??!
12 photos
Mitsubishi Mirage LA (Hatchback)

Mitsubishi Mirage LA (Hatchback) (2013-2020)

Also referred to as: Mitsubishi Mirage LA (Hatchback) 2019 and Mitsubishi Mirage LA (Hatchback) 2021. ES, LS, LS Plus Pack, etc...
3.9 from 37 reviews

Reviews

3.9

37 reviews
5
(14)
4
(13)
3
(5)
2
(4)
1
(1)
  • Build Quality
    3.0 (1)
  • Value for Money
    5.0 (1)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    5.0 (1)
  • Noise Level
    2.0 (1)
  • Acceleration / Power
    2.0 (1)
  • Handling
    3.0 (1)
  • Braking
    3.0 (1)
  • Suspension
    3.0 (1)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.0 (1)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    5.0 (1)
  • Interior Design
    3.0 (1)
  • Boot Size
    4.0 (1)
  • Features
    3.0 (1)
  • Comfort
    3.0 (1)
Previous
Next
b19ckr9bb1t

b19ckr9bb1tAdelaide

  • 9 reviews
  • 1 like

Cheap cheerful car to get you from A to B

published

Overall driving experience is nothing to shout about. Main thing is it's a cheap car to buy on the second hand market. I think the suspension is pretty appalling but for the price I suppose I cannot expect top quality. Cheap to run from rego, insurance and fuel efficiency basis.

Purchased in February 2015 for A$5,500.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2013
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
K O

K OPerth

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Great little car

published
BodyHatch
BadgeES
Engine Size1.2
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2014
Chris

ChrisGold Coast

  • 14 reviews
  • 12 likes

I love my mirage... but

published
BodyHatch
BadgeES
Engine Size1.2
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2017
Hatchbacks

Find out how Mitsubishi Mirage LA (Hatchback) compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sorry

SorryAlice Springs, NT

  • 2 reviews

Aircon blows hot air within 11 months in my new mirage

published

The noise levels are a major concern. It rattles on the highways which is a bit scary. Car manufacturers should be honest in providing good quality cars even if the prices are higher. Such cheap cars should not be allowed legally to be sold. It is not worth it. I don’t recommend this car to even my worst enemy

BodyHatch
BadgeES
Engine Size1.2
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2017
Carolynne Beazley

Carolynne BeazleyNorth Turramurra

  • 2 reviews

awesome car - couldn't ask for more for the price!

published

Performs really well, nimble on the road. Haven't noticed much noise. Interior does look cheap but functional
Legroom surprisingly amazing - we actually fit in 4 adults quite comfortably and we're all over 6'1"!! We were shocked.
Really cost efficient to run - slow to go through petrol
Not very powerful up the hills, but really does the job well enough nonetheless.

BodyHatch
BadgeLS
Engine Size1.2
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMar 2018
GeeJay

GeeJaySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

Very good for a short work commute.

published

Those criticising the Mirage's looks should compare it to the Nissan micra.
My Mirage had to have the manual gear box replaced at 24000 km. A vibrating sensation was noticeable through the pedals.
The dealer said Mitsubishi had changed manufactures and the replacement shouldn't give me any bother. Has anyone had this problem, or know whether the replacement gear box is of better quality than the original. To their credit Mitsubishi replaced it under warranty, but if it fails again within say 25,000 km, the cost could ruin me.

BodyHatch
BadgeLS
Engine Size1.2
TransmissionThe manual gearbox had to be replaced under warranty at 23000 km. Does anyone know if the replacement box Mitsubishi fit is any better than the original. I was told by the dealer the replacement box comes from a different manufacturer.
Date PurchasedNov 2013
Jani

JaniSydney

  • 4 reviews

Very fuel efficient!

published

This car is a great value car! Very cheap on petrol, 4.6L/100km, and hence the running costs are very low. The overall driving experience was positive, except the fact that the engine is a little loud when you have to accelerate. The interior is about right for the money you are paying for it. As a tall 6 foot man, I could fit comfortably inside. However, one thing is that the interior looks a little cheap, with plastic used in most places. Apart from this, the design is perfect.

BodyHatch
BadgeES
Engine Size1.2
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2017
Tim L

Tim LOxenford

  • 4 reviews

Good car - especially for the price

published

If you are paying less than $15 grand for a car then you have to expect some trade offs. However after driving the car for a while, the highway noise can be a little loud but not overly so and handling is great. The bluetooth has had some issue with Android phones but only happens in a blue moon. The voice recognition is great with a 90% match on the names i say. You do have to keep manually importing the phone contacts into the car for any changes.

Service is cheap with fixed price servicing every 15k kms and super cheap to run. I get about 5L/100 on my daily commute

BodyHatch
BadgeES
Engine Size1.2
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2016
Eric

EricSydney, NSW

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like

Great fuel efficient small car

published

This car is extremely well in fuel efficiency. It cost me about $35 for a full tank of fuel. Even though this is a lower end small car, it still equipped with a great Bluetooth system. I can play my favourite music in the car connecting to the spotify app from my iphone.

BodyHatch
BadgeES
Engine Size1.2
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedDec 2016
Hatchbacks

Find out how Mitsubishi Mirage LA (Hatchback) compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Great car for short distance

published

Compact car that saves fuel, small and easy to park. I only need to pump once a fortnight and it only costs my about 30 dollar. Easy maintenance as well as sleek design. I would recommend for a short distance drive around town. Very comfortable and spacious as the back seat can be adjusted to lie flat.

BodyHatch
BadgeES
Engine Size1.2
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2017
nic

nicmelbourne

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

OK first car

published

I don't mind this car, it gets me from A to B, but it is a bit noisy and I'm not a huge fan of what it looks like. Petrol is affordable which is good and when I'm driving around a lot it'll usually last me 2 weeks even with a small tank. It fits a lot more in it than it appears which is handy.

BodyHatch
Badge(No Badge)
Engine Size1.2
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2017
aziz

aziz

  • 5 reviews

Perfect car

published

Great little car very easy to manage i like driving it beautiful colour and looks. It is very economical on fuel. Air conditioner could have been better. Bluetooth connectivity is also a plus point. Usb connectivity. Full tank that costs around 30$$ can easily do 370 -390 kms which is pretty good.

BodyHatch
BadgeLS
Engine Size1.2
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2015
Emily Victoria Bridges

Emily Victoria BridgesAU

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Good first car

published

Driving experience is enjoyable, suits my needs perfectly as a single person living in the city. Handles well, is kind of noisy but not any different to other cars in the same price range.
I don't like that the car doesn't have a centre console, but again this seems to be usual. Legroom is perfect for me (167cm). It's tough fitting three adults in the back comfortably, but can be done!
Thus far it's been extremely reliable and cheap to run. I fill up usually for around 20 bucks and a full tank lasts around 500kms

BodyHatch
BadgeES
Engine Size1.2
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2017
DGD

DGDBrisbane

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

AWESOME

published

Admittedly this is my first car that wasnt 10 years old, so I may have low standards, but oh my god I love this car so much. I have had it over 3 years now and have had zero issues except for a flat tyre. It uses almost no fuel and it easy to fit in little spaces and can turn on a penny. If anyone is after a nifty little car this may be the one for you!

BodyHatch
BadgeES
Engine Size1.2
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJul 2014
paulhags

paulhagsPerth, WA

  • 4 reviews

best car for the money

published

I bought the 2013 mirage new I've done 100000km now not one thing gone wrong with it only replaced tyres at 76000 I get 4.1 -5.2 lt per 100km it's fantastic on fuel will be buying another one when I've done 200000km it's very light car so can get blown around a bit in a storm but fantastic value for the money

BodyHatch
BadgeES
Engine Size1.2
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMay 2013
Hatchbacks

Find out how Mitsubishi Mirage LA (Hatchback) compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Diana0777

Diana0777Hobart, TAS

  • 5 reviews
  • 7 likes

Definitely great value for the price you pay and what you get!

published
BodyHatch
BadgeES
Engine Size1.2
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2017
James O

James OSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Poor fuel economy, noisy interior.

published
BodyHatch
BadgeSport
Engine Size1.2
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2014
Mummy2Be_123

Mummy2Be_123Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 34 reviews
  • 24 likes

Terrible

published

Another micro car that deserves no stars. To start brake pads gone at 15000kms. Sluggish CVT engine that makes the car jump and hesitates if you have to put your foot down. I had a Suzuki Alto and that was way better. it claims to have 4.6/100kms but I can not get anywhere near that. for me it's 5.5 and that's following the little crappy eco mode on the dash.

Few cars that are better- Suzuki Alto & Kia Picanto
Beware this junk from a crap company

BodyHatch
BadgeES
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2015
Engine Size1.2
IntrepidAussie

IntrepidAussiePerth

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Cheated on Fuel Economy

published

We bought this car purely for its Fuel Economy but were misled.
The sticker on this car says Combined consumption is 4.9 L/100km, Urban 5.6 L/100km, and Extra Urban is 4.4 L/100km.
We have never got better than 7 L/100km - despite driving very carefully and mixing local and freeway trips (over a four month period).
The rest of the car is fantastic. Great turning circle. Small outside but roomy inside. Nifty to park. Very comfortable.

BodyHatch
BadgeLS
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2016
Engine Size1.2
Billyboy

BillyboySlacks Creek

  • 2 reviews

Our new favourite car.

published

This was the first Mitsubishi I've ever owned and I've found it to be such a joy to dive, it's really good on fuel, cheap to service and is so very comfortable. We bought this as a second car but now the family prefers this one! Really really happy customer.

BodyHatch
BadgeLS
TransmissionManual
Engine Size1.2
Page 1 of 2
See all Mitsubishi Mirage reviews

Questions & Answers

Shan

Shanasked

LA (Hatchback) LS CVT (2013-2020)

Hi, I just purchased a 2014 mirage and in trying to figure out why the aircon isn't blowing cold air, I've noticed the radiator fan isn't spinning - that I have seen. I haven't done any long trips in it yet, generally only 10 minute drives so far. My question is, how long should it take for the fan to kick in? I am scared to drive far in case the fan isn't working!
Thank you for any help!

1 answer
j.chilton5
j.chilton5

Radiator fan should only kick in when it needs to i.e. it won't spin as soon as you turn on the car. It will eventually start spinning when you are stuck in traffic (you'll hear it click on) but shouldn't need to if you're driving in normal conditions as there is enough cooling via the normal airflow over the radiator.

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.