??!
4 photos
Holden Astra BK (Hatchback)

Holden Astra BK (Hatchback) (2016-2019)

Also referred to as: Holden Astra BK (Hatchback) 2018 and Holden Astra BK (Hatchback) 2020. RS-V, R, RS, R+
4.6 from 16 reviews

See the Best Hatchbacks in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
12
4 star
2
3 star
1
2 star
1
1 star
0

R.V.

R.V.Sydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Nice drive

published

Purchased new in April 2018 for just over 20 thou. for the R+.
Has done over 30,000 Kims now.
This car has been quite reliable and economical. Plenty of go in the 1.4 Ltd donk.
Has excellent handling and good onboard tech. Although the forward collision alert seems to come on at odd times. But very comfortable car to drive.
Well worth the purchase price.

Purchased in April 2018 at Suttons.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

ASTRA PROBLEMS

published

I have had noting but problems with my BK Astra Has only done 25,000 klms. Water level topped up at every service, Blind spot mirrors warning coming on together, Vibration on gear changes ,Irregular gear changes, Red warning light keeps coming on for no reason. Evaporative solenoid replaced.
Never will I buy another Astra/ Holden

Purchased in June 2017 for $29,000.00.

TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
David J.

David J.Sydney, NSW

Back up service under warranty is disgusting

published

Our Astra with less than 60 000kms on the clock and still under new car warranty had an orange light pop up saying ESC on the dash. So I rang Col Crawford who were great. I got the car in straight away only to be told that the car needed pistons and rings. Not a problem, I understand that, but the problem is that it took me 4 phone calls, an hour of my time each time and threatening that my solicitor said to send them the bills for a hire car to finally get a replacement car while they try and find pistons which they have no time frame on. Be wary if you plan on buying a Holden.

Purchased in July 2018 at Col Crawford for $14,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Sagar

Sagar

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Good car but not without quality niggles

published

Have had a 2018 Astra R+ hatchback for under 2 years with 11k kms on the clock so far.

Pros- it’s a drives like a dream with excellent ride, handling with decent power and kit. Good value for money

Cons- very bad paint quality, chips very easily, almost as if they used crayons for paint.
Headlights are extremely inadequate out of the city or on dark unlit roads
The placement of the reverse camera and the resolution are causes for limited utility

Purchased in April 2018 at Holden Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Excellent small car

published

We chose the Astra RSV 1.6 turbo
Terrific car for our small family and recommend it to anyone looking for a reliable performer.
It’s fuel economy around town with Aircon on is about 7L/100km and is quite easy to drive with minimal road noise.
Holden have completed the first two services so far without anything extra needing to be fixed.

BodyHatch
BadgeRS-V
Engine Size1.6L Turbo Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2017

Electreks P

Electreks PAU

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Best car we've owned

published
BodyHatch
BadgeRS-V
Engine Size1.6L Turbo Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017

A real surprise! Great value, comfortable and fun to drive

published
BodyHatch
BadgeRsv
Engine Size1.6L Turbo Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2018

woodunn

woodunnHahndorf

  • 7 reviews
  • 6 likes

Great low down grunt and good looking to boot

published

Good value top of the range hatch.
Plenty of power and smart traditional automatic.
Handles great around the Adelaide Hills and also on the open road.
Fantastic technology with DAB radio, Android Auto, Apple Carplay, self parking, heated seats..........
We found the seats in the R and RS too tight with the side bolsters however the RS-V with leather have a wider seat base and are very comfortable.
The lumbar support adjusts vertically and horizontally.
The only downside so far is it requires 95RON as a minimum.

BodyHatch
BadgeRS-V
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2017
BP93

BP93Brisbane

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Simplicity at its finest!

published
BodyHatch
BadgeR
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedAug 2017
Phill Perry

Phill PerryQLD, 4053

  • 9 reviews
  • 5 likes

Excellent!!

published

Fantastic car. I purchased the RSV with touring pack. Comes with a huge amount of features, drives like it's on rails and the 1.6 turbo is just perfect. I love the remote start and parking assist. The car needs no extras other than mats and tinting. Oh and it looks great!

BodyHatch
BadgeRSV
Engine Size1.6L Turbo Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2017

peteyman

peteymanMelbourne

  • 4 reviews

Great car!

published

Have had my new Astra RS-V for about eight weeks now and love it! Zippy around town and feels very capable on longer drives as well, did the drive up to Canberra last weekend and barely felt it. Great handling, very settled drive & a nice tight, sporty feel which is a step up from my old Cruze which this replaced. Also really like Carplay but I know that's not unique to the Astra.

BodyHatch
BadgeRS-V
Engine Size1.6L Turbo Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017

perfect

published

performance is really really good handling is really perfect not too too much noise though
I really like the interior including dashboard and legroom and etc
the car is really really reliable to my point of view and the running cost for mine is 7.7 petrol per 100 kilo metres

BodyHatch
Badgers
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017

Robert

Robert

  • 10 reviews
  • 15 likes

Very Happy

published

Recently purchased an Astra RSV and absolutely love it. This car ticks all the boxes for me (particularly with the 147kw engine) and is a pleasure to drive. It's comfortable and has all the safety and comfort features that I require. The car handles well and the bonus of 5 years warranty and three years free servicing is a plus. Holden has a winner with this car!

BodyHatch
BadgeRSV
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2017

jawd

jawdAU

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Excellent Car

published

Recently purchased an Astra RSV and could not be happier. Powerful turbo engine yet economical. Very stylish dash with everything at your finger tips. One of the things that stood out is how well the car handles and steers which is an improvement over the Hyundai i30. Quiet inside and love the safety kit together with adaptive cruise control. Car came with free servicing for 3 years and 5 year warranty. Never considered a Holden before but the Astra is a gem!

BodyHatch
BadgeRSV
Engine Size1.6L Turbo Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2017
Nic Mc

Nic Mc

  • 2 reviews

Absolutely impressed & exceptional safety!

published

The 2017 Astra R driving experience is 10/10. For a small car, the performance puts the vehicle in front of all other small-medium car options with the other standard features an added bonus. During front impact the Astra proved significantly sturdy and prevented harsh impact on the driver & passengers.
The interior is stylish, sleek and classy and the Apple/Android car play increases the driving pleasure.
The Astra R fuel economy and other running cost are minimial and overall a high five to Holden for this excellent car!

BodyHatch
BadgeR
Engine Size1.4 Turbo petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2017
Brock

BrockBrisbane

  • 3 reviews

This is a well made car. Did really well in my crash.

published

We brought a new Holden Astra R hatch & had it for two weeks when I was driving through an intersection with a green traffic light & another vehicle traveling the opposite direction ran a red turn arrow & run straight into the front end of my vehicle. I didn't even have time to brake, I struck this other vehicle at about 60 km/h. The airbags went off & the vehicle came to an immediate stop. The front end folded as it's meant to do to keep me safe. I was able to get out of the car with no injuries. I was very impressed with how well the car did in my crash. The car is a write off & we are waiting for our new Astra to arrive.

BodyHatch
BadgeR
Engine Size1.4
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2017

See all Holden Astra reviews

Questions & Answers

Amber C.

Amber C.asked

Wondering what experience others have had with turnaround under warranty. Under 2 yo Astra r+ has so far had confirmed blown piston and cracked piston head - currently investigating whether its damaged the bore - to which Ive been told thisll mean a full engine replacement (26k on the engine!!). Im pushing for a courtesy car because Im stuck 30ks from the service centre with 3 kids and no car. while Im giving the dealer the chance to get things done (they havent finished their warranty process yet - but Ive been told their warranty lady goes on leave tomorrow) Im worried if I dont start to push Ill be stuffed for at least another week. Would appreciate some guidance on a way to expedite the process - no doubt Holden hasnt even had anything through from the dealer as yet.

No answers

Alison R.

Alison R.asked

Hi my Astra 2016 R model central locking only unlocks the driver’s side door. I have to press the lock unlock function to let my passengers in once I’m inside the car. My model doesn’t have keyless entry. How do I get my central locking to unlock all doors?

1 answer
Shawn
Shawn

Go into the system settings and you can adjust that from your stereo


Jess m

Jess masked

What do people think of the Holden Astra R BK 16/17? Are they lemons? I've test driven one and really liked it but I've heard the Astra can be unreliable. I'm not sure if that's associated with earlier models though. I really liked the car but should I be concerned it would die on me or something?

2 answers
perry
perry

keep the car serviced, latest model good performance and fuel eficent every car maker has a lemon or two

Shawn
Shawn

I have one with 110,000km on it
Reliable so far, and no major issues
Every model has a dud but so far so good
Original rotors as well at that many km


Get an answer from our members and Holden representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.