?
? !
6 photos
Apricus 250ltr Tank

Apricus 250ltr Tank

2.8 from 37 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    2.3 (6)
  • Value for Money
    2.5 (6)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.0 (5)
  • Noise Level
    3.0 (5)
  • Temperature Consistency
    3.3 (7)
  • Heating Speed
    3.3 (7)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
Sharon K.

Sharon K.

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

No electric booster EVER

published

Purchased in November 2014 for $4,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Apricus
Apricus Product SupportApricus
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
EvoHeat EVO270

Looking for Electric Hot Water Storage Systems?

Read the reviews for EvoHeat EVO270

357 reviews
Ad
Barbara L

Barbara LNortheast, VIC

  • 2 reviews

Repair

published

Ros was exceptional getting the problem solved by diagnosing the fault and the speed of replacement parts to be installed by an Apricus plumber Graham who was very efficient.. well done to you all..

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Apricus
Apricus Product SupportApricus
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Worst hot water system I have ever installed

published

Purchased in February 2014 for $5,100.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Apricus
Apricus Product SupportApricus
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Solar Water Heaters

Find out how Apricus 250ltr Tank compares to other Solar Water Heaters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Reliable and huge savings on gas

published

My summer gas bill dropped from about $40 (actual usage) to $5 after getting this system. It is elevated above my solar panels, so made good use of my roof. The temperature is perfect at all times of the year (it does have a booster). I've used it since May 2014 and am very happy. It wasn't cheap to install, but it makes a big difference to household carbon emissions.

Purchased in May 2014 at G Store.

Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
See all answers
1 comment
Apricus
Apricus Product SupportApricus
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ted Scullin

Ted ScullinSouth-East, TAS

Service

published

Great system, great service , Ros at Apricus back within hours with answers to my service problem, contact Phil Hniat and job done in just one day, system now running better than any time in my experience.
Most impressed.
Ted
White Beach

Build Quality
Incentivised ReviewNo
1 comment
Apricus
Apricus Product SupportApricus
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Great support from Apricus

published

I had my tank for 9 years, when I found that it was leaking and rusted I called Ros, Head Office. NSW
Ros quickly organised a replacement tank and arranged for transport. Helped me find a plumber, (Passive Plumbing) really professional bloke.
Great job, very happy.
Thanks Ros.
Wendy
Melbourne.

Incentivised ReviewNo
1 comment
Apricus
Apricus Product SupportApricus
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
EvoHeat EVO270

Looking for Electric Hot Water Storage Systems?

Read the reviews for EvoHeat EVO270

357 reviews
Ad
Ian

IanGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

My Apricus 11+ Y/O Unit back into action

published

My 11+ year old Apricus pump and controller for my Apricus solar-tube system was finally on the blink and Amy Sears gave excellent advice on what needed fixing, enabled me to easily order and pay for the necessary spare parts and followed up with excellent advice on a repair person, giving welcomed follow-up to ensure the tradesman arrived, ensuring too that he also had the parts that had been ordered and paid for. The work was quickly and skilfully completed by the recommended plumber, Darren Bride, who certainly knows his way around the Apricus units. I am happy to recommend both Amy and Darren for their help and service with the repairs necessary for my unit.
Ian, Glen Waverley, Vic.

Purchased in October 2009.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size3 person(s)
1 comment
Apricus
Apricus Product SupportApricus
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

TRIED IT BUT GOING BACK TO DUX

published

Lived in same house for 30 years - Dux Hot Water System lasted 21 years! Apricus System lasted 9 years! Warranty 10 years but not honoured. You judge for yourself. We're going back to Dux.

Purchased in February 2010 for $4,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Jim

JimMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

A waste of time and money !!

published

I bought a 250lt / 22 tube unit, all were installed by an Apricus recommended Licensed Plumber with the installation inspected by the Apricus supervising plumber within the first 12 months. I have had nothing but trouble with these units and recently submitted a warranty claim as the manifold has developed a leak (4 years old). Now I'm informed my warranty is void because both plumbers who inspected the units had not insulated the connection to the manifold. Apricus is a complete waste of time and money.

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in September 2015 at Reece for $3,460.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
2 comments
Apricus
Apricus Product SupportApricus

Thank you for your review Jim. It is outlined within the Apricus installation manual that insulation is required all the way to the manifold casing. This is required especially in frost prone areas.

Jim
Jim
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Solar Water Heaters

Find out how Apricus 250ltr Tank compares to other Solar Water Heaters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Les

LesGippsland, VIC

Problem solved

published

Hi I hereby fully reciprocate the last review I posted on this site in regards to my 40 tube apricus solar hot water system. I’d have to say I thought it was a total heap of crap up on my roof it’s taken nearly four years to get it sorted until the plumber showed up and told me there was a faulty batch of copper tubes inside the glass ones, since replacing those under warranty the thing is smoking free hot water no gas at all and it’s autumn loving it it’s full steam ahead from here on in go apricus

Purchased in January 2015 for $6,000.00.

Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
1 comment
Apricus
Apricus Product SupportApricus

Thank you Les. We are pleased you are experiencing optimal solar gain with your Apricus Solar Hot Water unit. Ensure your controller and pump have active power to provide frost protection.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

My collector panel is a dud

published
Date PurchasedMay 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Waste of money

published

Get an apricus if you want cold showers. Waste of money. I’m actually furious. Years of ridiculousness and issues. Anyone interested in a class action??? Nearly everything has broken and I don’t know how many Luke warm and cold showers I’ve had to endure. Ridiculous ridiculous ridiculous ridiculous ridiculous.

Date PurchasedMar 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
EvoHeat EVO270

Looking for Electric Hot Water Storage Systems?

Read the reviews for EvoHeat EVO270

357 reviews
Ad

Very disappointed

published

I have purchased 5 Apricus hot water systems, and have had nothing but trouble with them. The tubes clogged up within the first two months, even tho the company told me they were suited to our water. We have had to run acid through them to clear the pipes which eventually rotted the tanks...tanks were replaced by the company only for the same thing to happen again. They are now being replaced with Solahart closed circuit systems.

Date PurchasedNov 2013
1 comment
Apricus
Luke M.Apricus
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

I'm happy with my Apricus hot water

published
Date PurchasedJune 2016
3 comments
Apricus
Luke M.Apricus
lucia
lucia

Hi Luke McKay,
If more Australian Businesses were as committed as Apricus in taking responsibility and fixing warranties Australian Businesses would florish!

Kind Regards Lucia

lucia
lucia
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Lully

LullyBindoon

HWS excellent - service abysmal!

published
Date PurchasedJan 2016
1 comment
Apricus
Luke M.Apricus
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Solar Water Heaters

Find out how Apricus 250ltr Tank compares to other Solar Water Heaters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
SteveB

SteveBMid North Coast, NSW

  • 25 reviews
  • 34 likes

Poor quality components with poor quality warranty

published

Our controller failed after 14 months of use, I rang Apricus and was advised that the controller only has a 1 year warranty period, Apricus refused to assist in any way. Our next door neighbour also has an Apricus Solar System and he said that his controller also failed within the same time frame. I can only assume that the components in the Apricus Solar Hot Water System are of poor quality as the warranty period would reflect.

Date PurchasedSept 2016
1 comment
Apricus
Luke M.Apricus
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Stav

Stavgold coast

Apricus do not stand by their warranty

published

My advice as a plumber, is do not buy apricus. I installed a system in my home and the tank failed within the 5 year warranty time. Apricus claim the anode should have been replaced within 3 years and used a warranty document written several years after my purchase, despite the warranty document supplied at time of purchase having no such clause (fine print). The agent I purchased the unit from approached Apricus on my behalf, with a similar rejection. My plumbing supplies manager approached the Apricus rep 3 months ago on my behalf and is still waiting for a response. My strong advice as a consumer and plumber is do not deal with a company like Apricus who do not honour their warranties. Go anywhere else!

Date PurchasedJune 2011
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Angry

AngrySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Problem System

published

Evacuated tubes explode when being fitted into manifold...2 already...not trying anymore...obvious problem with the manifold...apparently not covered by warranty...cost a few thousand to purchase...looks like we have wasted our money. We have an incomplete system on our roof but according to Apricus we are not losing much by not having a complete system...not the point.

Date PurchasedMar 2017
1 comment
Apricus
Luke M.Apricus
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
EvoHeat EVO270

Looking for Electric Hot Water Storage Systems?

Read the reviews for EvoHeat EVO270

357 reviews
Ad

Running Hot

published

Some time ago consultant Shane King assisted via the phone our plumber to repair our Therman heating unit. Whilst doing this he advised making several adjustments to the settings of the unit.
These changes have greatly improved the efficiency of our unit. There is consistent hot water regardless of overcast periods throughout the day .We always thought the unit was excellent but thanks to Shane it is even better.

Port Douglas

Date PurchasedAug 2012
1 comment
Apricus
Luke M.Apricus
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Beware!

published

Beware of Apricus, on an average they are an ok company just like all the rest. But they have a bad reputation for not honouring their warranties, they will try every trick they can to swindle you out of your claim WHEN something goes wrong with your system. and it will happen. make sure you do your research before signing up with them.

Date PurchasedJan 2009
1 comment
Apricus
Luke M.Apricus
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 2
See all Apricus Solar Hot Water System reviews

Questions & Answers

finnagain

finnagainasked

250ltr Tank

Hi, I have had my Hills system for about 8 years and have been fully satisfied, but lately the |Collector sensor alarm| has lit up, followed by the internal relay clicking on off on off etc.many time, starting and starting the pump again and again.
I that a new one or do you know what does it.
it stops for hours but will recour, but only during day
Thank you for your advice, if possible Stelmach@ozemail.com.au

2 answers
G. Hi
G. Hi

Is your controller located in direct sunshine Our Solarstat one did this until i shifted it to a more shaded position on the wall Had no more problems since

finnagain
finnagain

No, tried that too, I bought a new controller for 330 dollars, but that one only lasted a month before the relay started "hacking"

I had 8 years of perfect service from it but now it is a bottomless pit for wasting money and no comeback

kwc

kwcasked

250ltr Tank

Why does the apricus hot water tank pressure release valve leak? I am a single person household and all the installer tells me to expect a bit of leaking because I am not using enough hot water . 12litres in 7days is a waste. He says take more showers, come home from work and have a shower. Would not recommend this system to anyone. Very disappointed.

4 answers
Jules
Jules

There is always a build up of pressure whenever the hot water cylinder is being heated as water expands when heated . All hot water systems do this whether they are solar, gas or electric. We have the same system and we have a large bucket under the outlet and put it on the garden occasionally (cooled!). I have found that most of the leaking occurs during the electric boost phase. Not sure where you are but if you are in a warm climate you could probably turn off the booster to save a bit of power and water.

Peter
Peter

I agree with Jules. Hot water expands when heated & pressure builds up, so a relief valves lets the excess pressure out. Some solar panels have a PR (pressure relief) on the collector unit on the roof. Hot pressure is blown off out of sight on to the roof & down the gutter etc. What I'm told is the Apricus System relies only on the PR valve attached to the storage tank. Mine does this occasionally too. The water in a solar system gets very hot in summer like a kettle & something has to give. Therefore you have to expect a leakage of water in extreme conditions. 12 litres is a lot so if this persists maybe the PR valve is suspect and should be changed. If the leakage is now & then on hot days or boost do what Jules suggests, put it on the garden when cooled.
Peter

kwc
kwc

Thank you both for your response. I live in Port Macquarie NSW Australia. Since I have had this system I have not used the Booster and the leaking is still constant and continuing. I even had a visitors and that day there was a total of 4 showers had, still leaking. For a country that is trying to be more energy efficient and encourage residents to be more energy efficient, this system does not do that. Would it reduce the leaking if several of the solar tubes were disconnected?

Pari

Pariasked

250ltr Tank

I would like info on a 250 Litre Hot water system that is solar ready with high energy rating with a performance of 25 RECs to pass the BASIX for a single bedroom granny flat. It has to be electric rather than gas as it is a dwelling for a physically handicapped person. Also delivery charges if any? Also warrant details besides the cost of the product and manufactures details including model number withABN number and also if solar to have an electric boosted system. This is for the Construction Certificate. I do plan to have solar panels and hence this may help in the long term electricity bills. pari.jay@bigpond.com

2 answers
Brendan
Brendan

G'day Pari. Probably the best way to get a quote or information would be through the www.apricus.com.au website - have you tried that?

Pari
Pari

Yes, I am exploring options thanking you and thank God Jesus for your reply.

See all Apricus 250ltr Tank questions

Get an answer from our members and Apricus representatives

Apricus 250ltr Tank

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.

EvoHeat EVO270

EvoHeat EVO270

357 reviews
Ad