??!
1 photo
Latitude 37 Homes

Latitude 37 Homes

4.5 from 107 reviews

Happy in our new home

We've just finished building with Latitude 37 Homes and we're settling into our brand new home. We did a knockdown and rebuild, and worked with Latitude to design and construct our home.

We found the team to be professional and focussed on getting us the best outcome for our budget.

Like all builds there are highs and lows and many decisions to be made along the way. Like with every investment the team you work with make all the difference. That was the case for us in particular a big shout out to Monica Leah, Matt Rule and Peter O'Toole who were with us on our journey. We got the home we planned and wanted, and all on budget, and even slightly ahead of schedule!

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateFebruary 2019
1 comment
Mel, thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback. We're very pleased to have again delivered on our Vision of Happy Clients, Great Homes. All the best for the years ahead in your fantastic Latitude 37 custom home. Regards, Doug MacLeod CEO, Director

Our dream home.

Our experience building with Latitude 37 was fantastic, from concept through to handover.

Working through the design phase was exciting and rewarding as we had plenty of ideas on how our new home should work with our sloping site. The designer made us feel part of the process and accommodated our very specific ideas but also suggested other options to consider based on his experience. We ended up with a design we love, something we feel we had a hand in creating.

Time for detailed selections. Another great experience with L37 in their showroom. We had a thorough understanding of what we were trying to achieve with our interior design and once again L37 listened but also provided direction where it was needed. The process of selection and understanding upgrade options was clear and easy to work through.

Seeing our dream home come to life through the construction process was extremely satisfying. Our Site Manager followed what seems to be a trend at L37, very accommodating to a couple of new home owners eager to see daily progress, sometimes twice a day! We were given plenty of opportunity to see the house throughout construction, being walked through at scheduled times but also upon request if we felt the need. We were never made to feel like a burden on the construction team, most of the time it was the opposite and we felt like part of the team.

In the end, we had a few minor hiccups as any build does, but nothing that wasn't addressed immediately by L37. What we have now is our dream home which we fall in love with more and more every day. We couldn't be happier with our experience with Latitude 37. If we ever need to build again or suggest a builder to friends or family, we wouldn't hesitate in recommending Latitude 37.

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateMarch 2018
1 comment
Cole, thank you for your fantastic review of our business, confirming that we have again delivered on our Vision, "Happy Clients, Great Homes". Your comments around our collaborative custom design, interior design and construction processes are fantastic and very much appreciated. The team work really hard - feedback like this helps us to continually reinforce to our team that their efforts deliver great results for our clients. We wish you all the best for the years ahead in your wonderful Latitude 37 custom home. Regards, Doug MacLeod CEO, Director

Shopped around many builders but glad we locked in with latitude 37

With a sloping block and looking for a design to work with our block we were turned down by many builders at the door. We eventually found latitude 37 and from the start they were great to work with. We gave them a list of what we wanted and it only took 2 goes before they presented us with a floor plan perfect for us. They were open to customizing to any product we asked for. When we did have an issue with one of the trades they were quick to rectify and replace with a new contractor to keep us moving. We have waiting nearly a year before writing this review as we wanted to get past the initial hype and excitement of moving into a new house. Im glad we did as I can still honestly say we still love every single thing about this house. We have had next to no issues. They were great with the defects at 90 days and fixed every small item not that we had many. My wife and I think we will live here for many years to come and be able to enjoy the great design and quality of this house. Our site supervisor Andrew was fantastic to work with and gave us any information we needed. They were completely open to walkthroughs whenever we requested one and had nothing to hide. We have no other option but to highly recommend latitude to anyone and we would certainly considering using them again in the future.

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateMarch 2018
1 comment
Ash, thanks for your review. I'm very pleased to hear that we met or exceeded all of your expectations around design, client service, construction quality and post handover service and that we have again delivered on our Vision, "Happy Clients, Great Homes". Thank you for choosing Latitude 37 to build your fabulous new home, we wish you many years of enjoyment. Regards, Doug MacLeod CEO, Director

A great team of people dedicated to delivering a good product

The onsite team were responsive and customer focused. At all stages during the build they kept us informed and dealt with any issues professionally. The end result is a house that has been well constructed with a high level of attention to detail. Whilst there have been some points of disagreement about details on the plans - the team on the ground at all stages were solutions focused. I would like to highly commend Andrew, Lorne, Mitch and Ambere - they are a credit to the organisation and made our journey easy and enjoyable.
I would suggest that if building with Latitude - you ask for this team.

The one area of caution is to keep detailed notes during the planning phases - there were a number of personnel changes during the early plan development and design and things that were agreed and to be reflected in the drawings did not occur to satisfaction. We only discovered these late in the piece which cost us more than we had planned.

On the whole though the outcome is what we expected and we are very happy with the house. Well Done Latitude 37 for your culture of quality

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateFebruary 2019
1 comment
Jeff, thanks for taking the time to post your review. It's great to hear that you are a happy client in a great home and that we have delivered on our Vision. I concur with your comments about our Peninsula team and i'm pleased to report that each of our 3 regions are equipped with similarly capable and committed staff who are focussed on great outcomes for each client. We wish you many years of happiness in your new Latitude 37 home. Regards, Doug MacLeod CEO, Director

The Devil is in the Detail!!

The Devil is in the Detail!!
Review of Latitude 37 MacDonald Townhouse (unit 1)

Settlement on August 2, 2018

As you can imagine, downsizing has its ups and downs, and extremely stressful, although we were terribly excited about finally moving into our beautiful new townhouse, sometimes things have a way of not going smoothly. We had intended to write a review two weeks after we moved in but unfortunately the main sewerage pipe became blocked from concrete that accidently was poured into pipe when the driveway was being build. It’s now 14 days that we’ve been without an ensuite, and needless to say, we are not happy!!! It’s been a huge inconvenience and very disappointing. And to add insult to injury, the so called energy efficient heating & air-conditioning system by Brivis is inadequate to cool a two-story townhouse during the extreme hot temperatures we’ve had recently.
But let’s go back to November 2017, when we decided to purchase “off the plan”. We’re in our late 60’s and had never purchased this way but wanted to take advantage of the savings from both the builder and the government, available to seniors, such as reduced stamp duty. Plus we had hoped we could get in early enough (build was at 40%) to make some minor changes to the plans, like extra power points, ceiling fans upstairs and under mount kitchen sink. Keep in mind that buying off the plan is NOT a CUSTOM build so only a few changes are possible and many things are out of our control!!
Let me repeat……it is NOT A CUSTOM BUILD!!!
Throughout this journey, the realtor, One Agency, has been fantastic!! Steve has been the main form of communication between Latitute 37 and us. He really did bend over backwards to help us attain many of the extra’s we wanted. He was very patient with us whenever we asked if we could make another inspection. To be honest, we were on site weekly and most weekends we would drive by to keep an eye on progress.
Five months after we purchased (April 2018), things got more complicated and communication began to deteriorate to say the least. At this stage, we were meeting more of the Latitude staff, such as the site manager, project manager, landscaper, and the army of trade’s people.
Our original settlement date was June 27 but didn’t happen until August 2, 2018. This meant a lot of running around for us from changing movers dates, new purchased furniture delivery dates, dishwasher delivery date and all the fruit trees and other veggies that I was transplanting from our old property which after considerable care, thankfully did survive!!
Two weeks into our new home, we discovered there was serious sewer blockage to our ensuite and so yet again, another huge inconvenience as we had NO ensuite for 5 weeks!!
It seems like such a costly and terrible business model by Latitude to contract with lazy tradies (most) who take no pride in their work and then for Latitude to have to spend heaps of money repairing their mistakes and yet more inconvenience for the buyers!!
We decided to wait and not write this review until after the warranty period to see how Latitude would manage this aspect as we had …….items to repair, from kitchen drawers that were broken and/or not fitted properly to sloppy paint jobs, squeaky doors and screen locks that didn’t work.
The Solar Heater that was in our contract never got installed!
Our advice to anyone purchasing “off the plan” is to get a copy of the plans and enlarge them in order to read them properly; visit the site regularly as if it was a “custom build” because its all about the detail and the workmanship from the army of tradies that are in and out on a daily basis!! Above all, read your contract and watch it carefully!! Latitude should have never changed things without consultation with purchasers!!
In terms of the company that looked after the warranty repairs (3 months from settlement date), 48 Degrees was fantastic! Total Professionals!!
Our advice to Latitude owners is to FIRE the kitchen drawer installers, the painters, the project manager and the lazy landscaper. The project manager did get fired before our home was completed!! The new site manager, Lorne Lippiatt was fantastic!! Excellent human being, great communicator and fair.
Overall, Latitude was a good choice in terms of design but remember that the devil is in the detail!!

Construction End DateAug 2018
1 comment
Lucy, I'm disappointed with your feedback. As you have acknowledged, you purchased a townhouse (part way through construction), you did not build a custom home. Notwithstanding this we incorporated a number of changes that you requested via our RE Agent including electrical modifications and a plastered opening under the stair that required rework to already completed elements of the project. The solar hot water unit was never shown on contract plans but was inadvertently left in the specification. We in fact provided 2 x 2,500L water tanks which were not in the specification but were on the drawings and were consistent with the existing planning permit. We discussed and you accepted this mid 2018. As for handover timing, construction was completed well before settlement - again you are well aware that the handover delay was solely a result of the Council and Titles Office delays in finalising the subdivision which was outside of our control. We were as keen as you to complete the settlements and so we were chasing this daily. Ultimately, we are very proud of the home we designed and built. We are not aware of any current issues but, as always, we are happy to discuss any concerns that remain. Regards, Doug MacLeod CEO, Director

New House Build. Professional and efficient building company!

Our Dream beach home is completed!! L37 being specialists in slope builds the build was completed to schedule with minimal delays along the way. The project manager keep us in the loop the whole way and any small changes needed the project manager came up with solutions and alternative products to choose from. From the drafting stage to handover the process was smooth sailing. Highly recommended

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateDecember 2018
1 comment
Andrew, thanks for taking the time to post your review. It was good to chat with you recently and hear first hand that you've had a great experience with Latitude 37. We're very proud of the design and build quality and we're thrilled that you agree. We hope you enjoy your new Latitude 37 home for many years to come. Regards, Doug MacLeod CEO, Director

An enjoyable building experience

We decided to go with Latitude 37 as we really liked the design we saw at one of the display homes and it was just exactly like what we had in mind. The design is very well suited with the orientation of our block and the home is filled with natural light.
Everyone that we've dealt with throughout the process was very friendly, helpful and accommodating. The planning stage took us a while but as soon as they moved on site and slab was poured, everything progressed quickly and seamlessly without any significant delays. Both site managers were easy to deal with, especially Steve, our site manager for the 2nd half of the build who is exceptional. He was extremely helpful and always available when we needed him or when we had any questions. Nothing was ever too hard and he always kept us well informed of the progress and what to expect. He has made the build experience less stressful but more enjoyable for us as he was able to pick up any defects and got them fixed even before it got to the inspection stage. We only just went through Handover recently but have been quite happy with the quality of the build through every stage. We would definitely recommend Latitude 37 to any family and friends that are looking to build in the future.

Build StagePost-Construction
1 comment
Tom, thanks for taking the time to post your review. We're very pleased to have again delivered on our Vision "Happy Clients, Great Homes" in delivering a fantastic new custom home for you and your family in Doncaster. We wish you many years of happiness in your new Latitude 37 home. Regards, Doug MacLeod CEO, Director

Our Dream Home Is Complete

Our Dream Home Is Complete.

We finally moved into our new Latitude 37 built home in November 2018; it is absolutely amazing.

Our building journey commenced in 2016 when we first engaged Latitude 37 after many visits to various display homes. Initially, considerable time was spent in the planning and design phase - while frustrating, we now appreciate the importance of considering all the different building options offered by the Latitude 37 Architects. Our home was designed perfectly in order the maximise the magnificent views from our sloping, seaside block of land.

Finally, in January 2018 construction commenced with the site cut - this was an anxious period as we had a large amount of underground rock that required blasting. Although the builders provided us with forewarning that the area was renown for rock, the delays and associated costs did cause some sleepless nights. At least the rocks could be used in our landscaping plan! There were some other additional costs also incurred during different stages of the build; many were variations made at our request.

Once the slab was poured, the build progressed in a timely manner. Latitude 37 staff were very patient with our constant inquiries following regular visits to the site (which were always after hours although some of the very friendly tradies got to know us quite well). We did raise a number of concerns which largely demonstrated our ignorance as first time home builders. At lock up stage, the construction site started to look like our home. This was a very exciting time - the long wait was nearing the end. We were nothing short of impressed each and every time we visited.

Only tradespersons of the highest standard were engaged; the attention to detail and perfection of our build is quite evident. Interestingly, after handover we have employed other tradespeople to assist with the interior design etc. Without prompting, many have suggested that the home was built by Latitude 37 - a recognised quality brand!

While very impressed with the professional approach provided by the Latitude 37 team, special mention must go to our Site Manager - Lorne Lippiatt. Lorne's customer service was excellent and second to none. He provided practical advice while ensuring the final phase of construction was completed in a timely manner. Lorne's attention to detail provided us comfort that this significant, financial and emotional investment, was all worthwhile - we are now living in our dream home.

The finished product has been described by family and friends as absolutely amazing. The quality workmanship is evident and a credit to Latitude 37. We highly recommend this building company who should take enormous pride in their business.

Thank you Latitude 37,

Kinds regards

Bob & Sally

Construction End DateNov 2018
1 comment
Bob & Sally, thanks for the feedback. We are absolutely delighted with your review, confirming once again that we deliver on our promise of "Happy Clients, Great Homes". We have already shared your comments with our team and with Lorne in particular as just reward for a job well done. Your site was certainly challenging with a steep rocky embankment sloping up from the street. Our in house design team did a great job in balancing your lifestyle aspirations and budget with the challenges of the site and the huge bay views looking down the Peninsula. We agree the outcome is absolutely amazing both in terms of the design solution and build quality. Who knows, it might become an HIA award winner in this year’s awards. Fingers crossed. In the meantime, we have no doubt you and your family will enjoy creating many lasting memories in your brand new Latitude 37 custom home. Regards, Doug MacLeod CEO, Director

Shaky start but Strong ending

What led us to Latitude 37 was they specialise in slope builds and their transparent process. However, the sales and contract process was a painful experience, with misinformation and incorrect details all through that phase. At one point we considered walking away, but ultimately glad we didn't. Simon turned the whole experience around with his industry knowledge and tips allowing us to customise a pre-design plan to suit our needs. And from that point on, Matt and Andrew our onsite managers (and contractors) did a great job at building a great home for us. Workmanship and build quality appears to be of a very high standard with minimal issues post-handover/warranty stage. Handover occurring prior to the contracted end date. We've now been here for 6 months and are very happy.

Construction End DateMay 2018
1 comment
Jo & Scott, thanks for the review. I'm not aware of the detail of your experience and would be happy to discuss with you in the interests of further learnings and training for our team. It is certainly not our intention to mislead. Designing and building a custom home is a very complex process and we work very hard to keep our clients informed and ensure detailed review of documentation at key milestones to ensure alignment of expectations on the way through to Contract. I am disappointed to hear of your concerns and I can only apologise if you feel that we fell short of expectations in that regard. However, I am very pleased to hear that we delivered a high quality, custom home ahead of the contract build time which is ultimately what we set out to achieve. We hope you enjoy your new home for many years to come. Regards, Doug MacLeod CEO, Director

Fantastic new home experience

Overall we had a fantastic experience with Latitude 37 for the construction of our new home.

We were very well supported by Gabriel and Seamus during the design phase of the project. They understood our needs, helped us prioritise inclusions and presented concept plans for our dream home while being conscious of our budget. This positive experience continued through the detailed design phase with Simon who was friendly, knowledgeable and kept us informed of updates and changes. We did notice that in the lead up to contracts being signed that some of the general allowances such as engineering/site costs and modifications required for our bushfire attack level had slowly crept up with each revision of the costing which did put pressure on our budget. There were also a few changes to latitude suppliers which meant that some of our selections (such as windows) were no longer available.

We required council planning for our home, which was a long and frustrating process. Our main contact at Latitude had left the company and so the transition between multiple contacts was a little bit messy. Although we understand that town planning can be somewhat harder to control and influence, we felt the push for progress was more on our side and were not always fully informed. This was a little bit frustrating when there was a financial impact of cost escalation for every month the town planning was delayed. It was good to see Simon help push through the last few barriers to get this over the line.

Our exterior and interior design sessions were productive but intense and exhausting. It is quite a lot of pressure to make so many decisions about colours, fit and finishes in such a short period of time (half a day for external, one full day for internal). We are lucky that we were well prepared and well researched which meant many of the decisions on the day were much easier. We could see that if we were not adequately prepared we would not have ended up with such a positive result. We found the standard inclusions were generally to a high standard, but we still found ourselves selecting some upgrades across the board, including flooring, electrical, joinery and external finishes. At contract signing we found we were quite a bit over the original NHP cost estimate but within our budget.

The real highlight for us was once construction started. We were lucky enough to have two fantastic site managers. Firstly our stage one site manager Mitch had excavation, in grounds, slab and the frame up and running in no time. As we got closer to the handover to stage two, Mitch had taken on another role so Andrew jumped in a little bit earlier. Andrew was an absolute star of a site manager. He was never too busy to take a phone call or facilitate a site visit and we were always kept fully informed of construction progress. We could see that the site was very well managed as there were very few issues and when they did arise, Andrew always worked with us and the trades to ensure a satisfactory outcome. We were particularly pleased that as it became clear that we were ahead of schedule, he continued to push for a pre-Christmas handover without sacrificing quality. We did find that our construction coordinator in the office did not really communicate updates, but this was not an issue as Andrew would give call or meet us almost every week. We have no doubt that Andrew is a major part of the reason that we enjoyed the construction of our new home.

The handover process was relatively smooth. It appeared that there had been some staff changes in the office with Latitude but this did not delay our handover. Defects were rectified promptly and we’re so happy with the way our home has turned out. We also only had one variation during construction, which was an additional heating vent that we missed during the drawing reviews.

Overall we were very happy with Latitude 37. We actually enjoyed the building process which is probably a bit unusual! Thanks again to the team involved in our build.

Construction End DateDec 2017
1 comment
Adam, thanks for taking the time to write a detailed review. We really appreciate it and no doubt it will help future clients to validate our promise of "Happy Clients, Great Homes". You'll no doubt be pleased to hear we have re-engineered our interiors process in response to similar feedback that clients found the process quite exhausting. Our Interior Design partner now facilitates a number of separate appointments with each client, focussed on different elements of the custom interior design (bespoke joinery design, selection of fittings and fixtures and finally materials, colours and finishes). This staged approach together with a much more diverse range of possibilities with interiors ensures that clients really enjoy this process and it gives us more time to really nail the interior design brief and deliver an amazing outcome. We are constantly reviewing our process and considering feedback from our clients to ensure we offer the best possible custom design and build experience. Thanks again and we trust you will enjoy your new home for many years to come. Regards, Doug MacLeod CEO, Director

Definetely would recommend

I would recommend Latitude 37 to anyone who is looking to build.

I had a really good experience building three units with them from the beginning. Gabriel did the design process,Rachel did the interior design. They both good at what they do.

When construction started,first site manager Matt did a good job with communication and deliver promises. Second site manager Andrew took over at a later stage,he was good with communication and quality control as well. He has strong attention to details,which helped me picked up some minor issues at handover.

Construction coordinator Kaeli-May was the best. I dealt with three coordinators along the process,she was the only one who willing to do extra work to just make client happy. She was good with communication and let me know where things at all the time. She helped me out with any requirements I had during the construction process even some of the requirements were not their responsibility.

We hit some bumps along the way,but all solved smoothly without delays. So no complaints there.
Building quality is good as well,I did find some minor issues after handover,put on the warranty list. Got replied quickly for repairments.

Overall construction process is good,I would recommended.

Construction End DateJul 2018
1 comment
Rea, thanks for your fantastic review. I am very pleased that our team have again delivered a fantastic project outcome and that you have joined the ranks of Latitude 37's "Happy Clients, Great Homes". I have passed on your feedback to our team including our Stage 1 Site Manager (Matt) who ran the project to around lockup stage and Stage 2 Site Manager (Andrew) who overlapped with Matt and ran the project through to final QC stage and handover. Your review is a fantastic reward for a team of people that work really hard to deliver a high quality outcome for you. We wish you all the best with the development. Regards, Doug MacLeod CEO, Director

Very happy home owner

Our handover was in December 2017, so we've been in our home for nearly a year now. Have been absolutely thrilled with our new home.

Lat37 did a great job, from the planning stage to handover and everything in between. This is not to say that nothing went wrong, there were a few issues along the way and various mistakes, but Lat37 rectified them to our satisfaction. There was also a delay in the handover but Lat37 kept us informed throughout.

The workmanship and quality were good overall, some better than others depending on the contractors. The cost of the build was very reasonable and as estimated, we are very happy with what we got for the price.

This is our third build, so we had realistic expectations when it comes to working with builders and various contractors. We have friends who have built with them, and had their handovers recently, and we have also recommended other friends to build with Lat37. When it's time to build our fourth, we will consider building with them again.
Big thanks to Chris S for designing our home, we love it; to Leisa S for patiently and efficiently answering all our questions and keeping us well informed along the way; and Mick S for your help especially at the period close to the handover. We've worked with so many other staff members along the way, some still with the company and some have moved on, and the experience has been a very pleasant one.

Construction End DateDec 2017
1 comment
May, thanks for the fantastic review. We're very proud of the home we custom designed and built for you on what is quite a challenging site with a steep slope and narrow rear boundary. It's a fantastic capability statement for us and no doubt a wonderful family home for you. We're thrilled to have again delivered on our vision, happy clients, great homes. Thanks again, keep enjoying your new home and we look forward to helping you again when it's time for #4. Regards. Doug MacLeod CEO, Director

Good builder

We started our home building journey over 3 years ago after purchasing a block of land. We researched various custom and volume builders, visited display homes, read ProductReview and talked to people who had built homes recently. We selected Latitude because of their expertise in building on sloping land, their ability to do custom builds and make best use of available land, their good customer reviews and the impressive display home in Balwyn.

We found the design process relatively smooth. We presented our ideas and the designers came up with the design. We went through over 10 revisions of the design and the designers were always able to accommodate our requirements. Unfortunately they did not have any 3D design software at that time to give us a 3D walkthrough
of our proposed home, it would have been very useful. Rachel did the interior design and we found her to be very knowledgable and helpful.

After the design we had to put the project on hold because the housing estate developer was behind schedule and we couldn't settle the land purchase. Unfortunately the contract price had an 0.25% escalation penalty each month because we couldn't sign the contract as we had no idea when the land would settle.

The project finally resumed in late 2017. Once the build started, the main issue we found was the site manager wasn't the greatest at communication.The site manager seemed like a decent fellow but seemed to struggle a bit under the load of managing several site builds at the same time and at times didn't respond to messages and once forgot to attend a meeting. The worst incident was getting billed for the use of power generators months into the build and only finding out when the bill arrived. However we managed to come to a mutually acceptable agreement with Latitude management over this issue. We changed site manager after this and Steve came on board as site manager.
Steve turned out to be a fantastic site manager. He has a strong attention to detail, is great at communication and goes out of his way to keep the customer happy. Our first meeting was an on-site meeting after hours on a raining night. Steve picked up the build mid-way and did a stellar job in bringing the project to a conclusion a month before the contracted date.

We paid for our own independent building inspections at the slab, frame and lockup stages. No major defects were found and when I spoke to one of the inspectors during an inspection, he said Latitude is generally pretty good with their build quality. We have just moved in to our new home and think the build quality is excellent. The only issue we have noticed since moving in is that the TV aerial appears to be sub-standard as we can't pick up most TV channels. Other than that we are very happy with our new home.

Construction End DateAug 2018
1 comment
Simon, thanks for taking the time to post a detailed review. I'm very pleased that the experience was a good one and you are very happy with the finished home. I can confirm that we now offer 3D design in both exteriors and interiors, in keeping with the custom nature of the work we do and to ensure client expectations are fulfilled. The generator incident was disappointing but, as we discussed at the time, it was due to the Developer not providing power to your site. In the end, we waived a proportion of the costs in good faith given communication around this could have been better. I couldn't agree more about your assessment of Steve, he has been great. We now have an independent QC inspection as part of our standard offer which further reinforces the effort we go to to deliver a quality home. Thanks again for the review and we wish you years of enjoyment in your fabulous new home. Regards, Doug MacLeod CEO/Director

We appreciate latitude 37 for there expertise in dealing with challenging landscapes. Overall a deli

I would definitely recommend Latitude 37 to anyone who is looking at build on a sloping or challenging block. Before signing up to latitude the prospect of us building our dream home on our block was looking highly unlikely. We have gone through an entire drafting and quotation process with two other custom builders and offered us very little for our money. No major volume build would touch our block with a 10 foot pole. Latitude were the only builder with pre-designed and priced plans that would talk to us. After our initial consult and quotation we were very excited that latitude could actually put there display home (which was on a flat block) onto our sloping block. We did take a hit with site costs to make this happen given the extra excavation, retaining and modifications to make the plans works but overall we had a quote for a 44 square meter home for around $470,000 when a our other quotes were not even 30squares for $550,000. These prices are bare basic homes with no extras. By the time we ended up with our final contract we ended up paying $560,000 but we did have some nice inclusions like timber flooring and ducted cooling.

This left us in an excited and vulnerable position (especially when we have the "take it or leave it" disputes and we know there are no other builders to turn to). The initial quotation process was an extremely stressful process. The process is approximately 5 steps and at each step a new quotation is given to sign and pay until you receive the final contract. At each step we had an unpleasant surprise or thousands of dollars added to the cost without any consultation or explanation given to us as the customers. We would then have to dig through the paperwork and investigate were the extra costs were incurred, have an argument, and end up loosing with a "take it or leave it mentality". A few examples, after the initial quote it was determined that the drop next to our laundry entrance was to steep and we needed to have a landing included. This added around $4000 to the price which we weren't prepared for. He were forced to accept this for the property to meet building compliance. In another step we found that the price of the building itself went up $4000 (again just casually just added to the new house proposal without informing the customer). After questioning Latitude they informed us that when we previously asked for a room dimension to be increased and they only added the width into the total square meters and not the length. (this was picked up after we accept the original price and paid more money to progress with the contract). We were again told "take it or leave it because that is how much it costs". When it came to the final stage in the quotation were you start pick out the little details in the house like timber flooring, carpet, shower screen etc the quotations given were massively inaccurate beyond comprehension, some of the prices appeared triple to quadruple to that which was at the consult. I believe the problem is that the people who provide the advice and quotation don't actually communicate to the people who draw up the new home proposal to allow for such discrepancies. Latitude are very quick to push the process to the next step, provide paper work that states payment to be made in 7 days or incur penalties but fail to talk the customer before hand about all the changes and prices differences.

Putting the contracting stage aside which is horrible, the actual build process was very pleasant and exciting. It was evident that this company is very organised and move things along quite quickly. I particularly enjoyed having constant updates from the construction site managers who kept me informed at every stage of the process (throughout the 10 months of building I would speak to site manager around once a week to hear how the progress was going which was very appreciated). From the office end the construction co-coordinator's were also very pleasant to deal with and very prompt to address any concerns. We would regularly visit the site and we were very impressed to the attention to detail. The site managers are very thorough going through the build process and calling back the trades to correct every little imperfection that arises.

There was one sub-contractor that we were personally not happy with Latitude using is the electrical/home tech company Argus. I would recommend anyone using latitude to treat Argus with maximum suspicion if you are expecting premium high end products. This company charges astronomical prices for the wiring provisions but uses average/standard cabling. For most people this might be ok, but if your an enthusiast demand the brand and specifications in the contract and not just a generic list of provisions. An example, we were expecting argus to use a 192 strand speaker cable when they installed a 60 strand cable (the fact that this number was actually specified on the contract we could battle out a replacement). I wish i knew the brand of the HDMI cable being used since they charge around $400 for this, and a cheep generic cable was used (valued at around $60-$70) which doesn't work with some of the high end 4k HDR projector brands (obviously you need to factor in some labor costs of taking a minute to run a cable 10 meters in a open frame building...).

Latitude are also ruthless with post contract variations. There is absolutely no room for negotiations for any changes that have any costing involved without incurring a $750 post contract variation fee. If you have to do one add everything into this variation before signing it. We tried to avoid this but we bit the bullet on a big ticket item and signed for $750. We then thought of one extra item we wanted added after signing this 6 hours later and we received another $750 post contract variation fee. IE we paid $1500 in a single day of post contracting. Even if the builder gave you wrong advice during the contract stage and you are told you can do something after building commenced, this is not taken into account and you will be charge $750 to make the change. To give latitude credit they are very happy to accommodate any changes post contract changes which don't have a price attached, such as changing the position of an item or changing the pattern the tiles are laid or changing the color of the paint.

With all that said and done we are very grateful for the finished product. We have our dream home that we are proud off. We feel this home is the "next level" in quality far beyond what you would get with your standard volume builder. Even after we have given our final payment and the home is handed over, latitude have been very pleasant and supportive with any problems we had. I simply message the office or site manager with my problem a trades person is organised practically the same day. We are very grateful for this.

Construction End DateMay 2018
1 comment
Adam, thanks for the feedback. Given we offer genuine custom design solutions, we do get involved in complex projects that other builders are not equipped to handle. You raise a number of concerns with your journey and I'm pleased to confirm that a number of process improvements over the last 12 months have resolved these concerns. Our pricing process/proposal format is now simplified to avoid confusion and ensure clarity as the design and/or specification changes through the process of documenting the project. We also now offer a staged variation process where we encourage clients to consider changes they may require but ensuring these changes are consider at an appropriate stage of construction. We offer staged variations without an administrative fee being applied. This provides maximum flexibility at minimum cost to our clients, without complicating the build process. We believe this is unique in the industry and has been very well received. Building a custom home is complex and we recognise that our clients need opportunities to make tweaks as their home takes shape. We are very proud of the home we designed and built for you and we're very pleased that you are satisfied with the build quality and after sales service. We trust you will enjoy your new home for many years to come. Regards, Doug MacLeod, Director

met our expectation

Overall the quality and service met expectation. Better quality control at earlier stages of building would have prevented a lot of later rework and fixes. On the whole we are satisfied with the built and services. 1.reasonably good but need rework a number of times.2.when Steve Dimitriou came on board it was better managed.3 we hardly used it but for that few times we used, the response was reasonably prompt.

Construction End DateJul 2018
1 comment
Thanks Ken, we now have independent QC inspections at each stage in addition to our own in house QC checks so we catch any niggling issues early. I agree with your assessment of Steve, he does great work out there in delivering on our Vision "Happy Clients, Great Homes". We hope you enjoy your new custom home for years to come. Regards, Doug MacLeod CEO, Director

Our Dream Home .. A Reality

This is our second build experience in Melbourne. We were very happy to find L37 who are able to take on the challenge of building our new home on a sloping land where other builders would not consider. We wanted a customised home which would utilised the slop of our land and fulfill our living requirements for now and the future. We were very pleased to have Chris Sfiligoj to design our home to our list of requirements.

We were finally able to secure finance and construction commenced early last year. We kept our fingers crossed for not hitting rock when they did the site cut and as each stage went by we saw our home being built. Like our first build, we wanted to put in a physical termite barrier to ensure low cost and maintenance for the future. This was missed in the build stage which was extremely disappointing as it was stated in the contract and we did remind our site manager at the time. A site visit was arranged to see what could be done. We are reasonable people and with a heavy heart we understood that it was far too late to rectify this. An alternative was sought and agreed to which was not ideal but acceptable but still we are disappointed.

We added sound proofing in certain walls, under shower bases and lagging of water pipes. Upon inspection the lagging around the water pipes were secured by a small piece of tape so came undone very quickly. Sound proofing in the wall was incomplete and had gaps. By the time we flagged this and the construction manager came to inspect, the plaster boards were already installed. Gap in the walls were filled to rectify but nothing could be done to secure the tapes around the pipes. It would have been good if this was picked up by QC before hand.

We received fantastic guidance and advice when faced with making decisions with interior design and colour scheme. Each process of the build after this went by quickly and according to plan. Any challenges that rose was dealt with well. Progress reports were made, site visit arranged and progressed payments transferred. All good and everything was on track. We put our house on the market to sell with the longest settlement date possible to allow us to landscape, have the carpet laid and window furnishing done before we move in. We were realistic in the estimated dates given for hand over and wanted to make sure there was a buffer in the time scale to allow for the unexpected and a less stressful move.

After the Christmas break, progress was slow and it was difficult obtain a definite hand over date as our settlement date approaches. This was rather stressful given we had no where to go if the house wasn’t ready in time. Luckily the assurance came that we could have the keys one and a half day before settlement. Just enough time to get the carpet laid. Although it was extremely stressful we are grateful for this. The alternative was unbearable to think about.

So now we are settling into our beautiful new home. No longer a vision in our mind but a reality made of bricks and mortar. It has taken money, time, effort and a lot of energy but finally we are in.

It is only when you move in that you truly know your new home. L37 offer a 90 days warranty period where defects are picked up and rectified if they are below Australian standards. We had an independent inspection prior to hand over and also an independent paint inspection post hand over. We are now awaiting our warranty inspection and rectification work to be carried out.

We understand that building a home will come with challenges and things will go wrong especially when using third party tradies. We are now in our home and for us the final test for L37 is whether they fix the defects to a satisfactory standard and without unnecessary escalation. We hope that for this final stage the facts speak for themselves and L37 will do the right thing and bring issues below standard up to standard in a timely manner.

Our experience has been good so far so we’re really looking forward to showing our home to friends without all the green stickers.

A big thank you to Liam Myers and the team at L37.

Construction End DateMar 2018
1 comment
Hi Cam, Thanks for the feedback. I am very pleased that we delivered on your vision for a dream custom home. It was certainly a challenging site requiring a bespoke design solution with a single level form at street level cascading to 3 levels at the rear of the home, stepping down the steep slope. Building is stressful and custom home building in particular is complex so providing a certain end date is not always possible until we are in the final stages. But i am very pleased that our team communicated effectively and you were able to move in on time. I am disappointed to hear of the niggling concerns you had along the way - with respect to the termite barrier, you can rest assured your home is termite protected to Austrailan Standards and signed off by the Building Surveyor. Our Maintenance & Warranty team will be in touch shortly to attend to any minor items that have arisen over the first few months in your new home. Thanks for choosing Latitude 37 and may you have many years of enjoyment in your new home. Regards, Doug MacLeod CEO, Director

Great Builders, Superb Workmanship

Our experience of building with Latitude 37 was a great one; the whole building process was stress free. We now have a high quality custom-built home which we are thrilled with.
The team of site managers/supervisors was committed and highly professional in ensuring that no corners were cut and everything was built to specifications. When errors were discovered (which we didn't even know about till later), they were rectified promptly.
In particular our last 2 site managers, Adrian & Steve went over and beyond the call of duty to ensure that our build was as perfect as could be. We were also frequently given updates on the build without having to ask for them. They were always happy to discuss any concerns we had and addressed them with a high level of professionalism.
Even the sub-contractors on site were polite and helpful with our questions during walk throughs and visits.
Kudos to the team at Latitude 37 and if we were to build another home, I would definitely go with Latitude again!

Construction End DateMay 2018
1 comment
Mary, we are very proud of the custom home that we designed and built for you. We appreciate you taking the time to post a review about your experience and confirm that we have again delivered on our Vision, "Happy Clients, Great Homes". We hope you enjoy your fantastic new home for many years to come. You know where to find us if you plan to build again! Yours sincerely, Doug MacLeod, CEO, Director

Our Beautiful New Home

We are absolutely delighted with our new home.

We are recently married and the design brief was very much about bringing key design elements together to satisfy both my wife's desire for light filled living areas and my desire for zoned living spaces. Latitude 37 has delivered on these key requirements.

We were impressed with the way Gabriel our sales design consultant took our ideas from concept stage to working drawings and with our budget. My wife wanted a grand facade and we worked closely with Gabriel to create a beautiful Hamptons entrance.

Our site supervisor Graham treated the build process like his own. Yes there were un planned delays but Graham kept punching right through to the end. Graham's customer focus, attention to detail and integrity was the Latitude 37 builder experience for us.

The build quality is beyond our expectations. The home features a solid hardwood timber floor and a magnificent long hallway leading to a large pavilion family, dining and kitchen area. Large sliding doors and high windows open to expansive living areas of jarrah decking. The light streaming through these vast windows illuminates the quality of the finishes.

The customer service was great and Mick our construction manager has followed through on all our requests promptly and efficiently. A number of local residence have enquired about our experience with Latitude 37 and we are excited to see more Latitude 37 homes under construction in Ivanhoe.

Thank you for building our beautiful new home.

Helen and Ian

Construction End DateOct 2017
1 comment
Ian (& Helen), Thanks for the fantastic review. We're certainly very proud of the fantastic custom home solution that we designed and built for you in Ivanhoe. It's a unique home that is specifically designed to suit your site, your lifestyle and your budget. I'm very pleased to that we have delivered on our Vision "Happy Clients, Great Homes". I will be sure to pass on your feedback to our team. I hope you enjoy your new home for many years to come. Regards, Doug MacLeod CEO, Director

Lovely home

We did our homework initially & decided on L37 to build our new home as they advertised as being experts on sloping blocks & with knock down/rebuilds.
Thought we would wait for 6 months since hand over in Sept 2017 before submitting a review. We are happy with the overall build & finishes bar a few issues with paintwork, water leaks etc.
The maintenance work order was all completed post the 90-day warranty period with a few delays only after the month long Christmas break.
We were satisfied with all the Office admin support from initial stage to final post-handover stage. Thanks to all of them especially Linda & Kara.
We did also feel that the initial design appointment is completed way too in advance & crammed into one day, so much so that when it came time for the internal finishes inside the house to be completed almost a year later we had questions about some of the earlier selections we had made.
Our contract end date was delayed by 8 weeks & L37 did pay nominal liquidation damages until the certificate of occupancy was issued on 16/8. Our final hand-over however was almost 4 weeks later on 12/9 when all outstanding works was completed.
Our site manager was well meaning and we acknowledge that these guys have several builds to oversee at the one time, but we felt he lacked the experience to multi task & co-ordinate jobs in a timely fashion & also an eye for detail on some occasions.
Our Boutique alfresco stacker doors & decking timber planks all lay exposed to the elements for more than 6 weeks before they were all installed. It was sad to see our glass stacker doors lying outdoors so dirty & covered in mud/dirt. Some of the decking planks left lying in the front yard went missing too at one stage as advised by our site manager! A bit more thought & planning needs to go into coordinating the delivery of such expensive material & their timely installation.
One issue that the warranty department has not resolved for us to date is that every time the upstairs en-suite toilet or other bathroom toilet is flushed there is a very audible rumbling, thundery sound going down the plumbing shaft all the way down the side of our fridge space in the butler’s pantry downstairs.
We wonder if any other clients have experienced this issue in two storey homes ??
Collins Plumbing who did all the plumbing suggested "lagging"- some sort of sound proofing around the plumbing column but the maintenance department have not agreed to do anything about it which is very disappointing.
We have always lived in 2 storey houses & have never experienced this sort of noise every time a toilet is flushed upstairs! We believe that when we pay a substantial amount for a house we should not experience such inconveniences & feel L37 needs to fix this issue for us.

Construction End DateSep 2017
1 comment
Hi Unni, Thanks for the review and the "Lovely home" headline, we appreciate it. I'm pleased that you are happy with our design specifically designed to work on your site with about 3m corner to corner), build quality and service. You are quite right in that our Site Managers oversee a number of projects concurrently, as you would expect - however, we deliberately limit our Site Managers to no more than 8 projects at a time in a fairly tight geographical area to ensure they can achieve the high standards we expect. As for the build time, we completed the home in around 10 months (plus the Xmas shutdown). We then conducted a Final Inspection with you, attended to any minor defects and handed over within the 21 days provided for in the Contract. That's about right for a custom home built on a sloping site with stepped floor level. With respect to the sewer, the plumbing pipe (stack) runs from the ground floor to the first floor to connect to the upstairs bathrooms. This pipe is built into a framed, plaster lined enclosure as is normal practice. In your home, the upstairs bathrooms sit above the pantry/laundry area so the stack is located between the fridge and pantry, away from the living area. If you are in this area, it is quite normal that will hear some noise as water rushes down the plumbing stack when a toilet is flushed. Perhaps in the past the layout of your other homes has resulted in the stack in a more remote location, away from the day to day circulation space such that you did not hear it? In any case, it is normal and no cause for concern. Thanks again for entrusting Latitude 37 to design and build your custom home project. We hope you enjoy the home for many years to come. Regards, Doug MacLeod CEO, Director

Great Builders, Great Home

Latitute 37 are a terrific medium sized building company. We built two terrific townhouses with them and the service we received over the years working and with them was exemplary. The build quality in particular is outstanding. In particular I would like to make mention of Leisa Stanford, our Construction Co-ordinator, who was our contact in the office during the build. She was extraordinary. Being a first time builder, the process at times can be a scary and overwhelming. Leisa always put me at ease and sorted out any issues in an incredibly timely and professional manner. I would also like to mention Brock Reid who oversaw the project. His direction and attention to detail resulted in an excellent end product. We love living in our beautiful new home. Bravo Latitude 37!

Construction End DateAug 2017
1 comment
Hi Lou, Thanks so much for the glowing review. This is a fantastic reward for our team and all the hard work they invest on a daily basis to achieve our Vision "Happy Clients, Great Homes". We are very pleased for you and we wish you many years of enjoyment in your new homes. Regards, Doug MacLeod CEO, Director

Page 1 of 6

Questions & Answers

Hi, I wonder why your have knockdown rebuild advertised as part of your service? Latitude 37 does not knockdown existing houses. The clients have to do the demolition and hand over an empty canvas to Lat 37.
5 answers
Hi Samw, thank you for your enquiry. Many of the new homes we build are in established suburbs and typically involve clearing a site prior to construction of a new home. We can organise the demolition as part of your custom home build, including any required permits as part of our end-to-end service. Please feel free to give us a call on 8795 3000 to discuss your demolition requirements and custom build aspirations. Kind Regards, Doug MacLeod, Director.Why was my question edited before published?I just confirmed with your company. Lat 37 does not organise demolition. They may give you names of demolition company. You have to organise it yourself. Another example of one staff saying one thing and another saying the opposite. Demolition. Temporary fencing. Paving. Permanent fencing...

Hi there Does Latitude 37 still offer the pre-designed homes range as noted in the design booklet on your website?
1 answer
Hi Bfab, we have always designed and built custom homes for our clients. Typically these start with a clean sheet and a design brief discussion with our in house Design team where we carefully consider your unique site, lifestyle and budget aspirations. That's why we say at Latitude 37. "Every Home is an Original". As you correctly point out, the Our Designs book on our website does have a range of pre designed homes as well as a sample of our custom solutions. The pre designs are really there for inspiration and to assist clients who may not be comfortable providing a brief from scratch. Sometimes we find clients like to start with something pre-existing and then talk through how it could be adapted for their needs. So we are always happy to discuss your requirements if there is a particular plan you have in mind. Yours sincerely. Doug MacLeod CEO, Director

On average, what is the cost per square with L37? Looking at your previous response, it starts around $10,500 square & the majority of your clients invest between $13k-$18k/square. Has there been a price change since then? We have recently been quoted $19k per square (minimal spec), $21k mid spec and $22.5k top spec taking into consideration of the complexity of design/site. We are finding it hard to understand as we can’t really compare apples to apples if the square price is assumed based on the complexity of our site. We have spent some time after the 2nd meeting, with a base price that we thought might be achievable and wanting to commit paying the $1k deposit only to receive an email from the sales consultant a few days later, saying policy has just changed and it’s now $5k (which isn’t an issue) but that the price has increased by $100k for a much smaller square than what was initially discussed. Can you please tell me how much per square is your min, mid and top spec?
1 answer
Hi Wong, It is not possible to quote a rate per square for custom designed homes. Every home we design is an original and the price to build depends on the size, complexity of the design, structural efficiency, in ground works, materials, fitout and finish, as you would expect. The amount of "articulation" in walls and roof, for example, make considerable difference to the price as does the orientation, extent of glazing and so on. So we work with each client to create a custom solution that aligns with their design brief, site requirements and budget and we workshop the solution until the right balance between these requirements is achieved. To give you an idea of the variability in pricing, we have current clients who have committed to build with us from under $15,000 per square to over $25,000 per square. Averages rates per square are not really appropriate for the type of work we do and with such a wide range of pricing outcomes. Just adding a lift, for example, can add $2,000 per square. Or adding a basement might add $5,000 per square. Unlike off the shelf volume builders, the custom nature of what we do means rates per square are just not a good indicator of what your project might cost. Also note that construction costs have increased considerably in recent times - HIA quoted an 11% increase in cost across the industry in 2017, much higher than CPI which would normally be anticipated and this affects all builders - with a margin and GST applied, this adds 15+% to retail pricing compared with a year ago. Our Concept Design Agreement fee did change recently - for $5,000 we now offer a more comprehensive initial design including a bespoke 3D design presentation which aligns with our clients' expectations and is more appropriate for the custom nature of our work. We include several rounds of design iteration and preparation of a pricing proposal. I hope this helps you to understand what we can offer. Regards, Doug MacLeod CEO, Director

Similar listings