??!
1 photo
Format Homes
4.6 from 66 reviews

Reviews

4.6

66 reviews
5
(56)
4
(3)
3
(1)
2
(2)
1
(4)
  • Build Stage
  • Customer Service
    3.2 (9)
  • Site Admin
    3.4 (7)
  • Timeliness
    3.9 (8)
  • Structural Integrity
    4.1 (8)
  • Plumbing & Waterproofing
    3.5 (6)
  • Electrical & Lighting
    3.8 (6)
  • Flooring
    3.4 (5)
  • Transparency
    3.3 (7)
Previous
Next
  • Verified customer

Sadly one of the most unpleasant experiences of our lives.

published
Customer Service
Transparency
Structural Integrity
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateMarch 2020
See all answers
Josie K

Josie KMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • Verified customer

WOW! You rock Format Homes!

published

I've had the best experience building through Format Homes, I couldn't be happier. The whole team is awesome, so dedicated and helpful it's unbelievable. Everyone is so knowledgeable, these guys really go out of their way to please and make sure everything is to your liking. Nothing is too hard, they're at your door the minute you call. The workmanship and quality of my new home is exceptional, absolutely perfect!
A truely rewarding experience, thank you from the bottom of my ❤️!

Customer Service
Transparency
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateSeptember 2020
See all answers
1 comment
Format Homes
Format H.Format Homes

Review collected in partnership with Format Homes

  • Verified customer

Totally disappointed

published
Customer Service
Transparency
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Build StagePost-Construction
See all answers
Home Builders

Find out how Format Homes compares to other Home Builders

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Troy R.

Troy R.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • Verified customer

Great finishes on a great product

published

The supervisor was polite and accommodating, all the sales team did what ever they could to meet our needs ( which was a lot) accounts were always fair and reasonable and our trades were efficient and tolerant when we came on site and asked questions they were polite and even gave helpful advice to help us future proof our home.

Customer Service
Transparency
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateDecember 2019
See all answers

Review collected in partnership with Format Homes

Michael Papanicolas

Michael PapanicolasMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • Verified customer

Couldn't be happier! We now have a beautiful house to make a home.

published

My family and I moved into our beautiful house four weeks ago and we are pleased to state that throughout our dealings with Format Homes, everything ran smoothly and to schedule. The quality of work was of first class and our every desire was met promptly, without any additional cost. For those looking to build within the near future, I highly recommend Format Homes.

- Michael Papps

Customer Service
Transparency
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateOctober 2019
See all answers
1 comment
Format Homes
Format H.Format Homes

Review collected in partnership with Format Homes

Davo

DavoMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified customer

My Experience With Format Homes - Progress Report No 1

published

I am experienced in house building.
I first met Terry at the display centre on Sunday 29th Sept 2019. I sent him a rough house plan on Monday p.m.; received redrawn plan Tuesday a.m. and quote Wednesday a.m.; met again on Saturday 5th October; signed a contract 10th October. I admit I knew what I wanted but the professionalism and efficiency Terry and Format have displayed thus far is exceptional. Watch for more Progress Reports.

Customer Service
Transparency
Timeliness
Build StagePre-Construction
See all answers
1 comment
Format Homes
Format H.Format Homes
Tiger

Tiger

  • 3 reviews
  • 14 likes
  • Verified customer

A Disgrace...

published
Customer Service
Transparency
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateApril 2019
See all answers
3 comments
Format Homes
Format H.Format Homes
Format Homes
Format H.Format Homes

We would like to point out that we have attempted to make contact with you on several occasions to no response; our offer to discuss your experience and follow up any issues considered outstanding is still open.

Kind Regards,
Format Homes

Tiger
Tiger

No attempt has been... Not a phone call. Not a letter. Not an email. If did choose to contact me, there is no way you could rectify nor provide financial compensation for my loses.

Mei

MeiMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified customer

The Build is Good, BUT …. The Rest Are “Too Good To Be True”

published
Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateJune 2018
See all answers
2 comments
Format Homes
Format H.Format Homes
Mei
Mei
Morgan

MorganMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • Verified customer

Flexible, accommodating and friendly - We couldn't be happier

published
Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateJune 2018
See all answers
Home Builders

Find out how Format Homes compares to other Home Builders

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sandy

SandySurrey Downs

  • Verified customer

Stress Free Building

published

We had looked at many display homes, but it wasn't until we walked into Format Homes at Lightsview and met with Terry McWilliams that we felt completely comfortable with the whole building process.
We are very happy with our investment home. Paying a little extra for quality fixtures and fittings was definitely value for money. The workmanship was outstanding, with no issues during the build. All the team at Format were available to answer any of my queries.
We recommend them and would build with them again.

Build StagePost-Construction
  • Verified customer

Our Dream Home Ian & Wendy on 2nd Dec 2018

published
Build StagePost-Construction
Trish and Garry

Trish and GarryGrange, SA, 5022

  • Verified customer

"We Love Our New Home!!"

published
Build StagePost-Construction
Carmine

CarmineAdelaide

  • Verified customer

Integrity & Quality Best Describes FORMAT

published
Construction End DateMar 2018
CAGK

CAGKAdelaide

  • Verified customer

Very happy with build experience and quality finish

published
Construction End DateNov 2017
Louis

LouisAdelaide

  • Verified customer

Excellent House- Great experience building with Format Homes

published
Construction End DateOct 2017
Home Builders

Find out how Format Homes compares to other Home Builders

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
ShaneO

ShaneO

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified customer

An exercise in getting what you pay for.

published
Construction End DateAug 2017
lmjsr

lmjsrMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 3 reviews
  • 10 likes
  • Verified customer

When it sounds too good to be true

published
Construction End DateDec 2016
KWG

KWGAdelaide

  • Verified customer

Fullarton Houses

published

The workmanship was very good. This confirmed by another builder.
I had no independent overseer and experienced few problems. However any alteration to plans before finalisation were overlooked and needed repeated reminders. Even then some matters like location of water tanks; plumbing loops; external power points; gas meters etc had to be rectified AFTER installation in wrong places. A cost to Format and delays frustration for me.
I would use FORMAT again but be more demanding about plan updates being recorded and followed on site.

Construction End DateMay 2017
Michael

MichaelLightsview

  • Verified customer

Well done Format !

published

I choice Format to build my new houses, one has been hand over at last month and the other one is still under construction. I have to say Format did a really good job and I love my new house. I also need to thank my sales consultant Steven Riley. He really understands what we need and what we should pay attention on during the whole construction. He is knowledgeable sales consultant because we've got Asian background, he even know some "Feng Shui" theories that help us to design our new house. Well done Steve. If you guys need a quality builder, highly recommend Steve and Format to you guys.

Michael & Pam

Construction End DateJun 2017
  • Verified customer

Beautiful Home

published
Construction End DateMar 2013
Page 1 of 4

Questions & Answers

Danny

Dannyasked

Hi we want to build 2, 3 bedroom 2 bathroom houses on our 795 sq mtr block 6km from Adelaide GPO. Flat block about 17 more frontage, could you please give me a quote I know maybe you need more information but ball park figure so I know where to start from. Yes need to knockdown our house we can arrange that.
Regards Danny.I

1 answer
Format Homes
Format H.Format Homes

Hi Danny,
Thanks for your Question.
We are happy to provide some basic ballpark numbers but do need more information before being able to give you even a remotely realistic figure. Contact us at sales@formathomes.com.au and we'll be able to get you what you need.
Thanks,
Format Homes

Art Bro

Art Broasked

Two storey house-price list?

1 answer
Format Homes
Format H.Format Homes

Hi Art Bro,
We are able to give you standard specification prices on our two-storey plans as requested. Please contact us at sales@formathomes.com.au or 08 8443 4555 so we can get you this information.
Kind Regards,
Format Homes

Donna

Donnaasked

Do you built at Normanville and do you guarantee your timelines with compensation paid to the client if you do not make it?

5 answers
Format Homes
Format H.Format Homes

Hi Donna,
Yes we do build at Normanville and have done quite a few new homes there in the past.
We shy away from 'guaranteeing' building timelines purely because we take the approach that it is better to do the job properly rather than rush it for the sake of a few weeks. We have a core group of good trades that we use continually as they produce good quality work, and find we get a better result if we give them the time and space to do the job properly. Having said this, over 95% of our new homes are built within the Contractually specified build timeframe.

Donna
Donna

Thank you for your reply. Looking forward to talking to you when we come down from Qld in May. Cheers Donna

Mike
Mike

I am currently building with Format. The complete build from contract signature to completion is now expected to be 22-23 months although I still can't get accurate end date. If it was just a matter of a few weeks I wouldn't see an issue but I wouldn't build again without guaranteed timelines with compensation in the contract. I have lost track of the number of times that I have asked for an estimated finish date to be told that they will be able to give one at this milestone. When that milestone arrives and I ask for an accurate time frame and I get given another milestone of when they should know. Most of the estimates have been and gone.

Get an answer from our members and Format Homes representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.