??!
1 photo
Medibank Travel Insurance - International Comprehensive Plan (Single Trip)

Medibank Travel Insurance - International Comprehensive Plan (Single Trip)

3.2 from 43 reviews

Reviews

3.2

43 reviews
5
(19)
4
(5)
3
(0)
2
(2)
1
(17)
  • Value for Money
    3.5 (34)
  • Transparency
    3.5 (34)
  • Customer Service
    3.5 (33)
Previous
Next
DKC

DKCGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Claim process excellent

published

Lodged a claim as a result of the pandemic. Initially thought can't claim because of the pandemic but Medibank Travel Insurance call centre staff encouraged me to put one in. The claim was processed according to the timeline outlined to me. I have used Medibank Travel Insurance for at least 5 times over the last 8 years. Will use it again.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateJune 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
Rudders

Rudders

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

GOOD RESULT, FINALLY

published

An accident in January meant a cancelled cruise in February.
There were delays in processing the claim due missing documentation, exacerbated by the pandemic situation.
Senior Claims Officer Isaac Downey got involved in July, and put in a lot of effort getting the required documentation to finalise the claim in August, 10 out of 10.
Good outcome, thanks.

Transparency
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
Medibank
MedibankMedibank
Leo S.

Leo S.South East Queensland, QLD

COVID-19 PANDEMIC – Claim for Travel Cancellation

published

This was the first time I have used the Medibank Travel Insurance. My claim came about as the Australian government advised Australian not to travel abroad due to COVID-19 pandemic. I contacted Medibank Travel Insurance and found them easy to deal with and very helpful. They sent me instruction how to complete claim forms online. I provided all documents required to support my claim. Initially it was a bit of a problem but eventually resolved in my favour. I would use Medibank Travel Insurance again for my future travel insurance.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEast Asia (e.g. China, Japan, South Korea) and Europe
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateApril 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
1 comment
Medibank
MedibankMedibank

Hi Leo,
Thank you for submitting your lovely review.
We’re glad to read about your positive experience with submitting your Travel Insurance claim. If there is anything else we can do to help, please don’t hesitate to get in touch. Thanks, Anna

Travel Insurance

Find out how Medibank Travel Insurance - International Comprehensive Plan (Single Trip) compares to other Travel Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mickyb

MickybGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 7 reviews
  • 3 likes

Do not use

published

4 previous travel policys and 1st time claim and it gets rejected.
Tour Company goes into liquidation partly due to Covid
We buy a policy months prior to any issue and get $0
Medibank Private Health Insurance 36 years of continuous health insurance with them goodbye MBP hello BUPA

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEast Asia (e.g. China, Japan, South Korea)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateMay 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
1 comment
Medibank
MedibankMedibank

Hi Micky,
I am sorry your travel claim wasn’t paid. I just sent you a private message asking for a few more details. Thanks, Anna

BazF

BazFPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Medibank Travel Insurance came good when needed

published

I have used Medibank Travel Insurance for my last three overseas trips, and have not needed to make a claim until this year.
My trip to Isle Of Man TT, due in August 2020 was cancelled due to Corona Virus and my travel company has a 'No cash refund policy'
Medibank Travel Insurance assessed my claim, with some delay due to large number of claims they had to deal with, and finally repaid all of my travel fees except for the $250 excess which I chose on my policy.
They kept me informed of my claim progress throughout and answered all of my queries.
I will certainly use them again for my next trip.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim ApprovedYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
1 comment
Medibank
MedibankMedibank
Kerrie Hibberd

Kerrie HibberdHobart, TAS

Had to cancel overseas trip due to my husband's cancer kidney removal surgery.

published

Took out comprehensive travel insurance in Jan 2020 for May Overseas travel. March my husband had right kidney removed. Claim completed this week Scenic reimbursed half refund and Medibank Private Travel Insurance reimbursed the other outstanding amount less $250.00 excess. it has taken 3 months due to Corvid out break. We have always used Medibank Private for all our Travel insurance within Australia and Overseas. I pay top price for travel insurance as I have pre existing health issues. My husband is now recovering very well. We will continue to use Medbank Private Travel Insurance

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationNorth America (inc. Hawaii)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimMedical
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateMarch 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
1 comment
Medibank
MedibankMedibank
LMC

LMCMid North Coast, NSW

Great travel insurance policy!

published

As a Medibank Member I was able to get a good discount on my travel policy, which covered all the bases and I felt was good value for money. It was easy to organize with a phone call, or it can be done on-line. Unfortunately I had to cancel my trip due to illness, a few days before departure date. Medibank kept me informed regularly of where my claim was at, as it was being determined. A slight delay did occur, but that was not the fault of Medibank. They provided a full refund of my planned overseas tour I had booked, less airfares. I have used their Travel Insurance before and would not hesitate to do so again.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationNew Zealand
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimMedical
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateMarch 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Medibank
MedibankMedibank

Hi LMC,
Thank you for your lovely review. We're glad to read of your positive experience with submitting your Travel Insurance claim. If there is anything we can do to help, please don’t hesitate to let us know.
Thanks, Anna

Goldie

GoldieGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Full Refund, Very Happy

published

On contacting Medibank Travel Insurance today about our insurance for a cancelled trip, I was so pleased to be offered a full refund of our premium which was over $1000.
We had already received most of our refunds from our travel providers, so getting our premium back was fantastic.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForSenior
See all answers
1 comment
Medibank
MedibankMedibank

Hi Goldie, thanks so much for submitting your positive review.

If there is anything we can help you with, please do not hesitate to reach out. - Jade

Wonderful service and very helpfull.

published

We had our trip to Asia cancelled by the cruise line because of covid 19.
We were reimbursed from NCL for the cruise but not the flights etc.
Thankfully Medibank Private paid the shortfall. Really great service and courteous staff. Thank you.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Medibank
MedibankMedibank

Hi Peter, thanks so much for your lovely review.
If there is anything else we can help you with, please let us know. - Jade

Travel Insurance

Find out how Medibank Travel Insurance - International Comprehensive Plan (Single Trip) compares to other Travel Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
poz

pozVictoria

  • 2 reviews

Ripped off

published
Transparency
Value for Money
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
2 comments
Medibank
MedibankMedibank

Hi there,
We'd love to see if there is anything we can do to help. I just sent you a private message asking for a few more details.
Thanks,
Anna

poz
poz

Sent you or information

Gary Patterson

Gary PattersonGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Professional and Courteous

published

Covid 19 forced us to cancel our trip to Canada / Alaska - with our travel insurance being taken out well in advance of the pandemic we were pleased that our Medibank travel insurance covered the cost of the trip that was not refunded by the travel company. The service from in store ( Lisa ) and over the phone was always professional and informative. The claim was handled quickly and to our full satisfaction. In such a difficult and stressful time the service was very much appreciated. We will certainly take out future travel insurance with Medibank.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationAustralia
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateApril 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
1 comment
Medibank
MedibankMedibank

Hi Gary,
Thank you for your lovely review and we're very happy about your positive experience.
Thanks,
Joshua

Maomao

MaomaoSouth East Queensland, QLD

Medibank declined my claim because my mum had a surgery

published

Medibank travel insurance declined my claim because my mum had a surgery so we need to cancel my family trip and go to the hospital to take care of her.

Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEast Asia (e.g. China, Japan, South Korea)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimOther
Claim ApprovedNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult and Child
See all answers
1 comment
Medibank
Medibank P.Medibank

Hi there,
I'm sorry to hear about your recent experience. I just sent you a private message to see if there is anything further we can do to help.
Thanks,
Hayley

Courteous and Thorough

published

We had to cancel a planned trip to Vietnam because of Covid-19. Travel insurance had been taken out well before the outbreak became known and therefore Medibank Travel Insurance covered the cost of the deposit that was not refunded by the travel company we had used. Claim was straightforward to lodge and was handled quite quickly.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
Insurance Cover ForSenior
See all answers
1 comment
Medibank
Medibank P.Medibank

Hi there,
Thanks so much for your 5 star review. We're so pleased you're satisfied with your cover.
If there is anything we can help you with, please feel free to reach out via private message.
Kindly, Hayley

Gordon

GordonEvatt 2617, ACT

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Medibank came to the party when overseas holiday/cruise had to be cancelled.

published

We have used Medibank Travel Insurance for 3 of our overseas cruises. The proof of the pudding was cancellation of an Asian cruise which was cancelled for obvious reasons. Our travel agent determined that some of our deposit was not refundable and we really couldn't afford such a loss. Medibank covered most of this loss and we very much appreciated this

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEast Asia (e.g. China, Japan, South Korea), North America (inc. Hawaii) and South-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim ApprovedYes
Insurance Cover ForSenior
See all answers
1 comment
Medibank
MedibankMedibank

Hi Gordon,
Thank you very much for your review. If you have any questions, please don't hesitate to send us a private message.
Kindly, Jade

Matthew

MatthewSouth East Queensland, QLD

Completely unresponsive during COVID-19 pandemic

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim DateApril 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
7 comments
Medibank
MedibankMedibank

Hi Matthew,
I am sorry your recent Travel claim wasn’t paid. I just sent you a private message to see if there is anything we can do to help. Thanks, Anna

Matthew
Matthew

Hi Anna, thanks for your message but it is very disappointing that this is the first contact I have had from Medibank regarding my claim since I lodged it in mid April. I have returned your message.

Medibank
MedibankMedibank

Hi Matthew, I've responded to your private message. Thanks, Joshua

Travel Insurance

Find out how Medibank Travel Insurance - International Comprehensive Plan (Single Trip) compares to other Travel Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Perry

PerrySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Covid 19 refusal

published

Typical of company that claims to help, your wording is so clever so you don't have to cover any claim to do with the Corona Virus. What a let down and will never use your company again.
So disappointing and pathetic

DestinationEurope
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateMarch 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
2 comments
Medibank
MedibankMedibank

Hi Perry,
I am sorry about your recent experience. We'd love to follow this up, so I've just sent you a private message asking for a few more details. Thanks, Joshua

Perry
Perry

No im talking about travel insurance

Duncan Wilson

Duncan WilsonGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

In this difficult time with a looming number of claims due to the pandemic we received our claim in full. Good work

published

Yes the policy was good value
We received notice our claim was approved and payment was received in the published time frame
This is the 3rd occasion we have used this company for travel insurance and add that we are shareholders in the company

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEast Asia (e.g. China, Japan, South Korea)
Claim MadeYes
Claim DateFebruary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Insurance Cover ForSenior
See all answers
1 comment
Medibank
MedibankMedibank

Hi Duncan,
Thank you for your lovely review. We’re glad to read of your positive experience with submitting your Travel claims. If there is anything we can do to help, please don’t hesitate to let us know.
Thanks, Joshua

Still waiting for response after flights cancelled.

published

My first email was sent on 12/03/20 to advise that I have had to postpone my trip and flight bookings with Singapore Airlines and wish to either receive a credit or cancel my travel insurance policy. Medibank's email response was I would be contacted in 1 working day. As I did not get through on the phone, I sent more emails and am still waiting for a response on 26/03/20. My next step is to visit the Medibank Branch Office where I purchased the travel insurance policy and also write a letter of complaint to Consumer Protection.

DestinationAustralia
Claim MadeNo
8 comments
R. Hanley
R. Hanley

Destination was to Ireland and Italy.

Medibank
MedibankMedibank

Hi there,
I am sorry you haven’t heard back from our Travel team in relation to your request. I just sent you a private message asking for a few more details. Thanks, Anna

R. Hanley
R. Hanley

Thank you Anna. I have responded and sent the information requested.

Antonella

AntonellaPerth, WA

Very disappointed - look elsewhere for insurance

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateMarch 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
1 comment
Medibank
MedibankMedibank

Hi Antonella,
I am really sorry your recent travel claim wasn’t paid. I just sent you a private message to see if there is anything we can do to help. Thanks, Anna

smiley

smileyGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

A very satisfied Medibank Travel Insurance customer

published

Medibank is my private health insurer, since I began to experience serious heath issues 4 years ago they have been excellent. Medibank was an easy choice when I purchased a comprehensive policy for my families trip to Thailand. Unfortunately I needed to make a claim upon our return. The online claim process only took 5 minutes, I received an approval 10 days later. I recommend Medibank for both health and travel insurance, my experiences have always been excellent. I will definitely continue to use them in the future.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimOther
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateJanuary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult and Child
See all answers
1 comment
Medibank
MedibankMedibank

Hi Luke,
Thank you for your lovely review. We’re glad to read of your positive experience with submitting your Travel claims. If there is anything we can do to help, please don’t hesitate to let us know.
Thanks, Joshua

Page 1 of 3
See all Medibank Travel Insurance reviews

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions about Medibank Travel Insurance - International Comprehensive Plan (Single Trip) but you can read 25 questions about Medibank Travel Insurance.

Get an answer from our members and Medibank representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.