??!
1 photo
Jumbuck 4 Burner Hooded Stardom with Side Burner

Jumbuck 4 Burner Hooded Stardom with Side Burner

3.8 from 38 reviews

Gas BBQs Buying Guide

There’s nothing quite like an Aussie summer barbie, and a gas bbq can help you get sizzling. But do you know whether you want a portable bbq or a freestanding model? Would you prefer an LPG gas bottle or natural gas? This buying guide is here to help answer all your burning questions.

Read now

Reviews

3.8

38 reviews
5
(11)
4
(17)
3
(4)
2
(4)
1
(2)
  • Build Quality
    3.0 (3)
  • Value for Money
    3.5 (4)
  • Ease of Use
    4.0 (4)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.8 (4)
  • Preheating Speed
    4.7 (3)
  • Even Heat DistributionYes (2) · No (2)
  • Safety
    4.0 (3)
Previous
Next
Barry

Barry

  • 7 reviews
  • 8 likes

Great for the price if you can cope with some basic assembly.

published

It seems clear that the earlier versions of this bbq had issues? I bought mine a couple of months ago (December 2019). All bolts were there, assembly was quite easy. Piezo ignition works well, and both the open flame section as well as the hot plate cook well. I always use the heatproof black plastic underlay on the hot plate. Brilliant. (Get them separately). Absolutely great for the price - beats paying $1000 or more for the glorified church altar versions that seem to be the current fashion!

Purchased in December 2019.

Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Preheating Speed
Even Heat DistributionYes
See all answers
Jarrod

Jarrod

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Great First BBQ

published

Purchased at Bunnings Warehouse for A$298.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Value for Money
Preheating Speed
Even Heat DistributionYes
See all answers
Jonesy4567

Jonesy4567South East Queensland, QLD

  • 10 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Takes a bit of practice

published

This Barby is easy to light and has a thermometer so you don't overheat things, but it is pretty hot and takes a while to work out how to moderate the heat by turning 1 or 2 jets off.

Purchased in February 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$298.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Value for Money
Preheating Speed
Even Heat DistributionNo
See all answers
Gas BBQs

Find out how Jumbuck 4 Burner Hooded Stardom with Side Burner compares to other Gas BBQs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Michael

MichaelSydney, NSW

Do not waste your money

published

I was happy only for the first 12 months. Flame tames went first - rusted and disintegrated. No parts were available to replace. I had to purchase a different brand of parts and used an angle grinder to cut to size. The burners disintegrated next, they lasted 3.5 years. I tried to find parts without success. Standard burners are 400-410mm, these Jumback ones are 370mm. Unable to use anything else due to this size difference. So after 4 years I have a perfect looking BBQ, which is a throwaway because it is impossible to get replacement parts for Jumback BBQs.

Purchased in March 2015 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Value for Money
Even Heat DistributionNo
See all answers
mozzzy

mozzzyMelbourne

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

My First BBQ and best I have cooked on so far

published
Date PurchasedDec 2018
Adam

AdamVictoria, 3205

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Best BBQ I’ve ever had

published

I’ve used it to cook all kinds of meat, fish and veggies with great results every time. All of the bits are easy to remove and clean and the protective cover keeps it looking like new on the outside. I’ve used it on a few wet and windy days and it hasn’t caused an issue. The numerous burners and having a griddle plate as well as the grill gives you lots of flexibility and it’s easy to create a hot area and a cooler area if you need to rotate and keeps things warm. Highly recommend!

Date PurchasedOct 2018
Daniel C.

Daniel C.Goulburn Valley, VIC

  • 10 reviews
  • 3 likes
  • Verified purchase

Great BBQ for the price.

published

Nice BBQ at a good price, was easy to put together and cooks good. Be sure to read the instructions about first use, as there is a protective coating on the plates for transport and you need to burn this off. First few uses everything stuck but now works great! The only negative is that even on the lowest setting food still burns, so I have to turn it past hot and turn knobs close to off position to get the burners down really low for slow burn-free cooking.

Date PurchasedSep 2018
brook

brookENGADINE

  • 15 reviews
  • 4 likes

Steakmaster

published

This is a replacement for a much loved bar b q that I had for over 20 years
Much more up to date and easier to cook on, I have bar-b-q;d steaks, snags, fish and other seafoof, roasted pork and lamb and used the side burners for keeping vegies and tomatoes warm and ready for the plate
Easy to clean, just wipe down and give a gentle scrub with a bar b q brush a nice cover keeps it free of dust and the cover over the grill lets me cook in both wind and rain

Date PurchasedMar 2018
Ishu

IshuNSW, 2150

  • 12 reviews
  • 10 likes

Very good BBQ

published

Awesome product.
I bought this four burner BBQ two month before. I am pretty happy with this.
It cooks very fast and light weight i can carry anyone in my backyard.
Burner quality is also very good.
I recommend to all of my friends to buy this items without any doubt.

Date PurchasedJul 2018
Gas BBQs

Find out how Jumbuck 4 Burner Hooded Stardom with Side Burner compares to other Gas BBQs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
RogerT5

RogerT5melbourne

  • 4 reviews

Given years of solid serbice

published

I was more excited than makes sense getting this - not sure why - anyway its years later and its put in many years of soldi service. I just cleaned the garage out and pulled it out to clean down for the new season. It still works beautifully although a little battle worn. It just cooks the most delicious steaks. The temperature it achieve is perfect

Date PurchasedOct 2014
Sonicka

SonickaKaraber

  • 3 reviews

Its good

published

This BBQ is excellent, my hubby wants to cook more often, only issue i have with this BBQ is that it is starting to rust in different points. Thats why i gave it 4 stars. Other than that. Excellent food comes from it. We even use it as an oven do do our roasts. No complaints. Food comes out scrumptuos. Still a bit of a bugger to clean, ( like most BBQs haha ) No complaints otherwise.

Date PurchasedOct 2017
weenfar

weenfarMelbourne

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

A great first BBQ - side hotplate is a bonus!

published
Date PurchasedAug 2018
Carol

CarolMoorabbin

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

WOW, tasty. Great BBQ

published

Generous size, easy to ignite most of the time ! You can cook some great meals on this though It seems to have a cold spot, doesn't cook really evenly but still ok.
Definitely good for the cost. Temperature gauge makes it good for roasting. All in all its a pretty good low cost barbeque and a quick and easy alternative to cooking inside. Important to get a cover for it, to keep the dust off it, keep it dry and keep it in good condition.

Date PurchasedNov 2017

Missing Parts

published

Wouldn't have a clue how well it works/doesn't work as it came without assembly screws. Taking this junk back to where it came from. Thanks for the wasted time. Will never consider buying another Jumbuck, plenty of other BBQ manufacturers that actually care about the quality of item they package for sale.

Date PurchasedJun 2018
Chris S.

Chris S.Sydney

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great BBQ, but keep it covered to avoid rust.

published

This is a big, spacious BBQ that our family purchased when we had relatives staying from overseas, and needed the extra burners to deliver a proper xmas lunch!

The piezo ignition makes starting it safe and easy, and the burners burn consistently, without fluttering or going out.

There is a separate wok burner on the right hand side that is pretty useless for normal BBQing, but if you have an electric stove or hotplates inside the home, this an be a much faster and more controllable way of whipping up an asian stirfry or something, rather than waiting for slow, unresponsive electric hotplates within the home.

Recommend this BBQ, but purchase a cover, as after a year or so, you'll get minor rust showing.

Date PurchasedDec 2016
Gas BBQs

Find out how Jumbuck 4 Burner Hooded Stardom with Side Burner compares to other Gas BBQs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Anchor

AnchorSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews

The Greatest...

published

Very easy to pit it together and it is great to use on most summer nights .With the open grill for cooking steaks and sausages on is the it one of the great reason wegot this product. The Wok is also a good partfor keeping the extra meat already cooked , nice and still warm .the solid hot plate is good , but the only problem with it is that the hole for the oil flow is not big enough to put the scrapping and excess oil to the tray . The BBQ is very easy to clean it and it is also would be smart to get the cover as we did to protect it .

Date PurchasedOct 2016
Phill G

Phill GAU

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Good for the price

published

Pretty good value for the money easy to assemble and cooks well my biggest concern is it’s longevity as some rust and weathering has already stated to appear but I cannot complain for the price we use it a few times every week and I think next time I will go for a better quality unit

Date PurchasedSep 2017
Goldie

GoldieMurray Mallee, SA

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Awesome

published

I bought this BBQ back in September and i have used it regularly since! I found it very easy to assemble and had it up and running in a couple of hours. Only thing i wasn't happy with was the placement of the stickers, although not much of a huge drama to get off just annoying having sticky residue on your new purchase

Date PurchasedSep 2017
Jamie W

Jamie WAU

  • 5 reviews

One of the best things Iv'e ever bought.

published

Really, every Australian should own a BBQ and this one is an excellent entry point, the only down side is the doors on the front sometimes misaligned, but I fixed that by installing a latch. Other then that all I can really say is that the burners light up easily no lighter needed, and the side burner is really useful for frying up onion and stuff.

Date PurchasedSep 2017
Chris

ChrisCalliope

  • 4 reviews

Decent for the price

published

Got this via Bunnings and initially had trouble with the automatic lighter. Took a few calls and visits to work out/arrange a replacement. However once working it has proven to be a very capable BBQ, heats quickly and its easy to clean. Only concern would be quality control, for the price though it's absolutely fine.

Date PurchasedSep 2017
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Disappointed customer

Disappointed customerasked

Why don’t they include the manual to help you put it together You are dealing with a gas connection

No answers
Disappointed customer

Disappointed customerasked

Are they made in Australia or Australian owned

2 answers
Barry
Barry

Don’t know, but China, I expect

Barry
Barry

They certainly have an Australian website, where you can get spares etc, but as for built in Australia, same story as for everything else I’m almost absolutely sure.

Carol. Broadley

Carol. Broadleyasked

Can I remove the wok to make it fit into a confined space

2 answers
Barry
Barry

The gas inlet makes if a tad dangerous if you were to disconnect that so that it’d fit somewhere. You can easily remove the platform on the other side (without a burner on it), but in NO WAY could you safely disassemble the side with the wok burner. You’d need to be a licensed plumber.

Carol. Broadley
Carol. Broadley

Thanks

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.