??!
2 photos
Dyson Cinetic Big Ball Animal

Dyson Cinetic Big Ball Animal

MPNs: 214892-01 and 36262392
3.6 from 136 reviews · View Statistics

Buying the best vacuum cleaner

Whether you’re jumping into your first vacuum purchase or looking to upgrade to a shiny new machine, you’ll want to have the best knowledge possible on hand. This buying guide will explain which type of vacuum would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Read now

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.1 (23)
  • Value for Money
    2.8 (23)
  • Ease of Use
    3.7 (23)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.2 (21)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    3.3 (22)
  • Pet OwnerYes (20) · No (5)
  • Clogging Issues Yes (3) · No (22)
Previous
Next
Leonard

LeonardSydney, NSW

Dyson Cinetic Big Ball Animal

published

Purchased in January 2018 at Dyson for A$700.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedSeveral times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor TypeCarpet, Linoleum, Tiles and Wood
Clogging IssuesYes
See all answers
Max D.

Max D.Perth, WA

  • 4 reviews

Really great machine but

published

Got this machine a few months ago to replace my dc08 turbine after the second motor went out. I had high expectations and they were all met it picks up the dirt like nothing else. the tangle free turbine is a great improvement from older models and I love the fact that’s there’s no filters to clean or replace. there is some downfalls 1. The bin never fills up evenly all the dirt will fill all the way to the top at the back and there will be none at the front of the bin. This is a issue my old Dyson only did when sucked up a lot of dirt at one time. 2. I have read reviews that the bin open randomly and yes that has happened to me but only once. Other than that it’s worth the money and a great product

Purchased in March 2020 at Harvey Norman for A$699.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
Pet OwnerYes
Floor TypeCarpet and Wood
Clogging IssuesNo
See all answers
TAO1

TAO1Auckland

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Frustrating

published

I wanted to love my Dyson but I don’t. I expected more for the price. The suction is good but the fact that the dust container lid pops open occasionally by itself spilling dust everywhere is a huge downside. Dyson keeps saying it’s not supposed to do that but the fact that many reviews complain about this might indicate that it is a design flaw. Very annoying. Wish you would just accept it’s an issue and fix this.

Purchased at Noel Leeming for A$799.00.

Build Quality
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedSeveral times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor TypeCarpet, Tiles and Wood
Clogging IssuesNo
See all answers
1 comment
Dyson
DysonDyson
Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Dyson Cinetic Big Ball Animal compares to other Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Krankypants

KrankypantsNorthern Region, NSW

  • 13 reviews
  • 1 like

Its True What They Say About Dyson Vacs

published
Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Pet OwnerYes
Floor TypeCarpet, Linoleum and Tiles
Clogging IssuesNo
See all answers

Motors in these are absolute rubbish

published

My Dyson Animal lasted two years. It's use has been household carpet and vinyl flooring. A few days ago the unit started producing a screaming sound which I took to be a bearing failure. I fitted a new motor and. Upon examining the old motor found the end cap on the motor housing had fatigued totally and allowed the amature to contact the outer section. The casing is unbelievably thin.

Purchased in September 2018 for A$699.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
Pet OwnerYes
Floor TypeCarpet and Linoleum
Clogging IssuesYes
See all answers
Nat

NatHobart, TAS

Not worth It

published

Purchased 3 years ago & only tried to use it twice before putting it in garage as after going over an over fluff on the carpet I had to bend down and pick it up. ( So just use my v6 slim cordless) Thought it was my carpet 3 yrs later it’s still new so just tried on my mums carpet as it’s been just sitting in the box unused and the same thing happens it sucks on your hand but picks hardly anything up after 10mins use the V6 slim again is full in minutes!!

Purchased in January 2017 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedRarely
Pet OwnerYes
Floor TypeCarpet and Tiles
Clogging IssuesNo
See all answers
1 comment
Dyson
DysonDyson
larissa.antusoa

larissa.antusoaGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Zero Stars - Don't waste your money

published

Purchased in January 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
Pet OwnerYes
Floor TypeCarpet and Wood
Clogging IssuesNo
See all answers
1 comment
Dyson
DysonDyson

Not for long fur, weak suction

published

We bought this as we have four long haired pets. Be warned the animal description only applies to short fur, not long fur which immediately blocks the head.
When we complained the Dyson rep sounded like this isn't the first time they have heard this issue.

Very weak suction, have to go over everything twice. Have gone back to our 6 year old electrolux which is far more powerful. Dyson appears to be nothing but marketing hype.

Purchased in September 2019 at Noel Leeming for A$700.00.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
Pet OwnerYes
Floor TypeCarpet and Wood
Clogging IssuesNo
See all answers
1 comment
Dyson
DysonDyson
Cushla J

Cushla JRichmond-Tweed, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

It is a great vacuum

published

Purchased in August 2018 for A$360.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
Pet OwnerNo
Floor TypeTiles
Clogging IssuesNo
See all answers
1 comment
Dyson
DysonDyson
Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Dyson Cinetic Big Ball Animal compares to other Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
adam

adamWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

  • 15 reviews
  • 1 like

Love dyson

published

My dyson cinetic big ball animal arrived today FANTASTIC MACHINE......
Anyone thinking if buying a dyson dont hesitate you will love it. All i am waiting on now is the 3 free accessories to arrive..

Purchased in November 2019 at Dyson.com.au for A$699.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedSeveral times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor TypeCarpet and Tiles
Clogging IssuesNo
See all answers
glidagida

glidagidaHunter Region, NSW

  • 9 reviews
  • 6 likes

Very brittle plastic.

published

Functionally it is a vacuum with strong suction, too strong for carpet without reducing the suction. That said, I am not happy with the construction, after 12 months 3 plastic parts have broken in normal use. Another is failing, the barrel has star cracks on the underside where it is buried in the machine. All told poor construction, the plastic is too brittle.

Purchased in November 2018 at Harvey Norman for A$450.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor TypeCarpet and Tiles
Clogging IssuesNo
See all answers
6 comments
Dyson
DysonDyson
glidagida
glidagida
Dyson
DysonDyson
Glorious Target

Glorious TargetPerth, WA

  • 7 reviews

Good product

published

This product is strong and has lots of little pieces that can help me with my vacuuming. I bought it mainly for my cats hairs on the sofa and it does that so good.

Purchased in April 2019 at The Good Guys Physical store.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedSeveral times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor TypeCarpet and Tiles
Clogging IssuesNo
See all answers
tjr

tjrSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 12 reviews
  • 4 likes

Follow up on previous review

published

Dyson contacted me with regards to my negative review, after a lot of ‘backwards and forwards’ I was contacted by Taryn who went above and beyond to get my machine fixed and returned to me with a warranty on new parts. This is a much better result than I expected or even considered. Clearly Dyson believe and stand by their product. I hope it lives up to the hype this time. Thank you Dyson, your assistance is very much appreciated

Purchased in September 2017 at Masters Home Improvement for A$700.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
Pet OwnerNo
Floor TypeCarpet and Tiles
Clogging IssuesNo
See all answers
Brooke

BrookeGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Big ball animal

published

This is a fantastic vacuum cleaner I love my Dyson. It has great suction we have hard floor and carpet so does the job well, great attachments easy to use

Purchased in March 2019 at Harvey Norman for A$620.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedSeveral times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor TypeCarpet, Tiles and Wood
Clogging IssuesNo
See all answers
rustyblue

rustyblueCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 8 reviews

great suction, pity about the plastic

published

Although its a great suction unit for getting dog hair off almost everything (with 3 goldens its a must !) I find that the brush bar is not very long lasting - and tends to break off easily - I have had to replace it once in the first 12 months, so that was okay, under warranty, and now it has happened again over the last couple of months, the machine itself is out of warranty, but the brush is only 12 months old, so waiting to see if under warranty - hope so, these days things are not made to last -

Purchased in June 2017 for A$700.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedSeveral times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor TypeCarpet and Wood
Clogging IssuesNo
See all answers
3 comments
Dyson
DysonDyson
rustyblue
rustyblue

Have been in touch...sent all relevant info when asked, but have not yet heard back as to a replacement.

Dyson
DysonDyson
Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Dyson Cinetic Big Ball Animal compares to other Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Momma-Sar

Momma-SarPerth, WA

  • 10 reviews
  • 1 like

Great all round vacuum

published

I love this vacuum. We have a cat who sheds all year round so we have to vacuum very regularly. We have tiled floors as well as a few rugs through the house and it is great for day to day use. It doesn’t quite get all the bits off of a plush rug in comparison to our last vacuum so you have to spend quite some time going back and forth but for a flat rug and the floor boards it’s perfect. As it’s a ball vacuum, I’ve not experienced it tipping over when pulling it around like I have with others similar. The only thing I’d prefer is longer bristles on the head as when vacuuming the timber floor, it can sometimes scratch so you have to be careful.

Purchased in February 2019 at The Good Guys for A$500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor TypeCarpet, Tiles and Wood
Clogging IssuesNo
See all answers
1 comment
Dyson
DysonDyson
Janet E.

Janet E.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 6 likes

Can't fault Dyson!

published

This cleaner does everything it promises! I wouldn't have any other brand. With two very hairy dogs you need a vacuum cleaner that has the best suction but is kind to your floor coverings.

E.Egan

E.EganHunter Region, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Easy to use and no filter

published

Easy to use, great suction and no cleaning of the filter required. The additional attachments are great for stairs and blinds and the new handle means it's easy to push around.

Purchased in July 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedSeveral times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor TypeCarpet, Tiles and Wood
Clogging IssuesNo
See all answers
Jacky B

Jacky BSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great Suction minimal effort

published

So far so good. I have hard floors and multiple rugs and I needed a vacuum that would cope well with both. The suction on the rugs is fantastic. I like my stick for small jobs but this is a serious cleaner. I note the on off switch and cord retraction buttons are flimsy compared to previous machines so the jury is still out on those but the machine is easy to use and effortless the move around.

Purchased in July 2019 at Harvey Norman for A$699.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
Pet OwnerYes
Floor TypeCarpet, Linoleum and Wood
Clogging IssuesNo
See all answers
MLM

MLMBrisbane

  • 13 reviews
  • 7 likes

Why even bother if they didn't bother

published
Page 1 of 7
See all Dyson Cinetic Big Ball reviews

Questions & Answers

Kylee

Kyleeasked

Cinetic Big Ball Animal

Why does mine smell bad when it has never been wet or vacuumed up wet material? How do you clean it thoroughly?

2 answers
Dyson
DysonDyson

If a smell is coming from your machine, this can indicate either something with a strong scent or some dust containing a high moisture content has been vacuumed up. We recommend carrying out the following steps which may dispel any odour.

After emptying you may rinse the clear bin in cold water, ensuring that no detergents are used. Please don't remove the seals whilst washing the clear bin and most importantly ensure that the clear bin is completely dry before placing back onto the machine. Please note that the cyclone top assembly, which attaches on top of the bin, must be removed and is not washable. You can find instructions on how to remove the cyclone here: https://support.dyson.com.au/supportHome.aspx/Vacuums/Cylinders/Dyson-Cinetic-Big-Ball/214892-01/maintaining-your-dyson-machine/cleaning-the-bin

We also recommend to let the hose, floor tool and wand of your machine air out for 24-48 hours, ideally somewhere safe, dry and sunny.

If you find the odour persists, or we can assist further, please call us on 1800 239 766 with your machine handy. Our helpline is open Monday - Friday 8am - 7pm and Saturday - Sunday 8:30am - 4pm.

Darren
Darren

our Big Ball Animal Dyson started exhausting a foul smell as well.
Turned out it was the cyclone filter system. Despite emptying the bin out and cleaning it thoroughly, it still smelt horrible

I ended up completely disassembling the cyclone filter (BIG job) and found a huge amount of muck stuck inside all over the filter and the air jets. Some were completely clogged. Turned out my partner had used one of those carpet cleaning powders which I think are slightly damp as well. It's gone through the entire filter system and gummed it all up inside. I had to pull the entire filter apart and clean all the parts individually. I then soaked all the parts in a mix of water and mild detergent overnight. Dried it all out with compressed air and then re-assembled. Smell is now gone and suction is as good as new now.

We since found out that you should never use powder carpet cleaners in bag-less vacuums.... lesson learned. Fortunately it seems the powder didn't make it to the motor, which seems to have survived.....

Buzzard

Buzzardasked

Cinetic Big Ball Animal

The cy22. when you turn it on dust comes out of the exhaust.even when canister is off ,I hold my hand over the suction hole then remove my hand and a huge amount of dust comes out.why?

3 answers
Dyson
DysonDyson

Hi there,

Thank you for your query.

We are sorry to hear about this. We certainly wouldn't expect this behaviour from any Dyson machine.

For assistance we would kindly ask you to email auaskdyson@dyson.com and our Dyson Experts will be in touch and happy to help.

Buzzard
Buzzard

We sent it out to be serviced.. thank you

Undies
Undies

Your post motor filter has probably fallen apart....like ours.

Mouse

Mouseasked

Cinetic Big Ball Animal

My Dyson big ball animal has suddenly started spinning in the wrong direction so it’s just pushing animal hair all over the carpet. How do I get going in the right direction?

1 answer
Dyson
DysonDyson

Hi there,

Thank you for your query. I am sorry to hear about this, however we are happy to help.

If the turbine head is blowing dust around, there is most likely a blockage within the turbine head itself.

We recommend to remove the brushbar using a ten or twenty cent coin to twist the cap at the end of the cleanerhead that retains the brushbar counterclockwise (as shown here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LpXtMpytFJc). Once done, you will be able to remove both the cap and the brushbar. Please then check the cavity where the brushbar was in the cleanerhead and clear out any debris. You should be able to look through the neck of the head and see straight through. Please then reassemble and retry the turbine.

In the unlikely event you are still experiencing difficulty, please email auaskdyson@dyson.com and our Dyson Experts will be happy to further assist.

Best wishes,

Shan

Get an answer from our members and Dyson representatives

Details

Compare all 8 Dyson Cinetic Big Ball
CategoryBarrel Vacuum Cleaners
Price (RRP) A$899.00
HEPA FilterNo
Weight11.04 kg
TypeBagless
Cord Length6.6 m
Suction (Air Watts)250 AW
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)
Release dateApr 2016
Compare all 8 Dyson Cinetic Big Ball

Visit official website
  • MPN: 214892-01 and 36262392
  • GTIN13: 5025155023990

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.