??!
5 photos
Dyson Big Ball
3.6 from 93 reviews

Vacuum Cleaners Buying Guide

Our buying guide will explain which type of vacuum cleaner would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Reviews

(35)
(25)
(8)
(10)
(15)
  • Build Quality
    4.0 (17)
  • Value for Money
    3.6 (17)
  • Ease of Use
    3.9 (17)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.1 (16)
  • Product is used
    • Several times a week (8)
    • Weekly (6)
    • Rarely (2)
    • Daily (1)
  • Noise Level
    3.9 (15)
  • Pet OwnerYes (10) · No (7)
  • Clogging Issues Yes (0) · No (17)
Gloria

GloriaAU

  • 15 reviews

Very powerful

published

We have always had ducted vacuum so we wanted a powerful vaccum. after reading several reviews chose to buy Dyson Big Ball. We have been very happy with it so far, we have a large house so quite a bit of vacuum is required every week. We only vacuum on carpet as we usually prefer to sweep the floor.

Purchased in January 2020 at ALDI for $349.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
CM

CMIllawarra, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Beware if you have wooden floors!

published

Dyson barrel vacuums with the ball are great on carpet. BUT they are terrible on wooden floors once the swivelling ball underneath gets a bit worn - about 12 months. Once worn, the ball produces scuff marks all over the wooden floor. Will never buy one again.

Purchased in February 2016 at The Good Guys for $700.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet, Tiles and Wood
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
2 comments
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson
CM
CM

I already reported it to Dyson in Sydney. They had no interest.

Geoff

GeoffSouth East Queensland, QLD

Ouch, that really hurt!!

published

Purchased in June 2019 at Harvey Norman for $450.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet, Tiles and Wood
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
1 comment
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson

This is certainly not what we would expect any Dyson Owner to experience.

Please forward your details and a link to this review to our Dyson Experts via auaskdyson@dyson.com and we will be in touch very shortly.

Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Dyson Big Ball compares to other Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Disappointed!!

published

I had it for a couple of months and one of the ball covers came off. Couple weeks later the other side fell off. Can’t fix or put the covers back on as they are held on by plastic clips. Huge waste off $699. The suction is crap opposed to my 10 year old Dyson.
Dyson, you have lost this consumer. I got excited when I saw the garbage truck tip it in the back and drive away.
Miele all the way!!!

Purchased at JB Hi-Fi for $699.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
1 comment
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson

A Dyson at last

published

I bought the Big Ball Origin to use on my tile and carpet floors. The suction is great on both surfaces and we are really happy with it. Much better than cheaper models from other brands previously used.

Purchased in January 2020 at ALDI for $349.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
Joel J.

Joel J.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 5 reviews

Best Vacuum I have owned.

published

Really like this vacuum, this is my first Dyson. Super convenient to use, the collector bin empties out to trash without a hassle n without getting your hands dirty. Incredible suction and cleans really well.

Don't keep looking at other vacuums go get yourself one! Worth every Dollar.

Purchased in April 2019 at Bing Lee Online store for $349.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet, Tiles and Wood
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
Matt R

Matt RAU

  • 21 reviews
  • 1 like

I am so happy with my Dyson

published

I have always wanted a Dyson and over the years I’ve seen friends and family use there’s and loved the style and quality of the brand. I’ve just purchased mine and used it about 4 times, I’ve found that the suction is fantastic and the amount of attachments included is sufficient for my townhouse. I’m surprised at the amount of dirt and dust it picks up... makes me wonder how much I might be breathing in!

Purchased in August 2019 at Myer for $399.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Wood
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
Goodorbad

GoodorbadPerth, Western Australia

  • 17 reviews

some improvements

published

Purchased in November 2018 at Harvey Norman for $799.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
1 comment
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson
Vida

Vida

  • 4 reviews

A SUPER SUCKER!

published

My Dyson BBO is a fantastic unit and super is the operative word used in describing it. It’s so easy to assemble and sucks up everything in its way that I vacuum over, it’s lightweight and so super quiet. It’s a super sucker and I just love using it!

It’s on par with my Dyson DC19 that I had for 14 years. The Dyson Big Ball Origin is a must buy if you’re looking.

Thank you Dyson for a fabulously hassle-free, no nonsense unit and thank you BigW for the sale price I paid for it, only $399.00.

Purchased in July 2019 at BigW for $399.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Dyson Big Ball compares to other Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
John Scott

John ScottTIMBOON

  • 6 reviews

WONDERFUL MACHINE

published

Used for carpets and skirtings and window sills to remove debris built up. Love this machine, have had it 7 years or so and bought the Animal stick to use daily.

Purchased in July 2013 at Appliances Direct Online for $799.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
jenikiwi

jenikiwi

  • 3 reviews

Dyson Dynamite

published

Used tiles and carpet on this machine. Cleans perfectly on these surfaces, really sucks well on the carpets. If it tips over it rights itself. It is a heavier machine, but it does not deter from its performance. Deftly empties when you wish to empty it. Great too for vacuuming your car.

Purchased in July 2019 for $229.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
jenikiwi

jenikiwi

  • 3 reviews

Dyson Big Ball

published

First time user. Loved it. Was curious to see what everyone was raving about. It is a heavier machine. But I prefer to at least carry it rather than pull it to save wear and tear on the hosing. Cleans well, so easy to use. Woth the weight

Purchased in July 2019 for $229.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
Katho

KathoAU

  • 9 reviews
  • 2 likes

For great for me

published

I find this vacuum is too big and does not work well on my wooden floor boards. I find I have to lift the head up of the vacuum to pick crumbs up otherwise it will just push them around the floor. Carpet is performs a little better however I much preform a cordless. My vax cleaned my floor 100 times better than this dyson. It is now stored in my cupboard and only gets pulled out occasionally when i can be bothered to lift it up and drag it out!

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Rarely
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet, Tiles and Wood
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
lisamarie8

lisamarie8Illawarra, NSW

  • 14 reviews
  • 2 likes

Love my Dyson

published

I absolutely love my Dyson Bill Ball Origin vacuum.
It performs wonderfully, has great suction, corrects itself if it topples and finds dirt no matter what.
It comes with all the necessary attachments, looks stylish and is not too heavy
It is great for all surfaces and is not too noisy.

Purchased in July 2019 at Bing Lee for $399.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
DMK

DMKNew South Wales

Damaged wooden floors

published

So dissapointed in this vaccuume, its scratched our wooden floors since day 1. Contacted customer care and was told it wasnt specifically for wooden floors (its a vacuumme, what else will I be doing with it than cleaning floors?!) and I'd have to pay for another attachment that won't damage my floors! What a crock! Terrible customer service!! Will be taking it back for a refund and never buying Dyson again

Purchased in January 2019 for $350.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Product is used Rarely
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Wood
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Dyson Big Ball compares to other Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Josey L.

Josey L.

  • 8 reviews

Excellent vacuum cleaner

published

I never looked back once I went Dyson. Great suction, great design, totally deserve the dollars spent. I recommend the wired one as you don’t have to count down the time the battery will run out.

Purchased in March 2018.

Maree

MareeGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 5 reviews

I love vacuuming now!

published

Great vacuum, makes vacuuming the house seem like less of a chore. Great suction, no smell and it doesn’t blow dust in the air which means I don’t have to open the windows to air the house. Great for people with allergies.

Purchased in February 2019.

Kamel

KamelSydney, NSW

  • 15 reviews

Good vacuum

published

Very good suction the vacuum is a bit heavy but other than that no complaint filter easy to clean doesn't need cleaning more than once a year easy to empty dust .

Purchased in November 2016 at Harvey Norman Electronics Physical Store for $750.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
Tracey

TraceySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 9 reviews
  • 20 likes

Major safety hazard. Should be recalled

published

Purchased in January 2019 at Harvey Norman for $399.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Daily
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
1 comment
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson
Kamel

KamelSydney, NSW

  • 15 reviews

Good vacuum

published

The suction is great as I mentioned before but like I predicted the wand is not strong enough it's leaking air from most joints and the lower one that connects to the floor attachment cracked I had to glue it but it's not gonna hold it's like buying a Ferrari but all the inside is plastic .

Date PurchasedNov 2016
1 comment
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson
Page 1 of 5

Questions & Answers

Sandra Robinson

Sandra Robinsonasked

Big Ball Origin

I have a Dyson Big Ball and while it sucks ok without the head on as soon as i put the head on it blows!! I end up with dirt spread all over the floor and none in the vacuum. What is the solution to this?

1 answer
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson

Hi Sandra,

Thank you for reaching out.

Based on this, it sounds like there is a blockage or restriction in airflow through the machine which can cause this to happen.

For a Big Ball Origin, please remove the floor tool and thoroughly check the airways for anything caught prior to retrying the machine.

If you aren't able to locate any blockages or we can assist further, please reach out to auaskdyson@dyson.com and our Dyson Experts will be more than happy to assist further.

Best wishes,

Shan
Facebook.com/Dyson

Get an answer from our members and Dyson representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.