??!

Reviews

(60)
(10)
(2)
(4)
(44)
  • Value for Money
    4.3 (27)
  • Transparency
    4.0 (16)
  • Customer Service
    3.7 (25)
Peter

PeterPerth, WA

Bloody useless

published

This policy turned out to be not worth one cent. Arrived in China a week before the virus was public knowledge. Had to buy additional tickets at $6000 to get family home, Singapore Air refused refund on dishonoured travel, had to stay overnight in HK and again in Melbourne on the way home to Perth. Not one cent was covered by this "comprehensive international" policy - neatly covered by policy exclusions. Absolute crap policy - these are the reasons people buy travel insurance; its not an exclusions game.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEast Asia (e.g. China, Japan, South Korea)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateFebruary 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult and Child
See all answers
MAREE

MAREEMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 3 reviews

Unable to contact Australia post insurance

published

I have used Australia post insurance for many trips and have been very happy
As I’m about to go on another trip in 4 weeks I have been unable to contact Australia Post Insurance dispute phoning on 5 occasions waiting over 3 hours on hold
Have also sent an email with no responses
Would just like to speak about my cover and the Coronavirus
I understand they are busy at the moment but how do I contact them ????

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForSenior
See all answers
1 comment
MAREE
MAREE

I have now received an email from Australia Post travel insurance regarding my policy
Thank you for getting back to me

Bribie 3

Bribie 3South East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Very eficient and very helpful

published

We have insured with Australia Post previously but this was our first experience in making a claim. The staff were very helpful, with Registered Nures telephoning us on two occasions while my wife was receiving medical assistance during our Thailand trip. They provided guidance and advice to ensure my wife was fit to travel s well as advice to ensure we had necessary reports to support our claim for medical expenses.
We could not have asked for more helpful advice. Our claim was settled very quickly once we submitted the supporting documentation upon our return.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimMedical
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateFebruary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Insurance Cover ForSenior
See all answers
Travel Insurance

Find out how Australia Post Travel Insurance compares to other Travel Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Allan

AllanMid North Coast, NSW

Claim for wife's visit ships doctor

published

Lodging claim was very simple online & was resolved within the time frame of 10 days. This is my first time with Australia Post Travel Insurance. But will not be the last.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationNew Zealand
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimOther
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
Wendy

WendyCentral Queensland, QLD

Peace of Mind Travel Insurance

published

Policy was very good value for money and I listed pre existing conditions in original application.
A migraine on our cruise on a US ship cost us more than our cruise. Travel insurance paid out our costs. Will use them again,

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimMedical
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
Jenny Momirovska

Jenny MomirovskaGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Never use this company

published

Post office travel insurance have caused me nothing but stress. I was diagnosed with cancer 4 days before I was due to travel. I sent in all the appropriate information regarding the diagnosis. The company has sent a form to my doctor asking for my full medical history. Surely me sending the results of my tests along with pictures confirming the diagnosis would be enough to say that i was unaware that i was sick when I took out the policy. My trip was booked for the end of September and I have still not been reimbursed and don't know when I will. Never again post office travel insurance.

Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateOctober 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
4 comments
Australia Post
Priscila L.Australia Post
Jenny Momirovska
Jenny Momirovska
Australia Post
Priscila L.Australia Post

So sorry about this Jenny, have you been in touch with them recently to find out what's going on?

Priscila

Libby

LibbyMid North Coast, NSW

Exceeded our expectations

published

Having planned our overseas trip over 12 mths ago, we had very unexpected news only 5 days into our trip! My husbands father had passed away suddenly. We had to return home, leaving two thirds of our trip uncompleted. We submitted our claim through our travel agent & we received a full refund for the unused portion of our trip. Australia Post Travel Ins kept us well informed as to where our claim was up to & settled our claim quite swiftly. We have used them a couple of times now & would not hesitate to recommend them. Thank you Australia Post Travel Insurance

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationNorth America (inc. Hawaii)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateSeptember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
1 comment
Australia Post
Priscila L.Australia Post

Thanks so much for sharing Libby!!

Priscila :)

Phillip L.

Phillip L.

  • 3 reviews

What a bunch of damn scammers!

published

Despite the fact that my claim was legitimate and totaled over $250, these butt wipes only accepted the claim as being $137. which they took $100 of for excess! Damn thieves!!! I will never insure with these lying, thieving fools again. Don't use them!!

DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
Nannie R

Nannie RNorth Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

Exceeded our expectations

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEast Asia (e.g. China, Japan, South Korea)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimMedical
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateNovember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Insurance Cover ForSenior
See all answers
2 comments
Australia Post
Priscila L.Australia Post

Thanks so much for taking the time to share this with us. I'm so glad it was such an easy process and please do tell your friends and family!

Priscila

Nannie R
Nannie R

Absolutely Priscila. We will be singing your praises from the rooftops.

Travel Insurance

Find out how Australia Post Travel Insurance compares to other Travel Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Petg

PetgGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Travel claim

published

We were very happy with this insurance. Our claim was considered and paid in a timely manner. They were understanding and easy to deal with. Would highly recommend this insurance.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimMedical
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim ApprovedYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
1 comment
Australia Post
Priscila L.Australia Post

Thanks for taking the time to share your review with us Petg, great to read that you were happy with this, tell your friends and family :)

Priscila

Steve Y - ExArmy

Steve Y - ExArmyGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Fantastic - Easy to Obtain before Travelling, Easy to Claim and Claim Processed Quickly

published

Highly Recommend - Great Value
The policy was easy to obtain online before travelling overseas.
It was very easy to submit a claim online upon my return and the claim was processed quickly.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationNew Zealand, North America (inc. Hawaii) and Pacific Islands (e.g. Fiji, Vanuatu)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimMedical
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateOctober 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
1 comment
Australia Post
Priscila L.Australia Post

Thanks for your review Steve, it means a lot :)

Priscila

Ivan

IvanSouth East Queensland, QLD

The Australia Post multi had no insolvency cover . beware Claim suited to Cover more . Excess $250 instead of $100.

published

Yes at first it was easy. Deceptive. Claim sent to Cover more . No info to me. Double excess . Paid half claim.cannot contact them. I have gone to the Ombudsman now.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimLost/Stolen Property
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateSeptember 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
Insurance Cover ForSenior
See all answers
1 comment
Australia Post
Priscila L.Australia Post
Grandma

GrandmaWestern District, VIC

Great Service - A Complete Surprise

published
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateSeptember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Insurance Cover ForSenior
See all answers
1 comment
Australia Post
Priscila L.Australia Post
austpost

austpostMurray Region, NSW

Misrepresentation australia post are not a travel insurance company

published

I purchased this insurance from auspost travel insurance because of their reputation little did I know I would be shunted of to a company like 'covermore".
I gave my medical details to someone purporting to be from auspost I paid my money to someone purporting to be from auspost but when I had a claim where were auspost nowhere to be seen I was to my shock and horror dealing with covermore. A Company in the news for all the wrong reasons and I would suggest struggling for business having to trap customers under the auspost banner
Never again with aus post for anything and absolutely never covermore.
So beware just make sure who you are dealing with

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
Sleaf1

Sleaf1Brisbane

  • 21 reviews

Good value, prompt refund

published

I have used this insurance many times when travelling. It is good value. For the first time, I had to make a small claim (medical). Process for refund was quick and simple (all online). Refunded with no problems shortly after. Would recommend.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimMedical
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateJuly 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
1 comment
Australia Post
Priscila L.Australia Post

Thanks for the great review, glad to hear making a claim was an easy and quick process!

Priscila :)

Travel Insurance

Find out how Australia Post Travel Insurance compares to other Travel Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jane

JaneHobart, TAS

Swift Response

published

We had to cancel an interstate trip due to illness. The only delay was due to me not submitting the medical certificate correctly. Once Australia Post received it we had no problems. Thanks for the swift refund.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationAustralia
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimMedical and Travel Delays/Cancellations
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Insurance Cover ForSenior
See all answers
1 comment
Australia Post
Priscila L.Australia Post

That's awesome to hear Jane, hope your trip can be rescheduled though some time in the future though :)

Priscila

Robert Gardiner

Robert GardinerSouth-Eastern Region, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Insurance where you get what you paid for.

published

Excellent product. We've used Aust. Post travel insurance for a number of years but this is the first time we've made a claim - two, in fact, one a minor medical claim and the other for a replacement suitcase after the existing one was irreparably damaged by baggage handlers. The claims process was straight forward and both claims accepted and finalised within ten days. In an age where insurance claims are contested more often than not, this was a very pleasant surprise. We highly recommend Aust. Post travel insurance.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEurope and North America (inc. Hawaii)
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
1 comment
Australia Post
Priscila L.Australia Post

That's great to hear Robert, thanks for sharing this with us! Tell your friends :)

Priscila

Fast response

published

Customer services and claims are very fast and easy. When you have got panic from overseas travel they will help you. highly recommend to everyone include my friends as well :)

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimPersonal Liability
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateJune 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult and Child
See all answers
1 comment
Australia Post
Priscila L.Australia Post

Awesome to hear that we were able to take the stress away whilst you're travelling, please spread the word and enjoy your holiday.

Priscila

Greg

GregSouthern and Hills, SA

  • 3 reviews

Never Again - you will need to take out insurance to protect you from their nsurance policy.

published

Decided to try Post Office Insurance. Usually use Covermore. Our trip to Sri Lanka was cancelled by Trip A Deal who credited our trip along with the cost of the Visas. This was after the Aust. Government issued a level 5, dont travel to Sri Lankawarning. However Post Office Insurance refused to credit of deter our Travel insurance because we had passed our cooling off period. We didn't travel as a result of having the trip cancelled, if we did travel and were injured as a result of the civil unrest, according to the contract, we would not have been covered. Also, try ringing their contact number. Good luck with the excessive wait.
Would never consider using again.

Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimCar/Rental Hire Excess
Insurance Cover ForSenior
1 comment
Australia Post
Priscila L.Australia Post
Cat S.

Cat S.Wide Bay-Burnett, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Still waiting

published

Submitted a claim on April 1 as my former partner and father to my children died suddenly. We had a house to empty, a funeral to arrange and grief to deal with so did not take our trip. Despite my former partner not being on my policy or part of my trip, his death has sparked an investigation into his medical history and AusPost want full access to his medical records. I don't understand how this is relevant. I went with AusPost as the price was good and I worked for them at the time. I would not recommend them as Travel Insurers.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim DateApril 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
2 comments
Australia Post
Sami M.Australia Post
Cat S.
Cat S.

This was two weeks ago Sami and I have not heard anything.

Page 1 of 6

Questions & Answers

Sue B

Sue Basked

Because of the Australian Government has advised against International Travel we will not be leaving on our planned holiday in May. Can we get a refund of our policy which we no longer need? We took the Policy out over 6 months ago!

No answers
Fiona M

Fiona Masked

We are looking at changing the dates of our travel and are wanting to know how we go about changing our travel dates with Australia Post travel. We are not due to leave until May and took out the policy 3rd Jan 2020. I have rang Australia Post and waited for over an hour last week with no update on how long my wait could be on the line. Is it just a matter of waiting on the phone for hours until you get through? Are date changes even possible? First time overseas traveller and would appreciate any advice .......

2 answers
MAREE
MAREE

They don’t appear to pay cancellation fee
Contact airline as the are being helpful
Emirates let uS change date and cruise as well
Just lost a couple of no cancel hotels
Contact your travel agent
Hope this has been helpful

MAREE
MAREE

Email them for a better response

Carol

Carolasked

Travel Insurance - International Comprehensive Plan

Hello we have a trip planned for 27.3.20 to Bali. We took out your comprehensive international travel insurance on the 28 of February 2019 yes 2019 not 2020.
Can you please tell me what courage I have please if I contract the virus while in Bali or if I get isolated in hospital and have to delay my flights home.
If Australia closes the boarders and makes us wait a couple of extra weeks in Bali is our a accommodation food and return air fairs covered under this policy I understand you are busy at the moment but I have been trying to contact you by phone everyday this week
Thank you
Regards
Louise

2 answers
MAREE
MAREE

We are only covering any medical expenses that you may incur in the event that you do contract the Coronavirus while travelling overseas and you incur medical expenses due to treatment at a medical facility or medical centre.
Not sure if you have the same insurance as us but above is the correspondence I received from Australia post
As it turned out our cruise was cancelled and will get refunded and were able to change flights to later in year .Just lost out on a couple of non refundable hotel bookings
Hope this helps

Carol
Carol

Thanks for that

Get an answer from our members and Australia Post representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.