??!
1 photo
Loans.com.au Home Loans

Loans.com.au Home Loans

3.7 from 200 reviews

Reviews

(111)
(28)
(2)
(9)
(50)
  • Transparency
    3.8 (188)
  • Customer Service
    3.9 (191)
  • Loan TypeVariable Rate (165) · Split (10) · Fixed Rate (9)
  • Application Process
    4.1 (182)
  • Timeliness
    4.0 (179)
  • Loan Term28.135 years (104)
  • Loan used for
    • Refinancing (97)
    • First Home (22)
    • Second Home (20)
    • Investment Property (10)
    • Home Construction (6)
    • Renovation (4)
  • Online Tools
    4.1 (120)
Mel

MelMelbourne

  • 3 reviews

Passed on first rate cut but not the second

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
Loan TypeVariable Rate
See all answers
1 comment
Loans.com.au
Hayley G.Loans.com.au

Hi Mel, we appreciate you taking the time to leave a review and we are sorry to hear that you have had an unfavourable experience with us. If there’s anything further we could do to improve, please do share your feedback at customercare@loans.com.au.

Ash

AshGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 3 reviews

During time of crisis

published

Don't be lured to their loan rate as when i signed up after 6 months whether the interest rates go up or not they raised it. When the reserve bank dropped it they don't drop it and when you ask for hardship due to coronavirus impact and ask if it will affect your credit profile i get advised yes really even through these difficult times where the whole world is suffering. Thanks for not helping through this time of stress and anxiety

Transparency
Customer Service
Loan TypeVariable Rate
2 comments
Loans.com.au
Hayley G.Loans.com.au
Ash
Ash

Well after this message the lady apologised and said she made a mistake so I will take that comment back as she obviously didnt know.

Scammers - beware!

published

Lure you in with low initial rates, then jack your rate up with a series of small incremental rate increases (out of alignment with the RBA decisions) due to 'overseas funding costs blah blah blah'.
RBA cuts are not passed on, only to new customers.
It's a big, nasty scam and it shouldn't be legal. Avoid.

Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
Loan TypeVariable Rate
See all answers
2 comments
Loans.com.au
Hayley G.Loans.com.au
James R.
James R.

Nothing like a stock standard response that fails to address the criticisms I have raised in this complaint. Other potential customers undoubtedly would like you to address the points I have raised? Or is this an admission of your business practices?

Home Loans

Find out how Loans.com.au Home Loans compares to other Home Loans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Russ L

Russ LPerth

  • 3 reviews

Good to start, don't look after existing customers

published

Since joining Loans.com.au the interest rate for new customers has dropped much lower than existing customers. They are not interested in dropping for existing customers either. Looking to refinance elsewhere.

Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan Start DateSeptember 2018
Loan used forRefinancing
See all answers
3 comments
Loans.com.au
Hayley G.Loans.com.au

Hi Russ, thanks for taking the time to leave a review. If there’s anything further we could do to improve, we’d love to hear your feedback at customercare@loans.com.au.

Russ L
Russ L
Loans.com.au
Hayley G.Loans.com.au

Hi Russ, thanks for letting me know. I will flag this on my end too so we can address this is as soon as possible.

ASHNIL P.

ASHNIL P.South East Queensland, QLD

  • Verified customer

You'll be a fool if you apply with these guys

published

Trust me, I have been a customer for a while now and know the real experience! Don't be fooled by their low advertised rates, they are for SHOW ONLY! After you become a customer you'll see how your rates slowly bump up compared to their advertised rates. For example, my investment loan rate is 3.18% compared to their advertised rate of 2.94%. Also you'll have to wait like for 3-4 weeks to see the RBA cuts apply to your loan accounts. On the other hand, it takes just hours for them to increase the rates when needed! That tells a lot about the ethics of the company!!

Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
See all answers
1 comment
Loans.com.au
Hayley G.Loans.com.au

the rates are introductory only - after a year or two they bump your product to a rate that is way worse than the market

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan Start DateNovember 2014
Loan used forInvestment Property
See all answers
1 comment
Loans.com.au
Hayley G.Loans.com.au

Hi Ian, we're sorry to see you left 1 star. We're always looking for feedback on ways we can improve our service. Please contact us at customercare@loans.com.au with any further questions or feedback you have.

Ben K

Ben KAU

  • 8 reviews

Bad customer experience, higher rates for existing customers

published

Avoid these guys, plenty of other lenders
Good 5 years ago, but do not communicate rate changes clearly, would not rectify their mistakes.Worst they have higher rates for existing customers now.

Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
Online Tools
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan Start DateFebruary 2014
Loan used forRefinancing
See all answers
2 comments
Loans.com.au
Hayley G.Loans.com.au
Ben K
Ben K
Todd

Todd

  • 2 reviews

18 months into 30 years

published

Best rate when we applied, but they don't pass on rate cuts to existing loans, only to new customers, now I'm refinancing away from loans.com.au as they are ~0.5% above the market price. They happily watch customers leave, take your loan to Athena the first time...

Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
Online Tools
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan Start DateOctober 2018
Loan used forRefinancing
See all answers
2 comments
Loans.com.au
Hayley G.Loans.com.au
Todd
Todd
stven

stvenmelbourne

  • 2 reviews

A lot low rate then my previous bank

published

Was easy to change over from my old bank only a month or 2 wait which is normal. Good interest rate. Will see if they pass on the full rate cut as they failed to the last cut.

Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan used forRefinancing
See all answers
1 comment
Loans.com.au
Hayley G.Loans.com.au
Home Loans

Find out how Loans.com.au Home Loans compares to other Home Loans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Bree

BreeMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 4 reviews

Its a fantastic rate, great customer service and was so easy to refinance on my own

published

this was the easiest refinance I have done with a lot of support when needed and has the best rate around, I tried a mortgage broker and he couldn't beat this rate and the process of doing the refinance on my own was easier and quicker than the broker

Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
Online Tools
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan Start DateNovember 2019
Loan used forRefinancing
See all answers
1 comment
Loans.com.au
Hayley G.Loans.com.au

Hi Bree, thank you so much for the 5-star review. We pride ourselves on quick and simple service, so we're so happy to hear you had a great experience and got the best rates with us.

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

dpd

dpdGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Competitive rate and good service

published

They have offered a competitive rate but the inspection changed didn't waivedoff.
No unexpected costs. Apllication process was easy and interactive with nice tool called ontrack.
Even we can directly call the case officer.
Overall experience was good.

Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
Online Tools
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan used forRefinancing
See all answers
1 comment
Loans.com.au
Hayley G.Loans.com.au

Hi there. Thanks so much for the 5-star review. We are so glad you found the application process easy and interactive, and felt comfortable with the OnTrack app. We appreciate your feedback!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

They were good initially, but then they got fat and greedy

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Loan TypeVariable Rate
1 comment
Loans.com.au
Hayley G.Loans.com.au

Hi there, we appreciate you taking the time to leave your honest feedback. Please contact us at customercare@loans.com.au with any further questions or feedback you have.

Sharon

SharonVictoria

Happy Customer

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
Online Tools
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan used forRenovation
See all answers
1 comment
Loans.com.au
Hayley G.Loans.com.au

Hi Sharon, we pride ourselves on offering quick and easy service and a great online app, so thanks for the honest and positive feedback. It was a pleasure helping you with your refinance and top up. We really appreciate the recommendation.

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Michael

MichaelGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Rates will creep up after the initial low rate

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
Loan TypeVariable Rate
See all answers
1 comment
Loans.com.au
Hayley G.Loans.com.au
RoyK

RoyKSydney, NSW

  • 16 reviews

Not valuing existing customers

published

Generally once they got your business, they forget about you. The focus and good rates are only passed on to new customers. The catch is once you’re in, rate goes up. Customer care: uncontactable, only if you have a long time and relaxed nerves to wait on hold. Otherwise email, they get back to you in a few days. If you have fixed rate, forget about asking the break cost, they calculate the rate somehow that you never think about breaking your fixed rate which means you are stuck until the end of the fixed rate term.

Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
Loan TypeSplit
Loan used forSecond Home
See all answers
2 comments
Loans.com.au
Hayley G.Loans.com.au
RoyK
RoyK

That’s good to know, but that is not the main Point of this feedback, or maybe you haven’t read it properly. it’s about the rate which you have not addressed. I think public needs to know what they want to get themselves in to.

Home Loans

Find out how Loans.com.au Home Loans compares to other Home Loans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Shop around

published

At acquisition stage, couldn't fault them. The rate was good and the cx service fantastic.
They've passed down 2 small rate changes in 3yrs. Even after requesting a review it was not competitive at all. The cx service guy I called recently was unhelpful, rude, and a real smart aleck.

Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
Loan TypeVariable Rate
See all answers
1 comment
Loans.com.au
Hayley G.Loans.com.au
Humna

HumnaGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Closed my debit card with one week notice. Extremely difficult to process the initial loan, or get any equity loans.

published

Closed my debit card with one week notice. Extremely difficult to process the initial loan, or get any equity loans. They do what they want and change what they want (like closing a debit card attached to my offset!) without notice or consideration of the impact. Stay away as I've been stung badly and would not recommend this bank to my enemies.

Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
Online Tools
See all answers
1 comment
Loans.com.au
Hayley G.Loans.com.au

Hi Humna, we're sorry to hear that you have had an unfavourable experience with us. We're always looking for feedback on ways we can improve our service. Please contact us at customercare@loans.com.au with any further questions or feedback you have.

JuJu

JuJuGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 4 reviews

Avoid - after almost 5 years with loans.com.au They do not give you the service you deserve!

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan Start DateJanuary 2015
Loan used forRefinancing
See all answers
Mark

MarkSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Don't be fooled

published

The initial service, fees, and rates were good. Now they offer new customers much lower rates and blame funding tranches. Existing clients ripped off. They will not reply to emails. The service is shocking.

Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
Online Tools
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan Start DateJune 2018
Loan used forInvestment Property
See all answers

Very helpful, good rate

published

They were well informed and helpful on the phone. There was a bit of confusion between individuals who looked after my case and there were times when I had to email them directly instead of through the portal as that was apparently quicker. Overall a good experience.

Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
Online Tools
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan used forFirst Home
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Page 1 of 10

See all Loans.com.au reviews

Questions & Answers

Robyn L.

Robyn L.asked

How long does it take to get the loan from initial application?

1 answer
Patro
Patro

It took 10 days all total .I applied on 10th July money was in account on 18th July..

Get an answer from our members and Loans.com.au representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.