??!
7 photos
Mitsubishi Colt

Mitsubishi Colt

RG.II/RZ, RG.I
4.0 from 58 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    5.0 (1)
  • Value for Money
    5.0 (3)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    5.0 (3)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (1)
  • Braking
    4.5 (2)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.5 (2)
  • Gear Shifting
    5.0 (2)
  • Suspension
    4.5 (2)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.5 (2)
  • Handling
    4.5 (2)
  • Interior Design
    4.0 (2)
  • Boot Size
    4.0 (2)
  • Comfort
    4.5 (2)
  • Features
    4.0 (2)
Previous
Next
John

JohnPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Very fuel efficient very comfortable to drive

published

I purchased 2007 colt es with 120km in 2013 now has 200km, trouble free driving!
About 2 months ago transmission (cvt) started to make growling bearing noise, cvt oil change fixed!
The cvt transmission needs clean oil! I believe the torque converter was making the noise because of dirty oil!

John Coen
Western Australia

Purchased in March 2013 for A$5,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtUsed
Year2007
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Lindy.M

Lindy.MGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 4 reviews

My little perfect beast

published

Great little car. It’s handling in the rain is great. Fuel is cheap as chips! Every 2 weeks I fill up and it only cost me $23 depending on how much the petrol is on that day! Still cheap. Boot space is great if you have no prams at the back, it actually fits my dining table into the boot what a surprise. I could fit a lot of things in the boot. I was a bit worried going from a 4wd to a small car the boot space is completely different but it fits everything I need it to fit. Mechanical wise it’s also cheap but hardly major issues everything runs perfect. So I would recommend it to people wanting to save on petrol and not have headaches every time you go to the mechanics! I love my baby colt! Haha

Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Nice little egg shaped car

published

My misti colt plus 04 auto is decent enough. Small, economical, has enoughish boot space. So far I've done around 20 000 ks with the car in the last 3 years. Mechanically it's been good

Purchased in November 2016.

Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2004
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Convertibles

Find out how Mitsubishi Colt compares to other Convertibles

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mr Army

Mr ArmySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 25 reviews
  • 21 likes

Most fun little car to drive

published

If i could find a fault for this car i would but i can't! the car is super fun to drive, the fuel economy is incredible (manual) i did 350 in half a tank.
I love the shape and the layout of the interior, i wished they continue making this car!

BadgeVR-X
TransmissionManual
BodyHatch
Engine Size1.5L
Date PurchasedDec 2018
Dave

DavePerth, WA

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Extremely unsafe vehicle !!

published

Extremely dangerous driving this car due to right corner windscreen which blocks your view of cars coming from the right. I’ve had several near misses due to this issue.Mechanically the car has been great but the safety factor is a major issue.
Extremely unsafe vehicle and I would not recommend!

BadgeV
TransmissionV
BodyHatch
Date PurchasedApr 2016

Very unsafe. Low fuel consumption.

published

Extremely unsafe due to blind spot on front right. Can’t emphasise this enough. Otherwise good value for money. Low fuel consumption and zippy. Easy maintenance. Pretty dependable and surprising amount of space if seats are folded down. But I would not have bought this car if I knew about the blind spot issue. It’s dangerous.

BadgeES
TransmissionManual
BodyHatch
Date PurchasedNov 2007
mandrake51

mandrake51Illawarra, NSW

  • 13 reviews
  • 24 likes

Great little car

published

After doing a lot of research on the net, I purchased 2010 Colt VRX. I was after a small daily run about for the local area. It was checked by my mechanic and then serviced by him. The Colt has been great - no mechanical problems, nice run about. The rear seat has 2 options for folding it down and can carry a surprising amount of gear in the back, however with 4 people, there is limited space. I would only recommend it for 2 people with an occasional use for 4 people. The only thing I would have liked to have been included was cruise control for the longer trips we do.

BadgeVR-X
TransmissionCVT
BodyHatch
Engine Size1.5L
Date PurchasedAug 2017
Dakota1

Dakota1Perth

  • 9 reviews
  • 15 likes

Love this little machine!!!!!!!!!

published

Great little runner, reliable and runs on fumes (almost!) Nice and roomy quiet and VERY nippy with the 1.5 Mivec engine. Love the icy cold air con and the practicality of the interior!
Great build quality and made in Japan, really would have to be one of the best small cars on the road, and can really move if you want to stick the boot into it!

I have the vrx and it's a little stunner finished in Kingfisher blue, has a timing chain and not a stupid timing belt..........If you want a small vehicle, with fantastic economy and rock solid reliability (in manual transmission) go for it! Be careful and very cautious of a colt with the CVT automatic transmission!!!!! The manuals are the one to buy!!!!

BadgeVR-X
TransmissionManual
BodyHatch
Engine Size1.5L
Date PurchasedMar 2012
Joe

JoePerth, WA

  • 8 reviews
  • 9 likes

What a surprise.

published
BadgeES
TransmissionCVT
BodyHatch
Engine Size1.5L
Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Convertibles

Find out how Mitsubishi Colt compares to other Convertibles

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
George m

George mMelbourne

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

This car was great until the CVT transmission packed up after 117000 k's

published

The car was fantastic until the CVT died. We had additional warranty to 130,000ks or 10 yrs whichever came first. It had only 117,000 but was 6 months over the10 years. Mitsubishi quoted us $7,800 to replace the gear box as CVT can't be repaired. We are stuck with a perfectly good car which is still running great and been fully serviced. So what do we do now?

BadgeNot known
TransmissionCVT
BodyHatch
Date PurchasedJan 2006
1 comment
George m
George m

Okay anyone know where we can buy a second hand CVT transmission for our colt which has been garaged now for 5 months.

mandyjane

mandyjaneAU

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

great little car!

published
BadgeES
TransmissionManual
BodyHatch
Engine Size1.5L
Date PurchasedAug 2016
Claire

Claire

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Expensive Lesson

published

I have owned & loved my 2005 Mitsubishi Colt since new (11years), have maintained it fastidiously & done relatively low kms (140,000). It's been a great reliable car, that is until the chain in the cvt transmission suddenly broke and I have been quoted $6,600 to replace with a new transmission. That is almost what the car is worth, so I'm replacing with a 2nd hand transmission ($2,700), considering selling the car & wouldn't get another car with cvt.

BadgeLS
TransmissionCVT
BodyHatch
Date PurchasedApr 2005
annie

annieauckland

WHy did they stop making this great little car ?

published
BadgeLS
TransmissionCVT
BodyHatch
domL

domL

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Just drives and drives!

published

Ive done 140,000kms and it still runs great, never had an issue with it in 9 years. Dirt cheap to service, $35 a week on petrol and has plenty of space for a small car and . Prefect A to B. Wouldn't sell mine if I didn't need a bigger car. 5/5 Stars.

BadgeES
TransmissionCVT
BodyHatch
Kel

KelMelbourne

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Ripper Car

published

I'm 6"1' so I was a little worried, then I entered the Tardis and everything has been peachy ever since. I love the styling as do my kids. I've the CVT and that is amazing. The car has ample room, great ergonomics, more power than I even expected. I've the VRX so it's got the leather steering wheel and the sports seats - nice. Easy to drive and a pleasure to park. The interior fit and finish is solid/high quality. I have rediscovered the joy of driving again: not bad seeing I'm nudging 50.

BadgeVR-X
TransmissionCVT
BodyHatch
Convertibles

Find out how Mitsubishi Colt compares to other Convertibles

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Fantastic reliable car!

published

My 2006 VR-X Colt is amazing i have had it for almost 10 years and have not spent anything on it except for maintenance- services, tyres etc. It is looking a little outdated now but i can't bear to part with it because i am not sure if there is another car out there that is as cheap to run and that is exceptionally built and so damn reliable!!

BadgeVR-X
TransmissionCVT
BodyHatch
Engine Size1.5L
Michael Cro

Michael CroMelbourne, Victoria

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Bloody fantastic little car!

published

Bought this car second hand at about 90,000 kms. Has had absolutely no problems thus far, even after having been rear ended by an 18 wheeler (at low speed). Have owned it for the last 4 years. It has very low running costs and no mechanical issues to date. Great fuel economy. Very spacious for a small car (I find it more roomy than the Mazda 2 in fact!). And also, it delivers a very quiet and comfortable ride. It isn't the sexiest looking car but it certainly does deliver on drive and comfort.

BadgeES
TransmissionCVT
BodyHatch
BruceG

BruceGAU

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

the best in its class

published

I’ve purchased this car brand new in 2009 and I'm driving it longer than 5 years now. Was in two minds between Toyota Yaris and Mitsubishi Colt. No regrets whatsoever. No one single screw’s ever got loose. This car is in any respect better than it might seem. I’m sure, it’s the best in its class; just excellent.

BadgeVR-X
TransmissionManual
BodyHatch
Engine Size1.5L
Viking337

Viking337Dee Why, New South Wales

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Surprisingly comfortable and roomy

published

Drove my partner's recently purchased 2009 Colt up to Port Stephens from Sydney and back for the day. I'm 6'2" so was worried about comfort but had no choice as the Ford Escape was becoming less reliable and always much more thirsty. With a lumbar support pillow in place, I really enjoyed the drive. Sat comfortably on the freeway with a stable ride and plenty of power, even up the hills. Thinking of claiming it as my own with finding some roof racks for it and ditching the Ford.

The only criticism I have right now, is the foot park brake. I kept forgetting it was there and bashing the top of my foot on it.

BodyHatch

My window regulator broke front and back within 2 days of each other

published

No need to pay Mitsubishi to fix it as they charge a lot I have had my part fixed at a local mechanic $600 for the back $500 for the front. No problems with the car besides this. you would think if so many cars have the same issue then Mitsubishi would recall the car?

BodyConvertible
BadgeCabriolet
Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Sam P.

Sam P.asked

Colt

2005 Mitsubishi colt stopped to go in reverse and drive what to do

No answers
John

Johnasked

Colt RG.II/RZ (2006-2011)

I would suggest having a mobile mechanic familiar with these type of car look at it. The best solution if belt has broken is to replace with second hand one from gumtree or auto wreckers. Transmission about $700 and same to install

No answers
Rene H.

Rene H.asked

Colt RG.II/RZ (2006-2011)

hi a mitsubishi colt 2006 1.5RX 6 speed cvt triptronic sport shift.. i put it into different gears but it doesnt move. any help?

No answers

Get an answer from our members

Details

Compare all 2 Mitsubishi Colt
CategoryConvertibles and HatchbacksConvertibles and Hatchbacks
Starting Price A$18,990A$32,990
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)Manual
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrol
Wheels14" Steel16" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating3 Stars
Doors52
Seats54
Fuel Consumption6.4 L/100km6.6 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 42 L47 L
Engine4 Cylinder 1.5L4 Cylinder 1.5L
Max Power72kW @ 6000rpm80kW @ 6000rpm
Max Torque132Nm @ 4250rpm145Nm @ 4000rpm
Country of ManufactureJapanItaly
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)5 year(s)
Release dateJan 2004Jan 2006
Discontinuation dateDec 2005Dec 2011
Replaced byMitsubishi MirageMitsubishi Mirage
Compare all 2 Mitsubishi Colt

Other Convertibles

Previous
Mazda MX-5

Mazda MX-5

4.2
(34)
BMW M3

BMW M3

4.7
(15)
Audi TT

Audi TT

4.4
(13)
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.