3 photos
Nespresso Vertuo Plus Coffee Machine BNV420

Nespresso Vertuo Plus Coffee Machine BNV420

BNV420B, BNV420SIL
3.9 from 34 reviews · View Statistics
Listing monitored by Breville

Coffee Pod Machines Buying Guide

A coffee pod machine makes quick, cheap coffees daily. In this guide we help you decide whether a coffee pod machine is right for you, and share the best coffee pod machines in 2020.

Read now
Buying Guide Banner

Pros

  • Makes tasty coffee

  • Quick and easy to use

  • Great value for money at only $299

  • Select your coffee strength with 4 cup sizes

Cons

  • Coffee pod machine functionality prevents coffee customisation

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.9 (18)
  • Value for Money
    3.4 (18)
  • Ease of Use
    4.3 (18)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (18)
  • Noise Level
    4.1 (17)
  • Product is used
  • Consistency
    3.9 (16)
  • Milk Frothing
    3.8 (4)
Previous
Next
Leone M.
Leone M.South-Eastern Region, NSW

So disappointed- can’t believe how bad this is

published

Purchased in May 2021 at Harvey Norman for $199.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Can't find pods in store

published

I am quite disappointed with my Nespresso Vertuo plus, the machine itself is okay, however the pods are different and only available for purchase online , which is my opinion is very inconvenient and costly

Purchased in May 2021 at Big W Retail Stores for $185.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ian W
Ian WSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 4 reviews

Not what I'd hoped for from Nespresso

published

Purchased in October 2020 at Big W Retail Stores for $189.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Capsule / Coffee Pod Machines

Find out how Nespresso Vertuo Plus Coffee Machine BNV420 compares to other Capsule / Coffee Pod Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Broke after 1 year and still broken after being repaired.

published

I just got my vertuo plus machine sent back from your repair centre last week and it broke again! Contacted your customer service and they said it’s only eligible for a 2nd repair not replacement. It’s ridiculous to think that I have to keep sending my machine back and I just bought a whole year worth of capsules without a machine to use!

The support agent on the phone was rude and kept interrupting me mid sentence. After reading other people’s experiences, this machine obviously has manufacturing faults.

Purchased in December 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Dom
DomPerth, WA

Inconvenient and hidden costs

published

Purchased in December 2020 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for $299.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Related Articles

Previous

The best kitchen appliances in 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-best-kitchen-appliances-in-2020

Budget Coffee Machines, Bread Makers and Food Sealers

In quarantine and in need of fresh coffee, bread and longer lasting food? Read on for more information on kitchen appliances that won’t break the bank and help see you through self isolation during difficult times.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.27 Mar 2020
budget-coffee-machines-bread-makers-and-food-sealers

Best Fridges and Dishwashers in 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the best fridges and best dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
best-fridges-and-dishwashers-in-2020
Next
Determined2b
Determined2bHunter Region, NSW
  • 10 reviews
  • 8 likes

Clunky descale procedure. machine fails after descale and according to repairer attracts german cockroaches

published

Purchased in November 2017 for $220.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
John
JohnSydney Surrounds, NSW

Don't buy, unreliable

published

1 month after purchasing the unit it failed with red lights flashing but no coffee. Collected by TNT returned to repair center, 2 weeks later a new machine was delivered as a replacement. Advice: don't throw the packaging as it will be required for return repair. Capsules are not available at supermarkets. You have to go to a Nespresso shop or on line then to the post office as Australia Post don't deliver to the house.

The Aerocc no3 is a hygiene risk it cant be put in dishwasher and opening too small for a normal sized male hand.

Stay away from the product and reduce your stress

Purchased in September 2020 at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
Value for Money
marc c
marc cPerth, WA
  • 6 reviews
  • 5 likes

Fantastic machine

published

Purchased in August 2020 at Harvey Norman for $179.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Anu
AnuGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 3 reviews

Loving the machine

published

Really sleek easy to use and clean. Machine doesn't take much space and easy to clean and maintain. The coffee is also very frothy and tasty.

Like the way I don't need to dismantle the whole machine to fill water and adding capsule in a touch of a button

Purchased in May 2020 at Costco for $150.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Capsule / Coffee Pod Machines

Find out how Nespresso Vertuo Plus Coffee Machine BNV420 compares to other Capsule / Coffee Pod Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Yaptap
YaptapGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 4 reviews

Works really well!

published

Upgraded from a previous nespresso machine. This one works really well and makes strong flavoured coffee. Capsules are much larger than previous machine and takes up more bench space as there is now an external water tank. Water tank can be positioned on the bench at different angles depending on the space you have. Overall, pretty happy!

Incentivised Review No
MaryLongy
MaryLongy
  • 9 reviews
  • 2 likes

Wish I'd kept my old machine

published

The main issue with this machine is after 5 months of very gentle use, it is leaking everywhere. If you search Nespresso social media pages you will find numerous complaints about these leaking machines after only a few months. Nespresso's after sales service has been abysmal with repairs of new machines taking up to 6 weeks. The coffee quality is okay. But I preferred my old Nespresso machine. The Vertuo experience has turned into a major hassle as now I have no machine and no return date from Nespresso. Buy one with caution, do a search on its issues before purchase, leakage is a very common issue.

Purchased in December 2019 at Joyce Mayne Physical store.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Trish
TrishGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 2 reviews

This machine is brilliant, easy to use and clean. So many coffee pods to choose from , great taste and temperature perfect. Love my morning coffees. Great way to start the day

Purchased in May 2020 at The Good Guys for $249.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Olivia m
Olivia mSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 7 reviews

Cheap and easy- Breville Nespresso

published

The easiest coffee machine that makes coffee like the coffee shops. It is very easy to maintain and clean. Plus, Nespresso have a program where they recycle the used pods! There are a huge number of pod options that allow you to truly personalise your coffee experience

Purchased in January 2020.

Incentivised Review No
Product is used Daily
Jacqui
JacquiPerth, WA
  • 2 reviews

Love this machine. Great coffee

published

I bought this for my husband for Christmas. He was sceptical as he loves the coffee from our local cafe. Anyway, we are both hooked. We are saving heaps of money and the coffee is delicious. We are loving the Nespresso Double Expresso pods. Kids love making the coffee for us, which is an added bonus. Make sure you purchase or get the milk frother. It froths almond milk a treat!

Purchased in December 2019 at JB Hi-Fi for $279.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
MariaM
MariaM
  • 10 reviews
  • 4 likes

Good coffee fast

published

Switched from a smaller machine to this as we love mugs of coffee. The range is great and you get decent size mugs out of most capsules - love the 'auto-scan' option. The only noticed bug is that sometimes the capsule gets stuck in the holder if you don't remove it straight after use. Good machine!

Purchased in April 2019 at Harvey Norman for $169.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Capsule / Coffee Pod Machines

Find out how Nespresso Vertuo Plus Coffee Machine BNV420 compares to other Capsule / Coffee Pod Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Read more reviews - page 2

Questions & Answers

Smith D
Smith Dasked
Nespresso Vertuo Plus Coffee Machine BNV420

Why cant i reset to factory settings? I have a steady red light, turn it off and follow procedure but it always reverts to the steady red light. Of course its out of warranty.

2 answers
Determined2b
Determined2b

The red light means it's circuits could be fried. They told me to send it in anyway even out if warranty. They said cockroaches caused the problem. I bought a simpler less expensive one from ALDI works fine and coffee better and less expensive. The Nespresso machine is too cumbersome and convoluted in this age.

Smith D
Smith D

Thanks so much, I agree about the cumbersome bit

Geoff Robertson
Geoff Robertsonasked
Nespresso Vertuo Plus Coffee Machine BNV420

Just descaled machine using nespresso descaling and followed u-tube instruction. The half red and half green light comes back on?

No answers
roy
royasked
Nespresso Vertuo Plus Coffee Machine BNV420

do vertuo machines take any nespresso pod

No answers
See all Nespresso Vertuo Plus Coffee Machine BNV420 questions

Get an answer from our members and Breville representatives

Nespresso Vertuo Plus Coffee Machine BNV420

Details

Features:

  • 4 cup sizes, which determine the strength of your cup of coffee
  • 1.8 L removable tank means you don’t have to keep refilling the water every time you make a coffee
  • Auto-off function activates after 9 minutes, so you can fill up a portable cup and then rush off to work

Points of praise for the Nespresso Vertuo Plus Coffee Machine:

  • Reviewers found that it produced coffee that was so tasty and frothy that they could skip going to a cafe
  • Reviewers reported the coffee machine being convenient for making multiple cups of coffee at once, which helped to cut down preparation time
  • For many, the coffee machine wasn’t obtrusive and didn’t take up a substantial amount of bench space - making it suitable for smaller kitchens
  • This coffee machine is easy to maintain and clean, as it produces coffee without a mess.

2021 ProductReview Awards logo

The Nespresso Vertuo Plus was a clear winner for the 2021 Capsule/Coffee Pod Machine category. Reviewers expressed a great deal of praise for the coffee machine, with standout factors being the coffee machine’s ease of use and impressive build quality.

Compare both Nespresso Vertuo Plus Coffee Machine BNV420
CategoryCapsule / Coffee Pod MachinesCapsule / Coffee Pod Machines
Price (RRP) $299.00$299.00
Pump Pressure19 bar19 bar
Input Power1,300 W1,300 W
Water Tank Capacity1.77 L1.77 L
Dimensions 325 x 142 x 424 mm325 x 142 x 424 mm
Weight4.3 kg4.3 kg
Capsule CompatabilityNespressoNespresso
Milk FrotherSeparateSeparate
Heat-up Time 25 seconds25 seconds
Auto Shut-offYesYes
Adjustable Shot QuantityYesYes
Shot FunctionsEspresso and LungoEspresso and Lungo
Manufacturer Warranty1 year(s)1 year(s)
Colour / FinishBlackSilver
Compare both Nespresso Vertuo Plus Coffee Machine BNV420
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.