??!

Thank you SJD

We highly recommend SJD Homes. They were very professional, helpful and approachable from the start to finish of our build. We felt like we were treated like a person and not a number. Neville Howitt was our contact through the design stage and was extremly professional, friendly and flexible. Brad Little was our building supervisor and was so helpful and effecient. Any queries or issues were always resolved quickly. SJD has built us a beautiful and quality family home and Neville and Brad have made the journey a pleasure for us to remember. Thank you and we would definitely builde with you again.

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Transparency
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateAugust 2019

Our Dream House is a Reality - Thanks to SJD

I cannot believe we are living in our dream home, something that we thought was so far out of our reach at this point in our lives, so much so that after initially seeing Jean in regards to our dream home, we thought we could do better, boy were we wrong! We wasted over a year with other builders, only to find that SJD offered SO much more for so much less!!

After wasting our time with other builders for a year, we went back to Jean (Sales Consultant), she was brilliant!! She had some great ideas on ways to improve the floor plan, she was mindful about our budget, she never tried to make us spend more than we wanted, she just wanted to give us the best we could get for our budget. I couldnt believe after doing our colour selections and upgrades, how much more we had in our build over the other builders!! Our 47sq home came in at 20k less than previous builders' quotes for approx, on top of that we received everything on our wish list!!

Our build went smoothly, a couple small things, but it was all manageable, and out of anyones control, Kim our Site Supervisor did an amazing job, the quality of workmanship is top notch, any issues we had along the way he was there to fix straight away! He always answered his phone or called back within 5 minutes, Absolutely could not of asked for anyone better to manage our build, the kind of guy you could have a good chat to or coffee/beer with! Kim worked with us every step of the way, he was there whenever we needed him, not only did he make the process less stressful for us, but he got it done months before expected completion! If we ever do decide to build again in the future I will be going straight back to SJD and I think any of our friends and family who have seen our house and our journey would be to!

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Transparency
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateSeptember 2019

SJD - Very Happy!

SJD took our sketches and brought them to life!
Having a non-standard block and trying to make the most of our views, having a builder that understood this was important. From our first meeting on site with Neville to overlook our block and to get our vision, we never looked back.
We were appointed James as our supervisor, and his eye for detail was second to none. Like all builds, we encountered our challenges, but its how James (and SJD’s team) resolved them that made this project so enjoyable. James understood the importance of this build to us, and he always made us feel included. Achieving what we wanted was made easy by the SJD team. Not only did James hand us the keys to our long awaited family home exactly as we wanted it – he even finished it on time!
We are proud of our home and thanks has to go to the team at SJD for everything they did.
Now having been in our home for over 6 months, we just couldn't be happier.

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Transparency
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateDecember 2019

SJD Homes Overall Very Happy

This is the second home that we have built with SJD and would highly recommend them. In our experience they have been very accommodating during the design phase to ensure our needs were met. We were impressed with Neville during our initial consultation to design the house.

Part way through the build we were allocated a new building supervisor, being Kim. We could not speak highly enough of Kim. The level of service and care he has shown us has been exceptional. Kim is 5 out of 5 stars in our opinion :)

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Transparency
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateJune 2019

SJD - Dream Home, Dream Builders

Been in our SJD Home for 6 weeks now, and its everything we’d hoped.
Our consultant throughout – Rachel – was helpful beyond belief, from answering initial build enquiries to helping us design our home. Suggestions, tweaks, and ‘can we just change this?’ were always met with a pragmatic discussion, as was the colour selection process later on.
Build supervisor Aaron kept us up to date with what was going on, and regular site visits ensured everything was installed where it should.
Minor issues were dealt with promptly, and the ‘after sales service’, has also been top notch.
Would recommend SJD to people looking for a quality house product – especially those who like adding their own touch to an already professionally developed plan.

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Transparency
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateJuly 2019

Very happy with our Home - Thank you SJD

Our entire experience with SJD Homes from start to finish was simply a great journey.

Tracey Johnson our building consultant was an absolute pleasure and I would highly recommend her to anyone looking to build a new home. All of our queries were promptly answered with relevant recommendations and suggestions for all of the structural design changes we made. But most importantly, Tracey did not blindly agree with every request we made, but was happy to provide guidance and honest opinions in leading us toward a better solution. We really liked that we worked with Tracey from selecting our home through to the start of construction.

Half way through our build we had a change of construction supervisors and luckily for us, Kim O’Connor’s knowledge and dedication kept our build on schedule.
Easily approachable, Kim made it a pleasure to communicate, answering any questions and addressing any issues that were identified. He was quick to organise trades after the 3 month maintenance period and followed up if we were happy with the workmanship.

Thank you to Tracey, Kim and all of the office staff we dealt with, you are a true asset to SJD Homes.

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Transparency
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateApril 2019

Extremely happy with our new home

Big thanks to all the staff at SJD Homes.
Thanks to Rod for helping us choose the easiest block to work with, and then Neville did a great job to organise and customise the plans.
Kim did a fantastic job making sure the build was perfectly executed from start to finish. He kept us well informed and managed to quickly rectify any issues that came our way throughout the build.
Would highly recommend them!

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Transparency
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateJuly 2019

Glad we chose SJD.

We are extremely pleased and satisfied with the design, and construction of our new home. Every interaction, start to finish, was a positive experience. SJD provided the best customer service. They are polite and respectful. The entire process went smoothly and they kept us informed along the way. It was, completely, a stress-free experience. Shane, you are a gem. You made us feel like family. Extra 5 stars for you. We always loved the regular updates from your end, especially, with the pictures. We appreciate all the efficient work done for us in order to make our journey pleasant and memorable. SJD indeed has created a trustful relationship and we are thankful to the whole team. We highly recommend SJD to everyone.

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Transparency
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateMarch 2019

Smooth Sailing-Corinella Build

Thank you to SJD Homes, Leigh (Sales) your lovely team of girls in the office and importantly a special thanks to Kim our Site Supervisor, the experience of our first build has been fantastic.
Colin & I have been in our home since 21st May 2019 and chose to hold off on our review until the 3 month maintenance period giving the house a chance to settle. During this period a few small issues have risen and Kim has addressed these immediately, explaining SJD process along the way. The companies used by SJD have also been very polite, helpful and quick to respond to the maintenance requests issued by Kim.

Our SJD experience exceeded expectations, from selecting our floor plan, and the patient cool calm and collected manner displayed by Leigh (sales) thru to the commencement of the build process and time frame (including potential delays) explained along the way. Colour selection process, upgrade selections and choice of internals ( SJD -your girls are amazing). Pricing remained inside of budget without any surprises to blow it out. Valuations came in on target which also added to the smooth process.

Kim our supervisor coordinated the various trade stages (no easy task as I deal with trades daily) and any issues or concerns raised were addressed immediately.

Thank you Kim for ensuring that our home was completed to a high standard as if it was your own home. If Colin & I were to build again it would definitely be another SJD.

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Transparency
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateMay 2019

Thank you

I couldn't thank Amy and Paul enough, from the moment we met Amy she was always there to help us through the process of buying our land to choosing our house. From the moment we started building our house Paul was always just a phone call away to answer the questions that we had. Now we are all moved in and settled we can't thank SJD enough we love our house.

Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateAugust 2019

Good build overall, finished a little rough.

We chose SJD in 2015 on a recommendation and overall were happy.

Pros:
- Value for money was great, better standard inclusions than all the big name builders and very few extras to take up, so we kept cost down.
- At the time we were able to use our own electrician.
- Flooring was included in price.
- Build ran well and finished on time.
- No major unforeseen variations, few minor ones.
- Fit and finish of carpentry was good.

Cons:
- Multiple trades finished their work rough, Tiling was 2/5 many uneven tiles and gaps, Plaster joins prominent under light, Painting was patchy and thin in spots, paint and most of the plaster issues were resolved. Was told plaster joins are always evident.
- Brick work needed wash down 3 times before is looked acceptable, absolute mortar mess.
- Ceiling insulation wasn't installed properly leaving gaps throughout the roof space.
- Little communication from site supervisor throughout the build.
- Quality of timber laminate and carpet is poor, don't both with cheap timber laminate, too much stress with spills and kids.

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Flooring
Transparency
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateAugust 2015

Happy with our house

Overall we are pretty happy with our home.

We experienced a LOT of issues during the build though.
Incorrect door sizes on plans so builders had to re order different doors, our chosen floorboards were discontinued and they only realised the week before our flooring was meant to be done LOL
Didn’t receive many updates during the build.
Our landscaper did our landscaping before the fencing was done ?
Our landscaper planted our plants over the boundary line so one of our garden beds is half the size it was supposed to be :)
All our air conditioning vents are crooked.
The heating wasn’t connected properly (rattled)
When the cooling was installed (evap) no one bothered to hook in the water lol ?
Before we moved in tradies turned on the water not realising the copper pipes had been pinched so we had soggy carpet in the master bedroom the first night :)

Overall we love our home but we just had so many issues that needed fixing and to this day we literally just gave up trying to chase people down because things just never got done & we were always given excuses.

If you’re looking for a quick build for investment this would be great for you.

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Transparency
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateAugust 2018

Quality of SJD Homes is outstanding!

We’ve been in our SJD Homes for 4 weeks now and we are loving every minute. As with every builder, there were some minor issues but, all was swiftly rectified once the issues were raised to SJDs attention.

Quality of the build is next to none. The sales team in the office are amazing! Shout out to Rachel and Lana for the amazing support and attention to detail they provided us. We thank you greatly.

They helped us get the dream home we always dreamed of. We customised the house to suit our needs and made it unique. No change was too hard, and everything we wanted they updated, swapped, changed and made us happy.

The cost compared to other mainstream builders was far better with SJD Homes. Our house is fully upgraded and we still stuck to our limit. We probably went 2-3k over which, we feel was pretty good.

Only cons, as I think with all builders is the lack of communication once the build starts. I think they should have regular stage updates or even an app that shows you were your house progress is at. We just felt we had to send emails requesting updates, but other than that. It was great.

Would I recommend SJD Homes? ABSOLUTELY!! I’ve already told a few friends and also recommend SJD Homes on our instagram house progress page. We will definitely build with them again.

Thank you so much for giving us the dream home of a life time. We’re in love! And so is everyone else!

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Transparency
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateJune 2019

Glad we picked SJD Homes.

Dear Rod, just thought i would drop you a few lines to tell you how happy julie and i were with our compleated sjd home, right from our first consultation through to hand over we could not have been more happier.Your consultants were easy to speak to and certainly knew their product ,and our building supervisor Paul was just wonderfull to work with,he kept us up to date thoughout the build with on site progress meetings and photos via e-mail. Again rod thank-you to your compitent trademen and all your staff,well done! Regards and all the best for the future, David and Julie.

Customer Service
Site Admin
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateAugust 2016

Great Job SJD Homes

Would like to thank SJD for the great service that they have delivered to my family and I
This is the second home that we have built with SJD
We returned to SJD for the second home due to the first one being such an easy and rewarding experience
The whole process, from choosing the home, to the colour selection has just been so professional and Seamless.
The second home is now nearly completed and we have been completely impressed with the whole team again
Currently receiving regular updates from the site manager and all is proceeding smoothly
Thank you
Stuart

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Transparency
Build StageMid-Construction

Fantastic build from SJD Homes

We are so happy with our SJD home and the quality of the build. There we so many choices in our colour selection appointment. Our site supervisor Shane had great communication and was fantastic to deal with. Any concerns or queries we had were responded to in a very timely manner. We could never have imagined our first home turning out to be so perfect. A big thank you to SJD Homes and to Shane. We will be recommending you to all our family and friends!

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateNovember 2018

Couldn't be happier with out new home

The thing that stood out for us was the feeling that SJD where partners with us in building our home.
There was never the feeling of being just another client, never a rush to finish a meeting or a phone call.
From our first meeting with Amy, we knew we had the right company, nothing it seemed was too much trouble.
Many meetings going through siting and customising the floor plan followed whilst waiting for the land to title.
The degree of flexibility in customising the plans was fantastic, nothing was too much trouble.
When it came time to start construction we were introduced to our site supervisor Shane, immediately he invited us to be involved with the build. Keeping us up to date with schedules and doing site walkthroughs to inspect progress and any issues that cropped up.
We did have a couple of issues as you may expect in a project like this, but in all cases, they were resolved quickly and professionally.
Having our home built is the biggest project we have been involved in, approx 18 months since the first contact with SJD until moving in,
as such it is really important to have good communication and trust with the people building it. We found this with SJD homes.

We would highly recommend SJD Homes.
In particular, we would like to thank Amy & Shane for their help, advice, patience and professionalism with helping us build our ‘Forever Home’.

Nevil & Margie Thatcher

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateMarch 2018

We cant be any happier - Top job SJD Homes

Our Family had built with SJD Homes back in 2017 and the reason for the late review is due to having very busy lives.

What I can honestly say is we had a 5 star treatment from day 1 with SDJ Homes.
Our engagement with our sales rep Dean was of high quality. He always went out of this way to accommodate us and was very polite and respectful. He was extremely well organised, knowledgeable with the building process and technical terms (having had experience in the building industry, this help heaps). He always gave us options and other ideas, but never once pushed his opinion onto us.

Our assigned site supervisor Shane was another high class staff member from SJD. He made the whole building process seemed too easy. Being a very fussy person, but reasonable, we found Shane to be very transparent, understanding and always on top of the project. Yes, we had some minor issues here and there, but the way these issues were handled by Shane was very professional and he always had our interest in mind.

We are very happy with the build quality of our home. It is well within the building code tolerance and is higher than the competition.

One thing many people don’t understand is that building a house is very complex and not any two homes will be the same. There is so many variables within the project (land location, tradesman’s, material brands, design etc) which just make the whole process different. What I believe makes a high quality builder is how a company deals with these differences and try to get the best outcome for their customer... This is where I think Shane and the SJD team excelled at.

If we were to build again, it would be SJD homes all the way with no hesitation.

Cheers
Wayne

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateMarch 2017

SJD making our dreams come true!

From the initial experience of working with Kevin designing particular aspects of our home, to the build phase, nothing was an issue for the team at SJD.
We personalised the home design with multiple variations to the plan. SJD were accommodating throughout and made sure we were able to incorporate specific requirements without the headaches and hassles experienced dealing with other builders.
Our site supervisor- Shane, was terrific!! He ensured we were kept up to date on the build progress, communicating timelines, sharing photos as the house began to take shape, and he spent time walking us through the property explaining intricate details. Nothing was ever an issue, he continued to go out of his way managing our queries.
The team were patient, accommodating and extremely helpful. No build is stress-free, however SJD made the effort to ensure our experience was one that we could look back on and smile.
Our house is now a home. A huge thanks to Shane, Kevin and the rest of the team for turning our dream into reality!!

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateOctober 2018

Awesome after sales service and building process

All i have to say is very positive experience building with SJD homes. Tracey our building consultant is very friendly and patient as we have lot of changes and request for our building plan. Shane is our building supervisor and he was very helpful throughout building process.

I moved in almost 3 years ago and one of the architrave came off due to weight of the roller blinds. Courtney from SJD homes is very helpful and replied my email promptly and got maintenance team get in touch with me. Guy and his team is very friendly and fixed my architrave within the same week. Highly recommend SJD homes as i have other friends also have positive experience with SJD homes too!

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateJune 2016

Page 1 of 5

Questions & Answers

Is it possible to build a new house in mernda?
1 answer
Hi Jen, thank you for your enquiry but unfortunately we cannot help you with building a home in Mernda.

Do SJD do house extension?
2 answers
I’m not sure, as that wasn’t something we discussed during my build . It’s certainly worth giving them a call and asking them. I’m so happy with my house Hi Grace, no, we do not do extension work.

how much time will it take for SDJ homes to build a small house?
3 answers
Hello and thank you for your enquiry. A typical build time for smaller homes is up to six months however this is variable and dependent on many factors.Sjd is one of the worst builder in Melbourne, look some where else.Hi Jithendra, our records show that you haven't built a home with us. Feel free to contact us directly if there is something we can help you with or if you'd like to talk about your review.

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.