?
? !
6 photos
Kia Rio YB

Kia Rio YB (2016-2021)

Also referred to as: Kia Rio YB 2020 and Kia Rio YB 2022. GT-Line, Si, SLi, etc...
3.7 from 21 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.7 (9)
  • Value for Money
    3.9 (9)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.7 (9)
  • Noise Level
    3.8 (9)
  • Braking
    4.4 (10)
  • Acceleration / Power
    2.8 (10)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.6 (8)
  • Suspension
    3.9 (9)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.5 (10)
  • Handling
    4.1 (9)
  • Interior Design
    4.4 (8)
  • Boot Size
    3.9 (8)
  • Comfort
    4.1 (8)
  • Features
    3.9 (8)
Previous
Next

Engine Pinging on a brand New 2020 car

published

Bought a new KIA Rio bought in September 2020 and the engine is pinging. I have read how others have the same problem and KIA won't or can't do anything about it, so it could be a factory problem. Please reach out we need to do something!

Purchased in September 2020 for $21,990.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Peter S

Peter SAdelaide

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Car could be so good with a few tweaks

published

Purchased in March 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
CC RIDER

CC RIDERSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Don’t buy this car

published

The car was running fine for the first 2 months. This was purchased new in October 2020. The engine overheats when air con is on. Apple car play always cuts out. It’s been towed to Kia twice in a month. Now the car over revs on take off before it hits its gear and also will not reverse. Got towed to Kia again, been there for 3 days without resolution so far. I will never buy a Kia again. As a contractor I am losing income everyday I’m not on the road and this will eventually cost me more than what the car is worth. I will be exercising my rights for a full refund or a brand new car. Unacceptable for a new vehicle.

Purchased in October 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Hatchbacks

Find out how Kia Rio YB compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
John Benson

John BensonPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

I want my money back

published

Nicely packaged little car, big on features.
One of the selling points of this car was the wireless apple car play, the problem is that it does not work. Brand new out of the factory, on the way home from the dealer and it failed. The only feature of the infotainment system that works regularly is the radio.
Then there is the cruise control, works most of the time, but randomly it will not turn on, you just have to wait till your next drive for cruise control.
Another feature is the lane keeping assist, sometimes this works perfectly, other times it is a fight. It will try its hardest to steer you out of your lane! The irony is that if you let it, the lane alert will sound, warning you of lane departure :(

Purchased in September 2020 at Kia Dealers for $21,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Anto

AntoBrisbane

  • 10 reviews
  • 2 likes

Fantastic little car

published

Purchased in March 2020 at Zupps for $18,200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
KT lee

KT lee

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Compact cute car!

published

I bought this as my first new car. It drives well and I can park it in the tightest spots! The only issue is that the windscreen wipers don’t cover the whole screen!

Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Madeleine Cahill

Madeleine CahillGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 4 reviews

Love this car

published

Easy to drive, Apple car play is simply the best, so user friendly. Easy to make calls when driving, use the maps, listen to podcasts etc. Only downside is the car doesn't have a lot of go. Great for zipping around metro areas, not that great going up hill or on the road.

Purchased in August 2019 at Kia Dealers for $22,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Underpowered piece of crap

published

Got it as a loan car when my car is due for a new airbag. The automatic one is a piece of crap you need to use manual mode if you want better pickup on hill. The fuel consumption is terrible as well. I would say at least Toyota Echo and Daihatsu Sirion are better than that.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Nadine D.

Nadine D.Perth, WA

I love my little car BUT

published

Purchased in April 2018 for $17,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Hatchbacks

Find out how Kia Rio YB compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sarah

Sarah

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Amazing little car

published

Bought my Kia brand new and the features that I got with the car make it one of the most affordable small cars on the market with the most features. Only 4 speed with auto so can get a little slow at times, but overall a smooth and quiet drive with lots of comfort

Purchased in March 2019 at valley motor group.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Paola

PaolaMelbourne

  • 11 reviews
  • 3 likes

Love This Hatchback Car

published

The most compact and reliable car I ever had. I got brand new my car from the dealership and since then I haven't had any issue. Just minor changes as any other car. I used my car on a daily bases. Very economic in petrol, wear works perfectly. Space and comfort is great. I have used many time to make my move outs and surprise everything fits (except the mattress and bed frame) Highly recommended model and brand!

BodyHatch
BadgeSi
Engine Size1.4L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2012
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Linda

LindaSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 18 reviews
  • 10 likes

Great to drive

published

Our Kia Rio is a great sized car for us. We are able to use it as and when we like, small enough to park but large enough to take friends or family with us. Cheap to run and we love being able to play our music via the radio as well as having the ability of Bluetooth.

BodyHatch
BadgeS
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Tina

TinaSydney

  • 5 reviews
  • 6 likes

so far so good

published
BodyHatch
BadgeEX-L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ruth 70

Ruth 70Perth

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Great fuel sufficiently, nice to drive.

published

Purchased this to replace i20 which Was written off in hit and run. Great to drive, park and teach my teenagers to drive in. Use it to go to work every day and for any travel requiring 5 or less passengers. Only have to fill up once and week even with all that travel. Service every 6 months or when necessary. No problems at all with this vehicle.

BodyHatch
BadgeLX
Engine Size1.4L
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedOct 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Lauren B

Lauren BSunshine Coast

  • 5 reviews

This is my pride and joy!

published

My little grey Kia Rio is my absolute world. Being my first car, it’s driven a lot. Everywhere I go I get compliments on how nice my car looks. Driving my car is a dream, it’s smooth on all roads and road noise is minimal. I love the heaviness of the car, the steering wheel, gears, closing the doors etc. it feels solid - I feel like I’m in a safe and really high quality car.

BodyHatch
BadgeSi
Engine Size1.4L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Hatchbacks

Find out how Kia Rio YB compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
CHW

CHWLysterfield

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Super easy to drive.

published

I bought a manual SLi 2013 model brand new and have found it very easy to drive, a full tank of fuel is around $45, handles well and is generally a very reliable car.
I have noticed my gas in the boot hydraulics wore out very quickly and tires on my model are quite expensive to buy (low profile) but other than that, very good little car.

BodyHatch
BadgeSLi
Engine Size1.6L
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMar 2013
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Love my just right car

published

I love that I have 4 cylinder especially since I have heavy foot and get speeding tickets. It drives smooth and quite. I have a basic one the one with the window u have to manually hold on and roll up or down lol but still love her. Will get a kia optima as soon as I pay her half off

BodySedan
BadgeLX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Jack Daniels

Jack DanielsMelbourne

  • 4 reviews

Good car for a first time driver

published
BodyHatch
BadgeAO edition
Engine Size1.4L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Malty

Maltymelbourne

  • 4 reviews

Pros and cons

published
BodyHatch
BadgeSLi
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSept 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
jassin

jassinqld, 4300

  • 21 reviews
  • 11 likes

Real World Review of the New 2017 Kia Rio Manual

published
BodyHatch
BadgeS
Engine Size1.4L
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedAug 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 2
See all Kia Rio reviews

Questions & Answers

Mikeyg

Mikeygasked

YB S Automatic (2016-2021)

Has anyone had dash vibration noise, I have two Kia Rios 2016 & 2019 models both have dash vibrations.

No answers
angel.manchestercity41

angel.manchestercity41asked

Rio YB (2016-2021)

Isnot it 5 star rating?

1 answer
Anto
Anto

Yes it has a 5 star ANCAP safety rating

Gus

Gusasked

Rio YB (2016-2021)

Time of day not showing on display unit and when I go into set up functions the clock option is greyed out. Any help?
2018 Kia Rio

No answers
See all Kia Rio YB (2016-2021) questions

Get an answer from our members

Kia Rio YB (2016-2021)

Details

Compare all 10 Kia Rio
CategoryCars and HatchbacksCars and HatchbacksCars and HatchbacksCars and Hatchbacks
Starting Price $23,090$16,990$19,090$17,790
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)ManualAutomaticManual
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels17" Alloy15" Steel15" Steel17" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption5.6 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 45 L45 L45 L45 L
Engine3 Cylinder 1.0L4 Cylinder 1.4L4 Cylinder 1.4L4 Cylinder 1.4L
Max Power88kW @ 6300rpm74kW @ 6000rpm74kW @ 6000rpm74kW @ 6000rpm
Max Torque172Nm @ 1500-4000rpm133Nm @ 4000rpm133Nm @ 4000rpm133Nm @ 4000rpm
Country of ManufactureSouth KoreaSouth KoreaSouth KoreaSouth Korea
Manufacturer Warranty7 year(s)7 year(s)7 year(s)7 year(s)
Release dateJan 2016Jan 2016Jan 2016Jan 2016
Compare all 10 Kia Rio

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.