5 photos
Ford Fiesta WZ

Ford Fiesta WZ (2013-2021)

Also referred to as: Ford Fiesta WZ 2020 and Ford Fiesta WZ 2022. Ambiente, Sport, Trend, ST
3.1 from 34 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Hatchbacks in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Ford? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    2.5 (4)
  • Value for Money
    3.3 (4)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.3 (3)
  • Noise Level
    3.3 (3)
  • Braking
    4.0 (4)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.8 (4)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.0 (4)
  • Suspension
    3.8 (4)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.5 (4)
  • Handling
    4.5 (4)
  • Interior Design
    4.0 (4)
  • Boot Size
    4.0 (4)
  • Comfort
    4.0 (4)
  • Features
    3.5 (4)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
No_longer_a_Ford_fan
No_longer_a_Ford_fanFar North Queensland, QLD

Great to drive, awful to own

published
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in April 2015 for $13,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Emanon01
Emanon01Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 13 reviews
  • 7 likes

Highly recommended!! Economical ✅ Reliable ✅ Practical ✅

published

My wife has owned a 2009 and a 2016 Ford Fiesta that were purchased new from dealership both have performed amazingly without fault. Have never had any of the issues I’ve seen reviewed on here which might be due to having maintained car very well with regular services always on time. The 2009 model we sold in 2016 had 120,000km and can confirm it is still running in perfect condition. I have no doubt the 2016 model will also perform the same. Some great things about the 2016 model is it handles well either long distance or around town, very economical with a full tank costing only 30-40$, comfortable drive with a little kick in it and smooth off the mark.

Purchased in August 2015 at Ford Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Other Hatchbacks

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
danielrya87
danielrya87South East Queensland, QLD
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Brand new car leaked worse than my convertible!

published

Purchased in November 2013 at Ford Dealers for $23,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Hatchbacks

Find out how Ford Fiesta WZ compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Kumar
Kumar
  • 3 reviews
  • 5 likes

Good car

published

Purchased this in Feb. Already been 2years. Using this car on daily basis for work,visiting family,buying groceries etc. Fuel efficient.good average. Servicing this car when required or advised. Good for small family.

Purchased in February 2017 at Ford Dealers for $14,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
ricko
ricko
  • 2 reviews

Love It Great Little Car

published

We have a 2017 WZ Fiesta Sports 1.0L turbo 3 cyl ecoboost engine, I have driven quite a few small cars over the last few years, but not as enjoyable to drive as this little car, it does long trips comfortably and very good city driving, delivers good fuel economy 4.7 to 4.9 Highway Driving 5.5 to 6.00
City Driving. My Wife and both drive it, she drives it gently & I drive it with a bit of stick, and it copes very well.
There is plenty of leg room in the front, possibly could do with some extra gauges.
Overall a very good vehicle.

BadgeSport EcoBoost
BodyHatch
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2017

Related Articles

Previous

Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next

Ok except the transmission

published

Very disappointed in this car, to the point that we hardly ever drive it in case it breaks down. Constant clutch and gear problems - sounds like a bag of nuts and bolts loose in a bag. it's been back to the dealer constantly who reset programs and replace clutch. Terrible car.

BadgeOne
BodyHatch
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2016
Jen
JenSydney

FORD Shudders

published

I purchased the car 2 years ago and it has flaws in it's transmission. It has been repaired 3 times in 2 years, Ford have extended the warranty because of the issue. Initially they were reluctant to fix but had far too much pressure. Mechanics at Ford said "it drives like this because 3-4 people are driving the car and have different driving styles".... Really, it's a car. It's sluggish, shudders and adolescents in the house cannot drive it to Uni, as they feel unsafe with it's performance.

BadgeTrend
BodyHatch
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2016
Annie
AnnieBrisbane
  • 4 reviews

Has been good but not without issues

published

Loved it at first as the engine was efficient, handling was great and I loved the exterior look. Over time however the ecoboost 1L engine became more and more annoying particularly when on hills as the car was just not as responsive as one might hope. Issues also arose at the first scheduled service with a coolant leak covered by warranty, however at year 2 another warranty issue arose and by the end of year 3 the tyres need replacing after only 30000 km of mostly city driving

BadgeSport EcoBoost
BodyHatch
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedNov 2014

Other Hatchbacks

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Julz
JulzSydney, NSW
  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Best daily car EVER

published

I used to own a highly modified 2008 Subaru STI pushing 300kw at the wheels. I sold it and purchased the Fiesta ST as a downgrade but boy was I surprised.. It's actually more fun and easier to drive! Besides going slow in a straight line this thing is literally a train on rails when cornering. Boost kicks in very early around 2000rpm so it's always feeling zippy. I get about 600km per tank of fuel. Very decent on petrol especially when I drive partially aggressive.

BadgeST EcoBoost
BodyHatch
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedNov 2015
Hatchbacks

Find out how Ford Fiesta WZ compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jacob C
Jacob CAU
  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Love It!

published

Have a 2016 Fiesta ST with the optional Mountune Kit.
I’ve prevously had a Honda S2000 and Infiniti G37. This car is obviously much smaller than those two, but doesn’t mean it doesn’t pack a punch.

Very responsive steering and throttle. Only complaints are that the Sync Voice system is largely unresponsive and slow.

In all areas of actually driving the car, it’s excellent.

BadgeST EcoBoost
BodyHatch
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJune 2017
McDev
McDevPerth, WA
  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

Love it!

published

I was a bit wary prior to buying my Ford fiesta ST before due to well known 'ford problems'. But then as I research, it's just the power shift ones! Months later on, I'm still enjoying my car averaging 6.6L/100km in mixed driving. Best of both worlds! The only problem I found in the car is that my cheeks hurt from so much smiling as while I drive it!

BadgeST
BodyHatch
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJuly 2017
Doug
Doug
  • 8 reviews
  • 7 likes

Excellent car!

published

Very good fuel consumption, easy to park and drive around. Has all the features necessary. Big booth as well. Hatch is a good option for carrying bags around. Very comfortable ergonomic seats. This is the best car I have ever owned. Drives very well in the city and on the open road.

BadgeZetec
BodyHatch
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2016
JLJL
JLJLVictoria, Australia

Great car with no problems.

published
BadgeSport EcoBoost
BodyHatch
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJan 2014
Allan
AllanBroken Hill, NSW
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Economy Class Ride

published
BadgeAmbiente
BodyHatch
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2015

Other Hatchbacks

 
 

0.0
(1,234)

You Get What You Pay For. Unfortunately!

published
BadgeAmbiente
BodyHatch
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2017
Hatchbacks

Find out how Ford Fiesta WZ compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Read more reviews - page 2See all Ford Fiesta reviews

Questions & Answers

Alan S
Alan Sasked
Fiesta WZ (2013-2021)

I just wanted to know if 2018 ford fiesta rear seat pads pull up so that when you push seat backs down it makes a more level loading area,as in ford focus,thanks

No answers
Billiamiscool
Billiamiscoolasked
Fiesta WZ (2013-2021)

Hey guys, so I've heard lots of horror stories about the Fiesta's and Focus' gearboxes, but I was wondering if the manual was plagued with the same issues? Specifically I'm talking about the ST, it's a really nice car that I'm very tempted by, but if it's got a whole lot of extra costs involved then I won't go for it.

2 answers
Grant
Grant

Evening!
As far as I know it is only the Auto of each type that had the problem, I have not heard of any problems with the manuals as they do not have dual clutches.

Ollygt
Ollygt

I believe the Fiesta/Focus issues are related to the "Power Shift" DCG gearboxes. This doesn't apply to the Australian Market 6 speed. There are a few reports for the US domestic market Fiesta ST suffering from clutch issues but US cars are made in Mexico and the Australian Market ST comes from Germany.

See all Ford Fiesta questions

Get an answer from our members

Ford Fiesta WZ (2013-2021)

Details

Compare all 8 Ford Fiesta
CategoryHatchbacksHatchbacksHatchbacksHatchbacks
Starting Price $15,825$22,525$27,490$17,825
TransmissionManualAutomaticManualDual-Clutch (DCT) and Manual
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels15" Steel16" Alloy17" Alloy15" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption5.8 L/100km5.3 L/100km6.2 L/100km5.8 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 42 L42 L48 L42 L
Engine4 Cylinder 1.5L3 Cylinder 1L4 Cylinder 1.6L4 Cylinder 1.5
Max Power82kW @ 6300rpm92kW @ 6000rpm134kW @ 5700rpm82kW @ 6300rpm
Max Torque140Nm @ 4400rpm170Nm @ 4500rpm240Nm @ 5000rpm140Nm @ 4400rpm
Country of ManufactureThailandThailandGermanyThailand
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)5 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateJan 2013Jan 2013Jan 2013Jan 2013
Compare all 8 Ford Fiesta
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.