??!
4 photos
Delonghi Nespresso Essenza Mini

Coffee Pod Machines Buying Guide

A coffee pod machine makes quick, cheap coffees daily. In this guide we help you decide whether a coffee pod machine is right for you, and share the best coffee pod machines in 2020.

Read now

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.6 (21)
  • Value for Money
    4.5 (20)
  • Ease of Use
    4.8 (21)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.5 (21)
  • Noise Level
    3.0 (4)
  • Product is used
  • Consistency
    4.8 (16)
  • Milk Frothing
    4.7 (7)
Previous
Next
Bettyw

BettywCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 2 reviews

Great coffee maker

published

This is a great little coffee maker, maybe even a tiny bit small if you drink lots. The footprint is small enough to hide anywhere and the pod catcher is designed to drain the excess water out before storing used pods for disposal.

Purchased in July 2020 at The Good Guys for A$195.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
See all answers
Tyler T.

Tyler T.Sydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Perfect for us coffee lovers

published

I really enjoy this mini coffee machine. Easy to use and clean and is small and compact that it sits tucked away on the kitchen bench not standing out like an eye sore or taking up too much space. The price point is fantastic if your looking for an affordable, low maintenance machine. The only thing I had to buy separately was a milk frother as we prefer cappuccino style coffee opposed to black, however not a necessity if you wanted to heat milk up in the microwave. Would highly recommend.

Purchased in December 2019 at The Good Guys for A$100.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
See all answers
Alison Y

Alison YMid North Coast, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Morning necessity

published

Purchase the mini after our last coffee maker retired itself.

We had heard some hype around Nespresso and decided to purchase one.

Thankfully we purchased at a special deal where a number of free capsules were provided on redemption - excellent. The free glasses and coffee mug where also appreciated and now greatly used.

The coffee is quality and we love that we can send the capsules back to be recycled.

Ordering is a breeze and super fast. We live in a regional area and the last delivery was ordered on a Sunday and delivered the Tuesday afternoon - totally blown away.

The only con, is that the milk frother is very slow.

Purchased in September 2019 at Harvey Norman for A$199.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
See all answers
Capsule / Coffee Pod Machines

Find out how Delonghi Nespresso Essenza Mini compares to other Capsule / Coffee Pod Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
stuff

stuffCanberra 2600, ACT

  • 24 reviews
  • 14 likes

Nice small machine that effortlessly makes a nice cup of coffee

published

Purchased in November 2019 at The Good Guys for A$114.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Consistency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
See all answers
Family

FamilyGippsland, VIC

  • 9 reviews

Luv luv luv it

published

This machine makes one mean coffee. We use a variety of pods compatible for Nespresso which allows a real variety. We use it at home and great size for our caravan.

Purchased in July 2019.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Consistency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
See all answers
Dipa K.

Dipa K.Sydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Love it

published

The coffee tastes great and I am saving money every day.
I loved it some much.
The only down fall is how noisy this little guy is. But all in all a great machine

Purchased in April 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
See all answers
Gokhan D.

Gokhan D.Sydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Very Compact

published

It doesn't take up too much kitchen space. There is 2 functions espresso and lungo. It also came with a milk frother which does the job very well.
There was a promotion which nespresso gives 100 free pods via redemption which influenced me in purchasing it

Product is usedDaily

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Jlaw1968

Jlaw1968Melbourne

  • 8 reviews
  • 3 likes

Fast and convenient

published

I am so glad I purchased this coffee machine. It works so fast and makes a decent cup of coffee. The machine itself doesn't take up too much bench space, its actually quite compact. This machine came with the milk frother (aerrochino) so that was super helpful and complimentary to have with this machine. It takes less than 4 minutes to make a coffee which is great for those busy mornings when you need to get out the door. Once I'm done with the pods I will scoop out the coffee grounds to compost/repurpose and recycle the aluminium. You can collect the used pods and return them to a Nespresso store for recycling.

Purchased in August 2019 at Amazon for A$109.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
See all answers
Wayne F

Wayne F

  • 3 reviews

Great Coffee Machine

published

This is a great little coffee machine...and I mean little. The small size is one of it's greatest appeals and it hardly takes up any space in the caravan. We really like the coffee it makes and the compatible pods are easily available from the major supermarkets. It is extremely easy to use, quick to heat up and simple to maintain. I highly recommend this machine.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
See all answers
Capsule / Coffee Pod Machines

Find out how Delonghi Nespresso Essenza Mini compares to other Capsule / Coffee Pod Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mardi

MardiSydney, NSW

  • 20 reviews
  • 8 likes

Great Machine

published

I bought this machine (with frother) a couple of weeks before Christmas. Had another cheaper machines before this but wasn't very impressed. This one I love, small enough to take away in the caravan, and when not in use, store in a kitchen drawer. Great coffee. The temperature is just right. I mainly use for a long shot. I don't use the drip tray as the clearance is not enough for an average cup, but if I have to sacrifice that for a very compact machine, I don't really mind. Love, love this machine.

Purchased in November 2018 at Peter's of Kensington Online store for A$169.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
See all answers
Valerie

ValerieCanberra 2600, ACT

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

No more café prices for me!

published

Makes a great cup of coffee comparable to any coffee shop.
2 Programmable sizes or choose a different amount per serve.
The frother can either heat, heat and froth, or just froth (cold milk) so it's great for hot or iced chocolate or coffee. Comes with a selection of 20 Nespresso coffee pods.
Doesn't take up much counter space.

Purchased in July 2019 for A$111.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
See all answers
Ms. Maternal

Ms. MaternalBunbury

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Brilliant little pod machine

published

This is a great, basic and affordable machine. It takes an espresso sized cup with the drip try on or you can easily remove the drip tray and use a full size cup. Very simple but good quality machine. The coffee and temperature are consistent. Easy to clean and refill the water tank.
A big pro for those who are low waste or Heath conscious is that this machine is compatible with sealpod - a stainless steel reusable pod that is (available to purchase separately) has benefits for your health and the environment.
Very happy with this purchase.

Purchased in July 2019 at The Good Guys for A$119.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
See all answers
Linda

LindaSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 32 reviews
  • 22 likes

Great so far

published

Great little machine so far. So much smaller than aldis and producers hotter and nicer coffee. Love the nespresso pods trial pack that comes with it. Great for small kitchens/caravans

Purchased in July 2019 at Myer Retail Stores for A$104.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Consistency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
See all answers
Peter

PeterSouthwest, VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Easy and affordable

published

I got the nespresso coffee machine for my partner for our anniversary. I am not a coffee snob but have found the taste and quality comparable to any coffee i get from a cafe. Easy to use and virtually no cleaning required. Generic brand pods are no worse than the official branded ones

Purchased in April 2019.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Alice

AliceCentral Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews

Convenient

published

My coffee machine is perfect for my house as it is conveniently sized to tuck away in the corner of my small kitchen. The best coffee machine I’ve bought in a long time.

Purchased in June 2016 at Nespresso Shop for A$199.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedSeveral times a week
See all answers
Capsule / Coffee Pod Machines

Find out how Delonghi Nespresso Essenza Mini compares to other Capsule / Coffee Pod Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Peter

PeterPerth, WA

  • 19 reviews
  • 6 likes

Good value

published

Good value. Does not take much space on the benchtop. Also looks modern and classy. So far so good and no issue at all. The only downside is no milk dispenser.

Purchased in October 2018 at The Good Guys for A$110.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Consistency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
See all answers
ZWint

ZWintMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 3 reviews

I love this little machine

published

I purchased one for my work place and what an investment!
The coffee tastes great and I am saving money every day.
I loved it some much I then purchased one for home.
The only down fall is how the pods are not biodegradable and how noisy this little guy is. But all in all a great machine

Purchased in September 2019 for A$100.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Consistency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
See all answers
Dave

DavePalmerston, NT

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Great coffee machine for its price

published

Very reasonably priced small compact simple and makes a nice brew' can be a little noisy 1st thing in the morning though but.....meh, plenty of pod flavors to choose from and quick heating time but the tank is a little on the small side ( i seem to run out pretty quick :-D do love a good coffee is prob why ) and when you open the refilling lid the tank tends to slip out of it's mount...... not a big problem doesn't leak or anything just something i noticed" Overall not a bad machine deff 8/10 for it's price n practability.

Purchased in April 2019 at The Good Guys Physical store for A$99.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Consistency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
See all answers
AndyB

AndyBGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 8 likes

Great Coffee Machine

published

I was always hesitant in buying a Nespresso machine because I thought the coffee wouldn't be that great. After spending over $100 a month on take-way coffee, I decided to get one of these for my office at work. Love it! The machine will have paid for itself after a month and a bit, plus the coffee pods are cheap enough if you get them via Nespresso. There are also Nespresso compatible pods in the supermarket that are a little cheaper, but I don't know what they're like.

Overall, very happy with my purchase of this little machine (even more so because I got it on sale at JB Hifi).

Purchased in January 2019 for A$119.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Consistency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
See all answers
hotkiwi

hotkiwiPerth, WA

  • 43 reviews
  • 26 likes

Great machine to take on trips

published

Being fed up with the powder coffees in hotels we now always have this tiny great coffee maker with us. It is a great and reliable machine. It makes phantastic coffee, especially with the (overpriced) Nespresso capsules. But they taste the best, admittedly. Just make sure please you recycle the capsules. Nespresso also has great customer service. We dropped the water container and it had a big teat. On eBay you can order a new container for 59$, but if you are member of the Nespresso club (free) you have advantages. They sent us a new water container without any cost to us. Wel done Nespresso !

Purchased in April 2018 at Nespresso Shop.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Consistency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedMonthly
See all answers
Page 1 of 5

Questions & Answers

Adel

Adelasked

Nespresso Essenza Mini

What kind of capsules are compatible with the Essenza Mini (De Longhi) and the Citiz? Can I use reusable pods and third party capsules (other than nespresso capsules) on the Essenza Mini (De Longhi) and the Citiz?

Basically, I'm trying to find the major differences between both machines and I don't really see a major difference but when it comes to capsules, maybe I can save money in the long run, so any advise?

No answers
Jazmyn K.

Jazmyn K.asked

Nespresso Essenza Mini EN85WSOLO (White)

Is this machine only compatible with Nespresso coffee capsules?

1 answer
Chris H.
Chris H.

and all compatible pods
https://shop.coles.com.au/a/coburg/everything/search/Compatible-with-Nespresso

David

Davidasked

Nespresso Essenza Mini EN85WAE (White,Aeroccino 3)

When I remove the water tank to fill it up, it leaks from the bottom outlet. Can I only refill the water tank by pouring water into it using a cup/jug?

1 answer
Bettyw
Bettyw

Mine doesn’t leak when I remove it from the base, sounds like a dud....

Get an answer from our members and DeLonghi representatives

Details

What reviewers liked most about the DeLonghi Nespresso Essenza Mini:

  • The Essenza Mini’s minimalist design made it a shoo-in for kitchens with limited benchtop space, while the lightweight design meant it could easily be moved to different rooms in the home and office. Some reviewers bought an Essenza Mini for their caravan, and one even took it on holidays with them to substitute for the sachet coffee in hotels.
  • The ability to produce a consistently good, café-quality cup of coffee was lauded by reviewers
  • Easy to use, with the convenient bonus that the Essenza Mini works really fast. One reviewer attested to this, saying, ‘It takes less than 4 minutes to make a coffee, which is great for those busy mornings when you need to get out the door.'
Compare all 4 Delonghi Nespresso Essenza Mini
CategoryCapsule / Coffee Pod MachinesCapsule / Coffee Pod MachinesCapsule / Coffee Pod MachinesCapsule / Coffee Pod Machines
Price (RRP) A$249.00A$249.00A$249.00A$249.00
Pump Pressure19 bar19 bar19 bar19 bar
Input Power1,150 W1,150 W1,150 W1,150 W
Water Tank Capacity0.6 L0.6 L0.6 L0.6 L
Colour / FinishRedWhiteLime GreenWhite
Dimensions 205 x 110 x 325 mm205 x 110 x 325 mm205 x 110 x 325 mm205 x 110 x 325 mm
Weight2.3 kg2.3 kg2.3 kg2.3 kg
Capsule CompatabilityNespressoNespressoNespressoNespresso
Milk FrotherSeparateSeparateSeparateSeparate
Heat-up Time 25 seconds25 seconds25 seconds25 seconds
Auto Shut-offYesYesYesYes
Shot FunctionsEspresso and LungoEspresso and LungoEspresso and LungoEspresso and Lungo
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)
Compare all 4 Delonghi Nespresso Essenza Mini

  • MPN: EN85SAE

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.