??!
1 photo
Optus Broadband Cable

Optus Broadband Cable

1.8 from 447 reviews

Reviews

1.8

447 reviews
5
(35)
4
(35)
3
(30)
2
(37)
1
(310)
  • Value for Money
    1.7 (74)
  • Transparency
    1.7 (72)
  • Customer Service
    1.4 (74)
  • Adequate Speeds Yes (31%) · No (69%)
Previous
Next
Eden

EdenSydney

  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

They will lost customer soon

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract Type24-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
faustdownunder

faustdownunderGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 4 reviews

Being neglected

published

We have not yet switched over to NBN while many in our street have already. We were told by Optus that there is still time until 2021. For the past weeks we experience internet interruptions on a daily basis. Optus technicians came but could not fix the problem. We have been with Optus for over 10 years. This is bad service for which we still pay the full amount.

Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers

Don’t even deserve a star. Optus are useless.

published

Don’t even deserve a star. Optus are useless. Drops in and out every minute. Customer service is even worse. Do not use Optus. You will regret. Terrible terrible terrible. Thanks for taking our money.

Internet Service Providers

Find out how Optus Broadband Cable compares to other Internet Service Providers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Very happy to leave now that I have the NBN

published

I've had an Optus HFC service for almost a decade (it was Optus HFC or ADSL, so I chose HFC because it's fastest). FTTC NBN recently went live in my area, and I've signed up with a better provider (leaving Optus for good).

I'm not happy with Optus support, and I'm not really a fan of the company.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Start DateJanuary 2011
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers

Nothing but problems

published

my home internet is always dropping out and can last hours customer service is even worse twice ive changed direct debit and even that they can't get right i need all my issues resolved I need someone from Australia to look into my issues asap pls

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Start DateFebruary 2019
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
dtosh

dtoshSydney, NSW

Terrible Service and Don't Care about the Customer At All

published

Optus customer service is absolutely terrible. About the only way to contact them is through a little chat window -- which is fine, lots of companies do that too -- but the staff on the other end of the line are absolutely powerless or don't care about the customer at all. Trying to get anything fixed or resolved is impossible, and the staff pass the buck on from one department to another. I have been a customer of Optus broadband for a long time and it is really a case of the less contact you have to have with them the better, because everytime you need to contact them because of some problem, the problem gets worse!

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Start DateJanuary 1999
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers

Amateur Scammers!

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledBundled
See all answers
Cameron

Cameron

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Australia's No.1 Worst ISP

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract Type24-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
RichardBTT

RichardBTTSydney Surrounds, NSW

Avoid at all costs

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Start DateJanuary 2000
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract Type12-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
Internet Service Providers

Find out how Optus Broadband Cable compares to other Internet Service Providers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Gen

GenSydney, NSW

The Worst Internet Serivce Provider in Sydney

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Start DateApril 2015
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract Type24-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
Jackson

JacksonEpping

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Only caring about profit and doesnt give a single care about customers.

published

Constant dropouts on internet during normal day times..... I have experienced more than 3 days without internet because of these idiots.....
My plan was 25mbps and during evening hours its never 25.... so useless
Nontheless its so much more expensive than other providers.
Please do not make the mistake of going with these idiots.
Takes less than a minute to sign up but it takes more than an HOUR to cancel on the phone???

Honestly optus doesnt care what so ever but their money. Please do not go here for anything. Do not make the same mistake as i did.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Adequate Speeds No
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
alexfm.au

alexfm.auSydney, NSW

Terrible, cuts out often and has major lag spikes, customer service is terrible

published

Multiple times a month we will have hours, sometimes days where there is no internet, no matter what we try to do, and asking friends who live in the area who also have Optus they have the same issues at the same time. Customer service is terrible. Old router had issues so we got a replacement, when they sent it it only had one of the components so it did not work. Every 2-5 minutes there will be a high lag spike while playing an online game where the ping will sometimes reach 1000, this lasts for about 10-30 seconds. Very disappointing, would never recommend.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Start DateMay 2007
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
boofs

boofsSydney

  • 11 reviews
  • 7 likes

Bad Internet

published

It’s a joke, so much for 2020 technology. Always dropping out and when it does work very slow. I can’t wait to get off Optus. Have been looking at Aussie broadband.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Start DateJanuary 2011
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers

Awful, near-unusable

published

Download speeds are fine - surprisingly fast, actually. But uploads regularly drop out. On a nominal 2Mbps upload, I regularly see below 0.5Mbps, which is unusable. As a result, uploads of any size are impossible, and page requests regularly time out as well. The web portal has been broken for years and the whole experience is unpleasant.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Start DateAugust 2017
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
Michael Scholtz

Michael ScholtzSydney, NSW

Biggest pile of crap

published

Can not maintain consistent internet or even internet at all. Product doesn’t match marketing and fails on customer service at every level. Now they are blaming Covid 19 for the poor delivery even though they have been useless for years.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract Type12-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
Internet Service Providers

Find out how Optus Broadband Cable compares to other Internet Service Providers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Frank 3

Frank 3Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 29 reviews
  • 37 likes

shocking service

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Start DateOctober 2016
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers

Pathetic

published

I experience dropouts 10+ times per day and they don't give a damn about helping their customers. Don't bother with Optus they have NO idea what they're doing and don't care about the user experience.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Start DateSeptember 2018
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeCapped Data
See all answers

Dishonest contract

published

They put in the contact law without asking permission or any sign paper. Then send a bill of termination early (400$ ) while cable will be discontinued in the area where ABN take over. Customer service is rude by cutting off the phone line in the middle of conversation.

Customer Service
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

sat

satSydney, NSW

Optus harasses weaker families

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money

Abhorrent service provider

published

From start to finish Optus was an terrible choice of service provider. From internet that tanked during peak hours, to charging late fees on bills that weren't received until after the due date AND charging for a now cancelled service.

Optus will do everything they can to deliver the bare minimum while charging a premium. If you choose them for any service then be prepared for terrible customer service, a terrible product, and no transparency when it comes to increasing fees and price gouging.

There are plenty of better service providers to choose from - please don't give this company your money.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Start DateFebruary 2017
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
Page 1 of 23
See all Optus Broadband reviews

Questions & Answers

Belinda K.

Belinda K.asked

Cable

I have switched from Optus to iinet for Internet/Fetch, but the installation has not yet happened. Despite this, my Fetch has been cut off. Can you also cut off WIFI before the new one is installed?
I feel like I've been treated badly - it may give me cause to move my mobile phones as well. please advise what your policy is around this.

No answers

Get an answer from our members

Other Internet Service Providers

Previous
Launtel

Launtel

4.9
(440)
Mint Telecom

Mint Telecom

4.9
(409)
MATE

MATE

4.4
(2,314)
Harbour ISP

Harbour ISP

4.2
(1,109)
Bordernet

Bordernet

4.7
(65)
OntheNet

OntheNet

4.7
(58)
OptiComm

OptiComm

4.0
(362)
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.