??!
6 photos
BMW X3 F25

BMW X3 F25 (2011-2017)

xDrive20d, xDrive30d, xDrive20i, xDrive28i
3.9 from 31 reviews

Reviews

(12)
(10)
(4)
(3)
(2)
  • Build Quality
    3.0 (4)
  • Value for Money
    2.8 (4)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.8 (4)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (4)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.0 (4)
  • Handling
    4.5 (4)
  • Braking
    4.8 (4)
  • Suspension
    4.0 (4)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.0 (4)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.5 (4)
  • Interior Design
    3.8 (4)
  • Boot Size
    3.5 (4)
  • Features
    3.8 (4)
  • Comfort
    4.0 (4)


Robert

RobertGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 4 reviews

WORST CAR EVER BUILT!

published

Purchased in January 2013 at BMW Dealers for $100,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2013
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Sh1984

Sh1984South East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews

Excellent SUV - Just brilliant

published

Purchased in August 2016 for $62,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Amit Batra

Amit BatraGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 4 reviews

awesome-feel drive

published

I own this car just over a year and I am in love with it--I use it mostly over the weekends as a family car--Love driving it--though it is SUV but feels like a sedan-I am simply in love with car and highly recommend everyone--Love the panoramic sunroof--SUV but compact !!

BadgexDrive20d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017
Muzz

MuzzMelbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

BMW X3 30d an unassuming rocket!

published

I have now owned my BMW X3 30d for 6 months
Performance is 5 star, absolutely fantastic, super quick for a diesel.
The fuel efficiency is excellent when driven sedately.
Finish and ergonomics are perfect
Road noise is present but I believe my tyres may be the culprit.
I have given the BMW X3 4 stars, it deserves 5 stars but price is the only negative.
I forgot to mention the fun factor when pulling away from the lights leaving many fancy pants vehicles in your rear view mirror!!

BadgexDrive30d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2018

terrywang

terrywangSydney, NSW

  • 11 reviews

Sporty Firm Ride mid-sized entry-level luxury X model SAV/SUV

published

Purchased in July 2015.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Anwar Hassa

Anwar Hassa

  • 2 reviews

Very satisfied

published

Great car. Drives very well with good control. Loads of features and Diesel engine gives great mileage. I tried Merc GLC but I found it a bit delicate ( not my type). The sporty version looks a bit sturdy. I am happy with this car. I might go for a bigger engine next time.

BadgexDrive20d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2016

Terrible Quality Seat Covers

published

We purchased a new BPW X3 in July 2012. We wanted to buy leather seats but we were advised by sales staff that manmade leather the default was equally good and hard wearing. Seat cover started cracking in June 2015 (just before warranty expired). Seat cover was replaced by BMW under warranty.
Now in 2018 February Seat cover again has same problems. The standard seat covers supplied with a premier car does not even last three years. It is shocking to see such poor quality material being used by a leading luxury brand car in Australia.

BadgexDrive20d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2012

Rab

RabAdelaide

  • 4 reviews

Best car ever

published

Best car we ever brought. Very comfortable and has enough leg room. One of the best features it allows is the pre conditioning where you turn the ventilation of your car on via your mobile before you get to the car, making he temperature inside the car to better suit you. very friendly staff at Adelaide BMW.

BadgexDrive20d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2014
C L

C LSydney

  • 6 reviews

Great operational single driver

published

Performance of BMW is unquestionable. IT IS THE ULTIMATE DRIVING MACHINE!

handling is probably the best in its class. very good in maneuvering. just a noise reduction is not as good as the merc.

been using this X3 since July 2013. I would say it does everything quite good.

the only downfall is BMW didnt provide comfort shock or what they call adaptive something which makes the car runs comfortable for bumps.

other than that, amazing 4WD compact car!

BadgexDrive20d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2013
Cass

CassMelbourne

Some good features, expensive to run, customer service is very disappointing

published
BadgexDrive20d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2013

J R

J RMelbourne

A Great Team at Hawthorn BMW

published

I love my X3, and a big THANK YOU to Chris, Matthew and Christo at Hawthorn BMW for providing excellent service when purchasing my X3. The BMW seats are so comfortable, and I am thrilled with the panoramic sunroof. The bootspace is perfect for my needs. I was able to purchase 10 year fixed price servicing pack, which is a real bonus, given I tend to keep my vehicles for a long time.

BadgexDrive20i
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2017

NotAHappyCustomer

NotAHappyCustomerAU

  • 10 reviews

Incredibly good car

published

We've had this for 15 months now, replacing our previous X5 and complementing our 320d. It is an ideal size, although rear luggage space isn't as good as the X5.

Driving dynamics are excellent, and being able to switch between Comfort and Sport is ideal when you have two drivers who have very different driving expectations.

The 2.0d engine is very fuel-efficient and refined, although I still prefer the rougher yet slightly gutsier (yet older) 2.0d in my 3-series. The 2.0 turbo petrol (28i) would also be worth a look - this is a cracker of an engine in the 3-series.

My partner liked our X5 but dislikes my 3-series, being an M-Sport version. Although the X3 is an M-Sport, we both find it an excellent compromise.

BadgexDrive20d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2016

Symbol57

Symbol57Sydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 13 likes

Think Carefully Before Choosing

published
BadgexDrive30d Lifestyle
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2016

Sporty & responsive

published

Performance: The drive modes are accurate, quick change of modes, very responsive in Sport mode
Likes: Lots of driver assist and safety features, cruise control is smooth, seat memory is useful.
Dislike: GPS lacks speed warning, No dash cam, possible suspension calibration issues as you feel road contour
Costs: 10.7 l for 100 Kms, not bad, not great.

BadgexDrive20i
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2017
euwy

euwyeuwys@hanmail.net

  • 13 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great SUV

published

BMW X3 handles well but a little soft around corners. the interior is well build but design is rather simple.
legroom is very good even in the back seats. diesel engine means very good fuel economy but you do feel the
diesel gruff whilst stationary. Go for the panoramic sunroof as it is huge !

BadgexDrive20d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2014
Chola

CholaWollongong

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Muscular was a word used often in its presence, partly because of its lower stance and aero pack

published

The driver has a fantastic view out from the high-set seat, with plenty of adjustment from both the steering wheel and perch. The big central screen and big instrument pod are all easy on the eye and simple to use.
Six airbags, ABS, brake assist, brake force distribution, stability and traction controls, rollover sensor all add up to five ANCAP stars.

BadgeXDrive25i Lifestyle
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2013

swriz

swriz

  • 5 reviews

No regrets!

published

I am a convert! Not a big fan of BMW outlook to start with, but fell in love during our test drive experience. The comfort and effortless driving pretty much sell itself. Use the corporate program to get 5 years free servicing and warranty. So far it's been great, can't fault the car in any ways!

BadgexDrive20d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2016

Puneet Nanda

Puneet Nandasydney

  • 4 reviews

Spacious and Quiet Luxury Mid Size SUV

published

-Very quiet interior, good and dynamic handling along with great cornering ability
-dashboard isnt great but apart from that very spacious and comfortable interior
-very economical
-very good clearance
-excellent technology i.e heads up display and safety functions
-good colour options
-electric heated seats are the best
-panoramic sunroof is also a nice addition

BadgeXDrive25i Lifestyle
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2017

A Z

A ZGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

good car

published

good car, I did a lot of research before purchasing this car. HUD is an amazing feature. i have a white one. the color looks amazing too. leather seat is good. and it is very quiet when it is on eco efficiency mode. when it is switched to sports mode, it is very fast.

BadgexDrive20i
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2016

Craig28

Craig28AU

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great engine. Pity the rest of the SUV doesn't match it!

published
BadgexDrive30d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2015

Page 1 of 2

See all BMW X3 reviews

Questions & Answers

Sandy

Sandyasked

Hi I want to purchase bmw but what x1 or x3. Also which engine to pick as petrol ones are cheaper but economy is not great. How do cost to do Service

No answers

Katherine

Katherineasked

How do you take the brakefilter from a bmwx3 30d?

1 answer
terrywang
terrywang

What is a break filter? Brake system includes brake pad, rotor, wear indicator and brake fluid, etc.


NorwestErgo

NorwestErgoasked

Hi, anyone else had a problem with the carpet wearing adjacent to the left heel/foot rest, driver's side. My car is only a year old X3 Sports. I am female and wear flat shoes or soft wedged heels for driving.

4 answers
Rich
Rich

I can’t comment on my X3 as it is too new. With my 1 series BMW there was certainly wear on the carpet mat after 2 years in the location you describe on the drivers side. This also occurred in my Mazda. I think it is just a common wear issue. If it gets unsightly you could replace the mat. Or if you don’t have mats you could grab them from your BMW dealer.

Tim Johns
Tim Johns

I had exactly the same wear at the same location, which is replaced later under warranty. The wear has occurred less than a year after I bought the car brand new. I did not drive the car hard either, nor wearing shoes with spiky sole.

NorwestErgo
NorwestErgo

Thanks Tim. I notice you are based in Sydney - any chance you used BMW Sydney at Alexandria. They are saying they have never seen this fault before and it is not a warranty issue. very interested that you had it replaced under warranty.


Get an answer from our members and BMW representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.