??!
1 photo
Budget Direct Comprehensive Travel Insurance

Budget Direct Comprehensive Travel Insurance

2.5 from 117 reviews

Reviews

2.5

117 reviews
5
(36)
4
(9)
3
(1)
2
(3)
1
(68)
  • Value for Money
    2.7 (82)
  • Transparency
    2.5 (79)
  • Customer Service
    2.4 (76)
Previous
Next
MR T

MR TSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Total joke - lies & more lies - class action worthy for sure !

published

Your travel insurance is pathetic just like your customer service. I will never ever use Budget Direct for anything again. Removing all my policies and spreading the word to as many people as possible about your disgraceful treatment of customers. Useless is too kind. Your complaints process is broken as well. Negative stars from us.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimOther and Travel Delays/Cancellations
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateApril 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult and Child
See all answers
2 comments
Budget Direct
Budget Direct A.Budget Direct
MR T
MR T

Sorry but this is a waste of time. Another classic Budget Direct Robotic reply. Sad all round service really !

A class action lawsuit needs to be filed against Budget Direct Travel

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationNorth America (inc. Hawaii)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim DateMarch 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
1 comment
Budget Direct
Budget Direct A.Budget Direct
CHAPPY

CHAPPYSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

WORST TRAVEL INSURANCE EVER ! DELIBERATE DELAY TACTICS

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEurope and South America
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateMay 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
4 comments
Budget Direct
Budget Direct A.Budget Direct
CHAPPY
CHAPPY
Budget Direct
Budget Direct A.Budget Direct
Travel Insurance

Find out how Budget Direct Comprehensive Travel Insurance compares to other Travel Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Waste of space- never insure with this mob

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimOther and Travel Delays/Cancellations
Claim DateMarch 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
Phil

Phil

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Call centre gave misleading advice.

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEast Asia (e.g. China, Japan, South Korea)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult and Child
See all answers
1 comment
Budget Direct
Budget Direct A.Budget Direct
Karen

KarenWarnervale

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Buyer beware

published

I purchased travel insurance from budget direct, i lost a bag containing 2 cameras and some other items on the last leg of a 10 month trip. BD would not pay as they claim i left the items unattended because i did not pick the bag up when getting off a train. That is called losing something!! Never again would I use budget direct.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationAfrica, Australia, Europe, Middle East and North America (inc. Hawaii)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimLost/Stolen Property
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateMarch 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult and Child
See all answers
1 comment
Budget Direct
Budget Direct A.Budget Direct
glynintassie

glynintassieBarrington

  • 4 reviews
  • 6 likes

Don't bother asking for advice about your cover. You won't get any.

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateJune 2020
Insurance Cover ForSenior
See all answers
5 comments
Budget Direct
Budget Direct A.Budget Direct
glynintassie
glynintassie
Budget Direct
Budget Direct A.Budget Direct
Bill Fox

Bill FoxSouthwest, VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 5 likes

Check reviews/payouts before you buy

published

Finished with BD as they simply don't pay out for legitimate claims. Planned to travel to Vietnam with other veterans for our first re-union in 50 years no won't happen. Travel firm won't pay up Budget Direct won't pay up - insurance sector needs royal commission. Read reviews closely - paid out on 14 claims - refused 43 as against Seniors who paid out 17 refused 1. Cancelling other policies based on their shocking performance.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimOther
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateApril 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
3 comments
Budget Direct
Budget Direct A.Budget Direct
Bill Fox
Bill Fox
Bill Fox
Bill Fox

After very rude emails from your claims section I sent a considered response to your IDR committee and got the same refusal in different excuses. I hope readers check your ratio of refusals. Back to ACCC.

Caroline M.

Caroline M.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Awesome

published

Buying insurance was easy and fast. They were extremely competitive and were cheaper than anyone else. When making a claim it was efficient, simple and hassle free. Definitely will use them again whenever we travel again.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationNorth America (inc. Hawaii)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimOther
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateJuly 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult, Child and Teenager
See all answers
1 comment
Budget Direct
Budget Direct A.Budget Direct

Hi Caroline, thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are pleased to hear about your entire experience with our travel insurance, as this is our aim.

Travel Insurance

Find out how Budget Direct Comprehensive Travel Insurance compares to other Travel Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

So disappointing

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEast Asia (e.g. China, Japan, South Korea)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim DateApril 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
2 comments
Budget Direct
Budget Direct A.Budget Direct
Monique D.
Monique D.

We have asked for a review.

harleyglass

harleyglassSydney, NSW

Pathetic, wasted time, rude customer service

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEast Asia (e.g. China, Japan, South Korea)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateMarch 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
1 comment
Budget Direct
Budget Direct A.Budget Direct
Ian M.

Ian M.South East Queensland, QLD

Deliberate Delay Tactics, Broken Promises and Unethical Review Process.

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationAfrica
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim ApprovedNo
Insurance Cover ForSenior
See all answers
2 comments
Budget Direct
Budget Direct A.Budget Direct
Ian M.
Ian M.

Pathetic

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationNorth America (inc. Hawaii)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateJuly 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
1 comment
Budget Direct
Budget Direct A.Budget Direct
Luke

Luke

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Perpetual waiting and broken promises

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationNorth America (inc. Hawaii)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimOther
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateMarch 2020
See all answers
1 comment
Budget Direct
Budget Direct A.Budget Direct
Craig O.

Craig O.South East Queensland, QLD

Like all of Budget Direct insurance, great until you claim

published

Travel insurance PDS clearly covers for pandemics and confirm by phone. The prior to cancelling they confirmed by two separate phone calls. When it comes to claiming they don't respond, delay and then deny on obscure clauses. I have never made an insurance claim in 25 years, a loyal customer of any insurance company. I had other insurance with budget direct but why would you bother if you can't claim when needed. I do not recommend them to my worst enemy. I hope people keep reviewing dealings with them and not just the cheap price.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
See all answers
1 comment
Budget Direct
Budget Direct A.Budget Direct
Travel Insurance

Find out how Budget Direct Comprehensive Travel Insurance compares to other Travel Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
parrott_ice

parrott_iceMelbourne

  • 13 reviews
  • 18 likes

stay clear

published

UPDATE- Today, 29/07, Budget have informed me that my claim has been rejected on the grounds that i didnt accept an alternative flight (which didnt suit) and/or i didnt take a credit note (which i didnt want) . Take note Budget, people have long memories.
As with travel agents, budget travel insurance is dragging its heels in assesing insurance claims. Have provided info more than once but they keep asking for the same info. My elderly father is waiting for money both from Flight Centre (another ripoff) and budget direct for over 3 months. Hard earned down the drain. Once bitten....

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedNo
Insurance Cover ForSenior
See all answers
1 comment
Budget Direct
Budget Direct A.Budget Direct
Karen D

Karen DSydney, NSW

Disgusting, never ever use this company

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateMarch 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
2 comments
Budget Direct
Budget Direct A.Budget Direct
Karen D
Karen D
Ruth

RuthSydney, NSW

Do NOT recommend!!! Lied to by staff!!!

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateMarch 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
2 comments
Budget Direct
Budget Direct A.Budget Direct
Ruth
Ruth

Thanks, have just sent an email now. Looking forward to your response.

Daisy

DaisySydney, NSW

terrible, customer service lied to me

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEast Asia (e.g. China, Japan, South Korea)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateMarch 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
1 comment
Budget Direct
Budget Direct A.Budget Direct
Nicholas

NicholasSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Very disappointing Service

published

Terrible service, no communication on the progress of claim, unprofessional customer service ethics towards their customers. They don’t follow their own PDS , which leaves them open for legal action. Call center staff are rude. Terrible claims service. Still waiting for claim outcome that I lodged in March .

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimOther
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateMarch 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
7 comments
Budget Direct
Budget Direct A.Budget Direct
Nicholas
Nicholas
Budget Direct
Budget Direct A.Budget Direct

Hi Nicholas, thank you for your response. We do appreciate your feedback and our aim is to respond/communicate within a timely manner and we are sorry that this was not the experience you had.

Page 1 of 6
See all Budget Direct Travel Insurance reviews

Questions & Answers

NICK

NICKasked

Comprehensive Travel Insurance

Why do you advertise and con people about your comprehensive policy when in fact it is not comprehensive at all. It basically covers nothing.
The con artist who owns Budget Direct should be behind bars.

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Budget Direct representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.