Lie to you

1 out of 5, reviewed on Jan 19, 2019

Made a booking for October in Los Angeles and definitely told money would not come out of account til 14 days before check in. 4 hours later the money has been withdrawn from our account 8 months before check in

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Expedia Official

Hi Jason, sorry to hear that your account has been charged for your hotel booking. We can look into this further for you. So your details are private, can you please message your email address, bes... read more »

reward points are a scam!!!

1 out of 5, reviewed on Jan 18, 2019

Spend thousands last year with expedia classed as a "gold member" decided id use my points towards a trip i had coming up, it showed the points were used on check out ($200 worth) thought that was good, checked out and entered my bank details to later find out they charged me the full price and wouldnt refund me what they should have deducted. Called them up and even though the error is clearly on their end they said "too bad try and use them next time you book". Won't ever be booking again thats for sure.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Expedia Official

Hi Renee, very sorry to hear that you are not happy with the services provided by us. We can look into this further for you. So your details are private, can you please message your email address, ... read more »

Verified Customer

Horrible treatment of customers!

1 out of 5, reviewed on Jan 15, 2019

I booked hotel reservations several months in advance. I contacted the hotel on August 19, to cancel 2 nights of our 1 week of reservations. I got an email from the hotel confirming the cancellation. The cancellation policy was 100% refund if outside of 30 days of reservation start date. Our first reservation date was 9/24. They refused to refund me the 2 rooms for the 2 nights. I went to Expedia, had coverage with Expedia, and Expedia refused as well. Instead, they both (the hotel and Expedia) have been pointing the finger at the other saying they have to pay. The end result is that I'm still trying to get my refund from one or the other for the last few months. Expedia should pay me for this as I had insurance coverage and definitely was within the cancellation period defined by the hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Do not use this service doesnt even deserve a star.

1 out of 5, reviewed on Jan 11, 2019

Booked online which payment was taken out of my account, booking was not made so I contacted Expedia in which they took no responsibility for the missing funds and chuffed me off to the bank. Confirmed with bank, provided statement to Expedia and still told me to wait 72 hours for money to ‘bounce back’ no assistance, absolutely hopeless and doesn’t take responsibility for faults. Don't bother.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Worst service I have ever used

1 out of 5, reviewed on Jan 11, 2019

Tried to book a hotel room in September for 2 nights, ended up with 1 night in January. Tried their web site, not working. Tried phoning, wouldn't recognise my itinerary number. Tried every form of contact they provide and got nothing. Lost my money and no room.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Melbourne

  • 1 review
  • 1 comment
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Overcharged and terrible service

1 out of 5, reviewed on Jan 10, 2019

I booked flights via Expedia and would never make this mistake again. After booking and checking my bank I realised I had an additional transaction of $1412 on my account. I called them straight away and was asked to send an email with evidence from my bank and someone would get back to me. No one did so I chased them up the following day to be told not to worry it's just a pending charge and will be released within 5-7 days. I asked why they took this additional authorization without my permission when my flights are paid in full. According to them its standard practice with travel companies! I have heard such nonsense, and I travel a lot. It cannot be standard practice to hold additional funds on someone's card without their permission, when they have already paid for the service in full.
The customer service has been non existent, they really couldn't care that they have left me with no funds, $1400 is a very large amount to be just holding on someone's card. And still no one has advised why it was done or pointed me to the part on my booking that said Expedia will hold x amount on your card after booking. Therefore the charge is unauthorized. Not even an apology. Worst service ever.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Comments
Expedia Official

Hi Steve, we appreciate your time writing to us about your experience. We can imagine the level of frustration you must have felt over this. Clearly, this is far from ideal. Would like you to know ... read more »

Dear Expedia, I have contacted you numerous times and got absolutely no where. I receive the same standard non personalized response that you have given me. I want someone to answer my question an... read more »

Expedia Official

Hi Steve, we are again very sorry for the issues faced by you. Kindly, share the details with us and we will surely help you further. Thanks, Expedia Support Team.

No longer the star it once was

3 out of 5, reviewed on Jan 10, 2019

I am a gold Expedia member after having booked multiple holidays and flights over the past years on Expedia i was a very loyal Expedia client. I cannot say the same is true any more. In the past year and on several occasions I have experienced very disappointing and 'mechanic' service from them. Their prices aren't as competitive as they used to be and their call centers which one day were the best in the industry now is worse than speaking to a robot. There is not empathy, understanding or interest now when it comes to resolving issues or providing any support. This comes from poor management. Expedia I have shifted my business else where.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Expedia Official

Hi Dan, we appreciate your time writing to us about your experience. We can imagine the level of frustration you must have felt over this. Clearly, this is far from ideal. Your feedback is apprecia... read more »

Verified Customer

Use Travelgenio! Here's proof. No 24Hr cooling off period. Flights listed cheaper a few hours later

1 out of 5, reviewed on Jan 08, 2019

Booked a flight at 10pm. At 2am in the morning discovered that Travelgenio had the same flights but only $400 cheaper. Expedia also had similar flights, about $50 cheaper. Called expedia, they wouldn't cancel or change the booking. Even though the airlines have a 24hr cooling off period for cancellation, Expedia wont honour it. Called the helpdesk, they told me to call the airline to confirm 24hr cooling off. I called and the airline confirmed. Called back, Expedia still wont honour.terrible system. Use Travelgenio, was significantly cheaper

Update: 8hrs later and the cheaper flights still exist on kayak and travelgenio. Expedia still have no response. Book with other agents or sites

If they had got back to me as soon as they could we would have been able to refund the flights.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Expedia Official

Hi Tranno, we appreciate your time writing to us your experience. We are sorry to learn about your disappointment due to airline price change and also apologise for the fact that you were not happy... read more »

Poor service, show little interest - book direct through accommodation in future

2 out of 5, reviewed on Jan 06, 2019

I am a first time Expedia user. I booked my motel about 6 months ago and thought I’d paid at the time of booking however received a phone call from the motel regarding payment now. I couldn’t understand the fine print on the Expedia document so called them. The assistant seemed irritated by my question as if it was a dumb question. I explained that I was a first time user. He wouldn’t give me a straight answer about what I’ve paid and what I still have to pay so I will just ask at the motel in person. My advice, is book directly through the accommodation who actually care about your booking and that way they benefit from not paying fees to external organizations like Expedia

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Expedia Official

Hi Dee, that doesn't sound right. We appreciate your time writing to us about your experience. We can imagine the level of frustration you must have felt over this. Clearly, this is far from ideal.... read more »

Wouldnt recommend using this

1 out of 5, reviewed on Jan 05, 2019

If your looking to use this , dont , it generally works out same price booking direct to the hotel , and Expedia offers no cancellation refund options on already paid expenses ... not the way a business should be run ,customers should be entitled to a refund , especially if they are unable to use the service , I have booked a 900 dollar hotel and now plans have changed unfortunately , now unable to stay for the booked period at the hotel and unable to get any of my money back . Disgraceful .

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Expedia Official

Hi Krimpy, sorry to hear that you are not happy with the services provided by us in regards to your hotel booking. We can look into this further for you. So your details are private, can you please... read more »

Money is gone!

2 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 29, 2018

We tried to book a holiday package to Port Douglas from Melbourne. My boyfriend clicked ‘booked’ and it kept coming up with card details aren’t correct. Meanwhile it was still taking out our money with every click. We worked really hard for a short period of time to get this money for the trip and now it’s all gone. We rang them and they said to wait for 30 minutes, we rang again and they said they would sent an email but it’s been like 3 days. This trip was meant to start just after the new year and we have -200 dollars for spending.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Expedia Official

Hi Kat, we're sorry to hear about your experience while booking with us. Kindly send us an email at travel@support.expedia.com.au with the email used while booking and your contact number. You will... read more »

Flawed business model.

1 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 28, 2018

Booking a flight from perth to Bangkok via Kuala has always been easy for myself and my husband. We have flown this route many times on our way to South East Asia. We booked this route recently using Expedia for the first (and last!) Time. To start with, the Expedia booking agent made an incorrect booking, instead of leaving for bangkok at 4.30 pm the next day, we were mistakingly booked for a 6am flight.... KL to Bangkok. After contacting Expedia they changed the flight to the 4.30 pm flight originally requested. So all good we thought. 2 weeks later we discovered, by chance, that we would be unable to go through immigration and leave the airport in KL. Unable to stay overnight at the hotel we had booked and so, therefore, apparently expected to sit in the KL airport for 20 hours until boarding our 430pm flight to Bangkok. When we called Expedia and asked them why this information was not given to us, why were we not told when we booked, that on this flight we would be unable to go through immigration and our luggage would not be released in KL, we were told that this information is not on Expedias website. They dont have that information to give to you when you book such a flight. Really... I would think that is relevant information, whether or not you are able to go through immigration, whether or not your luggage will be released.... the customer should be given and is entitled to. It could be a family with young children left sitting in the airport for 20 or more hours . Get you act together Expedia. Have a business model that is fully aware of what customers need to know when they are booking with your company, as this example suggests, and then make sure such information is passed on. Lucky we happened to stumble across this information by chance and at extra cost to us. Not good enough Expedia!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Expedia Official

Hi Coleco, we appreciate your time writing to us about your experience. We can imagine the level of frustration you must have felt over this. Clearly, this is far from ideal. Would like you to know... read more »

Yes that is correct Expedia automated reply. Your company will eventually fail due to its lack of cohesiveness. Your business model is weak and causing stressful problems for customers who are frus... read more »

Expedia Official

Hi there, we are sorry if you feel this way. Kindly send an email on travel@support.expedia.com.au and you will get an automated reply with the reference number of your email. The reference number ... read more »

Verified Customer

Terrible!!

1 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 27, 2018

Booked flight from Melb-Syd and Syd-Melb. Getting up there was no problem. Getting back was terrible.
Got to Syd airport and although I'd had confirmation via email that the itinerary was all good, Jetstar had no record of my booking at all despite me being given an email suggesting that they had.
The service desk operator at Jetstar told me that Expedia does this often and just as she said that another person comes to the desk and has EXACTLY the same problem on another flight.
It was explained to me that it was more than likely that Expedia did not send the money through to make the booking as no details of mine were in the Jetstar system. The initial suggestion was that I simply buy another ticket!?!?
I was left with little-to-no choice but to have an EXplosive outbursts with EXtreme EXpletives at the EXpedia operator after 30 mins of being EXtremely patient with their incompetence.
Instead of fixing the problem themselves by jumping on their computer and seeing what other option there were to help me with their stuff up, they suggested that I contact other carriers to see what can be done! I mean... WTH??? It's insane!
I'm not ever going to be in a hurry to book through Expedia again..... and... I urge others to take my advice and heed the MANY warnings that are in this forum ----- that I should have referred to PRIOR to booking with these monkeys!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Expedia Official

Hi Rohan, we appreciate your time writing to us about your experience. We can imagine the level of frustration you must have felt over this. Clearly, this is far from ideal. Would like you to know ... read more »

Disgraceful service

1 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 25, 2018

We booked a trip with expedia for $3400, once we submitted booking Expedia withdrew 2x$2075 from out bank account which totals $4150, as well as no booking confirmation, I then rang customer service which they admitting something had gone wrong, we were told a fax had been sent to our bank to release funds which should take no more than 48 hours, the next day my wife rang and was assured the fax had been sent, 72 hours later I rang my bank and they had no record of the fax, so we had to ring back again and make sure it gets faxed correctly, it is now 120 hours later and 4 days from Christmas and have a $4000 hole in our bank account with nothing to show, Which is doubtful we will see the money before Xmas being the weekend, had the trip gone through properly we would still have $600 in our bank, we were also told they could not guarantee the price if we rebooked once our funds cleared
Appalling service

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Expedia Official

Hi there, sorry to hear that you have not yet received your funds back. We can look into this further for you. So your details are private, can you please message your email address, best contact n... read more »

Sydney

  • 1 review
  • 2 comments
Private message

Paid for something we could not use

1 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 24, 2018

Book a urgent tickect through Expedia website to Kathmandu from Sydney (flight 9:30am) via Hongkong (Qantas airline). When I got at airport for check in came to know that I need visa for transit (3 hours) in Hongkong. Contacted to Expedia at the same time and explain the situation after 2 hours of conversation told me that they could not find the alternative option and advice me to cancel the ticket and book with another airline and charged me $1400 (Paid $1811) and told me that balance will take up 12 weeks to refund. It was most disappointing experience I ever had in my life. Expedia took (still) my money without providing any services.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Expedia Official

Hi Prem, sorry to hear that you had to book new tickets for your flights. We can look into this further for you. So your details are private, can you please message your email address, best contact... read more »

Case ID : REQ:M-22736281. I have included all the information as per your request. Thank you.

Today, received a call from Expedia but there was no resolution. They told me that airline(Qantas) charged the cancellation fee and advice me to contact airline (Qantas) directly to raise this issu... read more »

See all 4 comments

Booking cancellation

1 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 22, 2018

Be very careful with cancellations. I have been hit with a huge fee, as their cancellation process was unclear. I cannot get the money back, even though the cancellation was done within 10 minutes of the booking. I was charged more than what the website said, so wanted to cancel. When I rang the lady said if I had called Expedia rather than cancel on the Expedia website, they could have fixed it, but cancelling on the website gets a 50% cancellation fee. Very angry and disappointed, won't be using Expedia again.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Expedia Official

Hi Kay, sorry to hear that you are not happy with the cancellation fees of your booking. We can look into this further for you. So your details are private, can you please message your email addres... read more »

My email address is krrbris@gmail.com, and mobile is 0400815181. I booked the Hiroshima Crane Peace Tower at 11.25am at the listed price of $147.25 per night. When the booking was confirmed it sa... read more »

Expedia Official

Hi Kay, thanks for sharing your details with us. We are sorry to hear that you are not happy with the cancellation policy of your hotel booking. Please note that we do not charge for any cancellati... read more »

Don't pay more for seats when booking a flight

2 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 22, 2018

I paid extra to choose my seats, but I got different seats. Don't pay more for that, it is a waste of money.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Expedia Official

Hi Rodrigo, sorry to hear that you are not happy with the seat assignments of your flights. All seats are assigned by the airlines and we at Expedia do not have any control over the same. However, ... read more »

Refund handled smoothly!

5 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 20, 2018

Wanted a refund for a hotel I booked recently. The refund was processed in 3 days. Very happy with this.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Expedia Official

Hii Cam, thanks for sharing your valuable feedback, we really appreciate it. Thanks, Expedia Support Team.

Verified Customer

Expedia and Malaysian Airlines Unreasonable Flight Costs

1 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 19, 2018

Recently I made the mistake assuming Expedia provides lowest cost travel options. I purchased a flight through Expedia for Malaysia Arlines from Kuching Sarawak to Kota Kinabalu Sabah, and later discovered the same airfare was available on the Malaysian Airlines website for 20% of the Expedia cost! How can Expedia promote themselves as a low cost option when they sell tickets that are 5 times the cost of equivalent tickets sold by the airline!?! Expedia call themselves an agent - but for whom? If Expedia represent the consumer, then I was treated unfairly. If they represent the airline, then their business model is severely flawed and cannot be sustained. But that is only part of the story - the countless phone calls I made to try to sort this out - before and after the flight, the time wasted, and the frustration means that I would never provide a positive review of Expedia or Malaysian Airlines again. For those that travel regularly (for business or pleasure) this sort of cost difference can make a major difference to your bottom line! Shop Around and Beware Expedia and Malaysia Airlines.

Was this review helpful? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 1 comment
Private message

Paid for something we could not use.

1 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 12, 2018

If you see this please do not use this company to book your holiday. It is not worth the couple of dollars you save!! They will cost you more in the end. We booked a theme park pass in the Gold Coast for our 15 month old son. The voucher we purchased through Expedia did not work at the gate. We had to fork out the full cost of entry (which is always more $ at the gate). After many phone calls and emails with Expedia they will not refund our money for something we could not use. They are pretty much thieves.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Expedia Official

Hi Mus, very sorry to hear that you are not happy with the services provided by us. We can look into this further for you. So your details are private, can you please message your email address, be... read more »

It has already been forwarded to your complaints department and they are doing nothing about it and making excuses daily. Very unprofessional. My Itinerary # 7396629702693.

Complete waste of my time typing this, I can already tell..

Expedia Official

Hi Mus, thanks for sharing the itinerary number with us. We have checked but were unable to find any interactions with our customer support team on the booking. Did you get any case id when you cal... read more »

1 of 58 pages


Questions & Answers

Expedia says credit card error but debits my account! I tried to book a flight from Port Moresby to Adelaide and return and it gave me a "information on credit card error message" but billed me $894.14. Then I reentered the details and tried again and it gave me the same message and debited another $894.14 from my account. What is going on? Need some clarification and refund. Please need urgent response. Charles

Charles asked on Nov 10, 2018

My flight booking for Tiger Air flight to Sydney Friday November 9, 2018 @ 3:30 pm flight. Return Melbourne Monday November 12, 2018 @ 6:00am I did not received my etenirary, where can I get it? Name:Lucrecia Manabat Paid Visa card. My email: lorimanabat@yahoo.com.au

Lori M asked on Nov 04, 2018

Answer this

Hi Lucrecia.
I receive my airline tickets at my email, immediately after booking. I would suggest you check whether you entered the correct email address when you made your booking.
Cheers Brendan

Hi Lori, thanks for reaching out. In this instance, we request you to call our Service Team at +1800-782-108 and they will assist you further. Thanks, Expedia Support Team.

Hello, In booking my travel arrangements I experience a difficulty with the website telling me there is a problem with my credit card information . I tried twice and got the same result. However, I’m checking my online bank , I realized that Expedia charged me for it but I did not receive a receipt or a flight confirmation. Please help!

Petra asked on Aug 30, 2018

Answer this

I think you can call to Expedia Call Center to ask about it. It’s a good choice to call them to tell your story and let them check it for u. Cheers!

Hi Petra, very sorry to hear that you have not received the confirmation of your flights. We can look into this further for you. So your details are private, can you please message your email address, best contact number and booking details to travel@support.expedia.com.au and you will get a case id starting with M-xxx1234, please share the case id here? We will investigate and get back to you at the earliest. Thanks! Expedia Support Team

I just had the same issue! Please advice how the issue was sorted out.

See all 75 questions about Expedia