Fraudulent

1 out of 5, reviewed on Jan 21, 2019

These people are fraud. I did the transfer $4500 and they told me bank canceled it. Although they took the money from my account and create all sorts of problems to make sure I dont get my money back. Issue is still going one and I spoke many manager including Mona 042 but no body is willing to help. I didn’t a terrible mistake pls don’t use it.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Quick to take - slow to return - impossible to find out how to cancel !

1 out of 5, reviewed on Jan 18, 2019

I made a mistake which I realised within 5 minutes.
On line it is impossible to find out how to either rectify the mistake or how to cancel a transaction.
That was my fault.
I have now written two letters to wu. No reply, no acknowledgment and of course NO money returned.
That is their mistake.
It is extremely simple to put a large CANCEL button on any web-page so it is not a technical problem
it seems very much like a racket !

Was this review helpful? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Never try to send money through it

1 out of 5, reviewed on Jan 15, 2019

Issue the bank has already sent the money, and people in WesternUnion say they haven’t received. At the moment its 10 days and the issue is still going on. Customer service of transaction team is horrible.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Incompetence or illegal?

1 out of 5, reviewed on Jan 13, 2019

Sent cash from Australia Post counter on 12 Dec to London. Receiver had to try 10 visits to 7 different addresses in London over 30 days to get the money. No Christmas presents for the kids. The WU sites shown on the website are often not operating any more, some have shortened hours than those advertised, some say the system is down, some say "the guy that does it isn't here now, come back tomorrow".
We finally got the money but I was on the edge of cancelling and reporting them to Consumer Affairs or the Police for fraud. If there was a zero rating, I would give them that or less for the anxiety and false information they promulgate. (Don't start me on the incompetence of their Customer Service call /email centre)
Do not use this company! I never will again.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

MELBOURNE

  • 16 reviews
  • 10 comments
  • 5 answers
  • 74 helpful votes
Private message

WESTERN UNION – Interfered with the account/data theft / Violated The Account

1 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 28, 2018

FORMAL Complaint - WESTERN UNION – interfered with the account/ data theft

Dear Sir/Madam,


I have been registered with Western Union online and the VISA card number is still in the system.
Today I was trying to send $110.00 to Sri Lanka, once I did the transaction process, I was told the transaction was not completed, call the customer service line.

I called - Phone - 1800 173 833, and was dealt by 3 incompetent staff in the Philippines.

I called the Philippines – for over 53 minutes online.

1. First I spoke to a Pilipino – staff ID 021#
2. Second I spoke to a Pilipino – staff ID 079#
3. Third I spoke to a Pilipino – staff ID 007#
4. All three staff took all my personal ID, home address/ mobile number/ DOB/ email address –
5. Each time I was told I was been verified – then I received 3 emails to say the “Congratulation ! Your ID
verification is complete”
6. Each time I re logged in to the account – I was given this message –
7. Your transaction could not be completed. We’re sorry, we can't process this transaction. You can always send cash at a Western Union agent location.
8. Now the call is at 1 hour and 4 minutes with still NO HELP AND UNABLE TO SEND THE MONEY!!

This is unacceptable, as Western Union staff have violated the account , my personal data/information and the account is now locked and I am not able to send this small amount of money…

The call is now at 1 hour and 10 minutes still on hold.
Why are the Philippines staff not trained, ignorant and violating the customers’ accounts.
This service is 1 /10
Please see all 3 emails sent by WU???

I am seeking a reply immediately with a Please Explain???

Regards,
xxxxxxxxx

Sent: Thursday, 27 December 2018 3:01 PM
To:xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Subject: Western Union: ID Verification

Congratulation ! Your ID verification is complete.

From:
Sent: Thursday, 27 December 2018 2:55 PM
To: xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Subject: Western Union: ID Verification

Congratulation ! Your ID verification is complete.

From:
Sent: Thursday, 27 December 2018 3:21 PM
To:xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Subject: Western Union: Your Identity has been verified

Dear xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Your identity has been successfully verified. Please visit our website at xxxxxxx to start a money transfer online. You may pay with your Visa® or MasterCard® credit or debit card.

If you have any questions, please visit our website or call us at 1800 173 833.

Thank you for using Western Union!

THIS IS A SYSTEM GENERATED EMAIL, PLEASE DO NOT REPLY TO THIS EMAIL. IF YOU HAVE QUESTIONS PLEASE CONTACT US.

Western Union Online Limited performs all credit card, debit card, and bank account payment processing functions related to the money transfer services offered on this site. You may notice Western Union Online Limited on your statement.

2 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 4 helpful votes
Private message

Customer service and id verification

1 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 27, 2018

The worst money transferring company ever! They ruin my day. No one answer the phone, no one can solve your problem, and really expensive.

4 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 3 helpful votes
Private message

Never use them

1 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 27, 2018

Never use them during festival, embarrassed as family did not revived money for Christmas and was advised western union didn’t even charge the money
Stuck with no money with me or family now

3 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

Sydney

  • 1 review
  • 3 helpful votes
Private message

Bad organization run by fools

1 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 26, 2018

I used to use WU before, maybe 2 or 3 years ago. They were ok back then. Today I had to send money to the Philippines and I had to add my auntie's name as a receiver. Everything was well until I noticed that they needed my auntie's bank details, otherwise I won't be able to create her account. So I sent the money and everything were fine on my side. But the tracking number was non existent on my auntie's side. So I rang WU and asked why they can't find the tracking number. They said the money went to my Auntie's bank! Then I checked my settings and found out that adding the recipient's bank details was optional. But it would not let me send the money when I tried skipping and the bank details. My question is, why would the system even bother giving a tracking number if they can't even track it on the other side? So ticked off!!!. I hope Western Union will go down in history as the crappiest money transfer company ever existed! Bloody incompetent organization run by incompetent fools! Don't use them, don't even think about them before sending any money.

3 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

Melbourne

  • 1 review
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

No Morals or Ethics!

1 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 23, 2018

I bought an item from The internet. Later that day my research revealed the business was a scam site that had changed names many times. Basically Western Union don't care who they do business with so long as they get your postage commission They couldn't care less if you receive your product or not I complained but WU were vague and blamed me for making a bad purchase Many scam sites only have ONE option of purchase....WU!!! Often your judged by the company you keep SHAME WESTERN UNION!! They should be shut down

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Box Hill 2765

  • 1 review
  • 2 helpful votes
Private message

Read my review before you get stuck with money

1 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 20, 2018

Hi , I used WesternUnion online service to transfer money to India for my cousin he’s in a holiday and urgently needed money from me. After transfer I received a email saying everything ok . But after 5 minutes received another one says you need contact them ASAP to know more details about this transfer. When I call them and a lady named Erica from receiving department collect all my details and informed that they canceled my transfer. It’s really shocked me and when I asked for reasons she said due to company policy . I said then give me my money back I can send through post office. But the answer was really bad it will take 7 working days to get this money back . So I am stuck for this money and my cousin also urged for money.
Then I asked them to transfer to her manager named [name removed] from digital consumer protection department, he made another story and said they can’t process this transaction. I said it’s ok but I needed my money back tomorrow because I’m stuck with my money. He’s getting rude and reply it may take more than 7 days.
So what happened to me is , I am stuck with my money for more than 7 working days ,and my cousin stayed with no money, it creates financial and mental stress for me.
This is the last and final time I am using this Western Union. It’s really a crap business. If you’re urgent to transfer money please never depend on WU . Please try some other companies


Thanks,
MARTIN THOMAS
Most unsatisfied customer

2 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 3 helpful votes
Private message

Verified Customer

APPALLING LIARS TO SAY THE LEAST...BE VERY AWARE PEOPLE!

1 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 19, 2018

Now, now… dear gullible ladies, gents reading, specially you vulnerable people....I very unfortunately happen to be on the side of feeling more than stupid a person dealing with these cretins "Western Union" and I'll tell you why.....Well.....because I now sadly find myself in what one would call the " Victim of Fraud" boat...yes that's right well and truly trusting these morons and liars Western Union to protect me their customer and or 'Sender' of monies that I found as time went by was conned and lied to by a shrewd and crafty scammer that got over $26,000 dollars of my hard earned money for a financial investment deal I believed was legit at the time! I’ve many email and Skype conversations was denied any compensation or returning my money thus these low lives at Western Union Global Customer Care Claims, ruled in favour of this scammer that duped me despite the fact that I have tons of evidence that can clearly demonstrate his 'intent'. It’s true I trusted this scammer but he and I had practical communication for a while on and off via Skype, Email and sometimes on the phone but I never knew that I would be the victim that would be scammed outright and we all suffice to say fall prey to these sorts of incidents' at least one time or another in our life as we merely are human, after all! But where the heck are the so called protections from these so called legit companies one may ask? Once you are in a ditch don't ever bank on Western Union to get you out unlike say PayPal that in the least will negotiate something between the buyer and seller and try to bring about an amicable resolve!

This is when I was under the safe impression that Western Union could check out the receiver’s location and probe in to the relevant Western Union outlet’s security camera's and get this low life scammer, red handed instead they concluded that he showed valid ID and was in his rights to receive my money but nothing could be farther from the truth! The fact the scammer did not reveal his true identity but had someone else pick up the money on his behalf is reason enough for the imbecilic attitudes of Western Union to look/probe deeper in to my case. No doubt at the time when he (the scammer) notified me to transfer the money to his so called programmer's account which I didn't think twice but did it as I trusted him at the time! I mean one builds a relationship that one understands is legit only to later find out that its 100% bogus nonsense the sooner you deliver the money! I was desperate to help myself and family out of the financial rut I am in. Such is life! But then you'd think that Western Union a so called globally renowned money transfer organisation/company enormously with a reputation in the community will do the right thing and conduct investigations in a professional manner with integrity only ended up giving me the shabby and silent treatment to the fullest. I am not exaggerating as I have all the emails to prove this. They bungled my whole case from the get-go that I brought to their attention by only addressing only one claim against many others. What does this say about Western Union?

I was tricked for $26,000 odd dollars but Western Union replied after many months of phone calls and emails to them some four to five months later that they were sorry to hear that I was the victim of a scam to the amount of $5,000 which drove me up the wall, I mean seriously? How ignorant and deliberate can one be? This after all were my life time savings, damn it! So damn appalling to say the least and caused me more grievance and health issues that I am gradually recovering from. Alarming to learn that not only did they simply dismiss my case seeing that the scammer had provided valid ID as they put it was sufficient grounds to release the money ignoring the fact that not only in Asia nut globally in may parts of the world its next to nothing to get false ID and get away with it. The fact that Western Union can play willful ignorance is beyond comprehensible! Turning a blind eye to money laundering schemes is Western Union's biggest downfall still they ignore the bleeding and obvious!

It’s astounding how easy it is to buy fake documents online. An account can be opened in days with imitation utility bills and some form of ID, which is usually legitimate. Western Union usually appear to rebuff victims of fraud like myself in these circumstances by saying that because the payments were authorised by me the buyer, that they are itself not to blame. But there is a growing argument which says that money transferring company's/banks should take responsibility for allowing fraudsters to open accounts in the first place.


Watch out! Western Union turn a blind eye! I hastened that I will be exposing their singular subjective stance on this very uneventful saga I happen to find myself in as a result of their pathetic anti-money laundering policies that choose to neglect victims of fraud like myself as a result of using their money transfer services which I regret to date.

So there it is peoples anyone may just be able to get away with it even if they produce false ID when it comes to dealing with Western Union as they play ignorant and dumb erring on the side of the perpetrators! You have been cautioned!

PS.> Oh and yes and the local Western Union number listed in Australia is Bogus 100% never ever will you ever get anyone in Australia as your call will get re-routed to Egypt through to the Philippines to Mexico on and on the disrespect to their customer base is extremely unprofessional and displays apathy so don't hold your breath!
It's about time we called Western Union for who they really are and as for the regulators such as ASIC I've no comment!

3 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 2 helpful votes
Private message

Terrible

1 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 15, 2018

Sent money for my daughter in the UK 13 days later she still hasn’t received anything I’ve asked several times for evidence to prove it’s in her bank, still waiting. So much for a happy Christmas :(

2 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 2 helpful votes
Private message

Not functional

1 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 10, 2018

I sent money on 28 November, with 2 first attempts failing then the third one went through but & days later its not yet into the recipient bank account. When I called Western Union they said the money was with the receiver's bank account (Commonwealth) then Commonwealth said they did not receive anything And I had to call WU again who told me to wait for couple of days ... I'm still waiting :(

2 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

Darwin

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 helpful votes
Private message

Absolutely useless.

1 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 28, 2018

I went to transfer some money to America on the 21/11/18 and thought all was going well until Friday the 23rd, when I was told transaction didn't go through. I rung them to be told it was my bank the NAB that stuffed the transaction. So first thing Monday I rung my bank to be told they released the money the day after I had sent it, so I rang WU again. This time they said I would receive a refund in 7 working days? So it will be close to two weeks before I see my money again. I will never use these pathetic clowns again. Be warned people Western Union is a joke.

2 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

Craigieburn

  • 2 reviews
  • 5 comments
  • 6 helpful votes
Private message

Verified Customer

No Customer Value

1 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 24, 2018

Yesterday, 21/11/2018. I tried to send money overseas ($600) and as per the app I had to pay another $4 on top of it as transfer money which is fair as they waive the transfer fee when I send over $1000. But due to some technical error in the app, it gave me error in the first try and I had to redo the same transaction. It was successful the 2nd time. But when in the morning when I checked my bank account there were 2 WU transactions. I called the WU helpline and asked them that due to technical error there were 2 same transaction with transfer fee ($4 each) and even though I mean it to do the transfer once I am ok with it as long as they refund the transfer fee as now I have transferred over $1000 in total to the same person in matter of minutes due to their app technical fault. They bluntly refused me and said there is nothing they can do about it. Just as an FYI, I sent over $20,000 over the past year using their service and they can't even acknowledge their fault for merely $8. Ended up closing the account, willing my business (even pay extra) to another company as long as I get treated as a valued customer.

2 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 3 helpful votes
Private message

Stupid service

1 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 22, 2018

Not at all professional. Beware from using them...they will take your money and cancel the transaction with out giving proper knowledge and give you back after 8 days..stop using them go for other better

3 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

hobart

  • 1 review
  • 2 helpful votes
Private message

terrible customer service!

1 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 19, 2018

I have resolved my issue with western union with no thanks to them I used my bank and Australian post.if you don't want hassels go through Australia post with your money transfer who are friendly and helpful and you can understand them!!.cheers to you all.

2 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 2 helpful votes
Private message

Worst Exchange Rate and High Fee

1 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 16, 2018

I have checked the exchange rate before I left home
the destination currency was 250SAR less than expected plus 29AUd fee
Never going back

2 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

Melbourne

  • 1 review
  • 2 helpful votes
Private message

Western union is not worth it

1 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 14, 2018

Do not use western union these people do not value their loyal customer.
There other organization or many ways to send money to your love ones. Avoid using western union if you can.

2 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

brisbane

  • 7 reviews
  • 10 answers
  • 8 helpful votes
Private message

what a useless lot

1 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 10, 2018

They messed up the money transfer, they said they will refund, still waiting weeks later, no e mails [5] never answered, 6 tel calls going to a different office with people barely able to speak english and did told me a lot of crap, that the money was in the bank??? I asked which bank, they answered the other bank without any names, i am obliged to lodge a complaint to the fair trading to get my refund. Absolutely hopeless lot.

2 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

1 of 12 pages


Questions & Answers

My name is victor brown w/u card number is [Number Removed] why cant I send money to a lady in the philippines I try to day?

BESSVIC asked on Jan 02, 2019

When a person get banned...how long does the banned lost for...when can they start use back western union?

Marcia asked on Sep 27, 2018

Answer this

I cannot answer that as I have not experienced nor have I heard of a person being banned. You should ask western union
Hope that answers your question

I cannot answer that as I have not experienced nor have I heard of a person being banned. You should ask western union
Hope that answers your question

I got banned and blocked from western union. Because they thought I was being scammed. I tried to tell them in no uncertain terms that i wasnt as it was my husband who I was sending money too. But they wouldn't have a bar of it. Anyway to get out if it. I had to send reciepts and receipts from the other end of who it was going to...I told them that was ridiculous tried and tried to explain to them my predicament... but they said the only way I could get unblocked was to do what they said I politely told them to f.....off
Cat

I have recently started seeing a girl from Thailand, and want to send her money, but she says she isn’t blocked and can’t receive, why would this be and how can I get her unblocked?

Andyleesmith asked on May 20, 2018

Answer this

You can’t. Western Union will flag this as a romance scam, even if it’s legit. They have nothing to lose anyway, but they’ll block you from sending your money. They’ll take the money though, then hold on to it for at least 7 days before they return it to you after you nag them endlessly.

See all 8 questions about Western Union