??!
1 photo
Format Homes
4.7 from 62 reviews

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
54
4 star
3
3 star
1
2 star
1
1 star
3

Michael Papanicolas

Michael PapanicolasMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • Verified customer

Couldn't be happier! We now have a beautiful house to make a home.

published

My family and I moved into our beautiful house four weeks ago and we are pleased to state that throughout our dealings with Format Homes, everything ran smoothly and to schedule. The quality of work was of first class and our every desire was met promptly, without any additional cost. For those looking to build within the near future, I highly recommend Format Homes.

- Michael Papps

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Transparency
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateOctober 2019
See all answers
1 comment
Format Homes
Format H.Format Homes

Review collected in partnership with Format Homes


Davo

DavoMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified customer

My Experience With Format Homes - Progress Report No 1

published

I am experienced in house building.
I first met Terry at the display centre on Sunday 29th Sept 2019. I sent him a rough house plan on Monday p.m.; received redrawn plan Tuesday a.m. and quote Wednesday a.m.; met again on Saturday 5th October; signed a contract 10th October. I admit I knew what I wanted but the professionalism and efficiency Terry and Format have displayed thus far is exceptional. Watch for more Progress Reports.

Customer Service
Timeliness
Transparency
Build StagePre-Construction
See all answers
1 comment
Format Homes
Format H.Format Homes
Tiger

Tiger

  • 3 reviews
  • Verified customer

A Disgrace...

published
Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Transparency
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateApril 2019
See all answers
3 comments
Format Homes
Format H.Format Homes
Format Homes
Format H.Format Homes

We would like to point out that we have attempted to make contact with you on several occasions to no response; our offer to discuss your experience and follow up any issues considered outstanding is still open.

Kind Regards,
Format Homes

Tiger
Tiger

No attempt has been... Not a phone call. Not a letter. Not an email. If did choose to contact me, there is no way you could rectify nor provide financial compensation for my loses.

Mei

MeiMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified customer

The Build is Good, BUT …. The Rest Are “Too Good To Be True”

published
Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateJune 2018
See all answers
2 comments
Format Homes
Format H.Format Homes
Mei
Mei

Morgan

MorganMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • Verified customer

Flexible, accommodating and friendly - We couldn't be happier

published
Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateJune 2018
See all answers

Sandy

SandySurrey Downs

  • Verified customer

Stress Free Building

published

We had looked at many display homes, but it wasn't until we walked into Format Homes at Lightsview and met with Terry McWilliams that we felt completely comfortable with the whole building process.
We are very happy with our investment home. Paying a little extra for quality fixtures and fittings was definitely value for money. The workmanship was outstanding, with no issues during the build. All the team at Format were available to answer any of my queries.
We recommend them and would build with them again.

Build StagePost-Construction

  • Verified customer

Our Dream Home Ian & Wendy on 2nd Dec 2018

published
Build StagePost-Construction

Trish and Garry

Trish and GarryGrange, SA, 5022

  • Verified customer

"We Love Our New Home!!"

published
Build StagePost-Construction
Carmine

CarmineAdelaide

  • Verified customer

Integrity & Quality Best Describes FORMAT

published
Construction End DateMar 2018
CAGK

CAGKAdelaide

  • Verified customer

Very happy with build experience and quality finish

published
Construction End DateNov 2017

Louis

LouisAdelaide

  • Verified customer

Excellent House- Great experience building with Format Homes

published
Construction End DateOct 2017

ShaneO

ShaneO

  • 3 reviews
  • Verified customer

An exercise in getting what you pay for.

published
Construction End DateAug 2017

lmjsr

lmjsrADELAIDE

  • 3 reviews
  • Verified customer

When it sounds too good to be true

published
Construction End DateDec 2016

KWG

KWGAdelaide

  • Verified customer

Fullarton Houses

published

The workmanship was very good. This confirmed by another builder.
I had no independent overseer and experienced few problems. However any alteration to plans before finalisation were overlooked and needed repeated reminders. Even then some matters like location of water tanks; plumbing loops; external power points; gas meters etc had to be rectified AFTER installation in wrong places. A cost to Format and delays frustration for me.
I would use FORMAT again but be more demanding about plan updates being recorded and followed on site.

Construction End DateMay 2017
Michael

MichaelLightsview

  • Verified customer

Well done Format !

published

I choice Format to build my new houses, one has been hand over at last month and the other one is still under construction. I have to say Format did a really good job and I love my new house. I also need to thank my sales consultant Steven Riley. He really understands what we need and what we should pay attention on during the whole construction. He is knowledgeable sales consultant because we've got Asian background, he even know some "Feng Shui" theories that help us to design our new house. Well done Steve. If you guys need a quality builder, highly recommend Steve and Format to you guys.

Michael & Pam

Construction End DateJun 2017
  • Verified customer

Beautiful Home

published
Construction End DateMar 2013

Holster

HolsterMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified customer

Just like Christmas

published

We have just moved in to our new Format Home. A lot of our friends warned us about building, we heard all sorts of horror stories. Our experience was totally the opposite, we have one tiny outstanding job to be done, everything was just about perfect the day we got the keys. The quality of the work done, the quality of the fittings & fixtures is of a very high standard. We were promised a six month build time & it took five & a half months-even with very wet winter we had this year. We are both very pleased with our new home, we love coming home to our "new baby".
Money well spent, excellent value, excellent tradespeople, excellent office staff.

Construction End DateOct 2016

  • Verified customer

Owning a brand new house could have not been easier than this!

published
Construction End DateOct 2016

  • Verified customer

Excellent service and quality build

published

I've dealt with a lot of different Builders around Adelaide both personally and professionally. The level of customer service and professionalism shown by Format Homes is unmatched. Not everything went right (as it rarely does when you build), but they were there to help every step of the way. The quality of the finished product was exceptional and exceeded even our lofty expectations. I cannot thank the whole team at Format Homes enough, and refer all my family, friends, and customers to them.

Construction End DateAug 2016

Torey P.

Torey P.South Australia, 5201

  • Verified customer

Worth It!

published

Page 1 of 4

Questions & Answers

Danny

Dannyasked

Hi we want to build 2, 3 bedroom 2 bathroom houses on our 795 sq mtr block 6km from Adelaide GPO. Flat block about 17 more frontage, could you please give me a quote I know maybe you need more information but ball park figure so I know where to start from. Yes need to knockdown our house we can arrange that.
Regards Danny.I

1 answer
Format Homes
Format H.Format Homes

Hi Danny,
Thanks for your Question.
We are happy to provide some basic ballpark numbers but do need more information before being able to give you even a remotely realistic figure. Contact us at sales@formathomes.com.au and we'll be able to get you what you need.
Thanks,
Format Homes


Art Bro

Art Broasked

Two storey house-price list?

1 answer
Format Homes
Format H.Format Homes

Hi Art Bro,
We are able to give you standard specification prices on our two-storey plans as requested. Please contact us at sales@formathomes.com.au or 08 8443 4555 so we can get you this information.
Kind Regards,
Format Homes


Donna

Donnaasked

Do you built at Normanville and do you guarantee your timelines with compensation paid to the client if you do not make it?

5 answers
Format Homes
Format H.Format Homes

Hi Donna,
Yes we do build at Normanville and have done quite a few new homes there in the past.
We shy away from 'guaranteeing' building timelines purely because we take the approach that it is better to do the job properly rather than rush it for the sake of a few weeks. We have a core group of good trades that we use continually as they produce good quality work, and find we get a better result if we give them the time and space to do the job properly. Having said this, over 95% of our new homes are built within the Contractually specified build timeframe.

Donna
Donna

Thank you for your reply. Looking forward to talking to you when we come down from Qld in May. Cheers Donna

Mike
Mike

I am currently building with Format. The complete build from contract signature to completion is now expected to be 22-23 months although I still can't get accurate end date. If it was just a matter of a few weeks I wouldn't see an issue but I wouldn't build again without guaranteed timelines with compensation in the contract. I have lost track of the number of times that I have asked for an estimated finish date to be told that they will be able to give one at this milestone. When that milestone arrives and I ask for an accurate time frame and I get given another milestone of when they should know. Most of the estimates have been and gone.


Get an answer from our members and Format Homes representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.