2 photos
Zodiac G2

Zodiac G2

3.1 from 70 reviews

Zodiac rubber diaphragm keeps braking

2 years old and replaced at least 10 diaphragms in that period , local dealer told us it always happens , design fault and they are not doing anything to rectify it ...great way to ruin your name Zodiac...never will recommend them nor buy one again. Poorly designed , where is your quality control? I'm reading so many complaints about the rubber diaphragm but nothing from you to rectify it?

Purchased for $400.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Pool Size Large
Small Debris Cleaning
Large Debris Cleaning
Wall and Step Cleaning

Happy Chappy

This is the second G2 I have purchased and I am very happy with it. I must admit I needed technical advice as to why I was going through so many diaphragms. Problem was solved as I just needed to replace the suction plate in the skimmer box. No problems since. The new one works well although it word not put up leaves. Ran for a week of so and it improved.

I would buy another again.

Date PurchasedNov 2018
1 comment
Thank you so much for your review! Happy Swimming.

Very disappointing!

We bought the G2 3.5yrs ago and recently the outer extension pipe snapped in two. I contacted Customer Service as it was such a bizarre thing to snap, being an integral part of the cleaner. I sent photos and asked if, even though it was no longer under the 2 year warranty, if Zodiac could replace it as even the pool shop I went to had said they had never in all their years seen a part like that snap. I waited a few days for a response from Zodiac and just got a stock-standard No, as it was no longer under warranty. I get that, but I would genuinely have thought that the central piece that holds the entire cleaner together would last longer than 3.5yrs! Not to mention we’ve had to replace the diaphragm every 2 months or so, which everyone knows is an issue, but seriously, it’s such a pain! The pool shop we took the cleaner to also suggested a few other parts needed replacing, including the foot skirt. We’ve just spent about half the price we paid for the cleaner to replace parts after only 3.5yrs. Irritating when our previous pool cleaner (a Hayward) lasted over 15 years.

Aside from the parts wearing down, we’ve always had issues with the cleaner getting stuck in certain places. We have a kidney shaped pool with a few steps and have found that it always gets stuck at either the steps or one of the water vents. To reduce the frequency of the cleaner getting stuck we’ve removed some hose links, but then that means the hose is too short for the cleaner to get all the way around the pool. There also tend to be spots that the cleaner continually misses in the centre of the deep end of the pool, so I’ve actually gotten in several times and manually guided the cleaner to those spots. A lot of the time I’ve also noticed that even guiding the cleaner along to vacuum up a patch of leaves at the bottom of the pool, the skirt just rides over them and leaves them there or pushes them out of the way! I’ve tried varying the suction speed and it makes no difference. All in all a really disappointing cleaner with a lot of maintenance involved. Wouldn’t buy a Zodiac again.

Date PurchasedJan 2015
1 comment
Hi Zaz, Sorry to hear of your experience and that you have been disappointed with your Cleaner. We definitely take your feedback onboard. If you would like to speak to someone again regarding this, please let us know. Otherwise, please accept our apologies again. Thanks.

Parts costs

I have lost count of the number of diaphragms I've replaced.

Worse, I have had to replace the yellow cylindrical bit of plastic twice @ $175 each. For a bit of 50c plastic!!

No more, getting a different brand from here on.

Date PurchasedJan 2015
Sorry not yellow, it's blue.Hi Ash, Thank you for your Feedback and apologies for the frustration that this matter has caused you. May I ask that you send a DM with your contact details (including email) or Inbox them on Facebook, Thanks.Thanks for the reply, much appreciated. I have spoken to a local pool shop and they offered to look into a replacement cartridge even though it may be just out of warranty. I haven't heard from them yet. It's a pity, because the crawly does a great job... It's just the parts prices that lets it down. Its the same part that cracks off, at the same place every time.

Driving me mad!

I work away a fair bit and bought this as a friend recommended it thinking it would be ok to leave with the family to use. It was great but after 6 months it hardly works. I have to pick it up by the nearest hose and shake it. Then it works for a bit but stops again, tried all the suggestions on YouTube but alas it doesn't work any better.

Date PurchasedOct 2017
Hi, Sorry to hear that you are having these issues. There could be a number of reasons for the unit not working hopefully and quick fix for this. We would be able to help you, can you please confirm that you are located in Perth as per your profile? Thanks.Hi, thanks for the response! Yes I am in Perth.Great! May I ask if you can inbox your details via our Facebook Page of DM on Product Review? We can get the ball rolling and your cleaner up and running!!


I spent maybe 6 hours trying different configuration to have it to stop getting stuck. At the end it costed me an extra deflector (for the price the unit could come with the different sizes deflector...). Then you can just forget about it if like me you have a concrete pool with some mosaic coming loose. It looks like Zodiac engineer made the inside diameter of the diaphragm the exact same size of the most common mosaic square. If any are coming loose they get stuck inside and the unit stop working...

Date PurchasedJun 2018
1 comment
Hi Dus, This is the Australian version of Product Review, If you are able to place your review on the correct region, they can address these issues for you, Thanks.

Not at all happy

Bought a Zodiac G2 late 2017, for the first 6 weeks or so I couldn't fault it but now it only goes around the bottom of the pool and as soon as it tries to go up the side it sucks itself down in the corner and stays there, it will stay there for days until someone physically moves it. I've tried adjusting eyeballs, moving the weight, lengthening/shortening the hose, increasing/decreasing the flow and backwashing, nothing helps.

Steve G

Date PurchasedSep 2017
Hi Steve, Sorry to hear that you are having these issues. May I ask if you have spoken to our Customer Care team? We would love to be able to try and get your Cleaning up and running for you. Thanks.No I haven'tAre you able to send us your details via Facebook Inbox or Private message on Product Review and we can contact you, Thanks.

Good pool cleaner but let down by poor quality diaphragm

Used Zodiac pool cleaners for many years. My 1 yr old G2 works well but seriously let down by poor quality diaphragms, 3 units which has failed after about 2 months. Genuine replacements overpriced. Generic brands much cheaper and seem to last longer. Zodiac seem to know about the problem but as far as i know have done nothing to rectify it. Thus now looking for alternative.product.

Date PurchasedDec 2016
Hi Trev, Thanks for your review. We here at Zodiac take all Feedback seriously and is reported to our R&D Team. May I ask if you have spoken to or would like to speak to one of our Customer Care team? Thanks.No I haven't spoken to customer care team. Diaphragm fails at same location each time at circular date stamp. Can send phito if required.Hi Trev, Sorry to hear that you are having these issues. If you would like to speak to one of our Customer Care team, please call 1300 763 021 or you can email photos and your contact details to apac.technicalsupport@zodiac.com, Thanks.

Perhaps I'm easily pleased

I read some reviews (mostly bad) on the Zodiac G2. I had one for 13 years & in that time replaced the diaphragm twice, the skirt & foot once. It cleaned the pool perfectly, picking up the many daily gum leaves. I have just replaced it with a T5 duo because it is supposed to be.the replacement for the G2. So far, it is put putting around the pool, up the walls and doing the job just as well as the G2 - but quieter.

Date PurchasedJan 2005
1 comment
Thank you for your review.

A good cleaner when it is going

I have had this product for just over 3 years and when it is working it does a good job.

The issue I am currently having is that the head comes away from the hose, as there is nothing but friction holding it on.

When this happens the pump has a high chance of burning out if it starts pumping air.

So its a problem having this poor attaching system.

It also goes though diaphrams very quickly due to a design flaw of putting a production date stamp on the diaphram, and this is the point that it breaks after about 6 months.

Date PurchasedOct 2015
1 comment
Hi Steve, Sorry to hear that you are having these issues. If you would like to speak to one of our Customer Care team, please call 1300 763 021, Thanks.

Not Happy

Gets stuck in certain corners of the pool and the Wheel deflector get stuck at the pool eyeballs. If no one is home to untangle it it can stay stuck all day. It is also a bit noisy. Not Happy. Not Happy.Not Happy Not Happy Not Happy Not Happy Not Happy

Date PurchasedNov 2017

Not happy

Not all that great when it goes it cleans well it’s noisy not good value Not happy Not happy Not happy Not happy Not happy Not happy Not happy Not happy Not happy Not happy Not happy Not happy Not happy Not happy Not happy Not happy Not happy Not happy

Date PurchasedNov 2017
1 comment
Hi Dicko, Sorry to hear your not happy, Are you able to provide some details and we might be able to help? Thanks.

g2 4 stars

Fantastic design and technology. the name genie should be reinstated as it is the greatest robot slave. can at times get stuck on light but that is not its fault its the protruding light design fault my waterco.my only beef is the large defector wheel should be included and a spare diaphram too for 2 year warranty. even if the diaphragm does not split max life of the genuine is 6-7 months.. so it slows down and the comp. ring too replace every 3 years. even though not broken its worn replace.
love the new hoses design and pins twist.but come up with a better attachment at the skimmer box and offer a plate with a skim and a pressure adj., as every ones is a little different so pump pressures adjustments is not that easy . mine is deep box old so had too cut off end of hose own method pool .32ft cement rubber paint 6.6 t deep end. Oh and the diaphragm complaints will all be non genuine plastic type. they are useless. non gen rubber/plastic like the aussie golds a good but only a 5 dollar save. now the original logo genie and stamp should go on the skirt. the barracuda logo should be a sticker on bumper as before. The model g2 is a code not a name. people who state 10 years must not have them running 6hrs/day.at that they last 5 years. this is my 5th.waiting for my free part diaphragm under warranty.ph0295252272
fix these little errors its 5 stars and kreepy is out of the market all together and hammerhead etc.oh... and please do not discontinue genie for t5. pool and spa warehouse

Date PurchasedNov 2017
1 comment
Hi Paul, Thanks for stopping by and leaving this review. Happy Swimming!

Good Pool Cleaner let down by terrible diaphram

The G2 works well generally but the diaphragm simply isn't up to the job, it consistently fails (splits) in the same place every time in less than 12 months and the concept of, "take it back to where you bought it with your receipt and they will replace it" is unacceptable.

1/ I didn't buy it to have to return parts every 12 months
2/ I don't keep receipts for every item I buy, completely impractical
3/ the shop agree it's an ongoing concern and they replace a huge number of them
4/ you know it's an issue but have not addressed the poor design

If redesigning the diaphragm isn't possible perhaps include 2 in the box and when people buy a replacement give them a second one free to again match your warranty

Date PurchasedJan 2013
1 comment
Hi Greg, Thanks for your review. We take all Feedback seriously and it is passed on to our design team. We are sorry to hear that you have been informed otherwise. If you have issues and require replacement, please email us on apac.aftersales@zodiac.com. I have passed on your details and apologies that you have faced these problems. Thanks!

Not Happy

The vaguest set of instructions I've ever had for an item I've paid so much money for. I can't get the terrible connections to go together. The previous cleaner I bought at Aldi was 100% better. Very frustrating because I can't put it together. No instructions for the leaf catcher and the connections themselves dont secure tightly. I'm so angry I've wasted my money on this garbage.

Date PurchasedSep 2017
1 comment
Hi Jay, Sorry to hear that your experience has been frustrating. We do have a dedicated team here to help with these type of enquiries. Please PM your details or call us on 1300 763 021. I have passed your feedback on regarding the Manual. The G2 is a very reliable Cleaner so Im sure once we get this sorted for you, you will be happy with its performance, Thanks.

An excellent product.

I have had a Barracuda G2 for the past ten years. It has always been an excellent product. It was time for replacement and I didn't think twice to purchase the product again. My new Barracuda G2 has the new style of hoses with the twist and lock. I think this new feature is very good. I highly recommend this product.

Date PurchasedJun 2017
1 comment
Hi Lou, Thank you for the 5 star review. We are so glad to hear that the G2 has been such a reliable Cleaner over the past 10 years. Happy Swimming!

Great Customer Service

This is my second purchase of a Zodiac G2, the first one was bought about 10 years and it was ready for replacement. I had a couple of issues with the new purchase but after some dialogue with the customer service team they posted me out replacement parts. This is great customer service.

The G2 is a good, solid cleaner. It has a simple design and little maintenance is required. Over time you will need to replace the diaphragm (most often), the skirt and foot along with hoses. My only criticism (hence 4 stars) it that it has a habit of getting stuck around the stairs (kidney shaped pool) despite the fact that I have mounted a large deflector wheel. I have found that moving around the hose weight(s) assists for a while but then it reverts back to type and starts to get stuck again!!

Date PurchasedDec 2016
1 comment
Hi Steve, Thanks for the review. If you need anything to help get the Cleaner working at 100% please email us or give us a call. We are happy to help, Thanks!

Its ok for for my peblecrete pool

Since bought it about 6 years ago, iv had to replace 1 foot, 2 skirts, 3 diaphragms and 15 hose sections (UV makes the brittle) .
Little trick, I've recently discovered,in regards to diaphragm splits, is to it patch up with electrical tape (clean and dry firstly). Got out buying another diaphragm.

Date PurchasedApr 2011
1 comment
Hi Maverick, thanks for dropping by to leave this feedback.

10 years on and still going.

Bought this unit just over 10 years ago and although it's been through 10 or so diaphragms (non genuine 15 bucks each), 1 skirt and foot (40 bucks on eBay) and a new hose perished from sun exposure (70 bucks on eBay), it still cleans our massive pool (70 thousand litres). It's looking a bit worse for wear now but I think we'll still get another year or two out of it. I'm happy with that.

Date PurchasedAug 2006
1 comment
Hi Big Al, Thanks for the 5 star review. Happy Swimming!

G2 leaves in diaphragm

My Zodiac G2 keeps getting leaves stuck in the diaphragm causing the G2 to stop. I have changed the diaphragm and cleaned the filter and have plenty of suction. I have had various previous Zodiac products and the reviews of the G2 were excellent, so I am really disappointed. Any ideas?

Date PurchasedFeb 2016
Hi, Can you please confirm what type of leaves you are having the issue with? Thanks.We have Lilly pilly shrubs beside the pool for privacySorted the problem. Skimmer plate was loose and after fixing that the suction is fine and G2 working well.

Page 1 of 4

Questions & Answers

Which is the better cleaner the G2 or the new T3 cleaner ? and why? Appreciate you answer as I need to buy a new one.
2 answers
Hi Pamela when I needed a new cleaner I looked at both and decided on the G2. Why, as to me it was a proven product. The T 3 is newer cheaper and has less moving parts. However, on balance I stayed with the G2 as it has served me well.Thanks Peter, I have since spoken to someone from Zodiac and they told me that the G2 is bigger than the T3. I have decided to stay with the G2 model.

Hi There, Could you please let me know what the difference between the G2 and the G3 is please? Many thanks Lynn
1 answer
Hi Lynn - I have always had a G2 as I found them to be a good product. When I recently replaced my G2 I asked about the G3 and was advised it was cheaper and still did the same task. Also there are fewer internal parts in the G3. I still chose the G2 as its history was for a reliable product.

Hi I got a zodiac g2 & I can hook it up and it goes for a 1 or 2 mtrs & stops. Disconnect from vacuum plate & hook up again and does the same thing. Any idea what could be wrong with it ?
1 answer
You may have something caught in the diaphragm. If that is the case take the zodiac apart or it could be that the diaphragm has a split in it near where it goes on the plastic pipe. If that is the case you will need a new one. If your unit is relatively new the pump pressure maybe to strong for your Zodiac setting. You should have checked this before you inserted the Zodiac. There is a spring tube that allows for the checking of pressure. Also, you may need a flat plate instead of the normal pool plate. This plate allows to to slow or speed up the G2. Finally do you know that you can adjust the valve that the hose is connected too. There are three settings. I did find the customer service team at Zodiac very helpful. I hope I have assisted you


Price (RRP)595
Release dateApr 2007

Visit official website - Download manual
  • GTIN14: 00400534006491

Similar listings