??!
4 photos
Ford Fiesta WS

Ford Fiesta WS (2009)

4.0 from 32 reviews

Reviews

4.0

32 reviews
5
(20)
4
(3)
3
(1)
2
(4)
1
(4)
  • Build Quality
    3.0 (1)
  • Value for Money
    5.0 (1)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (1)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (1)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.0 (1)
  • Handling
    5.0 (1)
  • Braking
    3.0 (1)
  • Suspension
    5.0 (1)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.0 (1)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.0 (1)
  • Interior Design
    3.0 (1)
  • Boot Size
    3.0 (1)
  • Features
    3.0 (1)
  • Comfort
    3.0 (1)
Previous
Next
GSC

GSCPerth, WA

  • 4 reviews

What a brilliant little all rounder.

published

Bought 2009 manual 1.6 in 2014 with 66,000km on clock for $8,700 and sold it for $6,000 five years and 50,000km later. A brilliant little driver's car with a torquey engine and great steering / suspension for a "standard" model. Had prerty much same performance as the 2007 Suzuki Swift Sport we had earlier. General quality is not that great compared to a Japanese car but it was super cheap to run parts / service wise. If I had a child looking for a first car this would be my first choice.

Purchased in November 2014 at Private seller for A$8,700.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2009
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Beardy Bonce

Beardy BonceSydney, NSW

  • 17 reviews

Great little car

published

We bought a used, low kms, 2010 5 door 1.6 Zetec as a first car for our son. My wife used the car as a daily drive until he had passed his test.
The car is well equipped, economical, nippy and roomy. I previously owned a 2010 Focus XR5 and think that this fiesta is almost as much fun to drive.
We have added after market gator parking sensors.
Great car, can't fault it so far.
The dealer we bought it through was also fantastic...

BadgeZetec
BodyHatch
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedApr 2018
hooch

hoochsydney

  • 5 reviews

ECOnetic great commuter

published

had econetic for 7 years from near new. used for commuting long ks. never skipped a beat. always serviced with ford also without issue. over 130,000 ks from original tyres, brakes & clutch. changed all at once, clutch still had a heap on it, brakes still maybe 20,000. fuel economy is as quoted. regularly does better than 3.8l/100k. cheapest car ever! also good fun to drive, not a lot of power but good handling. nothing impressive with body or interior quality. panel fit is everywhere. comfort is bog standard, but thats what its designed for! stereo and bluetooth is good. AC struggles in high summer. heater takes ages to get warm. i've also been surprised with what i can fit in the back

BadgeECOnetic
BodyHatch
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedSep 2011
Hatchbacks

Find out how Ford Fiesta WS compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Awesome car!! Absolutely loving it!!

published

I have had this car for about a month now. With 140xxx on the clock, she still drives like new! Previously I had owned a 2006 Kia Rio and my Ford is so much better. I have had no transmission issues (which is claimed to be a massive problem in these cars). Good fuel consumption.
The engine can get a bit noisy but that’s barely a problem. There is also surprisingly a good amount of leg room, I can fit 4 people in this car (squishy of course because it’s a hatchback).
I as of yet have no regrets!!

BadgeZetec
BodyHatch
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2018
Alyssa K

Alyssa KSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 17 reviews

Not a smooth drive

published
BadgeCL
BodyHatch
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2013
Ash Z

Ash ZHopetoun, WA

  • 7 reviews

Perfectly designed Hatchback

published

Green 5speed.
They should've left the design process and stopped when they reached the WS.
It's sleek, looks awesome in the metallic green with low profile wheels.
Amazingly zippy with excellent pickup off the go and smooth change through the gears.
Parts and components are easy to get and cheap, not that we've had to replace anything on it, but at least if we need to, we know we're covered.
It fits 3 kids in the back comfortably and plenty of room in the front for a 6ft adult.
Brakes can get a lil spongy at times, but nothing a small bleed doesn't fix. Great on fuel economy and they just last.

BadgeZetec
BodyHatch
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedAug 2010

Good on fuel, handles well, cruise control but their cost saving design really annoys me!

published
BadgeCL
BodyHatch
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJun 2017
savannahp

savannahpAU

  • 27 reviews
  • 8 likes

A reliable, great looking car.

published
BadgeLX
BodyHatch
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMar 2014
Tommy

TommyMelbourne

  • 5 reviews

Trouble with transmission

published

Purchased this car brand new. Good enough drive/easy to maneuver, but the transmission they use has a fault that Ford do not seem able to fix.

Quite often when accelerating, the car will shudder a bit. First few times I mentioned to the service dept, they said they updated the software. Eventually had to get replaced and still had issues.

BadgeCL
BodyHatch
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2012
Hatchbacks

Find out how Ford Fiesta WS compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
DarkAngel

DarkAngelVictoria

  • 5 reviews

Excellent little car

published

Had car for 8yrs..GOOD::No problems..Handles well..Cheap to run..love the boot..gets my shopping in..Amazing..BAD::No guts for overtaking..Few blindspots..Air con not cold enough..my car is one of the last made in Germany before all the faults started..I drove through floods..Water just above door level..Watch Top Gears Test Drive..Done 115,000kms No signs of

BadgeLX
BodyHatch
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2009
Aynur Anna

Aynur AnnaMelbourne

Terrible

published

I have a fiesta zetec. It's the most unsafe car l have ever had. Would never recommend a ford to anyone. They are friendly at first when you purchase the car and then they are rude and not helpful with all the problems the car has had. The car is a LEMON. There needs to be lemon laws to protect the consumer. Will never purchase a ford again.

BadgeZetec
BodyHatch
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2012

Good small compact car but POOR TRANSMISSION

published

Powershift transmission is terrible. It often shudders and have issues with shifting on lower gears (especially on road humps). Sent it to Ford to fix the issue, but after a few days issue was back. Every time I bring it in for it's annual service, issue is fixed but after a few days it always comes back. I've had the car close to 5 years now and it's getting worse. Although its fuel efficient and easy to park, the transmission is very bad. If I had known that it's a common issue with Ford Fiesta cars, we probably wouldn't have purchased the car.

BadgeLX
BodyHatch
TransmissionAutomatic

Worst car ever

published

Iv had trouble with this car from day one transmission shudders and jerks feels like the gear box is going to fall out. Have taken it back to dealers 11 times and still no better . Dealing with ford and head office is total waste of time they are as hopeless as the car . Dont ever buy a ford

BadgeCL
BodyHatch
TransmissionAutomatic
earl

earl

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

great car

published
Badge0
BodySedan
Transmission0
Vince R

Vince RSydney

What a lemon

published

Our 2009 Fiesta CL has gone through 2 sets of brake pads and rotors. Now at 90,000 km our timing belt has failed. It was due to be changed at 150,000. The warranty for Ford is nowhere near any of the other car brands. We will never buy another Ford again - EVER.

BadgeCL
BodyHatch
Hatchbacks

Find out how Ford Fiesta WS compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Falling apart

published

I have a 2009 automatic Ford Fiesta and it is falling apart. Also is now underivable as it will not select a gear. Just want to burn it!!

TransmissionAutomatic
BodyHatch
Jim C

Jim CGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 4 reviews

An utterly convincing car to drive and live with.

published
BadgeZetec
TransmissionManual
BodyHatch
Date PurchasedJul 2010
Rick293

Rick293AU

  • 20 reviews
  • 18 likes

After 3 and a half year, still hard to fault my WS 2010

published
TransmissionManual
BadgeZetec
BodyHatch

Best car ever owned

published

I purchased a brand new CL in 2009 and it was the best car I had ever owned. Never had any trouble with it nor spent any money on it apart from regular servicing. I sold the car this year as I moved country. I regretfully purchased a different car 2 months ago, and deeply regret it. I'm about to trade that car in for another Fiesta, everything else pales in comparison.
Style, convenience, reliable, fun to drive

TransmissionManual
BadgeCL
BodyHatch
Silverman

Silverman

  • 4 reviews

Ford Fiesta Zetec WS series 2010

published

I purchased my Zetec Fiesta brand new in 2010. It has a manual transmission. I have driven 36,000 km without any problems. I am very pleased with how the car drives. It has a great ride, light accurate steering, zippy performance, cruise control buttons on the steering wheel and easy gear box to use. The bluetooth and audio system work well. My daughter loves the bluetooth media streaming feature as she can stream her songs from her ipod when she is in the car. The back seat and luggage area are adequate for this size of car. I think it is still the best car in the super mini class.
Performance, ride and ease of use. Good bluetooth features.

TransmissionManual
BadgeZetec
BodyHatch
1 comment
david hambleton
david hambleton

Put a 2 inch magna flow exhaust on it . You won't believe the difference in performance.

Page 1 of 2
See all Ford Fiesta reviews

Questions & Answers

selenaj

selenajasked

Fiesta WS (2009)

Hi. I am looking at a 2009 Fiesta Zetec that has come up for sale. What problems should I be looking out for?
Thanks.

2 answers
Stevo GJ
Stevo GJ

They are a good car. If it's an auto make sure it is not the dual clutch type. Look at service history, kilometres, city or country travel, how it has been looked after, general appearance, tyres, rust and any evidence of accident damage. They ride well, are quite in town and on the highway, economical, light steering effort and have a reasonable sound system if you are not under 25. There can be unwanted surprises with any secondhand car, buying from a dealer may be a better bet than a private sale. Depends on price and if you have mechanical knowledge or a good honest mechanic. The blinker switch may be on the left and windscreen wipers on the right, the 2011 WT model is.

Fred17
Fred17

I have the 2009 WS Zetec auto. Make sure the services are up to date, the timing belt change is expensive. Check the front rotors and pads. They're not a big job, but make sure you're supplied the correct rotors as I was sold WT rotors which have a smaller PCD (wheel stud spacing) and had to stuff around and pay more for TRW which are OEM and have no coating and so rust. Depending on driving style and place (country vs city) they could need changing at 140-160k kms. I've found the auto box is a rather abrupt changer, and the power is hardly exciting. Nor is the fuel economy because they have to work so hard. The blinkers are indeed on the left, which was no drama for me as my SUV also has them on the left. If the blinkers stop working, check the mirror wire. I changed the blinker stalk assembly and that wasn't the problem. I find it a bit rattly with cheap-sounding doors and the stereo makes the exterior chrome trims vibrate, which is really annoying. The stereo pumps out pretty reasonable sound, but I've had issues with reading USB sticks. I occasionally get an error "line busy" which if it persists, requires a battery reset. Otherwise it's comfortable and surprising roomy for such a tiddler (I am quite tall). The ride and handling is superb for such a little car. It really does feel like a bigger car once you're under way, and it swallows up bends with aplomb. As long as they're not uphill bends, that is. The Zetec is by far the best choice, more airbags, better stereo, cruise control an upgraded interior and suspension. Be aware that the 16" Zetec wheels are often knocked about with gutter rash, and they are really expensive to replace, even second-hand, as in around $300 depending on condition and whether fitted with a decent tyre.

Fred17

Fred17asked

Fiesta WS (2009)

I have a 2009 WS Fiesta Zetec with the 1.4l/auto gearbox combination. Purchased second-hand from interstate and the car was well past needing a service. I put it in to the local mechanic to have the timing belt changed, plus new plugs, water pump, oil and filter and I fitted a new air cleaner myself. I drove the car some distance before the service, now after the service the car feels down on power (there's not a lot anyway, I know) and the fuel economy has plummeted, from 6-7 to 8-9. The day after I got it back the car went into limp-home mode (error code P061C) but a long drive yesterday didn't see that happen again. The car struggles at 100km/hr and hunts between 3rd and top gears. A curious and annoying aspect of the timing belt change was the cam seals, which come with the belt kit. The main cam sprocket (or sprockets, since it's DOHC) has to be removed to change the seals- but they are held on by bolts which have to be replaced, as they are "single use only" or torque to yield. They don't come in the kit and this caused a delay of 4-5 days (with a weekend in the middle), so the car was at the workshop for 8 days. I'm concerned that something else happened at the workshop, or the camshaft timing is out. Any ideas?

3 answers
Stevo GJ
Stevo GJ

The cam timing could be out. Normally the cams are held in position whilst the belt is being changed. Have you looked up the P061C code? It seems it's related to an engine monitoring system for engine RPM which could point to the cam timing being out. I don't know why the cams seals were replaced unless they were leaking or if your vehicle has high kilometres. If the WS air cleaner is the same as the WT it is a good idea to clean our the rubbish at the bottom. Leaves, paper, plastic etc can gather there. A light sheet of paper or plastic could be sucked up under the element and partially block it, a long shot, I know.

Fred17
Fred17

Thanks, Stevo. The first thing that came to mind was the cam timing. I drove the car for several hundred kms before the belt change so have some comparison before and after. The error code points to the cam sensor or the crank angle sensor. It's booked back into the workshop. I did a 100km+ drive after the cam belt change and it was woeful: even worse, when I checked under the bonnet, the ancillary belt was beginning to fall apart. It seems that as a stretch belt it didn't like being reused. The cam seals were changed because they came with the kit. I've asked the kit retailer to look into why they put cam seals in even if they might not be needed, but if they are changed, the sprocket has to come off and so new bolts are required. Catch 22.

Fred17
Fred17

It was the cam timing. The belt kit came with three different bolts to "lock" the crankshaft and they used the wrong one.

robert v

robert vasked

Fiesta WS (2009)

ijust got 5 w 40 penrite engine oil from repco they recomented for ford fiesta 1.4 ltr is that ok

2 answers
Stevo GJ
Stevo GJ

The person at Repco probably checked the recommended oil for the Fiesta so would have gone with that information. Penrite seems to be an oil that is recommended by spare parts shops. 5w 40 would be OK in Australia, especially with summer approaching & if it was a full synthetic oil they gave you. I once bought a Valvoline oil recommended by the label on the container for our Fiesta & when filling the engine noted it was an SL API rated oil. I have since used the SN rating fully synthetic oil in Fuchs, Nulon and Valvoline. It's also an idea to look at the ACEA rating A3/B4. Buy your oil when on special & save 25% to 50% at Autobarn, Repco or Supercheap!

Fred17
Fred17

I specified 5W-20 when the workshop did my service. They sell and use Penrite brand. The manual recommends Castrol, and next time around I may use Edge 0W-30. I wouldn't use 5W-40 if I had other choices.

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.