Alinta Energy

Alinta Energy

 Verifiedalintaenergy.com.au
Alinta Energy
1.8

1,537 reviews

PositivevsNegative
17% · 2681,238 · 81%
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • See all
    Thumbnail
Transparency
1.6
Customer Service
1.6
Rates and Fees
1.8

Reviews

1,537 reviews
Aledbob
AledbobSouth East Queensland, QLD5 posts
 

The incomitance could not get any worse here, how they are in business still is amazing!

What the actual? How do they expect to get customers? I was on hold for 10 minutes being told by the prompt I was the next in line throughout it only to have it ask for my message to call back and hung up on me. then when they call me back and I ask about a strange tariff they have on the plans I was looking at they told me 'it is a charge on the meter that should not be there but the computer says we have to charge you it as we have no idea how to remove it'. I was gob smacked. It was then that I noticed on the top of the plan they say it is no contract no lock in's etc and in the details at the bottom it says it is a 12 month contract! Seriously the worst I have dealt with in a long time. Show details
Get quotes
Looking for an Energy Provider?

Use our energy plans comparison tool

Start now
John L.
John L.South East Queensland, QLD
 
  • Thumbnail
Mark
MarkGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC20 posts
 

Bad customer experience

Where do I start...One of the most stressful and frustrating customer experiences I've ever had to suffer. All I wanted to do is switch my account from my name to my partner's name so we could take advantage of my partners pensioner's concession to receive a discount on our energy bills. Their processes are all about you and covering their proverbial bottoms. If they were serious about their customers they would design their business processes around the customer experience instead. I cannot believe they even put their employees through a process like that. Your business representative was only doing what she had been instructed to do, although she used the word 'awesome' so much it began to become quite annoying. Show details
Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Alinta Energy
Alinta Energy   DM   
More
Kanom
KanomMetropolitan Adelaide, SA52 posts
 

High bills

For two people who hardly use the stove the bills were surprisingly high. Also feel like you have no choice but to pay or you will be cut off. I’ll stick to Origin etc thanks Show details
Alinta Energy
Alinta Energy   DM   
More

Hi Kanom, sorry to hear you have received a high bill from us. If you'd like us to check your account and investigate this further, please send us a PM. Thanks, Kai

JoJo E.
JoJo E.
 

Alinta Energy

Alinta Energy is beyond expensive. Their prices only increase every month buy a ridiculous amount. I'm so glad I made the switch. There are so many less expensive options. Show details
Alinta Energy
Alinta Energy   DM   
More

Hi JoJo, I'm sorry you weren't satisfied with our offers to your address. I will raise this feedback to our team. If you have any further questions, query, or feedback, please let me know. Thanks, Kai

Get quotes
Looking for an Energy Provider?

Use our energy plans comparison tool

Start now
ramj
ramjGold Coast14 posts
 
Alinta Energy
Alinta Energy   DM   
More

Hi ramj, I'm so sorry to hear you had issues with your reading and with your correspondence from Customer Service. I'd like to check your account and investigate this further. I've sent you a PM to get more details. Thanks, Kai

leoniejb
leoniejb7 posts
 
  • Thumbnail
Karen
Karen7 posts
  Verified

Customer service…what’s that?

The gas meter reader seems incapable of opening a gate! I email them with the meter reading I took myself (they charged me a guess amount).They want all my confidential details in a return email to make sure it’s me - it’s not secure to do that! I give them my phone number to call me…no response whatsoever. They seem incapable to call too! Show details
Alinta Energy
Alinta Energy   DM   
More
Katie
KatieSouthern and Hills, SA5 posts
 

Fraudulently claiming rebates

Worst service, biggest screw around and waste of time. My concession was never applied, they always told me that it would be applied and back dated but it never happened. They're phone service sucks. I'm changing immediately, I've reported them because they're claiming my concession rebate but not applying it to my bill. FRAUDS. Never join. They're the worst company around Show details
Alinta Energy
Alinta Energy   DM   
More

Hi Katie, I'm sorry to hear you had a negative experience with our team in regards to your concession. We can work towards getting this one resolved for you. I've sent you a PM to discuss this further. Thanks, Kai.

Get quotes
Looking for an Energy Provider?

Use our energy plans comparison tool

Start now
Michael D.
Michael D.South East Queensland, QLD
 

over charged

Been with Alinta for for a few years now. We received a letter informing us our meter was being changed to a new smart meter at the beginning of this year!! This was eventually performed on 14/02/2024. We received a new power bill/invoice from Alinta on 8/03/24 which was only 52 days after the last bill/invoice which is not the usual billing cycle of roughly 90 days! This bill/invoice was 5 times what we are normally charged, so clearly I thought this was a mistake. I then spent two hours on the phone with two different people from Alinta, only to be told this was correct to the best of their knowledge and if I wanted to look into it further it would cost me another $120.00.
I will be changing suppliers ASAP. Show details
Alinta Energy
Alinta Energy   DM   
More

HI Michael, I'm sorry to hear you have issues with your recent bill with us. I'd like to investigate this further. I've sent you a PM to look into this further. Thanks, Kai

bewildered
bewilderedSouth East Queensland, QLD6 posts
 

NO employee I emailed, or spoke to, provided my Bill, as requested. Ineffective customer service

Alinta suffers from Poor customer service, lack of response to customer requests, ex.No Reply emails, ineffective telephone requests. My latest Alinta Electricity bill arrived by email - but the email was empty= No content. Submitted on line request for resend with all my correct details. Received another empty email. Waited on the phone to talk to a real person - turned out to be a waste of time. Alinta sent another empty email Bill. Rang and waited again - requested Bill by post. Waited 2 weeks = has not arrived. Incompetent bunch to deal with. I must have dealt with 4 Alinta employees and only to be frustrated by their incompetence. Show details
Alinta Energy
Alinta Energy   DM   
More

Hi bewildered, I'm sorry to hear you have a negative experience with our Customer Service team. I'd like to check your account and investigate this empty bill you have received. I've sent you a PM to get your details. Thanks, Kai

Kevin T.
Kevin T.Sydney, NSW
 

Alinta has no complaint space , Alinta's Betterdeal plan is no deal

I have chosen to leave my Alinta Betterdeal plan for a much better real deal with both my electricity and gas to separate companies . I got a message that they could not find my gas meter in an unlock laundry at the back of the building ? Then both bills where estimates that are both inaccurate .
Looked on Alinta's website to log a complaint and there is no where for complain .
Their facebock page is also a one way street . Show details
Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Alinta Energy
Alinta Energy   DM   
More
Moa
MoaSouth East Queensland, QLD2 posts
  Verified

Do the right thing and expose them

Be aware of this company scam and deceiving games. I was signed up for the HomeDeal Plane and that is what stating on my bill. However I found out I was getting charged the wrong rate and different from they advertise on their website and also on the government website (https://www.energymadeeasy.gov.au/). When I called them to fix it they says they use the same naming of the HomeDeal Plan but its different to the HomeDeal Plan I have. Show details
Alinta Energy
Alinta Energy   DM   
More

Hi Moa, thanks for reaching out an I'm sorry to hear you have incorrect rates on your bill. I'd like to check your account and investigate this further. I've sent you a PM to get more details. Thanks, Kai

Dan
DanSouth East Queensland, QLD3 posts
 

Alinta charge double your bill price if you don't pay on time

I have a bill that says Due Date 13 Mar 2024 = $268.80, or $522.06 if paid after 13 Mar 2024, how bad is that, in my opinion this is complete predatory behaviour for people who can't afford to pay. Absolutely disgusting. I don't care if this is due to some pay on time discount deal, this is disgraceful conduct. Show details
Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Alinta Energy
Alinta Energy   DM   
More
Shane H.
Shane H.4 posts
 

Error404

Your website keeps crashing oh btw Alinta blames me lock me out of my account.Not my internet service . Want to update My Electricity Account Details password fails. Show details
Alinta Energy
Alinta Energy   DM   
More

Hi Shane, thanks for reaching out. I'm sorry to hear you have issues accessing MyAccount. I'd like to check your account and assist you with MyAccount. I've sent you a PM to get your info. Thanks, Kai

Questions & Answers

Phill
Phill

Hi There, We are purchasing a house shortly and it has a reasonable Solar install.. We are assuming the system will generate significant credits to our future accounts… Will Alinta Energy refund that credit value back into our back account and what would be the process please..?

** Reading your current Solar terms and conditions its unclear and your older (2017) T’s&C’s (still linked to Google BTW) state that you don’t refund the solar credits at all..

Alinta Energy
Alinta Energy   DM   
Phill
Phill  

Many thanks for the confirmation, much appreciated

Alinta Energy
Alinta Energy   DM   

No problem Phill! -Kai

Mary M.
Mary M.

We received a text message to say our bill was overdue. Didn't get the email for bill. Attempted to call so many times because originally thought the text message was a scam. Bill was $208 payed 4 days late, still couldn't speak with a human and had to pay over double the original bill as a 'late fee'. 100%+ extra for 4 days is blowing my mind! Want the paper bills back so I can see the actual bill and not have it lost in spam email or have issues when my internet is down. Still haven't been able to speak to a human about all this!!!!

Alinta Energy
Alinta Energy   DM   

Hi Mary, thanks for reaching out. I'm sorry to hear you have a receive a high bill from us. I'd like to check your account and look into this further. I've sent you a PM to get your details. Thanks, Kai

mai
mai  
Lia
Lia

How can my electricity bill go from $200 to $300 a quarter a short while ago and now my new bill is $980?!?! And I have 20 solar panels! There better be a good reason for this outrageous gouging by Alinta!

Alinta Energy
Alinta Energy   DM   

Hi Lia, thanks for reaching out. Sorry to hear you have received a $980 bill from us, I'd like to check your account and look into this further for you. As this is a public forum, I've sent you a PM to get your details. Thanks, Kai

mai
mai  

Leave! The company is fraudulent and not Australian owned

See all Alinta Energy questions

Details

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.

©  ProductReview.com.au Pty. Ltd. All Rights Reserved. General disclaimer: All third party trademarks, images and copyrights on this page are used for the purpose of comparative advertising, criticism or review. This is a public forum presenting user opinions on selected products and businesses, and as such the views expressed do not reflect the opinion of ProductReview.com.au. Further details in the disclaimer.

NEW SERVICEFind the right energy provider

Compare, switch and save all in one place

Start Now