??!
1 photo
APIA Car Insurance - Comprehensive

APIA Car Insurance - Comprehensive

2.4 from 16 reviews

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
4
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
3
1 star
8

Unreliable computer system, never use again

published
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
See all answers

Dave Thomson

Dave ThomsonPerth, WA

  • 17 reviews
  • 25 likes

Awful Service

published
Customer Service
Timeliness
Transparency
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Car ModelToyota Prado J150 Altitude 4 Cylinder, 3 Litre
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateSeptember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
paul

paulhowrah tasmania

  • 9 reviews
  • 12 likes

Pleasant staff, very efficient.

published

Been with them 2.5 years, low prices, protected No claim bonus on both our cars. Partner went to their recommended repairer who unfortunately painted the rear bumper the wrong colour! [It was the original 6 yea ar old colour,but the car naturally had faded, & they did not match it. I did not notice until 2 months later.] Apart from that, they have been great.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Transparency
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateNovember 2018
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Scott Perkins

Scott Perkins

  • 30 reviews
  • 36 likes

Don’t bother

published

I had Car and Contents insurance with APIA had an incident when I went to claim with Contents made complaint I left to join NRMA and they are still taking money out of my account ? Dont go with APIA I made complaint all they could do was blame computer?

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Transparency
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
See all answers

Not Happy Jan

Not Happy JanGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

You Cost Us Money

published
Value for Money
Customer Service
Transparency
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateFebruary 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

rudy

rudyGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Terrific service !

published

Within days of lodging an on-line claim we were contacted by Apia and literally wheels were set into motion to repair the damage as soon as possible. Booked into the repairers a couple of days later. Dropped of the car, Apia organised Uber to the nearest Hertz rental to keep us mobile. Three days later and despite an overlapping weekend, I was called to say the car was ready. Once again Uber was waiting at Hertz to take us to the repairers, who offer a Life-time guarantee on the repair! The whole process was seamlessly with minimum of fuss. The car looked was perfect. Top rating for this service, which we think was value for money.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Transparency
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Car ModelVolvo XC60 MK.I D5 R-Design
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateJune 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

Michelle

MichellePerth, WA

Dishonest, Corporate greed at its finest

published

The only reason APIA specialise in seniors is to take advantage of the disadvantaged! They added a four hundred and fifty dollar door to a car accident claim taking it over the $3000 excess by $6 so they could write the car off and hence pay out $2300 an absolute rort. taking this to AFCA. They shoudn't get any stars at all. I feel like I'm living in Nigeria !!!
Insured since 2005 Bad value car goes down in value insurance price goes up
Moved to western QBE yesterday full comprehensive $480 per annum half the price
Stay Away

Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months

mallymuff

mallymuffMelbourne, Vic

  • 39 reviews
  • 22 likes

NOT HAPPY

published

My latest car insurance renewal from Apia is over $100 more than last year! I drive less than 2,000K/year, have never had a claim and have been with Apia for years. It feels like a greedy grab and I'm definitely not staying with them. The blurb they give you to qualify their upping the premium would probably never happen, they must think people come down in the last drizzle. :(

Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo

Premium ride up

published

This it fist year I was with APIA , but not happy when renewal increases more than$100 dollars with no claim ,my car value less then $8000 dollars from $35.000 to $24.000 no more with this insurance ./

Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Jenny T

Jenny TSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Excellent claims experience

published

I recently had to claim on our car insurance with APIA - was a minor accident but still worrying as we were concerned about getting things sorted, car in for repairs etc. We needn't have worried. From the time we submitted claim over the phone it was all handled efficiently by very helpful staff. The repair was done by a very good company (Capital Smart @ Seven Hills) & all went well. I am very happy with APIA & can recommend them for great claims action. Their premiums are very competitive but it really is more important that your insurer is prompt & reliable when you have to make a claim.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Transparency
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Car ModelHyundai I30
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateMay 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

Steve S.

Steve S.Launceston, TAS

Cannot fault the service - exemplary!

published
Value for Money
Customer Service
Transparency
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Car ModelLexus RX350
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateApril 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

gordon 22

gordon 22Peel, WA

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Don’t reward experience

published

Put a claim in for storm damage and won’t payout because water damage on van .had never leaked before event made out to be dishonest very rude.was told by assessor van was in poor condition and I was of aware of the leak.no water testing done .rewarding experience they say

Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateApril 2019
Claim ApprovedNo

Socrates

SocratesMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews

I had very good service with my car insurance claim.

published

I had to lodge a claim and it was in my opinion an easy and quite straight forward process, it was only minor damage to be repaired on our car but it was all done in 4 working days, I'm very impressed.
I have been with APIA for over 20 years and I will continue to stay with them because I'm a loyal customer and I have no reason to change insurance companies, thankyou to the staff at APIA.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Car ModelHyundai Accent LC
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateMarch 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

Chris S

Chris SIllawarra, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 9 likes

Do your research peoples!

published
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim ApprovedYes
Paul H

Paul HIllawarra, NSW

  • 12 reviews
  • 8 likes

Thought they could get by me with exorbitant renewal notice

published

Apia renewal was $850 and i shop around to compare the market. Compare the market research said woolies was cheaper but woolies insurance is owned by two brothers in South Africa. Budget Direct was next best so went with them. Just discovered they are owned by a African group also. Will change again next year. Budget total cost $520, better agreed value and 8000 klm limit

Value for Money
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Car ModelHolden Colorado RG.II
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
Xy guy

Xy guyCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 31 reviews
  • 20 likes

Shop around no customer loyalty with Apia

published

Have been with Apia since I got my new car in the beginning of 2014. Each year my car depreciated but up up up went my monthly insurance. Now it's become ridiculous. Called and got spoken to like I'm an idiot with excuses that didn't wash. Shopped around and got exactly the same insurance with another well known and respected insurer for $230 a year less. Apia, seriously, you should be rewarding customer loyalty, not punishing it. Never again.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Car ModelNissan X-Trail T31
Claim MadeNo
See all answers

See all APIA Car Insurance reviews

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions about APIA Car Insurance - Comprehensive but you can read 16 questions about APIA Car Insurance.


Get an answer from our members and APIA representatives

Details

CategoryRoadside Assistance Providers and Car Insurance
Contact Number 13 50 50
24-Hour Phone Contact No
Online Live Chat Yes
Other Insurance Types Offered Funeral, Health, Home and Contents and Travel
Coverage TypeComprehensive
UnderwriterAAI
Legal Liability Cover Included up to $20 million
Roadside Assistance Optional Extra
Reduced or Zero Excess Windscreen CoverZero Excess Optional Extra
Choice of RepairerAllowed
After Accident Care
Towing Costs Included
Hire Car after a No Fault Accident

Included up to 21 days

Hire Car after an Incident

Optional extra, up to $90 per day for unlimited days

Essential / Emergency RepairsIncluded up to $500
Emergency Transport & AccommodationIncluded up to $500
Benefits
Hire Car after Theft

Included up to 21 days

Child Safety Seats and PramsIncluded as part of Personal Property cover, up to $1,000
Lock and Key ReplacementIncluded up to $1,000
New-for-old Car Replacement

Earlier than 10 years old

Pay As You Drive / Fixed Kilometre DiscountNot Offered
Personal Property CoverIncluded up to a total of $1,000 (combined with Child Seats / Prams)
Trailer & Caravan CoverIncluded up to $2,000
Transit Cover Not Included
Uninsured Motorist Benefit Not Applicable
Accidental Loss or Damage
FireIncluded
Theft or Attempted TheftIncluded
CollisionIncluded
Malicious Damage / VandalismIncluded
Natural EventsIncluded
Compare all APIA Car Insurance

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.