7 photos
Mitsubishi Colt

Mitsubishi Colt

RG.II/RZ, RG.I (See All)
4.0 from 60 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Convertibles in 2022 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Mitsubishi

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    5.0 (3)
  • Value for Money
    5.0 (5)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    5.0 (5)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (3)
  • Braking
    4.8 (4)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.8 (4)
  • Gear Shifting
    5.0 (4)
  • Suspension
    4.5 (4)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.8 (4)
  • Handling
    4.8 (4)
  • Interior Design
    4.3 (4)
  • Boot Size
    4.0 (4)
  • Comfort
    4.5 (4)
  • Features
    4.0 (4)
Previous
Next
shenglong y.
shenglong y.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Great little car

published

Purchased in June 2010 for $5,300.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Matthew B.
Matthew B.Central Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

Super reliable 15yo car that's fun to drive

published

Purchased in July 2019 for $3,900.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
John
JohnPerth, WA
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Very fuel efficient very comfortable to drive

published

I purchased 2007 colt es with 120km in 2013 now has 200km, trouble free driving!
About 2 months ago transmission (cvt) started to make growling bearing noise, cvt oil change fixed!
The cvt transmission needs clean oil! I believe the torque converter was making the noise because of dirty oil!

John Coen
Western Australia

Purchased in March 2013 for $5,500.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Xx__Linda__xX
Xx__Linda__xXGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

My little perfect beast

published

Great little car. It’s handling in the rain is great. Fuel is cheap as chips! Every 2 weeks I fill up and it only cost me $23 depending on how much the petrol is on that day! Still cheap. Boot space is great if you have no prams at the back, it actually fits my dining table into the boot what a surprise. I could fit a lot of things in the boot. I was a bit worried going from a 4wd to a small car the boot space is completely different but it fits everything I need it to fit. Mechanical wise it’s also cheap but hardly major issues everything runs perfect. So I would recommend it to people wanting to save on petrol and not have headaches every time you go to the mechanics! I love my baby colt! Haha

Value for Money
5/5
Cleaning & Maintenance
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Convertibles

Find out how Mitsubishi Colt compares to other Convertibles

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Nice little egg shaped car

published

My misti colt plus 04 auto is decent enough. Small, economical, has enoughish boot space. So far I've done around 20 000 ks with the car in the last 3 years. Mechanically it's been good

Purchased in November 2016.

Value for Money
5/5
Cleaning & Maintenance
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Mr Army
Mr ArmySouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 27 reviews
  • 27 likes

Most fun little car to drive

published

If i could find a fault for this car i would but i can't! the car is super fun to drive, the fuel economy is incredible (manual) i did 350 in half a tank.
I love the shape and the layout of the interior, i wished they continue making this car!

BadgeVR-X
TransmissionManual
BodyHatch
Engine Size1.5L
Date PurchasedDec 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Dave
DavePerth, WA
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Extremely unsafe vehicle !!

published

Extremely dangerous driving this car due to right corner windscreen which blocks your view of cars coming from the right. I’ve had several near misses due to this issue.Mechanically the car has been great but the safety factor is a major issue.
Extremely unsafe vehicle and I would not recommend!

BadgeV
TransmissionV
BodyHatch
Date PurchasedApr 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Christmas Gift Ideas for Mum

Since many mothers tend to spout selfless phrases like ‘please don’t spend any money on me,’ Christmas is a great opportunity to spoil your Mum. However, this can be a tricky feat if your mum hasn’t told you what kind of gift she’d be happy with.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.29 Nov 2021
christmas-gift-ideas-for-mum
The right to repair: which brands are making it easier for you to fix their products?

The right to repair movement in Australia is calling for companies to make it easier for their products to be repaired. Here are some electronics and appliance manufacturers who are starting to listen and make it more feasible for consumers to repair, rather than replace, their items.

Clara V.
Clara V.14 Feb 2022
the-right-to-repair-which-brands-are-making-it-easier-for-you-to-fix-their-products
Next

Very unsafe. Low fuel consumption.

published

Extremely unsafe due to blind spot on front right. Can’t emphasise this enough. Otherwise good value for money. Low fuel consumption and zippy. Easy maintenance. Pretty dependable and surprising amount of space if seats are folded down. But I would not have bought this car if I knew about the blind spot issue. It’s dangerous.

BadgeES
TransmissionManual
BodyHatch
Date PurchasedNov 2007
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
mandrake51
mandrake51Illawarra, NSW
  • 13 reviews
  • 25 likes

Great little car

published

After doing a lot of research on the net, I purchased 2010 Colt VRX. I was after a small daily run about for the local area. It was checked by my mechanic and then serviced by him. The Colt has been great - no mechanical problems, nice run about. The rear seat has 2 options for folding it down and can carry a surprising amount of gear in the back, however with 4 people, there is limited space. I would only recommend it for 2 people with an occasional use for 4 people. The only thing I would have liked to have been included was cruise control for the longer trips we do.

BadgeVR-X
TransmissionCVT
BodyHatch
Engine Size1.5L
Date PurchasedAug 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Convertibles

Find out how Mitsubishi Colt compares to other Convertibles

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Dakota1
Dakota1Perth
  • 10 reviews
  • 18 likes

Love this little machine!!!!!!!!!

published

Great little runner, reliable and runs on fumes (almost!) Nice and roomy quiet and VERY nippy with the 1.5 Mivec engine. Love the icy cold air con and the practicality of the interior!
Great build quality and made in Japan, really would have to be one of the best small cars on the road, and can really move if you want to stick the boot into it!

I have the vrx and it's a little stunner finished in Kingfisher blue, has a timing chain and not a stupid timing belt..........If you want a small vehicle, with fantastic economy and rock solid reliability (in manual transmission) go for it! Be careful and very cautious of a colt with the CVT automatic transmission!!!!! The manuals are the one to buy!!!!

BadgeVR-X
TransmissionManual
BodyHatch
Engine Size1.5L
Date PurchasedMar 2012
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Joe
JoePerth, WA
  • 11 reviews
  • 11 likes

What a surprise.

published
BadgeES
TransmissionCVT
BodyHatch
Engine Size1.5L
Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
George m
George mMelbourne
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

This car was great until the CVT transmission packed up after 117000 k's

published

The car was fantastic until the CVT died. We had additional warranty to 130,000ks or 10 yrs whichever came first. It had only 117,000 but was 6 months over the10 years. Mitsubishi quoted us $7,800 to replace the gear box as CVT can't be repaired. We are stuck with a perfectly good car which is still running great and been fully serviced. So what do we do now?

BadgeNot known
TransmissionCVT
BodyHatch
Date PurchasedJan 2006
George m
George m

Okay anyone know where we can buy a second hand CVT transmission for our colt which has been garaged now for 5 months.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Convertibles

Find out how Mitsubishi Colt compares to other Convertibles

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
mandyjane
mandyjaneAU
  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

great little car!

published
BadgeES
TransmissionManual
BodyHatch
Engine Size1.5L
Date PurchasedAug 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Claire
Claire
  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Expensive Lesson

published

I have owned & loved my 2005 Mitsubishi Colt since new (11years), have maintained it fastidiously & done relatively low kms (140,000). It's been a great reliable car, that is until the chain in the cvt transmission suddenly broke and I have been quoted $6,600 to replace with a new transmission. That is almost what the car is worth, so I'm replacing with a 2nd hand transmission ($2,700), considering selling the car & wouldn't get another car with cvt.

BadgeLS
TransmissionCVT
BodyHatch
Date PurchasedApr 2005
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
annie
annieauckland

WHy did they stop making this great little car ?

published
BadgeLS
TransmissionCVT
BodyHatch
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Questions & Answers

MAT M.
MAT M.asked
Colt

Hey I was given a colt plus recently by my cousin and I have started experiencing ,lots of problems ,the car jarks alot when accelerating, and it goes off offenly ,I have tried to get spark plugs changed , fuel pump changed bt I haven't got a solution , what might be the cause ,??

No answers
Frank M.
Frank M.asked
Colt RG.II/RZ (2006-2011)

How do I attach the rear seat

No answers
Tom C.
Tom C.asked
Colt

Transmission for sale suit 2006 to 2010 mitsubishi colt

No answers
See all Mitsubishi Colt questions

Get an answer from our members and Mitsubishi representatives

Mitsubishi Colt

Details

Compare both Mitsubishi Colt
CategoryConvertibles and HatchbacksConvertibles and Hatchbacks
Starting Price $18,990.00$32,990.00
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)Manual
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrol
Wheels14" Steel16" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating3 Stars
Fuel Consumption6.4 L/100km6.6 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 42 L47 L
Engine4 Cylinder 1.5L4 Cylinder 1.5L
Max Power72kW @ 6000rpm80kW @ 6000rpm
Max Torque132Nm @ 4250rpm145Nm @ 4000rpm
Country of ManufactureJapanItaly
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)5 year(s)
Release dateJan 2004Jan 2006
Discontinuation dateDec 2005Dec 2011
Replaced byMitsubishi MirageMitsubishi Mirage
Compare both Mitsubishi Colt

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.