??!
8 photos
Hyundai Getz TB

Hyundai Getz TB (2002-2011)

GL, SX, (No Badge), etc...
4.0 from 120 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.8 (4)
  • Value for Money
    4.3 (4)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.3 (4)
  • Noise Level
    3.0 (4)
  • Braking
    3.8 (4)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.3 (4)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.0 (2)
  • Suspension
    3.5 (4)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.8 (4)
  • Handling
    3.5 (4)
  • Interior Design
    3.5 (4)
  • Boot Size
    2.8 (4)
  • Comfort
    2.8 (4)
  • Features
    3.0 (3)
Previous
Next
Quark

QuarkCentral West, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Wonderful little car.

published

Purchased in March 2010 for A$14,700.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2010
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers

One of my best investments.

published

Bought one in 2002 , brand new auto. Bought it to teach my 4 children to drive. They used it until they bought their own cars. Still have it , 240,000 km on the clock , just serviced it and my mechanic says she still got some life it her ......who knows , l am hoping to celebrate her 20th .

Purchased in December 2002.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2002
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
See all answers
Ted

Ted

  • 22 reviews
  • 41 likes

Not for me, glad it was only a hire car

published
Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
Year2008
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Hatchbacks

Find out how Hyundai Getz TB compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Josh

JoshMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews

Getz are Fabulous !

published

My favourite car ! so much so I have 2. Cheap to buy second hand has 4 wheel disc brakes in 2005+ models , Blindingly smooth brakes of any car ever ! Cheap, cheap to maintain & cheap parts. Airbags Antilock brakes. zippy 1.6L and great inside build quality. The 1st is 2007 Sxi done 65k and the 2nd is a 2005 Sx done 300k and singing still. Pure Joys to drive ! I'd buy a 3rd just to drive an Auto but the wife would have me committed.. Driven the older 2005 model interstate with no issues.

Purchased in April 2007 at Hyundai Dealers for A$13,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2007
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Grego

GregoSouth East Queensland, QLD

Very good reliable cheap car

published

Purchased in September 2010.

Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2010
See all answers
mbella91

mbella91

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Great small car!

published

I bought this car after a year old as the previous owner bought a family car as didn’t need anymore. Had it for 7 years & its a great small car to drive around & havent had any issues with it. The only downside is that it isnt the best going up steep hills as its only a 1.4L but driving around the city is great.

Badge(No Badge)
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2011
jeepyrocks28

jeepyrocks28Perth, WA

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Other than lack of comfort, an excellent car

published
BadgeSXi
Doors3
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedFeb 2013
ellie

ellieYOUNG

  • 9 reviews
  • 3 likes

It's a good car for me, but it's not without its issues (I give it 3.5 stars but that wasn't an opti

published

This was my first car and I just needed a small, cheapish runabout to get me to uni and my uni placements..and whatever after that. It does what I want, it drives, it's reliable enough and it's a good size for easy parking and it's fairly easy on the petrol. It is small and there is not much room to get very comfy, so long drives would be hard I think (I haven't driven it for longer than 1.5 hours at a time). I have had some issues with the back doors being a bit tricky too and the aircon could be better, but if you want a cheap little runabout for work, uni etc., this car is good for that.

BadgeGL
Doors5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2017
Jodie

JodieNSW

  • 12 reviews
  • 3 likes

Meh.. not reliable cars at all

published
BadgeGL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2015
Hatchbacks

Find out how Hyundai Getz TB compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mickeymouse

Mickeymouse

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Fantastic!!!

published

Oh look at my car,it's low in cost and it's easy to put petrol in it.It's black,shiny glossy and looks great.Easy to clean and easy to run.Plenty of leg room and the carpet is plush,short style to keep clean.Compact and neat is my car,needless to say it is my car and I am very proud of my little FAMILY.

BadgeXL
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedApr 2010
Jessica S

Jessica SAU

  • 7 reviews

The perfect ride

published

This car is such a great drive. It’s the first car I have bought in Australia and I love it. My friend bought one back in July 2017 and she couldn’t recommend it enough. Even though it is second hand it has been so reliable and such a smooth run. Easy to use and cheap. It’s almost like it runs on fresh air.

BadgeSXi
Engine Size1.6L
Doors3
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Jimmy

JimmyHobart

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Nice and cheap car

published

I bought the second hand one from a dealer, just cost me$2000.
It is economic style of vehicle for going to school or supermarket, it's 1.6L, very cheap for petrol.
But, Its room is a little bit squeezy, not only for seating area, but also luggage zone, can not put a big size baggage.
It's too light, so don't drive fast, easy to roll over.

Badge(No Badge)
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedSep 2017
Emil

Emil

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Pretty good all round

published
BadgeGL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2016
Greg R

Greg RWollongong

  • 25 reviews
  • 18 likes

Still going Strong

published

My sporty 2 door SXi Getz is just over 10 years old and I have done 91,000km. Just had the first major service ( timing chain ). The car has only had tyres,wiper blades, a few brake lights and a thermostat (apart from oil and filters etc). This car has been 100% reliable and still looks close to new. Extremely happy with performance and costs. Hope to keep it another few years at least.

BadgeSXi
Engine Size1.6L
Doors3
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMay 2007
Heartseeds

HeartseedsSydney, NSW

  • 13 reviews
  • 12 likes

Great little car

published

Haven't had a problem except the timing belt snapping, which was my fault for not having it looked over. Gets me from a to b with no hassles and isn't too bad on fuel. It is at 250,000kms and still going strong. Would recommend for a first car, safe and reliable.

Badge(No Badge)
Engine Size1.6L
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedAug 2013
Hatchbacks

Find out how Hyundai Getz TB compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Pebbles

PebblesYarralumla

  • 10 reviews
  • 4 likes

Perfect

published

It the best car ever driven, it small but powerful, really gets up and goes when you need it to. Parts aren't to pricey , so long as you get it serviced etc when it needs it, it should last you a life time. it great for a small persons first car, but you'll full inlove withit like me and never let it go..

BadgeSXi
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedNov 2010
Som

SomSydney

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Terrible

published

I bought this car second hand 2009 model. And will never buy hyundai getz again. Too many problems in this car. Too much vibration and interior was making too much sound when start the engine. It costs me $800 to fix the vibration. The only good thing about this car is can get it for cheap.

BadgeSXi
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2016
Lily

LilyGold Coast

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Perfect frist car

published

I bought this car second hand in 2013 for only $4000, 4 years later it's still running. I have to change the oil frequently as it's now quite old, but other then that it's been running perfectly. Only costs me on average $40-45 to fill up and because I only drive about 20km a day - my petrol lasts me about 3 weeks to a month.

BadgeXL
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMar 2013
Viku

VikuWyndham vale

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Nice small car

published

Bought in 2010. Automatic . Very economical. Nice pick up. Perfect for upto 4 passengers. So far no real issues. Runs very smooth. Comfortable and enough room in boot to put few bags or pram. Also you can fold back seats. Only issue i can see its 2 doors .

Badge(No Badge)
Engine Size1.6L
Doors3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2010
Loftwah

LoftwahPerth

  • 7 reviews
  • 3 likes

Cheap and reliable car

published

I bought this car because I needed a cheap run around. I never expected it to be as good as it is.

It isn't the fastest thing around (small hatchback) but it gets me everywhere I need to go, handles well and is a pleasant driving experience.

The stereo sounds terrible and is the only thing I would consider replacing (by then I'll probably get a new car anyway).

Very reliable and cheap to run.

Badge(No Badge)
Engine Size1.4L
Doors3
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedAug 2015
Page 1 of 6

Questions & Answers

Moses K.

Moses K.asked

Getz TB (2002-2011)

2011 four plugs one is not functioning what may be the problem?

No answers
lindalee888

lindalee888asked

Getz TB (2002-2011)

Did the original 2008 Hyundai Getz 1.6 have LEATHER gear boot or vinyl??? Thanks.

No answers
Kofy

Kofyasked

Getz TB (2002-2011)

Hi, I have a 2004 1.3 liter manual getz. Is it possible to replace the engine with a 1.6 liter?

1 answer
Quark
Quark

Sorry I can't help, but your question would be better directed at a motor mechanic.

Get an answer from our members

Details

Compare all 8 Hyundai Getz TB (2002-2011)
Hyundai Getz TB Click
  • Discontinued

Hyundai Getz TB Click (2002-2011)

No reviews yet
Hyundai Getz TB FX
  • Discontinued

Hyundai Getz TB FX (2002-2011)

No reviews yet
CategoryHatchbacksHatchbacksHatchbacksHatchbacks
Starting Price A$16,880A$17,490A$17,553A$15,853
TransmissionAutomatic and ManualAutomatic and ManualAutomatic and ManualAutomatic and Manual
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels14" Steel14" Alloy14" Alloy14" Steel
ANCAP Safety Rating3 Stars3 Stars3 Stars3 Stars
Doors5333
Seats5555
Fuel Consumption7 L/100km7 L/100km7.7 L/100km7.7 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 45 L45 L45 L45 L
Engine4 Cylinder 1.6L4 Cylinder 1.6L4 Cylinder 1.5L4 Cylinder 1.5L
Max Power78kW @ 5800rpm78kW @ 5800rpm74kW @ 5800rpm74kW @ 5800rpm
Max Torque144Nm @ 3200rpm144Nm @ 3200rpm133Nm @ 3200rpm133Nm @ 3200rpm
Country of ManufactureSouth KoreaSouth KoreaSouth KoreaSouth Korea
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Release dateJan 2002Jan 2002Jan 2002Jan 2002
Discontinuation dateDec 2011Dec 2011Dec 2011Dec 2011
Replaced byHyundai i20Hyundai i20Hyundai i20Hyundai i20
Compare all 8 Hyundai Getz TB (2002-2011)

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.