??!
7 photos
Kia Picanto JA

Kia Picanto JA (2017-2021)

Also referred to as: Kia Picanto JA 2020 and Kia Picanto JA 2022. GT-Line, GT, X-Line, etc...
4.4 from 28 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.6 (10)
  • Value for Money
    4.4 (12)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.8 (9)
  • Noise Level
    3.7 (9)
  • Braking
    4.8 (9)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.6 (9)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.0 (5)
  • Suspension
    4.3 (9)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.0 (10)
  • Handling
    4.7 (9)
  • Interior Design
    4.6 (10)
  • Boot Size
    3.9 (10)
  • Comfort
    4.0 (9)
  • Features
    4.3 (11)
Previous
Next
Darren Rees

Darren ReesSouth East Queensland, QLD

Unreliable and unsafe; Worst After Care Service Imaginable

published

I was so excited about buying my first new car ever. In my search I narrowed it down to 3 cars and after test driving all 3 purchased this one. Number one selling point was the Apple Car Play system and the wireless connectivity. The day I picked up my new car it did not work ... was told to update my IOS system when I got home; which I did. Still no success. Reported it straight away and 10 weeks later still falling on deaf ears. I am so so disappointed and now all that is left to me is going to the ACCC. Buyer Beware .... appalling, non-existent, be-littling after care service.

Purchased in September 2020 at Kia Motorama Marooka.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2020
Design
Features
See all answers
Karen Grandfield

Karen GrandfieldSouth East Queensland, QLD

Love it. Love it. Love it.

published

Purchased my Kia Picanto on 7 October 2020 and already I love it. It has all the features that you could possibly want. Yes it is a micro car, but it feels much bigger. Handles superbly and you can park on a postage stamp. I use it to commute to and from work on a daily basis in the city. Fantastic. I am hoping that they will bring out the 1 litre turbo to Australia. I would really like to test drive that. It also has capped price servicing, 7year warranty and roadside assistance. How could you go wrong

Purchased in October 2020 at Kia Dealers for A$19,250.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2020
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Phillip

PhillipSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Best car in the segment, no competition

published

Had the Picanto GT for a couple of weeks now, absolutely is the best vehicle in its class - no competition.

Kia have really nailed the small car segment in one swift blow to its competitors, for just under 20K you get almost all of the tech/features that you would want from ANY car (except for sunroof, climate control and heated seats in Australia, weirdly).

Weirdly no automatic is offered if you opt for the GT Turbo, which is a pain when you live in Sydney - seemingly stuck in perpetual peak hour. You can only get the auto with the much slower 1.2L engine.

It would be nice if you could option the car with Kia/Hyundai's active lane keep or radar cruise control, I'd happily tick the box for $2000.

Purchased in January 2020 at Kia Dealers for A$19,350.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Hatchbacks

Find out how Kia Picanto JA compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
sunshinexox

sunshinexoxNSW, 2264

  • 46 reviews
  • 28 likes

Love it

published

My car is very convenient, value for money and excellent to drive. Only complaint would be that when I was looking to purchase my car, the salesperson I spoke to on the phone at the Castle Hill dealership was slightly pushy / really trying to influence me to do a particular finance option and wasn't actually listening to what I want. So I went to the Liverpool dealership and have been very happy with the car itself.

Purchased in November 2018.

Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
See all answers
MelBobo

MelBoboGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great car!

published

Ok, so it doesn't have much power. But who needs it when you are stuck on 60km most of the time around the city? I love it. So many features, feels a bit luxury inside. Outside is super cute and it gets me from A to B and has a big booty when I put the seats down.

Purchased for A$16,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Disgruntled Seshwan

Disgruntled SeshwanGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Best compact car of 2019!!

published

One of the best compact cars around! Very economical on petrol. Packed with many features (Apple CarPlay, electric windows, cruise control, reverse camera view, autonomous emergency braking system and leather seats!) Definite value for money! Ideal little car to get from A to B!

Purchased in June 2018 at Kia Dealers for A$17,500.00.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
See all answers
David M.

David M.South East Queensland, QLD

Bought the Picanto 2019 xline non turbo.

published

Coming up to 11 months of ownership this little car is a joy to drive. Handles like a go cart around town. Love the style. Great value. Love the Red color. Can be thirsty if pushed. Feature packed inside and out. Could do with an extra 30kw. Overall very pleased, fun factor 10, style 10, warrenty 10.

Purchased in December 2018 for A$19,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Joe

JoeGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Value

published

Impossible to beat in terms of features at this price range. The 1.3L engine purrs along quietly in the city, but is happy to be pushed hard on the freeways (as it must be). Great steering, too. You'll feel every bump on poor roads, however.

Purchased in September 2019 for A$15,198.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Nigel

NigelSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Great Little Car

published

For travelling around the Gold Coast this car is in its element. Easy to park with good visibility. The 4 speed auto and 4 cyl engine are a good combination and while no sports car its perfectly fine around town, easily keeping up with the traffic.
I like its smooth and quiet ride and surprisingly spacious interior. It drives like a bigger car, feels solid on the road.
Equipment wise it wants for nothing (even a front centre armrest) and has all the latest safety features.
The 7 year warranty gives you piece of mind.

Purchased in February 2019 at Kia Dealers for A$19,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Hatchbacks

Find out how Kia Picanto JA compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Keep It Real.

Keep It Real.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Hard Too Beat!

published

Looks Cool, Drives Well, 7 Year Warranty, Amazing value. Surprisingly spacious for a small car and the finish is excellent.
Very hard too go past Kia with the value, warranty, service cost.

Purchased in December 2018 at Berwick Motor Group.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
col

colMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 9 reviews
  • 8 likes

Okay.not economical on fuel

published

Purchased in December 2018 for A$13.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Lisa Holt

Lisa HoltSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

I love this wee beastie!

published

I drive to work (about 30 mins each way) Monday to Friday. I love that this car just nips in and out of parking. At first I pined the loss of a CD player but have become accustomed to the bluetooth functionality. The boot space (with the seats up) is a little on the small side but drop the back seats down and I constantly amaze myself how much this little car can hold. Economical on fuel, giving me about 500km per tank. I love my little car - you had me a YELLOW.

Purchased in March 2018 at Keystar Morayfield for A$15,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
spider

spiderMelbourne

  • 5 reviews

Top Value for Money

published

Car for commuting, older single person. I also have the latest Subaru XV. So in comparison they are very different vehicles. The Kia is outstanding value for money, Seven year warranty too. All the modern gadgets autonomous braking. Great on fuel, the perfect city car. The Auto Android perfect. Roomy for size, smart looks

TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2018
Robbie

RobbieNsw

  • 9 reviews
  • 3 likes

Awesome little car

published

Great car ! Cheap on file a full tank last a week with this little thing and my wife travels a lot. The shape and design of this car looks cool, it stands out compaird to other cars in its class.
Its decivingly spacious, I’m 6”1 and fit in and out of it without feeling andlooking like a clown.parking is so easy power steering works well with built in reverse cameras as standard along with a really nice media centre!!!
Value for money is superb I love this little car

TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2018

Want to love this car

published
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2018
Hatchbacks

Find out how Kia Picanto JA compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
jimbob

jimbob

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Everyday drive car

published

I bought my picanto brand new in 2017 to replace my barina spark.well 2 completly different cars.i love the fact for $14000 drive away i get cruise/reverse camera and all the other extras the others want extra for.went to appolo bay last week and used the radio to put google maps on.very good.i travel 200ks a day for work.average speed is 65kph.at the moment with around 50ks around im using 4.3 lp100.it now has 65000ks on it with no problems so far.we like the picanto so much we just bought the wife the picanto gt.wow even better value.do yourselves afavour if your thinking of a small car test drive the picanto

TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJun 2017
jezza

jezza

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

What a great little car.

published

Just bought a Kia Picanto GT line. What a little ripper. Did i sat little. Its actually quite spacious inside. Got it for the wife but i dont mind driving it myself. Around town and to work its great on petrol and it makes peoples head turn. Very sporty and looks great.

TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2018
Art

ArtVic, 3381

  • 7 reviews
  • 6 likes

Good value, economical, comfortable

published

Really happy with the value for money, safety features and fuel economy.
I'm a tall man but comfortable driving.
Roomy boot - fits lots of shopping, or all the kids back packs after school pickup, or a couple of cricket bags - but not all at once!
When we have our kid's friends in the car too they do complain there's not enough room for three, but we're a 3-person family so don't always have a full car.
First time I've bought a brand new car.

TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2017
bernadette

bernadetteInverloch

  • 6 reviews
  • 6 likes

Perfect small car

published

A micro city car with the lot that is functional, easy to drive, comfortable, and most importantly packed with a lot of safety features.
And what a delight to park!!
And unlike another micro car that I tested, the Kia interior doesn’t feel like cheap plastic at all !!
No fault so far after 5 months of daily use!

TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2018

Fantastic Car!! Love it

published

Economical
Drives well, and feels refined
Bought the GT Line so it’s got the upgraded seats, and more aggressive body styling, looks the part
Best value for a car of this size & has apple car play, Bluetooth, auto headlights, radar control breaking, parking sensors, reversing camera, auto headlights, and so much more, an overall great package and highly recommended

TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2018
Page 1 of 2
See all Kia Picanto reviews

Questions & Answers

Patricia B.

Patricia B.asked

Picanto JA (2017-2021)

Reverse noise problem sounds like brakes(disks) rubbing. Had car 1 day when reverse noise first heard.
Had dealer SERVICE check, they advised noise not heard. Still has reverse noise.
Have heard same noise in reverse on dealer Demo.car.
Want to suggestion of problem so can let dealer SERVICE know.

1 answer
col
col

Okay.mine did mainly on sloped drive.does it do all the time.di a diary of when it happens and conditions.try recording on phone start before car and keep doing till record sound. Try another dealer know not happy with mine or approved dealer.call raa if member or get someone who is as they have excellent help for these issue.i called re fuel consumption .keep at it.mine did settle if you just use round city go for a country run with a friend.as my son Murray bridge I did 200 K m there and back .stay with gut feeling until peace of mind.raa will guide you.good luck and let me know how you go. col

Patricia B.

Patricia B.asked

Picanto JA (2017-2021)

Having noise like metal rubbing only in Reverse. New 2019 Picanto. Anyone had this problem?

1 answer
col
col

I had also after first service but subsided by self after couple weeks.also reverse .kinda clinked first.if persists ask them.also had noise on high speed from number plates not having enough screws.check out.window down radio off.can use double sided tape also.good luck.col

shf001

shf001asked

Picanto JA (2017-2021)

Does the Kia Picantos engine have a timing chain or a timing belt, and can a full size spare be fitted into the space provided?

1 answer
Roger
Roger

You can't fit full size spares in spacesaver wells due to their different widths although with the same diameter it is quite possible to block and lift the panel floor cover to accommodate one if necessary. I did that with a 4WD Suzuki SX4 for off road use but lost boot depth accordingly. The 1.25L has timing chain for VVT.

Get an answer from our members

Details

Compare all 8 Kia Picanto
CategoryHatchbacksHatchbacksHatchbacksHatchbacks
Starting Price A$17,790A$16,190A$17,990A$17,290
TransmissionAutomaticManualManualAutomatic
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels16" Alloy16" Alloy16" Alloy16" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating4 Stars5 Stars4 Stars4 Stars
Doors5555
Seats5555
Fuel Consumption5.8 L/100km5 L/100km4.8 L/100km5.8 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 35 L35 L35 L35 L
Engine4 Cylinder 1.25L4 Cylinder 1.25L3 Cylinder 1.0L4 Cylinder 1.25L
Max Power62kW @ 6000rpm62kW @ 6000rpm74kW @ 4500rpm62kW @ 6000rpm
Max Torque122Nm @ 4000rpm122Nm @ 4000rpm172Nm @ 1500-4000rpm122Nm @ 4000rpm
Country of ManufactureSouth KoreaSouth KoreaSouth KoreaSouth Korea
Safety Features
  • Traction Control
  • Traction Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
Extra Features
  • Immobilizer
  • Immobilizer
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • USB Port
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • USB Port
Manufacturer Warranty7 year(s)7 year(s)7 year(s)7 year(s)
Release dateJan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2017
Compare all 8 Kia Picanto

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.