costs

published

I have lost count of the number of diaphragms I've replaced.

Worse, I have had to replace the yellow cylindrical bit of plastic twice @ $175 each. For a bit of 50c plastic!!

No more, getting a different brand from here on.

Date PurchasedJan 2015
6 comments
Ash
Ash

Sorry not yellow, it's blue.

Zodiac
Customer C.Zodiac

Hi Ash, Thank you for your Feedback and apologies for the frustration that this matter has caused you. May I ask that you send a DM with your contact details (including email) or Inbox them on Facebook, Thanks.

Ash
Ash
Willyeckerslike

WillyeckerslikePerth, WA

  • 12 reviews
  • 4 likes

Drove me mad! Good customer care on here fixed it!

published

Below is my reciew. We got spare parts from Zodiac and it has worked perfect since. I would recommend this product asistakes happen in manufacturing. Zodiacs customer care was great.

I work away a fair bit and bought this as a friend recommended it thinking it would be ok to leave with the family to use. It was great but after 6 months it hardly works. I have to pick it up by the nearest hose and shake it. Then it works for a bit but stops again, tried all the suggestions on YouTube but alas it doesn't work any better.

Purchased in September 2017.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Pool Size Small
Functionality
Small Debris Cleaning
Large Debris Cleaning
Wall and Step Cleaning
See all answers
4 comments
Zodiac
Customer C.Zodiac
Willyeckerslike
Willyeckerslike

Hi, thanks for the response! Yes I am in Perth.

Zodiac
Customer C.Zodiac

Great! May I ask if you can inbox your details via our Facebook Page of DM on Product Review? We can get the ball rolling and your cleaner up and running!!

Dus

DusAuckland

Useless

published

I spent maybe 6 hours trying different configuration to have it to stop getting stuck. At the end it costed me an extra deflector (for the price the unit could come with the different sizes deflector...). Then you can just forget about it if like me you have a concrete pool with some mosaic coming loose. It looks like Zodiac engineer made the inside diameter of the diaphragm the exact same size of the most common mosaic square. If any are coming loose they get stuck inside and the unit stop working...

Date PurchasedJun 2018
1 comment
Zodiac
Customer C.Zodiac

Hi Dus, This is the Australian version of Product Review, If you are able to place your review on the correct region, they can address these issues for you, Thanks.

Page 1 of 5

Questions & Answers

Ahmed D.

Ahmed D.asked

Can I use the G2 hoses on a G3 pool cleaner

No answers
Nette

Netteasked

I have a Zodiac G2 pool cleaner but the machine head keeps detaching itself & is no longer attached to the hose but is sitting on bottom of pool & hose is making loud suction noise as the head had unwound itself ????

No answers
Gino

Ginoasked

I have a G2 which has been great however its developed a problem where the skirt is curling and not flat - - i've replaced the diaphram and a few hoses with no luck - please help as its driving me MAD

2 answers
Greg
Greg

Gino, the same curled edge occurs on mine.

Damian
Damian

Hi Gino
You may need to replace the skirt. It wears as it rubs along the pool surface thinning out causing it to curl.

Get an answer from our members and Zodiac representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.