??!
2 photos
Dyson Cinetic Big Ball Allergy

Dyson Cinetic Big Ball Allergy

MPNs: 214891-01 and 36262391
3.3 from 122 reviews

See the Best Barrel Vacuum Cleaners in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
39
4 star
26
3 star
11
2 star
20
1 star
26

Mitch B.

Mitch B.Perth, WA

Waste of money

published

Had an old school Dyson years ago and have fumbled our way through a myriad of cheaper alternatives for about 10 years.
Latest purchase was a Big ball allergy - quietly Hoping for quality once again.
Alas, it’s rubbish- outer wheel cover snapped off within 4 weeks. Persevered without it as needed a vacuum cleaner and now the head just flicks crap everywhere and it doesn’t pick anything up. $5 dustpan from BUNNINGS would out perform it.
Now the warranty cycle begins. More cheap plastic crap on the market, trust eroded.

Purchased in April 2019 at RetraVision for $499.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Wood
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
1 comment
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson

Sharon C.

Sharon C.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

The Best ..Have had so many!

published

Everyone has their thing, mine seems to be vacuums, 2 story house with carpet. Have had a couple of Volta's which were ok a Dyson DC08 which seemed to have little suction after awhile.. This one is great (purple model) It is a bit loud and the cat runs a mile but is 10/10. The design makes it easy to use on a staircase as is not bulky. Def recommend!

Purchased in February 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet, Linoleum, Tiles and Wood
Clogging Issues No
See all answers

I wish I could like it, but it's really poor!

published

Purchased in April 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Daily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet, Linoleum and Tiles
Clogging Issues Yes
See all answers
Frank

FrankRichmond-Tweed, NSW

Dyson Review for barrel vacuum cleaner

published

WARNING – WARNING – the ball wheel will BREAK OFF if pulled around wall corners and catches or catches on furniture. If left un-repaired, it will scratch hard surfaces.
This has happened twice over 2 years [once by myself and the other time by a helper] and for a $700+ machine there is a design flaw in that the half spheres on either side of the units are held on by a flimsy plastic fitting.

Their selling ploy is “”Steers easily around obstacles and follows without the awkward moves””” I suggest this is false advertising
Frank
7 May 2019

1 comment
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson

Karen k

Karen kSouth East Queensland, QLD

Don’t buy one!!!!!

published

Bought the Dyson last week, so disappointed. The head is hard to use on tiles, it’s stiff to push. Not like my old Dyson. Also the attachment does not have as strong suction, as old model. Contacted Dyson they told me to buy a a hand stick, I was hoping for a replacement, The person I spoke to had no idea what she was talking about. What a waste of $699. So frustrated.

Purchased in February 2019 at The Good Guys for $699.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Noise Level
Product is used: Daily
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
1 comment
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson

Lalistar

Lalistar

  • 13 reviews
  • 4 likes

Won't be buying Dyson again

published
Date PurchasedMay 2018
1 comment
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson

Megan Easton

Megan EastonAU

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

Excellent all round! Highly recommended!

published
Date PurchasedOct 2017

debcoopz6

debcoopz6sydney

I'm very frustrated with my Dyson Ball

published

My Dyson ball vacuum does not vacuum forwards, ie I can only vacuum is by pulling the vacuum back (not forward). I am very frustrated with it. I have cleaned out everything and know there are no blockages. Would appreciate the answer to why my vacuum can't vacuum forwards on my carpet.

Date PurchasedMar 2017
1 comment
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson
Mary Ellul

Mary EllulGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 5 reviews

Can’t live without this vacuum

published

Absolutely love it, it does an excellent job! The suction is fantastic on both carpet and tiles. I only have to vacuum once a week and my house stays clean. This vacuum is also easy to clean. What can I say, I am a happy customer. Its a bit pricey bout worth the money.

Date PurchasedJan 2014
Quest kings

Quest kingsEdwards town

  • 4 reviews

Should have bought a chapter brand

published

We got this because we needed it for allergys but it hasn't made much a difference and could have spent a lot less on a cheap brand one that would do the same job. The only thing is great is the sucktion power but we still have allergy issues so hasn't helped with that

Date PurchasedApr 2017
1 comment
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson

Brad

BradNowra NSW

  • 13 reviews
  • 2 likes

Dismal, disappointing and to many flaws! :(

published
Date PurchasedDec 2017
1 comment
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson

Two years And That Is The End Of This Disaster.

published
Date PurchasedOct 2016

Chris

ChrisPerth

False advertising

published

I am taking these guys to consumer affairs.
The ad says “engineered for allergies” we literally left the doctors after receiving results oh being highly allergic to dustmites to purchase this machine. We searched for the best money could by and forked our $799 of our hard earned on this new machine. The ad claims to “hygienically eject the dirt” however all we have found is to be covered by dust every time we open it. Have had it serviced, have had it checked, have had a replacement dust bin sent out yet this continues to spit dust. Looking forward to a full refund being awarded by consumer affairs after they enticed the purchase with false claims.

Date PurchasedDec 2016
2 comments
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson
Chris
Chris

Hi Mira, we are well beyond pleasantries, the ACCC will be in touch.
Just ensuring future customers are well informed.
Kind Regards,


Melisa

MelisaWest Beach

  • 4 reviews

Double the dirt holder than our old vacuum

published

Our old unknown name brand vacuum died last year so on the hunt for a new one we went and decided to buy this one as it holds double the amount of dirt and dust than our old one did. We went ball because we have extremely sharp corner walls turns and it works very well

Date PurchasedMay 2017
Roger

RogerSydney

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

Good but not convenient

published

It is a bit heavy. The suction seems good but not easy to maneuver. Emptying the dust is not easy to use. You have to use something to take out the rubbish out of it. I bought it for dust allergy, i have just two normal size rugs. But not really sure specifically good for dust allergies.

Date PurchasedMay 2018
Sami

SamiSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 5 likes

Terrible save your money

published
Date PurchasedApr 2018
3 comments
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson
Sami
Sami

Your customer service is as good as the machine ! What a waste of time contacting you, you were no help whatsoever.

Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson

Disappointing...

published
Date PurchasedJul 2016
1 comment
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson

Shirley Marjanovic

Shirley MarjanovicSydney, NSW

  • 14 reviews
  • 6 likes

Can’t live without my Dyson vacuum cleaner!

published

I am so grateful to have found this vacuum machine as it has a great suction on it and picks up everything as I have two special needs children and cats that require me to vacuum everyday! It’s so light to use as I have bulging discs and can’t lift heavy things! Even my boys can use it as it’s light enough to carry around as I have a large two story house with five bedrooms house. It’s great on floor boards and rugs! It’s very quiet and very easy to manoeuvre. I would recommend everyone to buy one to use. Thank you Dyson!
Shirley Marjanovic

Date PurchasedMar 2018

Glen Barns

Glen BarnsMelbourne, Vic

  • 4 reviews

Great vacume cleaner

published

Our kids love this vacuum cleaner. The only issue we have is the cord after a while goes back inside on its own but only by a small amount. The kids think it's funny looking like a snail but hay it gets the job done and they use it too it's that easy

Date PurchasedApr 2017
1 comment
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson

mouse

mouse

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Worst vacuum iv'e had.

published

Big ball allergy Dyson vacuum is good for 2 minutes, my house is not dirty but a little dust accumulated at the back will stop my vac from sucking. I have a small three bedroom house and have to empty it about 10 times very frustrating. Not worth the money we paid. Taking it back to domayne where I bought it.

Date PurchasedMar 2018
1 comment
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson

Page 1 of 7

See all Dyson Cinetic Big Ball reviews

Questions & Answers

Robert

Robertasked

We have a dyson cinetic big ball allergy ... the power head has just stopped working. We have dismantled and reassembled the head and there are no blockages and there are no blockages in the machine. It still has good suction, just the power brush is not working. Any ideas?

3 answers
Mumof4boys
Mumof4boys

Hey,
Make sure it's not tangled with hair or anything like that (cotton etc)

Robert
Robert

Hi Mumof4boys.
Thanks, we have done that too with no success.

Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson

Hi Robert,

I am sorry to hear about this.

We would kindly ask you to email auaskdyson@dyson.com with your details and our Dyson Experts will be more than happy to help in getting this resolved.

We look forward to hearing from you and assisting you.

Best wishes,

Shan


Rain

Rainasked

I have a Dyson 214891-01 Cinetic Big Ball Allergy Barrel Vacuum and recently bought a Dyson 920018 Swivel Hard Floor Attachment, but it does not fit my vacuum! This is despite it being advertised as "fits all models except DC01, DC21 Motorhead, DC23 Motorhead and cordless models". Is there an adapter to make it fit?

1 answer
Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson

Hi Rain,

Thank you for your query.

In the box included with your Cinetic Big Ball machine at time of purchase, there is an adaptor included to allow use of accessories purchased at store. You can see it in use here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iGAgc2Cw6wg

If we can assist further, please just reach out via auaskdyson@dyson.com and we will be more than happy to help.

Best wishes,

Shan
Facebook.com/Dyson


Catherine C

Catherine Casked

I have just brought this today, great suction lasted about 10 minutes, it already doesnt suck very well! Emptied it and checked for blockages (definatly not, because i only vacuumed a small area). This is so disappointing! Does anyone have advice?

2 answers
Dennis
Dennis

I would take straight back to your retailer for an exchange.

Dyson
Dyson Team ..Dyson

Hi Catherine,

Thank you for reaching out.

I am sorry to hear about this, understanding you have checked for blockages, we would encourage you to double check just in case. You can find our blockage checkpoints here: https://www.dyson.com.au/support/cy23_new/dyson-cinetic-big-ball-allergy/my-machine-is-not-working/checking-for-blockages-step-by-step-guide-dmft/removing-blockages-from-the-turbine-head

If this doesn't solve the problem, please give our Dyson Experts a call on 1800 239 766 with your machine handy and we will be happy to help. Our team are available Monday - Friday 8 am - 8 pm and Saturday - Sunday 8:30 am - 4 pm AEDST.

Best wishes,

Shan
Facebook.com/Dyson


Get an answer from our members and Dyson representatives

Details

CategoryBarrel Vacuum Cleaners
Price (RRP) $799.00
HEPA FilterNo
Weight10.67 kg
TypeBagless
Cord Length 6.6 m
Suction (Air Watts) 250 AW
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)
Release dateApr 2016
Compare all Dyson Cinetic Big Ball

Visit official website
  • MPN: 214891-01 and 36262391
  • GTIN13: 5025155024010

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.