??!
1 photo
Henley
3.5 from 505 reviews

This house the best for our family

We picked this house for a reason. This house is fitting for our family and I like the area the house is in. This is perfect house for my family

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Transparency
Build StagePre-Construction
Construction End DateJanuary 2018

Thanks Henley happy with our build

We started the journey with Henley and choose them simply on design we were after a double story with a master on the ground floor. This requirement ruled out a number of houses and left us with a few designs to choose from and Henley had the design we liked with the build quality we were after. We built the Emporio 41. Very happy with the build the quality of the bricks, painting, tiles and overall finish of the house. Site manager was great fixed any issues we pointed out. We did a knock down rebuild and my only issue I had was the length of time Henley took to start, after the knock down we were renting for over 5 months until they were at site. Moved in 3 weeks ago and love the house more and more. Kids now have the space to play. I was on the Henley Facebook group which helps with tips and knowing the potential challengers and what to look out for. We expected more of a challenge with building but all went quite smoothly. Thanks Henley would recommend building with you to anyone.

Also to note from every interaction with Henley:
Sales office: Good
Jamie with admin: Good very helpful
Colours: Heidi, very good
Electrical: Very good and helpful
Contract: Nathan - we did not have a good experience with Nathan talked down at my wife and found him hard to deal with, so much so we questioned if we should continue with the build.
Fortio: Good easy to deal with.
Nia: Good very responsive and easy to deal with.

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Transparency
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateApril 2019

We love our home!

Overall we are happy with Henley, they delivered our home design and budget to our expectations. However some customisations/requests became unnecessarily difficult and rigid administratively. Post settlement work was next to none, which was a big plus.

Customer Service
Site Admin
Structural Integrity
Transparency
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateApril 2019

Our first home was not a great experience

Unfortunately our experience with Henley has not been a pleasant one. We have had some positive times however, mostly has been a negative experience.

Firstly, the colour selection process needs improvement. Six hours in one day is very unrealistic and places immense pressure on people especially if you’re not a visual person.

We hired an external building inspector [name removed] which we highly recommend. Our problems started from the very beginning from the slab, right through until the final inspection. The external building inspector picked up 52 pages of non-compliant workmanship at almost every stage of the build.

Now we have accepted a house that has lights not working, chips all over our hardwood stairs and has not been stained properly, paint defects on every single wall and doors, rooms that haven’t been sealed properly, cupboards that don’t shut close, issues with the gutter that our external building inspector picked up on, we have not been shown how things work such as oven, alarm system, a constant beeping noise is coming from our hot water system, our gutters have not been cleaned and are full of debris, we have rubbish that was left all over our property, the render is not straight were it meets with another colour, our porch lights are constantly on 24/7 and we have not been told how to turn these off.

Overall this process has been extremely stressful and unpleasant and we would never build again or recommend anyone to build! We have spent a lot of money already and we still need to lay floor and carpet (as Henley were overpriced), we need to concrete all around, landscape, fence, blinds and fly screens. None of which was included in our build and is an extra cost to us.

Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateMay 2019

Could be so much better

Our experience with Henley was a roller coaster ride.
From the start at sales, the impression was great. We got excellent customer service, sales team was marvelous, and after finalising the floor plan and pricing we were very excited with what lay ahead of us.

Colour selection was daunting but went, what we thought was, smoothly. However there was many areas where the consultant did not give us a realistic expectation. Many things that we were unsure about or had raised questions on, we were met with optimism but things did not eventually pan out the way we desired resulting disappointment and, of course, problems with build (see below).

Tender was similar to colour - we went back and forth with many issues and were told okay at a time but not at another. Questions, while answered within the industrial acceptable timeframe, could have been dealt with quicker to ease anxiety and move things along.

The build process was uneventful until fitting. Tiles in master and powder were laid in a way that was completely different to what we were told possible by color consultant, giving rise a very disappointing blame game between trade and color consultant. Ultimately the loser is the client - me.

Brick work was an issue. Our front facade had 2 major defects at the pilars on each side of garage, resulting major stair-like cracking of mortar joint. That happened 3 months before settlement, not picked up or attended to by supervisor in timely fashion, and yet 6 weeks after settlement we are still left with an ugly facade with these joints remain unattended and unrepaired.

Maintenance staff who came and was meant to perform paint touch up used the wrong paint that he himself dropped off at our new home. The same maintenance staff also created a drama with skirting delivery which resulted in delay of our flooring installation which was done post-settlement.

Overall Henley built us a house of reasonable quality. I wish the office staffs would be more exposed to what their own trades could achieve and hence not oversell expectation. At the same time, Henley needs to improve their trade quality and industrial liason. I still can't believe I'm left with these ugly mortar (re)joints, awaiting for the so-called specialist to touch up and fix - a wait period of more than 6 weeks.

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Transparency
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateMarch 2019

Terrible experience

Two major issue... (1) Change in the building plan without our concern. Change manhole location without our concern. (2) the garage door doesn't have weather seal. This one is our first home so we didn't notice at settlement/handover time... But Henley can check their photos.. but now who cares !!... Worst customer service I have ever dealt with...

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Transparency
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateFebruary 2018

Great job

We are very happy with our first house Henley built. As we know, It is very difficult to avoid issues during the building journey, but we are very satisfied with Henley's attitude to resolve the problems.
We had been worried that the builder might wriggle out of responsibility after the handover, but it impressed us that every time when we found problems or have concerns and contact Henley, our site manager always came to our house early in the next day to check and organize resource to fix the problem.
Just list some feedback as below:
-There is no hidden charges through the whole processes.
-Fixed site cost in quotation stage.
-Construction started in March and completed in December (double stories)
-Quality is worth the price
-Happy with their customer service
-Problems have been found: roof leaking, concrete is not level under laminate floor, etc. Issues are all fixed after report to the builder.

We have been living in the new house for 5 months till now, everything is good, I would select Henley again if we want to build a second house.

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Transparency
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateDecember 2018

Awesome Service

I received a excellent service from booking to finished building process. They are reliable and complete my double story home very quick. I am a second time customer of Henley as they do not have any hidden charges. Price remains the same.

Customer Service
Transparency
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateFebruary 2019

Very happy with the build quality and the build journey

Build quality- Excellent
Workmanship of tradies, construction manager and Henley staff--- Very good
Minor issues identified at handover which were rectified immediately--- Happy
No hidden charges, actual construction cost is exactly same as the quote/signed tender--- Happy

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Transparency
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateMarch 2019

Great start to the build, disappointing end to the build!

Sales person was very helpful. Pre-contract communication from Henley was great, although there was a bit of a wait for each appointment we required as we built a double story home and required a longer appointment time.

The build progressed quite well, albeit fairly slow (especially the frame), with it taking 13 months from contract signing to handover. We received consistent communication throughout from both our construction supervisor and admin contact, until the last few months prior to handover. Three weeks after our final inspection and providing the report from our Independent Building Inspector to Henley, we were advised that these items were rectified, and we were preparing for handover, and arranged our Inspector to re-inspect the property, but were disappointed to find that almost none of the items had been rectified (other than around half of the paint touch ups). Incredibly frustrating when we had paid our Inspector for this - an absolute waste of our money and time preparing for handover! We eventually received the keys, and were disappointed to see the state the house was left in, with dirt and bits of rubbish left on the floor (which is the slab, as we are arranging flooring after settlement), and benchtops that don't seem to have been wiped down at all - I appreciate that it is a 'builders clean', but I didn't expect there to be small piles of dirt and rubbish still remaining on the floor!

The items identified are mainly cosmetic and able to be fixed, but we were disappointed that these have had to be identified numerous times prior to them being rectified by Henley (with some still to be rectified by the Henley maintenance person, who will be attending house soon). We were also disappointed with some of the items which were identified, as they were simply lazy workmanship. The Henley display homes we looked at were marvelous, but it has taken consistent pressure and reminding from our side in order to get the finishes on our house to a somwehat similar quality. We are very glad that we engaged an Independent Building Inspector, as they identified quite a few items that we would not know to look for. We would recommend anyone building with a larger builder engage one for themselves.

After handover, we realised that the aerial and Foxtel point we had included as part of electrical variation had not been completed. These have since been fixed, but Foxtel point relied on my following up with electrician when they didn't show up on 2 separate occasions. Since moving in, we have found a few more issues - data point doesn't work, USB point we installed within power point doesn't work, and one of the doors has been keyed differently, so we don't have a key for this. All able to be fixed, but feeling a bit over following so many things up after waiting so long for settlement.

Cost wise, we had a few provisions in our contract which were later removed by variation, so our total cost has come in slightly less than the original contract price.

Overall, although we are satisfied with our house structurally, I am not sure we would build with Henley again, solely due to the issues we have experienced prior to handover.

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Transparency
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateMarch 2019

Perfect Place to Live

Our experience with JD (James Dawkins) - Ready Built Henley is awesome. This is my first house and we are very happy. I really made a good decision. I’m really happy with the settlement process with Henley. JD is only reason to buy this property. Special Thanks to James Dawkins. Overall I’m really happy with service, extensive quality and designs of Henley home.

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Transparency
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateOctober 2018

Very happy in our new home

Our experience with Henley has overall been quite good with the sales and pre construction admin side of things quite good. The two people we dealt with were quick to respond, knowledgeable and just overall lovely people.

Once we moved to construction there was a noticeable drop in the quality of the admin process. The person we were dealing with didn’t seem to want to answer the phone or return phone calls and struggled to respond to emails when the questions being asked were difficult.

We have been very happy with our site supervisor who has seemed to have great attention to detail and has been easy to get along with through the process. We ended up going a month over contract which was frustrating but due to being kept in the loop by our site supervisor it was understandable.

We used a private inspector which Henley were more than happy to accommodate and was well worth the money.

There are still some issues to be sorted and it’s not always easy to get hold of the right people but I am confident that everything will be fixed soon.

The final price of the house came in at a little under the estimated price which we are happy with.

All in all we have had a good experience with Henley.

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Transparency
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateApril 2019
1 comment
Hello Ann-Marie, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us and provide your feedback. We will certainly take your feedback on board, and should you have trouble contacting anyone within the office our customer care team will assist you on customercare@henley.com.au. Best wishes, Henley Team.

Perfect Dream Home

I’m really happy about my decision to go with Henley. This is my first experience in Melbourne housing and my first home. So, I think I had the best decision ever. I highly recommend Henley to anyone. Our sales administrator supported all the times. He guided and gave valuable advises prior to color selection, so it helped us a lot to think beyond what we see. All colors were selected by me & my partner though there was little disagreement came from color girl who guided us. But finally, the colors that we selected perfectly matched. I would really thankful to our Site Supervisor who organized all the contractors on time and completed the construction sooner than we expected. We hired an independent building supervisor who pointed some defects that were all due to poor workmanship. All of those defects were sent to our site supervisor in written and some of them had been fixed. There were minor things that didn’t fix due to some reasons and it required more demolition. I’m really happy with the administration process with Henley though it requires more paperwork. Construction administrator also supported us very much by answering number of questions raised by me. Overall I’m really happy with service, extensive quality and designs of Henley home.

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Transparency
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateApril 2019
1 comment
Hello Chamika K, We are so pleased to read that you were happy with each process of the build! Congratulations on your settlement. Best wishes, Henley Team.

Very mixed experience

Our build with Henley has been somewhat mixed. This was our third build (and was to be our last) so we entered the process with realistic expectations as we had done it before. There were certainly issues with the admin process with lack of communication between the various departments leading to a lot of inefficiency and time wasted and micro managing by us to pick up all the things missed and not handed over correctly. With regard to the issues We won some and lost some but Henley came to the table on each occasion and were willing discuss and see things from our point of view. So that’s great! And we are appreciative of that.

However what has really hampered our experience of Henley has been the quality of trades used throughout the home. In particular the tiling, rendering and painters have shown extremely poor workmanship that should in no way represent Henley’s brand.

What has been even more frustrating is they send the same tradie who didn’t do a good job in the first place to ‘rectify’ and they do the same standard of work again which in turn creates more issues. These mistakes and the subsequent ‘fixes’ lead to the home lacking the finesse that a new home should and can be very visible even to the untrained eye. We upgraded almost every aspect of our home, however the poor workmanship especially in the bathrooms and front facade rendering have left us very disappointed.

We have had to have bring in our own trades at times to try and address issues on a brand new home which is extremely disappointing given we have paid over $500 k to Henley.

Henley’s response when questioning the quality of trades and poor workmanship issues has often been “well that’s just how they do it”. This is certainly not reflected in your display homes which is the standard that is promised.

We loved the Henley designs, the inclusions offered, had a great experience with sales and our Admin was also responsive (issues at admin were beyond her control) but our Overall, the final outcome is“okay” and Not “Amazing”. That may be due to the volume of issues
identified that had to be rectified or purely because we are weary after this long process.

We are beginning the process of addressing these issues with Henley Home Assurance and are hopeful they can be resolved satisfactorily.

Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateDecember 2018
1 comment
Hello Amali A, Thank you for your detailed review, we are pleased to read that you love the inclusions and your customer service experience was great, however it is dissapointing to read that your final outcome was only okay! We trust the home assurance team are working towards improving that experience for you, please do not hesitate to contact customercare@henley.com.au should you have further issues that you feel require urgent attention or an extra set of hands. We do hope that you are enjoying your beautiful new home. Best wishes, Henley Team.

Excellent quality and design but made us wait long

Job Number: 312001
Development Approval / Building Approval Permit Number: 2748420177872/0
Build Location: Lot 1012, 53 Maiden Drive SUNBURY 3429
Home Design Name: Emperor 48

Our first home built by Henley. We are very happy with the quality of the house. The administration process went really well & fast. But as soon as we moved to construction stage, there were delays.

We had slab in 1 week and then we waited for frame to start after 3 months due to unavailability of carpenters (as advised by supervisor). Then after frame we had delays in almost every stage. And we finally got the keys after 10 months into construction (went over the contract date).

Even after all the delays, the end result was excellent. We just love our house. Overall the quality of the house if brilliant.

According to me, the area of improvement is none other than fastening up the construction process.

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Transparency
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateApril 2019
1 comment
Hello Harnek, Thank you for reviewing your experience with us, and for your feedback and suggestions - we do take all of these on board. Congratulations on your settlement. Best wishes, Henley Team.

Confused and neglected

Bought the land and thought of building a dream house on it, went to all home builders and selected two floor plans one with Carlisle Homes and second with Henley Homes. We went with Henley as we saw value for money and secondly the sales woman was amazing at Upper Point Cook display estate.
From floor plan selection to color appointment everything went smooth then construction started and has not ended yet, as per the contract maximum construction period ended on April 12, 2019. still waiting...

Build StageMid-Construction
1 comment
Hello Shaikh J Sabir, Thank you very much for your review. We are always looking for ways to improve and we appreciate receiving your feedback regarding your experience with us thus far. We will continue working closely with you and we look forward to completing the construction of your home and we hope to have a positive outcome for you. Best wishes, Henley Team.

Excellent house designs

Our first home built with henley. We love our home. The process has its ups and down, great management with the lead up to the construction of the home, the staff at the display, henley colours and tender were excellent in guiding us and providing us with constant communication. Once we were at construction stage there were delays and areas for improvement in regards to communicating with us. Overall the we are happy with the quality of our home.

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Transparency
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateMarch 2019
1 comment
Hello Kim, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us, and providing your feedback. We are so pleased to read that you love your new home. Congratulations on your settlement. Best wishes, Henley Team.

Quality Builder but made us wait long

The house was really well managed and the supervisor was very particular about everything. There was some issues at the start where the builder was unable to site the house and due to late in finding that had to change the house design completely and had to re-do the selection process. The cost at the start to the finish was very accurate but the only thing I was unhappy with was the delay the builder had in completing the job. Very slow they were I felt infact they went beyond the maximum day of construction based on the contract.

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateApril 2019
1 comment
Hi Ravi Gupta, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience. Although there were delays, we are pleased to read that your build was well managed and we trust you are happy with your home. Congratulations on your settlement. Best wishes, Henley Team.

Brilliant quality and design

This is my second house builth with Henley. They are by far have the best inclusions and final quality and built is brilliant as always. Communicated well throughout the whole process. Highly recommended!

Customer Service
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateMarch 2019
1 comment
Hello Salman, We are so pleased to read your review, and that this is your second build with us! Thank you for recommending Henley, and we hope to see you for home number 3! Best wishes, Henley Team.

Perfect home

Managing my building stages, starts from design, colour selection tender, contract, variations and construction phases all were good. We have some issues with sales person because she was not gave us correct information.
The quality of construction work was good and they gave us house before expecting time just because of our site supervisor Darren was very good and worked professionally.
The team communication and cooperation is very good. Overall our experience was very good.

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateApril 2019
1 comment
Hello Harminder Singh, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience, we are so pleased to read that it was such a positive one throughout. We trust you are enjoying your beautiful new home. Congratulations on your settlement. Best wishes, Henley Team.

Page 1 of 26

Questions & Answers

Hi Guys, I am Planning to Build Cullen 41, Not sure if anyone has built that house, also I am bit concerned after reading so many negative reviews, please if anyone can share their experiences
3 answers
Hello dheeraj g, Firstly we are excited that you are considering Henley to build your home. We have only recently started encouraging clients to leave reviews, and you will be able to see that the number of positive reviews outweigh the negative. We have built over 30,000 homes in the 30 years we have been in operation, and we would love nothing more than to add yours to that impressive number! Kind regards, Henley Team.I would stay away from Henley! Dont be another statistic Dheeraj ,Henley thinks we are all just numbers. We have had nothing but issues from them . I am awaiting my settlement to happen before I put my reviews on and mine will be pages long once I put in all the details. Some execs from Henley do not even trust their own company to build their house and went with another builder. That must prove something right?.Thx Chilli for sharing your experience

Hi, I recently bought a land and planning to build via Henley homes. I put down my deposit and received soil test results ( Says H1 type soil ) . The quote I signed had zero site cost promotion but when I consulted many other builders, I was told that Henley will definitely charge me in a later stage for site cost even though it says zero site cost. I just want to understand experience with Henley in regards to site cost to know how transparent they are.. I am deeply worried if they come back to me with extra figures after I sign the contract and I will be forceful to do it. Please advise? Ash
3 answers
Hi Ash, we had to pay nearly 15k for site costs. We fixed our site costs so there were no surprises in the end. I'm not sure how it works with the zero site costs offer. It's probably best to get everything in writing before signing any contract.Hi Sumit, Thanks for the reply. I will get in touch with Henley for the same. Did they confirm the site cost before you signed the contract? Was there any post contract variation for Site cost? Thanks, AshHi Ash, Best to speak to the Sales Consultants for the area you are looking to build. Kind regards, Henley Team.

Hi Guys, I recently visited Henley Display home in Rockbank and i really like the plan and the inclusions. I was very much satisfied with what I saw in Rockbank (Monaco 29), but after i read through the reviews here I'm a bit hesitant on whether to choose Henley or not. Why are there so many unhappy customers (97 one star, 32 two star reviews). Compared to Carlisle and Metricon, the negative feedback is too many here. Please help me make a choice.
1 answer
Hello Don R, Firstly we are excited that you are considering Henley to build your home, and we would love to put you in touch with a sales consultant - we have private messaged you to obtain your details. We have only recently started encouraging clients to leave reviews, and you will be able to see that the number of positive reviews outweigh the negative (5 Star - 160 & 4 Star - 132) We have built over 30,000 homes in the 30 years we have been in operation, and we would love nothing more than to add yours to that impressive number! Kind regards, Henley Team.

Details

Henley
Contact Number (03) 9574 5333
Address395 Ferntree Gully Road, Mount Waverley VIC 3149, Australia

Visit official website

Similar listings