??!
1 photo
InsureandGo Australia International Travel Insurance - Gold Cruise

InsureandGo Australia International Travel Insurance - Gold Cruise

3.6 from 137 reviews

Reviews

3.6

137 reviews
5
(69)
4
(21)
3
(3)
2
(7)
1
(37)
  • Value for Money
    3.7 (102)
  • Transparency
    3.4 (92)
  • Customer Service
    3.5 (96)
Previous
Next

Never use this company

published

Bought policy on 1st of February, gold cruise $1000 dollars.
Now told no refund.. why would you ever use this company I the future? They say their website I’d down.....

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForSenior
See all answers
3 comments
InsureandGo Australia
Anna J.InsureandGo Australia

Hi Robert, I'm sorry we aren't able to refund your policy, although we are offering a pro-rata credit on unused policies that are cancelled. Would you like me to send you more information on this? Thanks, Anna

Robert W.
Robert W.

Well please sent it through. Haven’t you effectively cancelled the policy on February 1st which was one day after I paid you 1000 dollars for the policy?

InsureandGo Australia
Anna J.InsureandGo Australia

Hi Robert, please see the private message I just sent you about you options. Thanks, Anna

Doryanthus

DoryanthusSydney, NSW

  • 8 reviews
  • 5 likes

Should rename this company Insure and Lose

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
1 comment
InsureandGo Australia
Anna J.InsureandGo Australia
Cliff

CliffSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 2 reviews

They’ve hidden behind the Co-Vid crises to deny payments

published

Nowhere in the documentation when I took out my policy was there any mention of co-vid and when I contacted them they said I would not be eligible for recovery of my fares and hotels.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForSenior
See all answers
1 comment
InsureandGo Australia
Anna J.InsureandGo Australia
Travel Insurance

Find out how InsureandGo Australia International Travel Insurance - Gold Cruise compares to other Travel Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Bruce n Lesley

Bruce n LesleySydney, NSW

Unacceptable and unsympathetic insurance company Do not use!!

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationNorth America (inc. Hawaii)
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
1 comment
InsureandGo Australia
Anna J.InsureandGo Australia

Dear Bruce, I'm sorry the credit wasn't acceptable. The credit will expire in September 2021, but you can use it to buy a policy with travel dates up until September 2022. Thanks, Anna

Joseph Gula

Joseph GulaSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Do Not Insure with this company

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim DateMarch 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
2 comments
InsureandGo Australia
Anna J.InsureandGo Australia
Joseph Gula
Joseph Gula
Jill

JillNew South Wales

  • 3 reviews
  • 17 likes

Should have a 0-10 rating system!

published
DestinationSouth America
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForSenior
2 comments
InsureandGo Australia
Anna J.InsureandGo Australia
Jill
Jill
Cheryl East

Cheryl EastSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Disappointing Service

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEast Asia (e.g. China, Japan, South Korea) and Pacific Islands (e.g. Fiji, Vanuatu)
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForSenior
See all answers
1 comment
InsureandGo Australia
Anna J.InsureandGo Australia
Jay

Jay

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

So far - appalling service, appalling customer liason, and NIL results.

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
1 comment
InsureandGo Australia
Anna J.InsureandGo Australia
Carolyn H.

Carolyn H.Perth, WA

Would give a zero rating if I could

published

Asked to get a refund for this policy purchased September 2019, that was never used due to travel being cancelled by Princess Cruises March 2020? Their answer "As you are outside the 14-day cooling-off period, no refund would be applicable should you wish to cancel your policy." Not even a credit offered to use policy at a later date when cruise travel recommences. This policy was purchased well before Covid-19 and should be fully refunded. They have lined their own pockets and taken complete advantage of this pandemic. Never again!

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationPacific Islands (e.g. Fiji, Vanuatu)
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
3 comments
InsureandGo Australia
Anna J.InsureandGo Australia

Hi Carolyn, I'm sorry that we weren't able to accommodate your request for a refund. I would like to help you with this, and I will follow up via private message with an option that you may be eligible for. Thanks, Anna

Carolyn H.
Carolyn H.

Hi Anna, accepting a partial credit is not acceptable. That means we would be forced to use Insureandgos services in the future, which will be a NOGO!

InsureandGo Australia
Anna J.InsureandGo Australia

Hi Carolyn, I'm sorry that this offer was not acceptable to you. If you would like to escalate your complaint, I would recommend emailing complaints@insureandgo.com.au, and the disputes team we will be able to assess your case. Thanks, Anna

Travel Insurance

Find out how InsureandGo Australia International Travel Insurance - Gold Cruise compares to other Travel Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Matthew

MatthewSouth East Queensland, QLD

Partial Credit? Yeah Right!

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEast Asia (e.g. China, Japan, South Korea)
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
1 comment
InsureandGo Australia
Anna J.InsureandGo Australia
Susie B

Susie BSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 5 likes

Don't use Insure and Go

published

Took out gold insure and go policy in August 2019 for cruise and land Brazil, Italy, France, Spain, Portugal starting 2nd March 2020. Rang them before we left Brisbane. Told we were covered, but if we decided not to travel we wernt.
So we flew out and government said not to travel on 18th March. We were at sea. Earliest we could disembark was 24th March. Home 27th. Rang and told yes covered. Everything was prepaid before we left home. Some will only give credit on another cruise etc. Car and accom took 15 to 75% cancellation fee. Out of pocket $43k. Insurance knocked us back due to covid 19, yet nothing in policy about pandemic. Now disputing. Will never use again. Would give 0 stars if could.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationSouth America
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimCar/Rental Hire Excess, Other and Travel Delays/Cancellations
Claim DateApril 2020
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
6 comments
InsureandGo Australia
Anna J.InsureandGo Australia

Hi Susie, I'm sorry you're having a negative experience with the claims process, and I would like to help by following up on your case personally. Would you be able to send me your policy number via private message? Thanks, Anna

Susie B
Susie B

90816030

InsureandGo Australia
Anna J.InsureandGo Australia

Hi Susie, I have forwarded your case on to the team, along with your comments. Thanks, Anna

Lol bitten

Lol bittenHobart, TAS

  • 13 reviews
  • 16 likes

Left on a cruise received email backdated before the cruise date

published

Left on a cruise received email backdated before the cruise date saying Covid 19 a pademic so no coverage?
The question is why didnt they contact before we went interstate on our cruise not gpod value in those circumstances and no offer for a full or partial refund given we paid long before in GOOD FAITH.
Why wait until after the ship sails 27th Jan to find out we had no cover from the 24th January. Not acceptable is it......?

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationPacific Islands (e.g. Fiji, Vanuatu)
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForSenior
See all answers
1 comment
InsureandGo Australia
Anna J.InsureandGo Australia
Marc

MarcMaitland

  • 2 reviews
  • 6 likes

Disappointing Customer Service

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationNorth America (inc. Hawaii)
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
3 comments
InsureandGo Australia
Anna J.InsureandGo Australia
Marc
Marc
InsureandGo Australia
Anna J.InsureandGo Australia

Hi Marc, I'm not aware of this offer of a pro rata refund, but I would like to investigate this on your behalf. Would you be able to send me your policy number via private message here on Product Review? Then I can follow up with you. Thanks, Anna

Kazza

KazzaGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

Covid Claim Denial a Joke

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateMarch 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
2 comments
InsureandGo Australia
Anna J.InsureandGo Australia
Kazza
Kazza

I already have, thanks.

Kylie

KylieSouth East Queensland, QLD

Another unhappy customer - zero rating

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
1 comment
InsureandGo Australia
Anna J.InsureandGo Australia

Hi Kylie, I'm sorry we weren't able to help you with a credit or refund before, but now we have an option that I would like to discuss with you, and I'll reach out to you via private message with more details. Thanks, Anna

Travel Insurance

Find out how InsureandGo Australia International Travel Insurance - Gold Cruise compares to other Travel Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Raelene

RaeleneMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

From no refund or credit to a pathetic $271 offer

published

The latest offer on a $1203.89 policy is $271.61 to be used before September 2021.What a joke,we may not be able to use the credit in that time frame,also the premium will probably higher by then.It's not worth taking up,l thought l would get a full refund or credit as l didn't use the policy.NOT HAPPY.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
4 comments
InsureandGo Australia
Anna J.InsureandGo Australia
Raelene
Raelene

Do you mean to say the cover for a months cruise,flights and hotels is only worth $271.?
Raelene

InsureandGo Australia
Anna J.InsureandGo Australia
bella

bellaIllawarra, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 5 likes

Disgusting way to treat Customers

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationAustralia
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
1 comment
InsureandGo Australia
Anna J.InsureandGo Australia

Hi Bella, I'm sorry about the issues you are having in getting a credit or refund, and I would like to help you with this. I will follow up you via private message. Thanks, Anna

shaz

shazSydney, NSW

BEWARE Delay Tactics to avoid claims

published
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim DateMarch 2020
3 comments
InsureandGo Australia
Anna J.InsureandGo Australia

Hi Shaz, I'm very sorry about this - I would like to investigate this for you. Could you please send me your policy number via private message here on Product Review (for your privacy) so I can follow up? Thanks, Anna

shaz
shaz
InsureandGo Australia
Anna J.InsureandGo Australia

Hi Shaz, I'm very sorry about the situation you're going through and I have escalated your case with the right people and updated you via private message. Thanks, Anna

Dianne

DianneSydney Surrounds, NSW

Loyalty no more, so disappointed

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
1 comment
InsureandGo Australia
Anna J.InsureandGo Australia

Hi Dianne, I'm sorry about the issues you are having in getting a credit or refund, and I would like to help you with this. I will follow up you via private message. Thanks, Anna

Awatea T.

Awatea T.Perth, WA

Lost me and my family of any future business

published

Took out a Gold Cruise policy a year before departure and they have refused to a cancellation of my policy. Cruise company cancelled and government cancelled all travel because of covid 19. Insure & go have refused to refund. None of this was our choice.
Disgusted with you Insure & go.

DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeNo
6 comments
InsureandGo Australia
Anna J.InsureandGo Australia

Hi Awatea, I'm sorry about the issues you are having in getting a credit or refund, and I would like to help you with this. I will follow up you via private message. Thanks, Anna

Awatea T.
Awatea T.

Will you email me?

InsureandGo Australia
Anna J.InsureandGo Australia

Hi Awatea, I will send you a private message here on Product Review, I won't email you, but you may get an email notification from Product Review when I send you the private message. Thanks, Anna

Page 1 of 7
See all InsureandGo Australia reviews

Questions & Answers

grannyma

grannymaasked

International Travel Insurance - Gold Cruise

Would we be covered by our insurance for a refund fee of $900 per person ($1800)for overseas flights? Policy taken out 15/1/2020. We do not wish for a credit on these flights as we will not be able to travel in the prescribed time given by the airline

2 answers
Kevin
Kevin

grannyma , Ring 1300136374 and ask to speak to Nathan . He will tell you .

InsureandGo Australia
Anna J.InsureandGo Australia

Hi Grannyma, thanks for reaching out. It's impossible for me to tell without knowing all the details of your claim, but based on your purchase date, you are eligible to claim assuming your level of cover was Silver or Gold.

Please see the below link which includes a list of the documents you will need to submit along with your claim, and the contact details you will need to submit your claim by email or post.
https://www.insureandgo.com.au/travel-insurance/important-claims-information/manual-submittion.jsp

I hope this helps. If you need anything else, just reach out.

Thanks, Anna

Barrie C.

Barrie C.asked

International Travel Insurance - Gold Cruise

We took out insurance cover for our Cruise (GOLD Cruise policy) This was back in 2019, way before COVID-19 was announced or made a pandemic. Our cruise has been cancelled due to the government advising against the travel on non-essential organised gatherings of 500 or more. The cruise would of had over 3,000 people on board. Will your policy cover us or do we have to go to arbitration along the legal road.

3 answers
Barrie C.
Barrie C.

I guess the question was way too hard!

Melissa R.
Melissa R.

I am in the same boat so to speak! Lol hope we can recover funds if not travelling at all good luck Barrie C.

InsureandGo Australia
Anna J.InsureandGo Australia

Hi Barrie and Melissa, thanks for reaching out. Our cover for coronavirus hinges on when your policy was purchased. All policies bought after 4:00pm on 31st January 2020 have an exclusion for coronavirus related claims. Barrie, it sounds like you purchased your policy long before this cut off, so your policy has no exclusion for coronavirus related claims. Having said this, we do not cover claims based on change of mind, or fear of travel, and in order to make a claim relating to cancellation on medical grounds, there would need to be a medically valid reason and evidence for this. We published a travel alert that details our position on the coronavirus outbreak, so please read the following as it may be helpful for you: https://www.insureandgo.com.au/travel-alerts/latest_update-global-coronavirus-outbreak.jsp Thanks, Anna

DonnyDo

DonnyDoasked

International Travel Insurance - Gold Cruise

I have read there are various discounts offered when taking out a policy. The cover is for my 86 year old mum. I have also read in the reviews that on occasion claiming for cancelling of a trip is not covered, can you advise why this would be?

1 answer
InsureandGo Australia
Anna J.InsureandGo Australia

Hi DonnyDo, thanks for reaching out.

Yes, we do sometimes run campaigns where we will provide a discount, although the offer will vary, and discount campaigns run at different times and across different channels.

Regarding cancellation cover: it is available on Silver and Gold policies only, so purchasing a Bare Essentials would mean you are not covered for cancellation. Furthermore, as with any insurance product, there are also conditions that apply to the cover. For example, you will not be covered for cancellation due to: changing your mind, if you could not travel due to failure to obtain a passport or visa, or if you failed to check in according to your itinerary. This list is by no means exhaustive - there are other conditions and exclusions you should definitely be aware of. I strongly advise you to familiarise yourself with any and all situations where cancellation cover does not apply: please see Section A (page 19-20) of the PDS, which you can review here: https://www.insureandgo.com.au/images/ig-ms-pw-ot_tcm1005-157834.pdf. I hope this helps.

Thanks, Anna

Get an answer from our members and InsureandGo Australia representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.