?
? !
6 photos
Kia Rio UB

Kia Rio UB (2011-2016)

4.2 from 58 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    2.7 (3)
  • Value for Money
    3.0 (3)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (1)
  • Noise Level
    3.0 (2)
  • Braking
    4.5 (2)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.0 (2)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.0 (2)
  • Suspension
    4.0 (2)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.0 (2)
  • Handling
    4.5 (2)
  • Interior Design
    4.0 (2)
  • Boot Size
    3.5 (2)
  • Comfort
    3.5 (2)
  • Features
    4.5 (2)
Previous
Next
niloc79

niloc79South Australia

  • 12 reviews
  • 3 likes

Becoming annoying

published

Purchased in January 2019 at Mazda for $15,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Worst Car ever!

published

in 4 years and just 35000km was replaced steering rack, steering Coolum, steering motor, steering wheel, battery, suspension for the trunk, dash board was loose 3 times, ODO replaced.
Just to note I bought the SI so a very expensive version. Please do not Buy Kia!

Purchased in November 2015.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Johnny

JohnnyHobart

  • 7 reviews
  • 11 likes

Good little car minor problems but good

published

I bought this to save some money on petrol... think it was about 17k we had it almost 4 years and it was always serviced on time alway cleaned and polished... it was kept absolutely mint....
decided to sell it and get a bigger car (not Kia) one yard didn’t even want it as a trade on a 40k car... so while they are a good little car there is NO resale value for them, same year Corolla holds it value far better...

BodyHatch
BadgeSLi
Engine Size1.6L
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedNov 2014
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Hatchbacks

Find out how Kia Rio UB compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
free soul

free soulGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Would be nice if it didn't conk out from time to time

published

I like the Rio, it is light on fuel, drives smoothly etc.
The only problem with mine is that sometimes stop dead, engine conks out and refuses to restart for 10 or more
minutes. It would be OK if it was a simple as taking it to the mechanic and getting them to read the engine diagnostics, but no, no engine light, no diagnostics. So it's just a matter of replace this, replace that. Is it the fuel pump, is it the immobiliser, is it the crank shaft sensor? Who knows, but spend lots of money getting the mechanic to change each and everything it might be.
So yeah, good car, but not happy with the lack of diagnostics for what is clearly a significant issue.

BodyHatch
BadgeEX
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedNov 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Anna G

Anna GMackay

  • 5 reviews

Love it!

published
BodyHatch
BadgeSLS
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJan 2013
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Rose

RoseGeelong

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Great little Car

published

The Kia Rio is a great little car! I use my to drive to and from work and run errands around town, it’s such a smooth drive and really enjoyable to drive. I use my car every day and only have to fill my tank fortnightly! If you’re looking for a cheap car to fill this is the car for you. Only needs servicing every 10,000ks and never have I experienced any issues

BodyHatch
BadgeSi
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJuly 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Stephen

StephenSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

A fantastic car at a great price - no hesitation to recommend

published

Purchased in May 2014 at Kia Dealers for $17,400.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Cicco70

Cicco70Perth, WA

  • 10 reviews
  • 2 likes

Just Amazing Little Car

published

I have owned this car since new April 2012 1.4l with now 110000Km ODO
6 speed manual and still in perfect showroom conditions
Serviced as per manual every 15000km by my own mechanic ( never been to my local KIA dealer)

Never had any issues, fuel consumption is still unbelievable , still drives and feels like a new car, no rattles or strange noises yet
The ONLY 2 cons for me
1) I shouldn't gone for the 1.6 litre motor for the extra horse power with car loaded with the 4 of us and the AC on need to squeeze it to the metal and even then I am impressed what it can still achieve
2) the sound system is RUBBISH
Apart this I would buy another with no doubt in my mind

BodyHatch
BadgeUB 12
Engine Size1.4L
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedApr 2012
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Androo

AndrooMelbourne

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

RIO SLS Cute and grows on you.

published
BodyHatch
BadgeSLS
Engine Size1.6L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2013
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Hatchbacks

Find out how Kia Rio UB compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Steve in Beeliar

Steve in BeeliarPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Awesome little beast

published

Bought this as a first car for my wife to learn to drive. Went for a 2015 auto 5 door so there will be room for the kids and all their gear. First thing I will change is to upgrade the speakers and add an amplifier to the sound system. Otherwise, it is a punchy little car... however I think cruise control should be a standard feature on all automatics now

BodySedan
BadgeS
Engine Size1.4L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJuly 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Berber

BerberSydney

  • 15 reviews
  • 14 likes

A great little beast

published

I thought such a small car will not get me around comfortably, but I was surprised that when you are in it, it is a beautiful and spacious little car. I carry 4 large people and myself and go up the coogee to Bondi hill with no issues.
Given the cheap price also, I am happy

BodyHatch
BadgeSi
Engine Size1.4L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2013
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
pat6769

pat6769broughton village

  • 6 reviews
  • 5 likes

reliable kia

published

I have owned two kia rios. They are the same running gear as the Hyundai i20. Hyundai is Kia's parent company. The Kia is very reliable and has never let me down. Just keep the servicing up to maintain the 7 year warranty with free roadside assist. I would not hesitate to buy another Kia.

BodyHatch
BadgeSE
Engine Size1.4L
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedFeb 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Kia

Best little car

published
BodySedan
BadgeSLi
Engine Size1.6L
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMar 2013
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
George Kow

George KowGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Love my little Kia Rio

published

After 11 years I finally got to buy a new car. Kia Rio came highly recommended by friend and it didn’t disappoint. The design is focused on making driving easy, the USB outlet is located at the front where I can easily reach it. The drive and handling is good and quiet. The only thing I don’t like is the fuel economy.

BodyHatch
BadgeLS
Engine Size1.5L
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedApr 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Zoe Woodbury

Zoe WoodburyCaboolture

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

My little Broom Broom

published

This car has done me so well, for so long. I purchased my car in 2012 and it is over 6 years old now and serving me well. My car is black, the only thing I would have done differently, is get it in a different colour. Black is harder to maintain the cleanliness.

BodyHatch
BadgeSi
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2012
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Hatchbacks

Find out how Kia Rio UB compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
AmieJK

AmieJKSouth Australia

  • 8 reviews

The best small car around

published

While my heart said Ford Focus, my head said Kia Rio, and my head won - thank goodness!

With an unbeatable 7 year transferable warranty, this car has the body of a small car, but an engine of one much larger. It has power, great ride stability and is extreme economical to run. It's spacious and easily seats 4 to 5 people, with a roomy boot as well.

So glad I chose this for my new small car, I love it.

BodyHatch
BadgeS
Engine Size1.4L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Abbz

AbbzSouth Australia

  • 15 reviews
  • 5 likes

Great car!

published

Great size car, plentiful boot room. Amble room for usbs to connect phones, gps' and other necessary items. The only thing that is a small issue is when you have a car seat fitted you can't remove the boot liner to either access the spare tyre or clean the liner. The car also has ISO-fix (easier way to fit car seats if they are isofix capable). $40 fills the fuel tank!

BodySedan
BadgeS
Engine Size1.4L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2013
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Deanne Eryn

Deanne ErynSouthport

  • 7 reviews

LOVE MY LITTLE RIO

published

I have had mine for just about 2 years and never had a fault with it!!! I love the look of it and it has so much room, i have had the car full of all my friends and they were all still comfortable. Its got a decent kick to it considering its such a small car, and its so cheap to fill up about $40 a week!! The whole car just feels great to drive, is so comfortable and also comes with all the tech gadgets a new car needs

BodyHatch
BadgeSLS
Engine Size1.6L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
peterv52

peterv52Sydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

Getting expensive to maintain.

published

I bought mine new in 2012 and have been generally happy with it. However at the four year mark and only 26,000km the front discs and pads were shot and needed replacing. Rear pads were also shot. Not happy but the dealer did offer a free service next time which they honoured. It's in for service today and the front tyres are in need of replacement at 32,000km. The car is used 99% of the time going to the shops etc and the average speed around here is 50 or 60 so very little high speed driving. The tyres are not Kias'fault but the rubbish brake material is. Disappointing in what has been a great little car in other respects.

BodyHatch
BadgeS
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2012
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ann

Ann

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Outstanding Buy

published

This is a great car. I travel to Melbourne once a month to see my elderly Mother from Adelaide, a eight hour trip and this small car eats up the miles easily with plenty of comfort. I used to drive a Commodore there and when I traded down to my city smaller vehicle thought how will I manage the above but with the hatch laying down flat and loaded up I have been remarkably surprised at economy, comfort and ease at which this car has performed. And magnificent around the city.

BodyHatch
BadgeLS
Engine Size1.4L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJuly 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 3
See all Kia Rio reviews

Questions & Answers

Pablo

Pabloasked

Rio UB (2011-2016)

2013 SLS 6sd auto. What is the maximum size I can fit to my 17in rims. I am thinking 215/50/R17 to lessen road noise and smooth out the ride.

2 answers
Patrick
Patrick

Hi
Have you had any luck mate?

Pablo
Pablo

after warnings about illegal tyre sizes & possible problems with electronics ABS ESC etc I have stayed with the same size. I have fitted 205/45R17 88Y FEDERAL ST1 on DEC 10th. Much more quiet but still a little bumpy. So far so good.

Cheryl L.

Cheryl L.asked

Rio UB (2011-2016)

How long should brake pads & rotors last? Is 60,000kms okay?

1 answer
Jeremy W
Jeremy W

Should be double that maybe newer models don't last as long or they cheap pads

NewKiaRioPurchaser

NewKiaRioPurchaserasked

Rio UB (2011-2016)

Hello
I recently bought a 2017 Kia Rio S, and the Gear Indicator on the LCD display only works when I am in reverse. Other gears don't display. Do I need to do something to enable this, or is this just the was it works for the base level S model? Thanks :)

1 answer
Dean
Dean

no idea..it could be a safety thing. But they should light at night when the headligjts are on at a guess.

See all Kia Rio UB (2011-2016) questions

Get an answer from our members

Kia Rio UB (2011-2016)

Details

Compare all 10 Kia Rio
CategoryCars, Hatchbacks and Sedans
Starting Price $17,690
TransmissionAutomatic and Manual
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrol
Wheels15" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars
Fuel Consumption6.1 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 43 L
Engine4 Cylinder 1.4L
Max Power79kW @ 6300rpm
Max Torque135Nm @ 4200rpm
Country of ManufactureSouth Korea
Manufacturer Warranty7 year(s)
Release dateJan 2011
Discontinuation dateDec 2016
Replaced byKia Rio YB
Compare all 10 Kia Rio

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.