1 photo
Honda Buffalo Buck HRU19D

Honda Buffalo Buck HRU19D

4.2 from 23 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.7 (6)
  • Value for Money
    3.5 (6)
  • Ease of Use
    3.8 (6)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.3 (6)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    4.2 (6)
  • Safety
    4.3 (6)
  • Wet / Damp Grass Performance
    2.5 (6)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.0 (6)
Previous
Next
jbambury
jbambury
  • 11 reviews
  • 5 likes

A great mower and very reliable

published

Purchased in May 2004 for $800.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Carburetor plays up after about 3 years

published

Purchased for $799.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
JOHN
JOHNmelbourne
  • 9 reviews
  • 19 likes

Fantastic

published

Fantastic domestic mower, mulching plug works well. small rear opening can get blocked if grass is moist but still ok. clippings fertilize grass and grass appears greener after mulching. start first time everytime!!

Purchased in November 2010 for $750.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Honda Buffalo Buck HRU19D compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Dean
DeanGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

What A doosy

published

Wont pick up the Cut Grass.
Get used to it. Had my HRU 19 for a number years. Wont load the catcher consisitantly. Basically leaves 80% of cuttings on your lawn. Done the blades cleaned the catcher many times. These are just the poorest design I have ever seen especially being regarded as a good brand. Easy to start just buy a few rakes for your entire family at the same time. The Motor does seem slightly under powered just able to cut a medium to low lawn. Very quiet.
I'll stick with the previous brand and retire this to the farm for small trimmings where the cuttings can stay on the lawn. Honda should have got onto this before releasing these mowers.

Purchased in January 2016 for $950.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Jeff A
Jeff AHunter Region, NSW
  • 2 reviews
  • 5 likes

Perfect for 27 years

published

Purchase 27 years ago finally wore out. It mowed large blocks of grass, with lots rocks. A great mower to have and I am about to purchase another one. I will not have to buy another after this.

Purchased in May 1992.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Layadi T.
Layadi T.Sydney, NSW
  • 4 reviews

Good but a bit heavy for me

published

Bought second hand last year from gumtree. Was not planning to buy Honda because this one is heavy however have some mate doing the strata maintenance that gave me great review on them they say the engine keeps going after decades its still going only the body is damaged and need to be fixed/replaced but the engine it self working great. After hearing that I decide to get one second hand and it has been good so far.

Purchased in July 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Christian C
Christian CPort Macquarie
  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Mower for Life

published
Date PurchasedApr 1998
Stoney
StoneyRockhampton

6 months under water and still goes

published

I service and repair garden equipment as a bit of a hoppy. Not a fan of the new long range buffalo. The only mower I have ever paid money for $1100 only to sell it 12 months later at a big loss. Far to heavy and the reduced discharge Shute it clogged and bogged very easy. They don’t build em like the used to. I’m currently working on the older ohc 19D 6 months under water and then a few years sitting in a paddock. I have had to replace is the governor springs and throttle cable for obvious reasons. I gave it a major clean up and I was amazed when second pull she fired up. It ran a little rough but with a tune and some further running it runs like a charm. I’m gonna keep this old girl as an experiment and see how long she will run for

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Johnno
JohnnoSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like

Fairly decent mower

published

This mower cuts well when the grass is dry and not too thick. The less than perfect design flaw of having only a half a chute means it struggles with thick and/or wet grass and constantly clogs up, requiring the user to stop and unclog it. I also find the engine brake a pain, as every time you take hand of the holder, the mower stops. However, the mower like most Hondas, is a reliable starter, starting first pull every time. It does actually cut the grass really well when my lawn is not thick or wet.

Date PurchasedMay 2017
Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Honda Buffalo Buck HRU19D compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Best I ever had

published

I got my Honda hru 19d from the metal recycling yard for $20 so in other words i gave it a new life did some maintaince on and it put some fresh fuel in it pulled it over and it runs like a horse even tho the blades have no lift it still cuts the grass very well i don't even have it's catcher or mulch plug

Date PurchasedNov 2017
Lismoron
LismoronLismore
  • 4 reviews

They don't make them like this anymore

published

This was the first new mower I have ever bought. That was 15 years ago, and its still going strong. It does an extremely good job, has a full width shoot so doesn't get clogged up with wet grass. It's nice and light so very manuverable. Another high quality Honda mower.

Date PurchasedFeb 2002
Joe
JoeGold Coast
  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Don't muck around with mowers, buy a Honda

published

I asked the Father-in-law's colleague who ownd a mower store and then sold it but still worked there, what should I buy? He said "Don't muck around with mowers, buy a Honda!" I wasn't buying off him as I was interstate but following his advice I bought the HRU 19D in Dec 2008. I run it on 98 unleaded and it starts first go whether it me or my wife starting it. For maintenance I've only had to change oil, spark plugs and blades and it's 8 years old.

I also bought a Honda trimmer (UMS425U) and I look forward to yard maintenance day as once again it is reliable and easy to start.

Date PurchasedDec 2008
Chalkyt
Chalkyt
  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Easy Start doesn't always

published

I've had this mower for a few years. Thought I would go upmarket after my 30 year old Rover finally gave up.
Both the mulching and catching function work well. The "safety bar" throttle took a little getting used to but works fine... the mower runs at a pre-set speed. However the "Easy Start" function doesn't always. The dealer is an hours drive away (we are in the country) and although they fix it, I haven't been able to find out what the problem is. Poor starting is my biggest complaint, apart from that it is tough, well built and does the job.

Date PurchasedFeb 2013
dzcook
dzcookcharters towers
  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

heap of rubbish

published
1 comment
Honda
James H.Honda

Honda You Can't Beat Them, Had For 5 Years Now Awesome Product Hru19d

published

I hope this model lasts a long time, it seems the new Honda's don't cut, why Honda just do the maintenance and everything is good, can be heavy when loading, etc. catcher good size and fuel economy. Very good, use 98 octane fuel grade lasts longer.
Don't buy cheap rubbish from big stores not worth the dramas even wifey can start this one lol, just remember cheap expensive, expensive cheap for product like these
ps: I'm not shouting caps stuck.

1 comment
Honda
James H.Honda

Thanks for the review SMARTY1968, great to hear that you have the wife on the job as well. - Sarah

Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Honda Buffalo Buck HRU19D compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Page 1 of 2
See all Honda HRU19 reviews

Questions & Answers

Dave87
Dave87asked
Buffalo Buck HRU19D

Trying to find an owners/service manual online. I’ve done several google searches but they all direct me to the model that replaced this one. Other links that say “click here to download Honda HRU19D manual” redirects me to pages that have nothing to do with mowers.
Any help would be appreciated
Cheers!

No answers
Tommy
Tommyasked
Buffalo Buck HRU19D

What motor is on a 2007 Honda HRU 19D mower

1 answer
Inners
Inners

GCV160 5.5hp ohv/ohc

Raymond
Raymondasked
Buffalo Buck HRU19D

i starts ok but only runs for a few minutes then cuts out but will start again then doses the same

1 answer
Inners
Inners

Carby

See all Honda Buffalo Buck HRU19D questions

Get an answer from our members

Honda Buffalo Buck HRU19D

Details

Compare all 5 Honda HRU19
CategoryPetrol Lawn Mowers
Price (RRP) $899.00
Power SourcePetrol
FeaturesBlade Brake, Deck Clean-out Port and Mulching Capability
Catcher Type Rigid
Catcher Capacity54 L
Cutting Deck MaterialPlastic
Cutting Width470 mm
Height of Cut16 mm to 80 mm
Number of Blades1
Manufacturer Warranty4 year(s)
Engine / Motor
Engine NameHonda GCV170
Engine Type4-Stroke
BrandHonda
Replaced byHonda Buffalo Buck HRU19M1
Compare all 5 Honda HRU19

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.