??!
1 photo
Optus Broadband Cable

Optus Broadband Cable

1.8 from 423 reviews

See the Best Internet Service Providers in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
34
4 star
35
3 star
30
2 star
35
1 star
289

Paul B

Paul BSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Worst customer service ever (after Foxtel)

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Start DateSeptember 2017
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers

Thi Nu Mai

Thi Nu MaiSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • Verified customer

Great Deal service and speeds

published

Optus is the best cable/ NBN company of the the big 3 that offers you fastest internet Fecth TV home phone and line rental, for a all around great affordable deal

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Start DateNovember 2017
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract Type24-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
johnson

johnson

  • 6 reviews
  • Verified customer

2xcalls before changing providers, confirmed $0 owing - 2mnths later still continued to be billed

published

Called and confirmed TWICE that there's nothing owing and I was ready to sign a new NBN plan with a different provider. 5 weeks later I get a bill for $125? Called the operator, he has told me three things that directly contradict what I have been sent. 25mins into a call I didn't need to make and no resolution. They "are not allowed' to send me an email confirming that I have nothing owing?!?
0/10 absolutely abysmal service.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Start DateOctober 2012
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeCapped Data
See all answers

Terrible service, even worse customer handling

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Start DateMay 2018
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract Type12-month contract
Data TypeCapped Data
See all answers

PurpleFlower

PurpleFlowerGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Cut off service before we were required to move to NBN

published

Optus disconnected our cable without notice yesterday without warning. The same day they sent a letter stating that our service would be disconnected on 13 Jan 2020 if we had not connected to the NBN.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Start DateNovember 2001
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers

Terrible BILLS!!

published

I am a customer for over 18 years and I had enough of being overcharged all the time. Every time I call, I cannot tolerate talking to the customer service located overseas. They are very tricky, they say something and send the bill differently. Even if they email the offer, I would recommend to read the offer about a couple of times since what they say is not what you get.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers

  • Verified customer

Cable 40mpbs receiving 4mbps

published

Cable 40mpbs receiving 4mbps download, 20kbps upload
my parents doesnt allows me to switch companies
its absolutely pain in the neck to use optus, worst internet provider
0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 stars

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Start DateMarch 2014
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers

nicola a.

nicola a.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

As bad as it gets

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Start DateJanuary 2009
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
Ozzie Khoo

Ozzie Khoo

  • 2 reviews

Often has issues, especially during peak hours such as at night.

published

The connection is, for the most, pretty stable and I often average 20mbps on my 30mbps connection.
When I first moved to my current home location, there was an issue where I only hit about 6mbps, but this was resolved in about 3 days.
At extreme peak hours, the connection tends to slow down and sometimes cut out however. Overall, this service is alright for my work flow and being an old service it is slightly cheaper than what is offered now so I will be staying on this plan for the future.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Start DateMay 2015
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
Musketeer58

Musketeer58Perth, WA

Absolutely hopeless

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Start DateSeptember 2019
See all answers

broKKi

broKKiCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 6 likes

Fee charged for not choosing direct debit payment option.

published

Optus charge extra fees including a $2.20 fee if you choose not pay your bill using direct debit option! I can’t see how Optus can justify this fee and get away with it!

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Start DateApril 2015
See all answers

Kim1711

Kim1711Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 3 reviews

It's OK but the routers are completely hobbled in functionality

published

I've been an Optus customer for many years. I've no major issues with them, although sometimes connection has been down and they haven't compensated. The customer support is problematic in that it is offshore and you don't often perceive your concerns as being fully appreciated and understood. I recently switched to another provider, but I wanted to say that offboarding was easy and they made it very straight forwards.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Start DateOctober 2016
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract Type24-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers

anon

anonGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

AWFUL BROADBAND & CUSTOMER SERVICE

published

Unreliable broadband service. Constantly drops out, I'm forever tethering off my mobile phone 4G. Upload speeds are painfully slow.

Awful customer service. Haven't even managed to get the customer's name right on the bill, despite the various requests to fix it. Getting on the phone to these guys is a nightmare, you'll be passed around like a hot potato, explaining your issue over and over again to different people.
Optus will not hesistate to charge you a late fee for payments that are only a couple of days late - Cherry on the cake.

It is a relief to finally cancel my service

Value for Money
Customer Service
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract Type12-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers

I understand why the industry joke is “droptus”

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Start DateJuly 2017
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract Type24-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
disapointed

disapointedSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

slow as wet week

published

should of stayed on the old connection same price phone worked without electricity internet connection was much faster it is a rip of have to wait 5 to 10 min to get my emails from gmail give me back the old optus

Value for Money
Transparency
Start DateAugust 2019
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
disapointed
disapointed

it took around 15 minits to get this after clicked on it

Shayan

ShayanSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Absolute Garbage

published

15 out of 30 days in a month the connection is dirt poor. Forget speed. Google search takes 2 minutes to load. Rubbish service for $75/ month.
Rather flush my money down the toilet.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Start DateJune 2018
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract Type24-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers

EdP

EdPSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Dreadful customer service - ACCC contacted!!!

published

More drama than a sex in the city episode!

Customer experience has been dreadful from start to finish. From setting up an order online which then had to be completed (done again) over the phone to technicians being late to dramatic speed drops.

100% they are throttling my internet despite my contract saying they wont.

The day it was installed I had 45mb DL speeds, the day after and ever since I've had 2mb DL speeds. Thats a 22.5x drop in speed! No resolution, no kept promises of technical support.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Start DateJuly 2019
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract Type24-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers

Sunny.

Sunny.

  • 14 reviews

The worst - the service, the staff, the company culture - everything

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Start DateMay 2016
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract Type12-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers

Sriya W.

Sriya W.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Canceling Optus broadband - they won't cancel. They hang up after very long wait.

published

Optus Worth customer service experience. I want to cancel broadband service as upgraded to NBN with Belong. They won't cancel my service. Transfer so many times then ask so many questions then transfer or they hang up on you and keep sending bills. My advise is not to sign up with them for any service. Worth service ever.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Start DateMarch 2017
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers

Monika L.

Monika L.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Slow internet, expensive, multiple outages, long wait times for service

published

Will not go with Optus again. We have had broadband with Optus for over 3 years and have been very unhappy with the service. Very long wait times on the phone when needing assistance. Overall very slow internet with frequent outages. Poor customer service

Start DateJanuary 2015
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract Type24-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers

Page 1 of 22

See all Optus Broadband reviews

Questions & Answers

Belinda K.

Belinda K.asked

I have switched from Optus to iinet for Internet/Fetch, but the installation has not yet happened. Despite this, my Fetch has been cut off. Can you also cut off WIFI before the new one is installed?
I feel like I've been treated badly - it may give me cause to move my mobile phones as well. please advise what your policy is around this.

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Optus representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.