??!
Nissan X-Trail T31

Nissan X-Trail T31 (2008-2013)

3.7 from 108 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.1 (12)
  • Value for Money
    4.4 (11)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.5 (12)
  • Noise Level
    3.9 (12)
  • Braking
    4.4 (11)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.0 (11)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.4 (9)
  • Suspension
    4.3 (11)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.8 (11)
  • Handling
    3.8 (11)
  • Interior Design
    4.0 (11)
  • Boot Size
    4.5 (11)
  • Comfort
    4.3 (11)
  • Features
    3.6 (11)
Previous
Next

Automatic transmission died.

published

I bought a brand new 2011 Nissan X Trail always serviced every 10,000kms by a highly rated qualified mechanic. Immaculately clean and well looked after. Then I was shocked as my transmission died while I was driving. This happened only 7 years later in 2018 and the car had only 127,000 km on the clock. It left me out of pocket $3,000 to replace the transmission with a second hand one. Extremely disappointed.

Purchased in June 2011.

BoughtNew
Year2011

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Steven

StevenSydney, NSW

  • 11 reviews
  • 12 likes

It literally fell apart!

published

My parents bought a brand-new X Trail in 2011. This car was immaculately looked after. Driven like an old man, kept incredibly clean inside and out, it was serviced before it’s due dates… nine years later, that’s right just nine years later, the transmission explodes. I’m only leaving this review because my dad takes such pride in what he owns and he looks after his things so incredibly well and it broke my heart to see him have to go through the stress and anxiety of having such an expensive machine simply fall apart.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2011
See all answers
Xy guy

Xy guyCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 39 reviews
  • 27 likes

Ok mechanicals.

published

Purchased in March 2014.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2013
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Nissan X-Trail T31 compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Bigmike62

Bigmike62Darling Downs, QLD

  • 10 reviews
  • 5 likes

Bullet proof mechanicals.

published

I was an owner of a 2013 xtrail TL diesel. Absolutely brilliant SUV. Bullet proof mechanicals. Good on fuel. Spacious and has some luxury. These t31 last of run models are a very good buy if you can find one. Only sold it because of not needing a SUV anymore.

Purchased in November 2019 at Motors tasmania for A$19,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2013
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
ANDY ANDERSON

ANDY ANDERSONMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Good car but .. A nuisance problem

published

4x4 2012 134 kms, daily use, car has a flat spot, the car dies for a couple of seconds when accelerating, ok of a lot of pedal is used. Two dealers no comp faults.

Purchased at NISSAN for A$30,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2012
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Kerry

KerryFar North Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

2012 T31 2.5 petrol CVT XTrail. Great vehicle.

published

Was getting the famous throttle lag until I installed an iDrive unit at $299. Will spin the front wheels if you go too hard on take off. 6 throttle settings to cater for on/off road conditions. Made such a difference I then fitted one to my wifes Corolla to counter the throttle lag in it.

Purchased in March 2016 for A$20,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtUsed
Year2012
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Family H

Family HRichmond-Tweed, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Underrated all-rounder

published

Basic, but fantastic for around town or on long trips. Can easily fit 3 carseats across the back row, and the boxy design means the boot can be filled to the gills. Wipe down boot surface and what more can you need? Our growing family of 5 had 6 and a half outstanding years and 118,000kms in that car - so good, that we traded it in for a brand spanker. Glad we don't need more than two car seats in the new ones though - the fanciness of the new model has cost some interior space!

Purchased in January 2013 at Nissan Dealers for A$26,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2013
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Gentleman

GentlemanAU

  • 8 reviews
  • 5 likes

Good and reliable

published

Purchased in September 2014.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtUsed
Year2008
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Wayne

WayneMurray Mallee, SA

Lovely soft roader

published

Purchased in August 2019 for A$5,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
Year2012
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Nissan X-Trail T31 compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Tran

TranSydney

  • 2 reviews

11l/100km city driving

published

My Nissan X-trial 2012 2wd and 2.0L The car has lot of space and perfect for camping and comfortable highway driving . However average fuel consumption around the city 11l/100km, That is a bit too high .

Purchased in July 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2012
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
DC88

DC88North Queensland, QLD

  • 9 reviews
  • 17 likes

Still the best SUV for a family but still offroad

published

We have had 2 of these models. One was in an accident and was written off, but we knew exactly this was the type of vehicle we wanted. It still has a rugged-enough frame and engine to do some offroading, but economical and small enough to be in the city.

It's 4cyl engine doesn't let it be a towing vehicle for much, but it's still the best vehicle I have ever owned.

Purchased in March 2019 at Townsville 4wd Centre for A$13,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2013
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Paul C

Paul CMelbourne

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

lagging/dying?

published

I have a 2013 Nissan XTrail 4X4 Petrol with a dreadful lag/die/flat spot on take off. I try to accelerate to take off and it dies under me, sometimes for 2 to 5 seconds then picks up again - my trusty Nissan dealer says after many many visits - its normal - any ideas or shared experiences on this one?

BadgeTi
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2013
Drive4WD
Bigmike62

Bigmike62Darling Downs, QLD

  • 10 reviews
  • 5 likes

Runs like a dream.

published

Purchased in November 2019 for A$19,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2013
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers

Practical, but a few quirks.

published
BadgeST
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2018

160000 & no major problems!

published

I am retired, tow a small caravan. Have numerous trips from Qld to SA & in between. After a series of short runs the dpf partially blocked, cleared by my service person who advised using a dpf cleaner. Since I have been using a dpf cleaner, I have not had any further problems.

BadgeTS
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedFeb 2009
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Nissan X-Trail T31 compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mulloes

MulloesSydney, NSW

  • 9 reviews
  • 2 likes

OK vehicle, but issues with Air con and sound system

published

Purchased in November 2013 for A$26,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2013
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
D Ngu

D NguMelbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Affordable and reliable!

published

Had this car for about 5 years now, no issues with it at all except for the occasional tyre change. Runs on about 600km per tank. Very reliable and had no issues with it at all. Nice and has more legroom than the dualis I test drive a while back. Not as comfortable as the Nissan Murano, but for its price, definitely can’t complain. Plenty of space in the back to carry things around. Bluetooth compatibility so I can use my phone with it. Definitely would recommend.

BadgeST
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2012
Craig

Craig

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Oldie but a goodie

published

My mechanic said only buy a Japanese SUV and it seems to have paid off. Whilst it's not new it still drives very well and is mechanically sound. I really can't fault it. We drove a territory and a captiva and they really didn't compare. Nissan customer service so far seems really good.

BadgeST
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2018
Tamara

TamaraSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 6 reviews
  • 18 likes

Good, reliable but lacks power to get up hills.

published

No mechanical problems. Has been a very good, comfortable car. Easy to park. Heaps of space for a family of 4 and 2 dogs.

Only complaint is it lacks power up hills, however, I bought a standard. They all come with a sports power option, which helps, but I will make sure our next car has a bit more guts to tackle the hills.

BadgeST
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2013
Michael M

Michael MMELBOURNE

  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes

Very practical interior but rubbish to drive.

published
BadgeST
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2013
Page 1 of 6
See all Nissan X-Trail reviews

Questions & Answers

ali a.

ali a.asked

T31 (2008-2013)

Hi everyone I have a 09 xtrail turbo diesel. Was driving fine. One day out of the blue it lost all power. The rpm won’t go over 2000 and it blows black smoke when reving on idle. and as soon as I put it in drive it will stall. the engine light and air sensor codes with diff pressure sensor code came up so I replaced the both of the sensors and cleared the codes. and now it’s giving me 8 more codes. And still having the same problem? Any help would be much appreciated! Local mechanic and dealerships telling me to replace all the sensors that the codes are giving but I’m sure that it will not do anything as the diff pressure sensor was not faulty to begin with but I replaced it anyways. Thanks :)

No answers
Rik C.

Rik C.asked

T31 (2008-2013)

I have a nt31, and when turning to the left I am hearing a grinding sound, sometimes while driving straight as well, but not as bad. If the 4 wheel is engaged, it drives with no noise at all. Any advice or suggestions as to what that might be?

1 answer
bill bayley
bill bayley

It could be anything from wheel bearing, upper/lower control arm bushes, ball joints, sway bar bushes, shocks, worn brake pads, loose brake caliper,or some thing worn/ loose on the front suspension... suggestion take it a mechanic or front end specialist & get them to check everything

Chris

Chrisasked

T31 (2008-2013)

2008 TDi. 180k service. Mechanic (who had never serviced a diesel Xtrail) says turbo could be about to go because he found oil on air filter. Seems to be common problem though? Anybody had this issue? Cheers

1 answer
danny
danny

the turbo seals are a common problem with all the diesel xtrails rubber seals & heat causes them to shrink then they leak oil even the newer ones are the same that does not necessarily mean you need a new turbo depending on how much oil it leaked & what/if any damage done internally just replace the seals, the seals should be replaced approx every 30.000kms

Get an answer from our members

Details

Compare all 25 Nissan X-Trail
CategoryMidsize / Medium SUVs
Release dateJan 2008
Discontinuation dateDec 2013
Replaced byNissan X-Trail T32.I
Compare all 25 Nissan X-Trail

Other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.