??!
1 photo
Eight Homes
4.3 from 488 reviews

Build with 8 homes while I was in sydney

Firstly like to say thank you to Jason Sbriglio Sales Manager help me to hold the offer for a year and help a lot me through out the process and also personally gives me opinion to buy the block in Woodlea because i was unsure what to do - Today i have home because of Jason guidance and opinion.
When come to sign the contract, my loan application denied so i took more than 4 months from my contract date so 8 homes have policy of keeping same offer have to pay penalty but complimentary the have remove all penalties.
So my construction began Nov 20th 2018 and End in April 2019 considering Xmas/New year/Easter holiday , i got my house literally in 4 months.
I lived in Melbourne 10 yrs then prior to my contract sign for construction moved to Sydney.
The site supervisor Mason Mule have help me beyond his limits and way extra miles from his job.
I always communicating with him on the phone and he always answer for my every question and explain everything so smooth that way i don't have visit Melbourne.
Kind a big risk that i was live in Sydney and building in Melbourne , the site supervisor gained by trust and through out the process i was trust on him and at the end the house build amazing without any major defects.
I am so happy that i made right choice going through 8 homes.Look honestly all companies have good/bad things. Only The site supervisor can make your house hell or heaven. So glad i got Mason Mule he is absolutely great professional & friendly person. He'll build house like your own house.
My property in Woodlea, if any one have question please contact myself regarding building with 8 homes ( Specially site supervisor Mason Mule ). Even Mason Mule /jason also help admin sides of 8 homes.

I recommend if you any issue with any 8 homes site supervisor then at least speak to Mason Mule then you will know about the trust builder/site supervisor who cares about your home.

Thanks

Abdul

0490254786

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Transparency
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateNovember 2018
1 comment
I have recommend to my fiend to build, now he is building with 8 homes in Atherstone.

Great Experience - Wouldn't have found a better building company to deal with.

Our experience throughout was very seamless. It started off with a very friendly and honest sales consultant who guided us through with the complete process as well. It was our first investment property build and we can say with confidence that the outcome has been a satisfying one. We were helped to select the best floor plan based on the market research and the sales consultant (Maddy) suggested some really good upgrades specifically for an investment property.

The building process stated on time and as scheduled, the customer service experience throughout was also great, timely updates and communications in all regards helped a lot to make the process easier and meant that we could plan ahead of time.

The supervisors also did a great job in making sure the construction was done right and in time. We were quite happy with our inspections and all minor issues were resolved very quickly and efficiently.

All in all the end result is one that gives us nothing but joy. I'm chuffed to have selected eight homes as a builder. I would highly recommend their services. They are affordably efficient.

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Transparency
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateMay 2019

Fantastic, easy build

We are absolutely love our new home. The entire build process was hassle free, any minor issues we had were dealt with quickly and efficiently. Our quote was exactly what our final cost was so there was no surprises with extra money need which was great. The build was finished early, even with Christmas breaks which was fantastic. Everyone we dealt with were friendly, easy to talk to, and made us feel genuinely listened to. We would highly recommend Eight homes to anyone we knew that wanted to build a new home.

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Transparency
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateMay 2019
1 comment
Hi Cristy, Thanks so much for the 5-star review! We are so happy to hear you love your new home and enjoyed the entire build process. Please do let us know if you need anything from us. Good luck with everything. Kindest, Lily

Love our house

We are absolutely in love with our final result from eight homes. The workmanship is second to none. We have had no problems with both the build and also everyone involved with our house. Friendly staff and efficient site supervisors. Highly recommend for anyone wanting to build there next home

Customer Service
Transparency
Build StagePost-Construction
1 comment
Hi Madi, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a 5-star review! Congratulations on finalising the build of your new home, we are so happy for you! If there is anything you need from us, please do not hesitate to ask! Kindest, Lily

The experiencs so far has been great

Maria. Megan and Caitlin have been really helpful during pre-sales process. Can't wait for the construction to start. Hopefully, I will get the same excellent service during construction (Rachael has just taken over) to handover.

Customer Service
Timeliness
Transparency
Build StagePre-Construction
1 comment
Hi Olivia, Thanks for the amazing 5-star review! We are so glad you're happy with our team. We are really looking forward to enter the next part of the build journey with you. If you need anything at all, please do not hesitate to ask the team. Kindest, Lily

Absolute nightmare from the start of the build stage, very very disappointed

Our sales experience has been extremely good, which is one of the reasons we went with eight homes. [name removed] has been very accommodating , flexible and helpful throughout the sales process, cant ask for more!
Once we moved to the Tender/Contract stage, that's when the nightmare started. Build process has been a very stressful process, where it was like we were personally project managing our home build:(
There were so many mistakes in drafting, n quotes and even in the colour document, very very poor quality. We are almost nearing the completion of the build and we have not had baselined plans till date from eight homes. Every time they issue an updated plan, they work from an older version, thereby again reverting back to old mistakes. That's so silly and shows lack of attention to detail , and commitment to deliver to customer.
Other point which is very frustrating is the lack of one Customer service specialist working with us, there have been 5 changes till date??? AND there is no proper handover from one person to another and we have had to provide the relevant info the the new CSS???? In the transit, there have been a few mistakes in orders and miscommunications to our requirements. This shows their lack of customer focus
We have had a Site supervisor, who takes a reactive rather than proactive approach.He waits for our private inspector to point out defects for fixing them, instead of him ensuring that the build is proper and as per standards.
Finally, coming to fag end of the build, when they started to build to wrong plans(unwanted structures raised without checking with us), we raised a formal complaint and requested a meeting with the Construction Manager. This was in the first week of April....and ....now its first week of May, no meeting has been arranged, no acknowledgement from the Construction Manager on our formal complaint, no call from Eight Homes to understand our concerns AND our CSS goes on two-week leave, without informing of any backup CS who would be helping us in her absence.
Though part of the Burbank family or Urban Edge Family, Eight homes have ZERO focus on customer experience.
I have put it out all there, very honest and heartfelt review. The experience has been incredibly pathetic (cant find a decent word to describe it) and very stressful. We are now starting to think that it has been a grave mistake to choose eight homes.For the amount of money we are spending on the build, we would have been better off going with one of the Tier1 builders.

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Transparency
Build StageMid-Construction
Construction End DateJune 2019
1 comment
Hi PSa, We are sorry to read that you have felt we have not met your expectations. This is extremely disappointing as we pride ourselves on the dedication and care of our team so this is not good to hear. We would like the opportunity to investigate your concerns and as such we require some information from you. If you could kindly send us an email with your build address and best contact number to reach you on to enquiry@8homes.com.au. Once we receive your email a customer service team member will be in touch with you to ensure this matter is fixed. Kind Regards, Lily

Everything great until...

Update below...
Everything done at head office has been fantastic and we were really impressed with 8Homes however we’ve now come to the building stage. Our site supervisor and his manager have a care factor of zero. Incredibly disappointed about the lack of communication, lies and total indifference from him regarding constant delays and we’re only at slab stage....STILL! Feeling let down and helpless. I’ve spoken to the girls in head office who are assigned to our build and while they were nice it still doesn’t excuse the lies and rudeness of our site supervisor. While we watch other houses in our estate being roofed, bricked and plastered over public holidays, weekends and evenings ours sits and languishes. Wood framing, doors, windows, roof trusses all laying out in the elements for the past six weeks, balanced on primitive rocks and buckling - I have pics as proof. Apparently it’s taken six weeks to find a ‘quality’ framer? If this is the case then why treat the frame at the site balanced on uneven rocks? Or the roofing frame randomly left out in the field next to our block and all buckled and bowed from the rain??
Obviously by this review we’re very stressed at this point and getting very bitter.
Update 15 May 2019: Frame up. Windows and doors put in (only after repeated requests to site supervisor as been laying in mud for 6-7 wks). Site is a dogs breakfast. Had a complaint from developer about the site being a pig sty. It’s just gets better...sigh

Transparency
Build StageMid-Construction
1 comment
Hi Adelle, Thanks for taking the time to write us a review. We are sorry to hear you are having this experience. My team will continue to work closely with you to get everything organised. Please do not hesitate to contact your On-site Customer Service Specialist if you have any further questions or concerns. Kindest, Lily

Worst Experience Of My Life

4 site supervisors
Lost count of in office contacts
No response to emails or phone calls
No time frame for handover
Build started aug2018
May 2019 next week still no handover date
In the contract it states the builder can give written consent for key handover prior to final payment, upon being told we will be HOMELESS without handover 8homes don’t care
In October 2018 they were informed of problems they didn’t fix till April 2019
The house literally sat for months with nothing happening.
Second house to start building in our street. Over ten people living in their homes now but not us.
Had to make alternate living arrangements for children to start school. Been without them for 5mths. 8homes don’t care.
No updates unless you chase and chase and chase them.
When asked for details of who to complain to they simply say they have decided it has been resolved and nothing happens.
sleepless nights and completely broke.
I now HATE my home
Run away......FAST

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Transparency
Build StageMid-Construction
Construction End DateMay 2019
2 comments
Hi Beck, We are sorry to read that you have felt we have not met your expectations. Please know our team are currently waiting for the bank evaluation which is happening today. As soon as we have received the evaluation, our team will work get together to get settlement over to you as soon as possible. Kind Regards, LilySorry from your company is a lie. No one is sorry. No one takes responsibility. No one makes an effort to rectify problems. Sorry will not stop us from being HOMELESS. Sorry will not make me able to book connection for services to my home, or order my bins. Sorry will not afford me time give my work notice I need time off to move. Sorry will not give me 6months I have missed with my children. Sorry is a lie

Disappointment Understatement

Build/Workmanship: Started terrible with 1 supervisor however when we got [name removed] he was our saving grace. He was nothing but professional and for once in our whole eight home experience we were finally seen as people, not just money or a number. From the moment we had our first conversation with [name removed] we where put at ease, he showed empathy for what we had and where going through and his workmanship was second to none. He is so dedicated to his profession that we literally where so blessed to have him build our home. No question was too silly, he returned our phone calls, kept us up to date and did everything in his power to ease our frustrations and issues. He constantly went above and beyond his job title for us as he knew what experiences we had prior to him and were continuing to go through with the admin department. If it wasn't for [name removed] we would have tried everything in our power to get out of the contract as it was an absolute mess and [name removed] helped us any way he could. If I could give 10 stars to Beau I would as he literally was AMAZING and our home would not be at the same standard had of we had a different supervisor. Thank you [name removed] you know we will be forever grateful!!

Admin Department: No words will be able to sum up our entire experience with eight homes admin department, but I will try. From the moment we signed the contract in the sales office all the way through up until settlement the admin department where absolutely terrible. The paperwork trail was well and truly a mess, no one takes ANY accountability for anything, excuses after excuses after excuses. I do not know any other profession where accountability is not a given. Eight homes loves a post contract variation a building variation and it became clear on our settlement date where we had to pay $2k out of our own pocket the reason why, because this is where they know they can get extra money from you! Departments do not communicate to each other so you will be forever re explaining everything about 50 times for the same thing. My advise literally correspond EVERYTHING through email so you have your own paper trail. If I had my time again I would not even answer the phone, I would have everything through email, as verbal agreements and conversations do not mean anything when it comes to settlement and you will have to pay what was agreed upon in previous conversations.

My genuine feedback for eight homes as I do not want anyone to have the same experience as us...
- Every employee should see their customers as people who have worked their bums off to save up for a deposit to build their dream home
-Every customer is giving you their hard earned money, you should be thankful that we chose you to build our home, we the customer are keeping your company and employees in a job, you should treat us with the dignity and respect that we deserve as VALUED customers
-Communication is KEY. We do not live in the building world that you do every day. Things need to be explained, information needs to be given in order for a full understanding of the process
-Your admin department and how you structure communication between departments needs to be looked at. Your customer should not have to go over every finer detail in order for the new person looking after us to make sense, this was a big frustration of ours and one that is definitely preventative as a company

Finally I am genuinely happy with our home the quality of the build is great but that is all due to [name removed] our supervisor. I genuinely believe that we would not have the same house that we are now in had of it not been for [name removed]. Would I build with eight homes again...NO! The stresses where not worth it and I make sure when people ask who we built with that we say eight homes but would never build with them again, which is unfortunate.

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Transparency
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateMarch 2019
1 comment
Hi ALW, Thanks for taking the time to leave us some feedback - we are sorry to hear you have had some frustrations with our team. I have passed this onto the relevant teams so they are aware. If you would like to be contacted to discuss this further, please let us know. Kindest, Lily

Our very own house

We chose Eight as it was within our budget and we like what the offered and had on display. From the get go at the display sales office the staff we dealt with throughout our build were fantastic they were informative and thorough with everything. Maria saladino from the office in sunshine provided us with so much excitement and the day we signed couldn't have been made a happier fun experience. The workmanship has come up fantastic and the build was watched closely by the site supervisor. Communication from the start to end was great and we could have been more thankful when the worked with us in getting the keys and getting an onsite handover. Thank you Eight homes

Customer Service
Transparency
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateDecember 2018
1 comment
Hi Jenna Paige, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a 5-star review. We are so happy to hear you have had such a positive experience with our team throughout your build. Congratulations on building your dream home. If there is anything we can do for you over the next few months, please do not hesitate to get in contact with us. Kindest, Lily

Ups, Downs and a long road but we got there and now we're happy!

Our Sales experience was awesome! Diana has been there every step of the way with us, she has been amazing, we are pedantic (to say the least) and analytical so it can be hard work to keep up but she did and always with a smile!
Our Color Selection was pretty much the same experience with Jackie - another amazing 8 homes consultant whom was an absolute delight!
Our contract signing with Kelly was informative (she new her stuff) and productive, again a positive experience for us.
Initially, Customer Service is where we struggled as we had severe communication issues with our first Customer Service Specialist but we contacted our sales consultant Diana (again, always there to help) and long story short we were assigned a specialist who could understand our needs and requirements, Mariah was fantastic to work with and managed to have our documents/plans amended to our specifications. Overall 8 Homes have been amazing to work with and the have some really competent consultants to help every step of the way! We are hoping to Have Mariah as our Site Administrator!

Customer Service
Transparency
Build StagePre-Construction
1 comment
Hi Mandy, Thanks very much for taking the time to leave us a review of your experience with Eight Homes so far. We are glad to have your feedback and it goes a long way towards improving our customer experience in the future. We are happy to hear you're journey with us is meeting your expectations and hope to keep this going. Please don't hesitate to get in touch if you have any questions at all - we look forward to build your home! Thanks, Lily

Great and positive experience so far!!

We are currently in the process of building with eight homes. Our experience so far has been very positive from the get go, from sales to now at pre construction stage, awaiting construction starting!
We are very excited and have been contacted appropriately and promptly at each stage.
We have been working with Mariah S in particular who has been great throughout, always very prompt and thorough.

So far can’t fault.
Thank you for all the great work so far and I hope continuing forward.

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Build StagePre-Construction
1 comment
Hi Jamielee, We appreciate you taking the time to leave us a 5-star review! It is great to hear that your Customer Service Specialist, Mariah has been very helpful during this process. We look forward to hearing more from you as your homes goes through construction stage. Kind regards, Lily

Pre Build patience

I have been dealing with 8 homes for about a year now due to my own time needed to make decisions and take the jump into building. The process has been long due to myself and other key stake holders as well as trying to do things over Christmas and New year's etc wasn't the ideal time for meetings and costs for myself.

However I am told the process is usually alot quicker but for the most part 8 homes was very patient with me. I has multiple meetings with Emily at officer display homes who was very warm and humorous in her approach and let me view the house and discuss changes over a few months without pushing me. Emily also spoke to me from the start like an important client which hadn't happend with other potential builders. I had a 800square metre block and no one but Emily asked me about it or took me seriously, I hate to say it but I think it was because I was a young single girl looking to build. I then made the jump to sign and got handed to Mariah at the main office who has been in touch with me regularly. At times I felt rushed however i can see this is due to Mariah wanting me to get my home built for me as soon as possible and start enjoying what I have taken all this time for planning!

I have heard lots of good things about 8 homes and am keen to take the next step and see how the building process goes. For someone who is new to all this and doing on my own I appreciate the time everyone takes to explain things to me and be patient with me. Bring on the Coby 2-23! :)

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Build StagePre-Construction
1 comment
Hi Jessy, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We are happy to hear you are having a good experience with our team so far. We are confident that this level of service will continue throughout the remainder of your journey and please do not hesitate to get back in touch with your Customer Service Administrator if you need anything along the way. Kindest, Lily

Post Construction Review

Having built a number of times before with other builders, I was pleasantly surprised with the outstanding customer service provided pre-construction and during construction. All issues that I raised during and post construction were always addressed to my satisfaction. The build did run well over the contracted time-frame however there were no surprises with the cost and we are very happy with the final result.

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateApril 2019
1 comment
Hi Archie, Thanks so much for leaving us a 5-star review. Firstly, congratulations on building a new home! We are so happy you have had a great experience with our team. If there is anything you need from us post construction, please do not hesitate to get in contact us. Kindest, Lily

Simple and straightforward process. Can't go wrong with that!

We actually have paid a deposit with another builder but after speaking to a friend who was raving about the entire process of his build with 8 homes and I was wondering why was it the case. So my husband and I went to 8 homes, and we were really happy on how easy the sales process was. It was very simple and straightforward. Not to mention that it was really cost efficient. Kym Erbacher was fantastic as SC! She knew exactly what we wanted and was quick to put together a proposal based on our needs. Awesome process and hope it flows throughout the entire build.

Customer Service
Build StagePre-Construction
3 comments
Hi DJ, Thanks for leaving us a 5-star review! We are so glad you have decided to build with Eight Homes and we can't wait to go through the build journey together. If there is anything you need long the way, please do not hesitate to reach out to us. Kindest, LilyHi Lily, Thank you. We are pleased with Eight homes and hopefully it goes well the entire process. Just wondering when we can receive the incentive for submitting a review? ThanksHI DJ, I'll get this organised to be sent out. Kindest, Lily

Maddy p thanks

We had approached several builders before signing with eight homes and glad we did
Our home has been exactly what we wanted and this all started with consultanting with Maddy p at the Tarneit display home in conjunction with Urbanedge who have done fantastic job to date
What really stood out was Maddy and his knowledge and communication through the whole process was second to none
Thanks Maddy and eighth homes and We’ll be leaving a excellent review to Urbanedge

Customer Service
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateApril 2019
1 comment
Hi Willy, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your build and the team you worked with, Maddy is definitely an asset to our business. Good luck for the next couple of weeks, it's always exciting moving into a brand new home. Kindest, Lily

A good experience in an affordable price

It has just been over a year now since we moved in. So far we are very pleased with the quality. The 3 months inspection was completed on time and all issues were addressed. We had great pre construction experience and few minor issues during construction which is normal in a project in this scale. Over all a good experience. The communication has always been great. I have already recommended them to my friends. Thanks!

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateFebruary 2018
1 comment
Hi Khan, Happy 1 year home anniversary! We are so pleased to hear you had a great experience with our team and have recommended us to all your friends! Wishing you the best of luck with everything :) Kindest, Lily

Great Experience

So far our build has been managed very well Ian our supervisor is great he is so easy to contact and such a lovely person we feel like our house is in good hands. Stephanie is also wonderful again very easy to contact and more than happy to help they both are making this experience wonderful.

So far the workman has been good.

Anything we have seen and picked up on has been acknowledged. The only thing yet to be done is the damage to our boutique doors but this this is due to the window company not having fixed them yet. Ian has been fantastic and contacted them straight away for us.

As any build the final cost ended up being more than what we initially thought due to having to upgrade things.

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Build StageMid-Construction
1 comment
Hi Sukishi, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review :) It's nice to hear you are happy with your build journey with us so far. We look forward to continue working with you to build the home you have been dreaming of. If there is anything you need, please do not hesitate to get in contact with us. Kindest, Lily

House is perfect

From the start of the build to the end was easy for us.
Glen was our site manager and we were happy from the outcome of the house there was minor issues but nothing major every house has there issues no1 can build 100% perfect.

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateDecember 2018
1 comment
Hi Emran, Thanks for the positive review! We are so pleased to hear you are happy with your new home :) Wishing you the best of luck with everything! Kindest, Lily

Quick Build and Attention to detail

Eight homes have hone above and beyond our expectations. Every stage of the process has been simple and hassle free. They we're prep'd and ready to start building straight away and we will be the first house complete in our stage. All staff have been attentive to our requirements and have been happy to change things with no extra charge. Very happy with the service we have received.

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Build StageMid-Construction
Construction End DateJune 2019
1 comment
Hi Tom S, Thank you for the 5 star review! We thrilled to hear our team provided a streamlined process throughout your journey. We’re excited to see your home come to life and we look forward to working with you for the remainder of your build. Kindest, Lily

Page 1 of 25

Questions & Answers

Hi Everyone, We are considering to build a single story investment property with either Eight Homes or Simonds. As you all mention, sales consultant is great and smooth with his sales pitch but after reading the reviews, I am bit hesitatant to go with Eight Homes. Is it only double story homes people are facing issues with or issues are consistent with single story house? I'm worried particularly on - final finish and quality - frequent change of site Manager - what seems to be loss of communication within company It's true that they offer slightly lower building cost but there is no point if there are defects with the final finish. Please, can you give me your feedback before we lock in the contract?
2 answers
Hi, A and J, Thanks for reaching out on our page. At Eight Homes, we pride ourselves on the quality of our homes and customer service. Our streamlined and easy process was designed to increase efficiencies, which means you can move into your new homes sooner, with the help of our entire team. We understand building a house is very exciting and can be daunting at times, so our team will be there with you every step of the way to support you through this journey. If you have any other questions, please do not hesitate to email or call us. Many thanks, NikitaAandJ I would recommend if you haven’t yet finalized eight homes thn you are in profit These guys lack in communication and supervisors blaming other supervisors Please keep your site inspector if u can. As our previous supervisor lied about lots of things

Hi I am going to select 8 homes as my builder will be giving the deposit of 1880 next week.please give me right advice as it will be very important before taking the final step. Thank you
5 answers
What advice you after. I dont get you?It has been a good experience till now. I would definitely recommend them. Good luck.Our build has been going for 15 months and is still not complete. I would advise you to choose a different builder, we have had so many issues and it has been the worst experience of our lives.

Hi Eight Homes, (Titled Land Regional VIC Wallan )From the initial deposit date, how long does it take for you to start the site?
2 answers
they'll start quick, get your money then stall. The house beside us is one of there builds' and nothing had happened to it for weeks on end, read the reviews mate, you're better off spending a little more, they pay for there reviews, should say enough with that aloneThanks mate, Switched to Metricon.

Similar listings