??!
2 photos
Zodiac MX6

Zodiac MX6

MPN: NAI-ZO-RO-MX6-WC215
2.9 from 92 reviews

Reviews

(25)
(17)
(8)
(12)
(30)
  • Build Quality
    4.0 (5)
  • Value for Money
    2.8 (6)
  • Ease of Use
    3.6 (5)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    2.8 (6)
  • Pool Size
    • Average (2)
    • Large (1)
    • Small (1)
  • Noise Level
    4.6 (5)


David M.

David M.North Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Great where debris is small

published

Had this awesome beast for 3 yrs. It's in the pool full time. Replaced a bunch of parts, but only after a very respectable time. Will choke on big stuff

Purchased in July 2017.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Pool Size Average
Functionality
Wall and Step Cleaning
See all answers
1 comment
Zodiac
Fluidra AustraliaZodiac

Thank you for your kind words, we welcome all feedback and are always happy to receive a positive product review. Have a great day!


Daniel S.

Daniel S.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • Verified purchase

zodiac mx6

published

i have a fiberglass pool and the zodiac mx6 can clean the floor effortlessly but... put a wall in front of it and the tracks just spin no climbing action at all

i also have a variable sped pump this also creates other issues when the pump os on high the mx6 can move freely around the floor but once it goes to low speed it stops in its tracks .

so tried to deal with zodiac but they are a waste of time

so i have a mx6 for sale 3 months old and i replaced it with a dolphin m500...its a dream

Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
1 comment
Zodiac
Fluidra AustraliaZodiac

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Poor Warranty Service

published

Machine ran well for 18 months then the impellar on my MX6 snapped. I have tried to contact their office on 4 occassins and never hear anything more than recorded information. I've tried using the call back system but this breaks down in the middle of the process. I've tried emailing them but have had no responses. I'm beginning to wonder if they have closed permanenently.

A shame, because the basic product wasn't too bad, but after this expereince I would never use them again.

Purchased at Pool and Spa Warehouse for $529.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Functionality
Small Debris Cleaning
Large Debris Cleaning
Wall and Step Cleaning
See all answers
1 comment
Zodiac
Fluidra AustraliaZodiac
Mike

MikeBrisbane

  • 3 reviews

Works very well. Low noise.

published

I have this product for 3 months and used it for cleaning my in ground small pool. I run it for 4 hours per day to clean the pool. It doesn't make much noise and cleans the pool very well. It cleans the walls but hardly cleans the steps.

Pros and cones:
The price is a bit high.
If you set it up correctly, it doesn't stop at corners.
It comes with a Zodiac leaf catcher. This made my life easier.
It has it's own hoses and locking system. So, you will be limited to buying Zodiac brand hoses and can't use your old hoses.
It might be a little early to talk about if it is durable. But, if you need to replace the parts, they seem expensive.

Purchased in September 2019 at Best Pool Supplies for $515.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Pool Size Small
Functionality
Small Debris Cleaning
Large Debris Cleaning
Wall and Step Cleaning
See all answers

Extremely happy for 18 months!

published

The MX6 is the fourth pool cleaner that I have had during my pebble pool's 30 year life (Not counting me in the early years!). I have found the Zodiac MX6 to be exceptionaly good. We have a full beach pool and it cleans right to the top of the walls. However, after 18 months, I find that very small pebbles are now jamming the mechanism after a very short runtime. I have replaced the bottom sweeper brush rotor with the original rotor, thinking that the brushes could be stirring up any tiny loose pebbles, but the problem remains! I am spending so much time fishing it out, pulling it apart and cleaning it and reassembling it - It is becoming a real pain. I am not sure if a tune-up kit will fix the problem or be a waste of money?

Purchased in February 2018 at Best pool Supplies for $349.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Pool Size Average
Functionality
Small Debris Cleaning
Large Debris Cleaning
Wall and Step Cleaning
See all answers
2 comments
Zodiac
Customer C.Zodiac

Hi John, If you are able to provide your email address via DM, we will get in touch with you regarding replacement parts. The MX6 has a 2 year warranty. Thanks.

John P.
John P.

Email sent today.
Thank you for your prompt response. BTW, this is our second Zodiac appliance.


no good

published

Gets stuck on the smallest pieces of debris
Any leaves or sticks cause this unit to jam and I spend more time managing the unit than it does cleaning
At the moment I clean my pool first and then use this cleaner to pick up the dust

Purchased in January 2016 at Bunnings Warehouse for $499.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Pool Size Large
Functionality
Small Debris Cleaning
Large Debris Cleaning
Wall and Step Cleaning
See all answers

ozcons

ozconsSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 2 reviews

It climbs the pool walls but does not clean them.

published

Ok for bottom cleaning but I have had to use my old aqua buddy to keep the walls clean in My pebblecrete pool.
Also gets caught up in corners. Mx8 with reverse would have been a better buy.
Now I use my old aqua buddy around 70 percent of the time.

Date PurchasedOct 2018

GBurnett

GBurnettFar North Queensland, QLD

Great cleaner

published

It certainly does the job, climbs walls, cleans floors, a very good product so far. I wish I had bought the MX8 now having read other reviews due to its superior cleaning quality. Only downside is I needed to buy 1 extra hose because my pool is 9mtrs so it doesn't quite reach one end of the pool.

Date PurchasedJan 2019
2 comments
Zodiac
Customer C.Zodiac

Hi, Thank you for your 5 star review. Happy Swimming!

GBurnett
GBurnett

Can you tell me if I still need to use the provided Zodiac Flow Control with a Skimtrol MII Speed control plate?

  • Verified purchase

It's perfect for 6 months and then it's totally dead....

published

Got this new online, worked really well for 6 months and very happy with it. Closed for winter and took it out to start cleaning again. It starts working for 1-2 mins and then it just stays there not moving. Brought it up to check for leaves jamming, there were none.
PS: I think this MX6 can't handle large leaves and gets stuck and jammed easily. It's quite costly for it to last only less than 2 years.

Date PurchasedMar 2017
1 comment
Zodiac
Customer C.Zodiac

Hi Dan, Your unit has a 2 year warranty. Please call us on 1300 763 021 if you would like to discuss, Thanks.

oowead2

oowead2Bellingen, New South Wales

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

Flow valve faults stops MX6

published

If your MX6 stops moving it is a good chance it is the flow valve that causes all the problems with these machines that attach to the machine it self , they sent me out a part that does not have the valve in it and it has not missed a beat since, if not when the valve is closed put super glue on the 2 yellow triangle each side to stop the valve opening up when it is attached to the MX6 and it will fix the problem and will move and climb again

Date PurchasedJun 2018
1 comment
Zodiac
Customer C.Zodiac

Hi, Please give us a call on 1300 763 021. We can give the advice you need. Thanks!


  • Verified purchase

Constantly jamming even with minor litter

published

Was excited to discover the promise of a cleaner that wouldn’t leave an uncleaned area, to replace my trusty diaphragm suctioning one. What a disappointment in ensuring all the instructions well read, (something as male new to me!) and be be happy as a clam to see it running well and then stop literally in its tracks...
If your pool has any stringy type leaf material or anything longer than a leaf to pick up DONT BUY ONE!
This type of material wraps around the internal axle and jams.. After 3 clean outs in an hour, back in the box and back to an understanding supplier.

Date PurchasedDec 2018

Tony

TonyCairns FNQ

  • Verified purchase

First pool cleaner that can clean my pebblecrete pool properly.

published

I have a pebblecrete with curves and steps which is a pain in the butt to clean, I hate chasing leaves around the bottom of the pool and scrubbing algae off the walls.

I have tried all sorts of cleaners on a trial base, but just about gave up. I saw the MX6 on youtube working away and thought I would give it a go.
It exceeded my expectations, it climbs walls and even cleans them horizontally!

The fan/propeller on the bottom creates a vortex that cleans off any algae and the suction picks up leaves and grit.

It does exactly as advertised, it just does it so well and quickly. so between running the Zodiac MX6 for 4 hours a week and the normal skimmer box, I have no physical cleaning to do.

Highly recommended.

Date PurchasedOct 2018
1 comment
Zodiac
Customer C.Zodiac

Thank you so much for the 5 star review. Appreciate your Feedback! Happy Swimming.


Endo

EndoMuswellbrook nsw

Useless and waste of money

published

I bought this unit and it sometimes works for up to 5 min before it lays on its back with suction facing forward doing nothing. Can set it back on it’s tracks and it will do it again. Utterly useless though the one or two runs it does before it rolls over does look good.

Date PurchasedJul 2017
1 comment
Zodiac
Customer C.Zodiac

HI Endo, May I ask if you have spoken directly with our Customer Care or if we can offer you some assistance? Thanks.


Daniel

DanielPerth

  • Verified purchase

It used to rock, sadly not anymore

published

When I first got the MX6 I was so so so impressed. My pool was spotless, it climbed the walls, the steps and picked up everything. I couldn’t speak highly enough of this product to anyone that would listen! That was up until 6 months ago. Unfortunately, now it refuses to climb the walls and just sits there spinning its wheels all day long on the spot. For 6 months I have tried everything. I have replaced the tracks which was $100 wasted. I have had 2 different pool companies out to look at it, another $100 wasted. I have taken it to Clarkson Rubber, they couldn’t help. I have stripped it down 3 times to make sure it is totally clean, increased the flow on my regulator.

Date PurchasedDec 2015
3 comments
Zodiac
Customer C.Zodiac

Hi, Sorry to hear that you are having these issues. May I ask if you have spoken to or been seen by our Zodiac team directly? Thanks.

Daniel
Daniel

No I have not, can you let me know who I should contact and how? Thanks

Zodiac
Customer C.Zodiac

Hi Daniel. Please call 1300 763 021, Please mention that you contacted us via Product Review. Sorry for the delay with this response. Thanks.

Waste of Money

published

The cleaner often sat stationary at the bottom of the pool, looking up at me with discontent. It lacked the power to ever drive itself forward let alone pick up any debris from the bottom. Due to it using the skimmer box to power it, if it remained attached not only did it not pick up any leaves the ones that floated on the surface would build up resulting in even more effort to clean the pool with the vacuum. Waste of time and money.

Date PurchasedSep 2016
1 comment
Zodiac
Customer C.Zodiac

Hi Fred. Sorry to hear that your Unit has caused these frustrations, May I ask if you have called us or had a tech visit to try and rectify this? Thanks.

Works when it wants to

published

I've had the MX6 for about a year and a half now and have also experienced it getting clogged a number of times but a small twig or a few leaves. It hasn't been too much of an issue: it clears easily enough and has mostly sucked up the leaves at the bottom. However, over the past 3 weeks I've been experiencing the same problems as others on this forum. It constantly gets stuck on the stairs and rolls onto its back or side. I've adjusted the valve flow, cleaned out the entire system and tried adding/subtracting the hose length. Nothing has improved the situation. I really don't want to spend another $300 on a pool cleaner. Any help, Zodiac?

Date PurchasedMay 2017
1 comment
Zodiac
Customer C.Zodiac

HI Bryan, Thank you for reaching out. May I ask where you are located so we can offer you the best help. Thanks.


Terrible don’t waste your money

published

This is the worst pool cleaner I’ve ever owned in 30 years. It immediately get stuck in any possible corner or step or anywhere in your pool. The customer service people advise me not to leave it in the pool. What good is a pool cleaner you’re not supposed to leave in the pool. When it does get stuck it ruins the rubber bands which are the tracks.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
1 comment
Zodiac
Customer C.Zodiac

Hi Randy, Sorry that you are not happy with the MX6 Cleaner. If you would like to send us your details via DM, we can readdress these issues. Thanks.


Poor quality of hoses. Zodiac MX6

published

My pool is inground vynil liner. I purchased the Zodiac MX6: Excellent pool vacuum ( Rate 10 out of 10). Best than other pool vacuum.
The main problem of Zodiac MX6 are hoses too weaks. I would like to know where to buy another kinds of hoses for Zodiac M6

Date PurchasedAug 2017
1 comment
Zodiac
Customer C.Zodiac

Hi Raul. The MX6 Hoses should not be too weak if they are genuine. May I ask what suction level your Cleaner is on? If there are issues with your Hoses, we would love to help you but we need those details first. Thanks.


It's ok but the pool cleaner or rebellion are better

published

Get scale the pebbles will keep it from moving to much suction will wear out the gears and belt people from zodiac recommendations was point jets down I disagree keep them up to circulate top to get everything into skimmer basket and less will fall on bottom hence cleaner pool and less debris on bottom for cleaner to pick up. Thank you Florida Pool Mgt

Date PurchasedJan 2017
4 comments
Zodiac
Customer C.Zodiac

Hi, May we please ask which region you are located? Thanks.

Florida pool Mgt
Florida pool Mgt

Florida

Zodiac
Customer C.Zodiac

Hi, This is an Australian Product Review, If you would like to remove and place on the correct version, The US team will reach out and help. Thank you in advance,


pominoz

pominozSydney

  • 4 reviews

great little machine

published

excellent machine, reasonable price. Climbs all the walls.
One small problem, but can live with it; it is inclined to jam up on small twigs. Need to check it every day and remove the blockage, but it is quite simple and quick to do. Much better than my previous Heyward machine

Date PurchasedApr 2018
1 comment
Zodiac
Customer C.Zodiac

Hi, Thank you for your review! Happy Swimming!


Page 1 of 5

Questions & Answers

Leon

Leonasked

My MX6 spends a lot of time climbing the walls, reaching above the water surface causing air bubbles.
Is there any adjustment I can make to make it spend more time cleaning the pool floor instead?
Thanks
Leon

No answers

Pieter S.

Pieter S.asked

I got a Zodiac mx6. The house gets twisted and tangled. Why?

No answers

Geoff

Geoffasked

what is the difference between the MX 6 & MX8 , why is the MX8 $100 more expensive

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Zodiac representatives


Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.