??!
1 photo
Optus Broadband Cable

Optus Broadband Cable

1.8 from 436 reviews

Reviews

(35)
(35)
(30)
(35)
(301)
  • Value for Money
    1.7 (65)
  • Transparency
    1.7 (63)
  • Customer Service
    1.4 (65)
  • Adequate Speeds Yes (31%) · No (69%)
alexfm.au

alexfm.auSydney, NSW

Terrible, cuts out often and has major lag spikes, customer service is terrible

published

Multiple times a month we will have hours, sometimes days where there is no internet, no matter what we try to do, and asking friends who live in the area who also have Optus they have the same issues at the same time. Customer service is terrible. Old router had issues so we got a replacement, when they sent it it only had one of the components so it did not work. Every 2-5 minutes there will be a high lag spike while playing an online game where the ping will sometimes reach 1000, this lasts for about 10-30 seconds. Very disappointing, would never recommend.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Start DateMay 2007
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
boofs

boofsSydney

  • 11 reviews

Bad Internet

published

It’s a joke, so much for 2020 technology. Always dropping out and when it does work very slow. I can’t wait to get off Optus. Have been looking at Aussie broadband.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Start DateJanuary 2011
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers

Awful, near-unusable

published

Download speeds are fine - surprisingly fast, actually. But uploads regularly drop out. On a nominal 2Mbps upload, I regularly see below 0.5Mbps, which is unusable. As a result, uploads of any size are impossible, and page requests regularly time out as well. The web portal has been broken for years and the whole experience is unpleasant.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Start DateAugust 2017
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
Internet Service Providers

Find out how Optus Broadband Cable compares to other Internet Service Providers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Michael Scholtz

Michael ScholtzSydney, NSW

Biggest pile of crap

published

Can not maintain consistent internet or even internet at all. Product doesn’t match marketing and fails on customer service at every level. Now they are blaming Covid 19 for the poor delivery even though they have been useless for years.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract Type12-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
Frank 3

Frank 3Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 27 reviews
  • 1 like

shocking service

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Start DateOctober 2016
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers

Pathetic

published

I experience dropouts 10+ times per day and they don't give a damn about helping their customers. Don't bother with Optus they have NO idea what they're doing and don't care about the user experience.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Start DateSeptember 2018
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeCapped Data
See all answers

Dishonest contract

published

They put in the contact law without asking permission or any sign paper. Then send a bill of termination early (400$ ) while cable will be discontinued in the area where ABN take over. Customer service is rude by cutting off the phone line in the middle of conversation.

Customer Service
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

sat

satSydney, NSW

Optus harasses weaker families

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money

Abhorrent service provider

published

From start to finish Optus was an terrible choice of service provider. From internet that tanked during peak hours, to charging late fees on bills that weren't received until after the due date AND charging for a now cancelled service.

Optus will do everything they can to deliver the bare minimum while charging a premium. If you choose them for any service then be prepared for terrible customer service, a terrible product, and no transparency when it comes to increasing fees and price gouging.

There are plenty of better service providers to choose from - please don't give this company your money.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Start DateFebruary 2017
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
Internet Service Providers

Find out how Optus Broadband Cable compares to other Internet Service Providers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Steve

Steve

  • 17 reviews

OPTUS want me to pay for a cancelled service. Amazing.

published

Hounding me for service I cancelled months ago. I have now wasted many hours and they just do not understand the word cancelled....they want money for a service I cancelled.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Start DateJanuary 2009
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
Danny T.

Danny T.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Great

published

Great customer service, staff always do their absolute best to satisfy customers and their enquires. I have been a well known Optus customer and Im happy with their provision highly recommend Optus

Jack Story

Jack StorySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Cancelled 6 months ago, but still get charged for disconnected phone service!!!

published
Start DateJune 2018

Worse customer service and slow internet

published

Super slow internet, and every time you call the customer service, you wait for 30mins to 1 hr on hold! They cant help you with anything, it is super irritating. Also the internet is super slow so nothing is good about it!!

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract Type24-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
Nathan H.

Nathan H.

  • 2 reviews

The Worst Internet provider.

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Start DateJanuary 2016
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract Type12-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
Nathan H.
Nathan H.
Paul B

Paul BSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Worst customer service ever (after Foxtel)

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Start DateSeptember 2017
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
Internet Service Providers

Find out how Optus Broadband Cable compares to other Internet Service Providers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Thi Nu Mai

Thi Nu MaiSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Great Deal service and speeds

published

Optus is the best cable/ NBN company of the the big 3 that offers you fastest internet Fecth TV home phone and line rental, for a all around great affordable deal

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Start DateNovember 2017
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract Type24-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
johnson

johnson

  • 7 reviews

2xcalls before changing providers, confirmed $0 owing - 2mnths later still continued to be billed

published

Called and confirmed TWICE that there's nothing owing and I was ready to sign a new NBN plan with a different provider. 5 weeks later I get a bill for $125? Called the operator, he has told me three things that directly contradict what I have been sent. 25mins into a call I didn't need to make and no resolution. They "are not allowed' to send me an email confirming that I have nothing owing?!?
0/10 absolutely abysmal service.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Start DateOctober 2012
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeCapped Data
See all answers

Terrible service, even worse customer handling

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Start DateMay 2018
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract Type12-month contract
Data TypeCapped Data
See all answers
PurpleFlower

PurpleFlowerGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Cut off service before we were required to move to NBN

published

Optus disconnected our cable without notice yesterday without warning. The same day they sent a letter stating that our service would be disconnected on 13 Jan 2020 if we had not connected to the NBN.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Start DateNovember 2001
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers

Terrible BILLS!!

published

I am a customer for over 18 years and I had enough of being overcharged all the time. Every time I call, I cannot tolerate talking to the customer service located overseas. They are very tricky, they say something and send the bill differently. Even if they email the offer, I would recommend to read the offer about a couple of times since what they say is not what you get.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
Page 1 of 22
See all Optus Broadband reviews

Questions & Answers

Belinda K.

Belinda K.asked

Cable

I have switched from Optus to iinet for Internet/Fetch, but the installation has not yet happened. Despite this, my Fetch has been cut off. Can you also cut off WIFI before the new one is installed?
I feel like I've been treated badly - it may give me cause to move my mobile phones as well. please advise what your policy is around this.

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Optus representatives

Other Internet Service Providers

Previous
Mint Telecom

Mint Telecom

4.9
(330)
Launtel

Launtel

4.9
(225)
MATE

MATE

4.4
(2,002)
Harbour ISP

Harbour ISP

4.2
(919)
Bordernet

Bordernet

4.7
(64)
OntheNet

OntheNet

4.7
(56)
OptiComm

OptiComm

4.1
(345)
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.